• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The Tale of 2 Leukemia Cases:- The Haves versus the Have nots

Singapore has excellent medical facilities. That's why the likes of Mugabe and the Burmese drug lords come to Singapore for specialist medical care.

However, there can only be one place that is the best of the best and when it comes to cancer treatment, the USA is tops.

Anyone can end up with cancer. That's why I've set aside a sizable sum so that if it does happen, I can afford to hop on a plane and seek out the best possible treatment.

I don't earn a couple of million dollars a year. However, with careful planning, I have budgeted for the best possible treatment should a serious illness befall me. This has been achieved through a combination of savings and health insurance plans. If I can plan for such eventualities, so can any sinkie. All it takes is half a brain.

The problem with most sinkies is that they waste money trying to keep up appearances instead of planning for things that actually matter.

who are u bullshitting, u are living in Australia, right?. Treatment not covered by govt. mah?

This is not the fault of the government but the fault of Sinkies. At the end of the day, someone has to foot the bill for the medical costs. If the government is paying it, it will still need to get the money from somewhere. In western countries, the people are willing to pay high taxes in return for free healthcare for everyone. In Sinkieland, you are living in lalaland if you think the next person will help you when you are in trouble. Sinkies don't even approve of minimum wage. They are only concerned about how much their chicken rice is going to cost if minimum wage is implemented. It is no surprise at how Sinkieland has turned out after all these years. Being invaded by hordes of foreigners is simply a natural consequence of their mentality.

Of course, if there were such empathy in existence in the first place, the PAP government would have been kicked out long ago for their greediness and incompetence.

Seriously, what kind of fucking retard are u? Sinkies have some of the highest taxes in the world. Cheebye like u live here also don't realise this?
-Govt. spends $80K to build a flat and sells it to you for $300K. What do you call the $280K difference? Its a tax, understand?
-Govt. gives you 2.5% or less on your CPF interest, takes your money and buys office buildings in Philadephia and makes 15% return, what is the 12.5% difference called? A tax, understand?
- Everyone in the world pays $20,000 for a car, but you pay $120K for it here in Singapore, what's the $100K difference called? Road tax.
- U heard of any of these taxes or not? COE, GST, TV licence, petrol tax, etc.

Only an idiot looks at one tax like you did and on this basis makes a statement saying its the sinkies fault because they are not willing to pay higher income tax, where in reality, they are already paying in totality much higher taxes than western countries and for much less govt. services. There is no free lunch, when the govt, is making $billions of dollars, it comes from somewhere, and that is the taxpayer.

rusty

This is not the fault of the government but the fault of Sinkies. At the end of the day, someone has to foot the bill for the medical costs. If the government is paying it, it will still need to get the money from somewhere. In western countries, the people are willing to pay high taxes in return for free healthcare for everyone. .

I think Singaporeans are also paying very high taxes in many forms like CPF, COE, ERP, Road tax,Property,Income, GST,...etc. and we have a very healthy coffer. The problem is they are too stingy and very profit minded. They alway said the reserves are meant for emergency but there is no limit as to how much the accumulations is enough...50b..100b..200b...500b..900b?
In fact, this gahment had shed a lot of responsibilties. Privatising public transport is one where they washed their hands and absolved themselves from blames whenever the fare increases beccause a private entity is answerable to its shareholders. Taking care of the old and aged are covered by the parental act and they relinguished their responsibilities as a care taker of the country. Taking care of a country is like taking care of a family as in the case of George Yeo taking ernomous care of his sick son. This gahment is too obssessed with money. They are willing to take big risks with our reserves but reluctantly raising the welfares by a mere pittance not even enough to eat in a hawker centre.
It is good and prudent to have reserves but the question is How Much Is Enough to stop them from squeezing the people further?
THe people do not want a welfare state but merely asking for a less stressful life.

Frankiestine

i have a question...how much are you willing to spend on treatment if you kanna terminal disease?touch wood...

If its terminal then why seek treatment? Might as well find way to make the transition over a less painful one if there ever is such a thing.

I think Singaporeans are also paying very high taxes in many forms like CPF, COE, ERP, Road tax,Property,Income, GST,...etc. and we have a very healthy coffer. The problem is they are too stingy and very profit minded. They alway said the reserves are meant for emergency but there is no limit as to how much the accumulations is enough...50b..100b..200b...500b..900b?
In fact, this gahment had shed a lot of responsibilties. Privatising public transport is one where they washed their hands and absolved themselves from blames whenever the fare increases beccause a private entity is answerable to its shareholders. Taking care of the old and aged are covered by the parental act and they relinguished their responsibilities as a care taker of the country. Taking care of a country is like taking care of a family as in the case of George Yeo taking ernomous care of his sick son. This gahment is too obssessed with money. They are willing to take big risks with our reserves but reluctantly raising the welfares by a mere pittance not even enough to eat in a hawker centre.
It is good and prudent to have reserves but the question is How Much Is Enough to stop them from squeezing the people further?
THe people do not want a welfare state but merely asking for a less stressful life.

The question is if this money is for emergency use, than why are they continuously risked in highly questionable investments. Look at Shincorp, Merrill Lynch, barclays, etc. Resulting in $billions in losses. If this money is for emergency, it should be invested in conservative interest bearing instruments.

rusty

The question is if this money is for emergency use, than why are they continuously risked in highly questionable investments. Look at Shincorp, Merrill Lynch, barclays, etc. Resulting in $billions in losses. If this money is for emergency, it should be invested in conservative interest bearing instruments.

Search me. Only LKY knows and hopefully SDP detain him for questioning after the election results.

If its terminal then why seek treatment? Might as well find way to make the transition over a less painful one if there ever is such a thing.

It may be terminal, but treatment can prolong a few months, or even some years. Also, treatment provides u with a better quality of life, like less pain, etc.

who are u bullshitting, u are living in Australia, right?. Treatment not covered by govt. mah?

When it comes to cancer, the last thing on earth you'll want to depend on is the public health system of ANY country. The waiting list alone will probably kill you. The drugs that are covered by funding are never the best and the treatment regime is a balancing act between cost and outcome.

Cancer treatment needs a "no holds barred" approach in order to stack the odds in favour of the patient.

hotbot

i count my blessings,i have studied, worked and travelled to most countries. in an event if i fall ill, i have no regret. i have about $150k insured in 50k policies, if i utilised that, too bad...:o

I'll spend whatever it takes. I enjoy my life and I'd like it to last for as long as possible.

However, if my quality of life falls to the point where I don't feel life is fun anymore, I'll stop prolonging the misery and let nature take its course.

Has anyone heard of this thing call Medical insurance? Medishield, Income Shield, Pru Shield, whatever Shield?

You pay $100 to $200 plus premium per year using Medisave and add Rider of another $200 plus per year, you can be covered 100%, even for treatment at Gleneagles or Mt E!!

Real case, sway sway my wife kanna Stage 1 Cancer recently and also last year went for major bone operation. All 100% covered by insurance!!! If I have never buy insurance, I think I jialat liao need to sell my HDB flat too.

Story is not just about have for have not. It is also about preparing for a rainy day!! Some people kay kiang, say insurance bluff people.. simi lanjiao.... if sway sway kanna illness, then jialat liao lor... not only need to worry about health, but also money problem. That is damn sian man.

The $8 thing is crappy shit by chumps here. Khaw could be fully insurance and so he only pay $8 or he use medisave.

My wife went for bone operation last year. Bill ws $30K and we paid $0 from cash and $0 from CPF. This does not mean we are bigger f**k VIP then Khaw? Is just about insurance. Some people KPKB without getting their damn facts correct!!

Remember don't kay kiang. Buy a freaking medical insurance for crying out loud and also get some Term Policy. Your lousy agent can tell you a lot of cock story for you not to buy Term Policy (cos low commission). But you have to buy, especially those breadwinner.

Don't kay kiang, be prepared!

:(

Yes, u are right, money buys u many benefits. Lets say for example something very bad is to happen to singapore tomorrow. Civil war, impending natural catastrophe, etc. Whatever. And there are only a limited number of planes with limited number of seating available to fly people out. Yes, we would expect the rich like the Wees, Khoos, etc. to be able to buy their way on the planes. That is what their wealth is for. Would we than also expect a minister like BG Yeo to also buy a seat on the plane? After all he can afford it. Yes, he can, I suppose. But how does that look? Same analogy I am using.

Interesting question.
But civil war is very different from natural catastrophe. Let's say then, what if there's some impending trouble that may cause loss of lives, but if the government acted decisively and quickly, then they may be able to lessen the impact.
I would be disgusted if GY (or any ministar) bought an expensive ticket and left, but I would understand completely if he bought his family members expensive tickets, while he stayed.

In my view, the original topic of your thread need not address GY's personal situation. He did what any responsible father would do, he did what he could within his means and resources to ensure the well-being of his family.

The more pressing issue is why affordable healthcare is possibly not affordable to all, using that other family as an example, especially when it involves the life of a child.
It's actually the common adage heard in coffeeshops. This government runs SG like a corporation. More profits for the corporation, more wealth for the senior management and their loyal aides (not necessarily a bad thing). Citizens are regarded as mere employees. (really bad thing).
You complain loudly and often enough, they will give you more OT to shut you up. The SG equivalent is of course shopping and food vouchers given at mps. The quiet ones who slog and try their best, one day they may just be replaced or made redundant if they become weak or sick.

A welfare system is not workable.
That does not mean that programs cannot be put in place to ensure that every single real and genuine case of hardship or misfortune is investigated and addressed. All those noisemakers who want to eat at foodcourts instead of hawker centres or to buy a plasma tv can go fo.
The goal should not be just to make the country richer and the management and their loyal aides richer and haha, to make at least 51 to 60% of the people contented every 5 years.
The goal should be to make every single citizen's life a decent one and better than before. If A is rich and capable and his life improves 100% while B is poor and not so clever and his life improves 0.1%, so be it. That's the capitalism part. But every person gets to have minimum food, shelter, education and a chance at life. That's the socialism part. If it means that the economy grows slower and some bureaucrats and value transferers' wealth become less, so be it.

Has anyone heard of this thing call Medical insurance? Medishield, Income Shield, Pru Shield, whatever Shield?

You pay $100 to $200 plus premium per year using Medisave and add Rider of another $200 plus per year, you can be covered 100%, even for treatment at Gleneagles or Mt E!!

Real case, sway sway my wife kanna Stage 1 Cancer recently and also last year went for major bone operation. All 100% covered by insurance!!! If I have never buy insurance, I think I jialat liao need to sell my HDB flat too.

Story is not just about have for have not. It is also about preparing for a rainy day!! Some people kay kiang, say insurance bluff people.. simi lanjiao.... if sway sway kanna illness, then jialat liao lor... not only need to worry about health, but also money problem. That is damn sian man.

The $8 thing is crappy shit by chumps here. Khaw could be fully insurance and so he only pay $8 or he use medisave.

My wife went for bone operation last year. Bill ws $30K and we paid $0 from cash and $0 from CPF. This does not mean we are bigger f**k VIP then Khaw? Is just about insurance. Some people KPKB without getting their damn facts correct!!

Remember don't kay kiang. Buy a freaking medical insurance for crying out loud and also get some Term Policy. Your lousy agent can tell you a lot of cock story for you not to buy Term Policy (cos low commission). But you have to buy, especially those breadwinner.

Don't kay kiang, be prepared!

Friend, I think you just got lucky. Very lucky. Your wife's case is much different from the Soh girl's case, because your wife's bill is only $30K. In the first place, Medishield will only cover you $50K per year or $200K in an entire lifetime. Stage one cancer is caught early, and hence u are ok. U see how much your wife's bill will be if she was in and out of hospital for 6 years, like this little girl. And pediatric cancer treatment is more expensive too. If your wife bought one of those extra shield protection, and had it in place long enough, than she will be covered under that. Otherwise, many of these companies like AIA Gold will not cover pre-existing conditions up to 1 year ago. Also, kids born with congenital problems will find it hard to find coverage, etc. Anyway, all of these policies have annual and lifetime limits. Its the annual limits that kill you. If this little girl's parents incurred $200K a year on medical bills for the child, and the Medishield annual limit is $50K and a private insurer annual limit is also $50K, the parents stilll have to come out $100K from their pocket. If your wife's bill was $130K instead, I guarantee u, you will be paying out of pocket. And Over 6 years, see whether u need to sell your flat or not.

KuanTi01

Seriously, what kind of fucking retard are u? Sinkies have some of the highest taxes in the world. Cheebye like u live here also don't realise this?
-Govt. spends $80K to build a flat and sells it to you for $300K. What do you call the $280K difference? Its a tax, understand?
-Govt. gives you 2.5% or less on your CPF interest, takes your money and buys office buildings in Philadephia and makes 15% return, what is the 12.5% difference called? A tax, understand?
- Everyone in the world pays $20,000 for a car, but you pay $120K for it here in Singapore, what's the $100K difference called? Road tax.

Only an idiot looks at one tax like you did and on this basis makes a statement saying its the sinkies fault because they are not willing to pay higher income tax, where in reality, they are already paying in totality much higher taxes than western countries and for much less govt. services. There is no free lunch, when the govt, is making $billions of dollars, it comes from somewhere, and that is the taxpayer.

Papsmearer, you are spot on! People who still try to defend the indefensible are looking at life in Sinkapore through rose-tinted glasses. Never ever forget the PAP controls everything in Sinkapore; including the air you breathe! No free lunch never mind but Pay and Pay!

rofthelper

The $8 thing is crappy shit by chumps here. could be fully insurance and so he only pay $8 or he use medisave.

Bro, is not sway sway kanna illness.... once we aged, the possibility of contracting an illness is very high, it depends on serious or less severe condition.

Especially those early 30s white/blue collars having so many type of temptations out there, smoking, drinking, gambling and sex etc.

Best is to have adequate insurance protection on top of yearly health screening, which most of us have not done so.

That jiu hu Khaw different lah, he got a trump card leh, the CSC card.

yuelao

You are the fucking retard here. Did I say that Sinkies are not paying high taxes? I said that Sinkies are unwilling to pay high DIRECT taxes. They do not care about hidden taxes that have been factored into the costs of things like houses and cars. Don't blame me, just go and ask any Sinkie if he is willing to pay higher taxes to subsidise another Sinkie's medical costs. I bet you will even find it difficult to find significant support for having a minimum wage. They would rather costs be kept as low as possible rather than ensuring others get a decent living.

If Sinkies were willing to help out their fellow countrymen, the PAP would have lost power long ago if they continued with their policies. The strength of PAP today is a reflection of what the Sinkies have wanted for the last few decades.
:oIo:

Friend, I think you just got lucky. Very lucky. Your wife's case is much different from the Soh girl's case, because your wife's bill is only $30K. In the first place, Medishield will only cover you $50K per year or $200K in an entire lifetime. Stage one cancer is caught early, and hence u are ok. U see how much your wife's bill will be if she was in and out of hospital for 6 years, like this little girl. And pediatric cancer treatment is more expensive too. If your wife bought one of those extra shield protection, and had it in place long enough, than she will be covered under that. Otherwise, many of these companies like AIA Gold will not cover pre-existing conditions up to 1 year ago. Also, kids born with congenital problems will find it hard to find coverage, etc. Anyway, all of these policies have annual and lifetime limits. Its the annual limits that kill you. If this little girl's parents incurred $200K a year on medical bills for the child, and the Medishield annual limit is $50K and a private insurer annual limit is also $50K, the parents stilll have to come out $100K from their pocket. If your wife's bill was $130K instead, I guarantee u, you will be paying out of pocket. And Over 6 years, see whether u need to sell your flat or not.

Which part of my post says that the cancer bill is $30K? Which part of my post said that my wife only got Medishield? Which of part "you pay $100 to $200 plus premium per year using Medisave and add Rider of another $200 plus per year, you can be covered 100%, even for treatment at Gleneagles or Mt E!!" you don't understand and you keep assuming that I say Basic Medishield is sufficient and you keep basing your arugement on Basic medishield annual coverage of $50K? Please refer to this website http://www.income.com.sg/insurance/EnhancedShield/coverage.asp!! for max annual coverage for CUNT.

Of course with a max annual coverage of $600K or $200K, you can surely quote examples that some patients pay bill of > $600K per year or exclusion cases. However, I believe most bills will fall below this limit.

You think stage 1 cancer bill is cheap? You must be kidding!! Our bill is so expected to be $70K plus and more amount adding... If I have no insurance or only basic medishield, is going to burn a big hole in my pocket!! Very big hole!! Also, if you or your loves one kanna cancer, be it Stage 1 or Stage 4, "lucky" is not the word to be used!!

I am NOT comparing Soh's case to my wife's case or Yeo's case. I am also not saying I'm damn clever.

What I'm saying is, get sufficient insurance coverage!! Don't be a Smart Alec and come out with big theory why insurance is not needed. Buy sufficient coverage in case of illness, TPD or death. Very important.

Obviously basic medishield is not enough. Common sense! Unless you don't mind C or B2 Class.

In conclusion, you agree or disagree that sufficient insurance converage is crucial?

silverfox@

One thing about insurance is if today you are sick (eg, cancer), you claim from your insurance and you recover, that's it.

You can no longer seek another new policy or retain existing policy. So the next step is to do 2 things. Pray that tio toto, big 4d and got enough money or pray never kenna serious illness. No insurer will take your business. If they do, the premium is not high. It's super duper high

Which part of my post says that the cancer bill is $30K?

This part of your post says that.

Do you have amnesia? Shall we continue with this debate? I don't want to take advantage of mentally challenged people. Seriously.

hairylee

One thing about insurance is if today you are sick (eg, cancer), you claim from your insurance and you recover, that's it.

You can no longer seek another new policy or retain existing policy. So the next step is to do 2 things. Pray that tio toto, big 4d and got enough money or pray never kenna serious illness. No insurer will take your business. If they do, the premium is not high. It's super duper high

Yes, that's right. Claim once and become untouchables. Cannot even have income shield. I wonder if Khaw still have insurance after claiming his first one. Many still ignorant of this.