• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The sad and hidden truth of disability sports,

London 2012 Paralympics: Controversy and confusion
Oscar Pistorius's claim that his Paralympic 200m defeat was not a fair race because of the length of his rival's blades has thrown the debate over how athletes are classified into the mainstream.

The systems used to categorize competitors according to their level of disability is fundamental to levelling the Paralympic playing field but it can also lead to controversy and confusion.

Why did Great Britain's Stef Reid take silver in the long jump despite jumping almost a metre further than her closest rival? Why was US swimming star Mallory Weggemann's classification altered on the eve of the Games?

Four-time Paralympic swimming champion Marc Woods has claimed that the sport's classification system is "the major stumbling block on credibility".

Taking the examples of athletics and swimming, the only sports featuring all disability groups, BBC Sport takes a closer look at the classification systems and asks the experts what needs to change for Rio 2016.

ATHLETICS
What classifications are there? All disability groups can compete in athletics but they are classified by a system of letters and numbers, with T meaning track and F meaning field. Categories 11-13 cover degrees of visual impairment, 20 is intellectual disability and 31-38 are for people with cerebral palsy or other conditions that affect muscle co-ordination and control. The 40 numbers are for amputees and the fifties cover athletes in wheelchairs.

Past Paralympic Controversies

•In Sydney 2000, it was revealed that most of the victorious Spanish basketball team were found to have no disability.
•In Beijing 2008, 90% of the athletes were re-classified before the Games.
•At London 2012, the Ukrainian discus thrower Maria Pomazan was left fuming after she had her gold medal downgraded because her score had been miscalculated.

How are they decided? Eye tests and IQ tests are used to determine the degree of an athlete's visual impairment or learning disability. Other athletes are subjected to medical, visual or cognitive testing by an international classification panel and are observed during the Games. The classification can be challenged, either by the athlete themselves or by rivals who believe an opponent is taking part in the wrong class.

London 2012 controversies: Pistorius responded to his shock defeat by Brazilian Alan Oliveira in the T44 200m final by criticising the International Paralympic Committee (IPC) for allowing his rival to run with significantly longer blades. The IPC said Oliveira's blades were within the rules, but is believed to be reviewing the regulations for Rio 2016 as well as ensuring that double amputees such as Pistorius are not running against single amputees.

Reid had to settle for long jump silver because her event grouped athletes from two different categories, with a points system used to rank their jumps. So although Reid, who has one leg amputated below the knee outjumped Australia's Kelly Cartwright, a below the knee amputee, Cartwright took the gold due to a higher overall score. "It's obviously quite a controversial area and it is really disappointing that they chose to combine the events on a points system," said Reid.

What needs to change? "You can see why Oscar's event is there and the 5,000m wheelchair event, but some of the others are weaker and developing," says eleven-time Paralympic gold medallist Baroness Tanni Grey Thompson . "I don't think the Paralympics is the place for developing, you have the Europeans and Worlds for that. It wouldn't do the Paralympics any harm for the programme to be lighter.

Did you know?
•There are 15 different 100m gold medal finals in the Paralympic athletics programme.

"On classification, you have to trust that independent international classifiers have people in the right group. There needs to be much more money invested into classifying people away from the Paralympics. Have them watching athletes in competition and in training. I'd like to see more recently retired athletes involved in the process."

SWIMMING
What classifications are there? Swimming is one of the few Paralympic sports that combines different types of disability in the same events, meaning Ellie Simmonds, who has dwarfism, can compete in the S6 class with her fellow Briton Natalie Jones, who has cerebral palsy. Swimmers with physical disabilities are categorised from one to 10, the lower the number the more severe the disability. Numbers 11-13 cover visual impairments and 14 is allocated to swimmers with an intellectual disability. The prefix S denotes freestyle, backstroke and butterfly, SB means breaststroke and SM individual medley.

Play mediaHow are they decided? Swimmers are subjected to a "bench test" and a "water test" before being observed during competition. In the bench test, three certified classifiers test the swimmer's every possible range of motion on an athletics training table. In the water, the swimmer will perform all four strokes and a series of other exercises before their classification is determined.

London 2012 controversies: US swimming star Mallory Weggemann raged that she had "lost faith" in the Paralympics system after having her classification altered on the eve of the Games. Weggemann was moved to a category for less severely disabled athletes after evidence was presented to the IPC showing she was not in the correct class.

Weggemann's fellow American Victoria Arlen was initially denied the chance to compete against Ellie Simmonds in London after it was decided her disability was not severe enough, only for the decision to be overturned on appeal.

Are there too many categories? "The classifications is the major stumbling point that we have on credibility which needs sorting out," says Marc Woods , who won 12 swimming medals across five Paralympic Games.

"Once you've sorted that then we can look at considering whether we consolidate certain things and lose some races or amalgamate some groups that are quite comparable. There are some which look like they could be merged, but the Paralympics are about offering international high-level opportunities for people with disabilities and banding is how we do it.

"If you start cutting events then it would be very difficult to start getting them back in because people train for them and if they stop the standards would just get lower."

The whole paralympics is a freakin' joke and a classic example of political correctness gone mad.

Do have to agree. When a participant brings in his or her own lawyer and own medical specialist to prove that he or she is more disabled, more visually impaired, more retarded etc in order to underclassify, the world has truly has gone made.

During the Sydney Games, a member of the Spanish Gold medal winning team revealed that he was an undercover journalist and 8 of the 11 members were not even intellectually disabled and the federation did it for jobs and sponsorship, the curtains began to rise.

How sad it is when mum and dad force their kids to do this to compensate for their disability. Imagine praying hard that your "loved" one needs to score below 70 in the IQ or that that all 4 limbs are When people pretend they are deaf.

Has anyone actually seen the dressage event. You are going to be very surprised and you go away very disillusioned with life.

Here is a sample from the technical document and I have not even mentioned what the neurologist has to provide.

PROFILE 12: All 4 limbs severely impaired, but able to walk. Fair to moderate trunk control.
12a: Severe difficulty controlling all four limbs when performing an activity.
12b: Severe deformity or weakness in all four limbs.

The first thing that you hits you is that only rich families can participate.

The whole paralympics is a freakin' joke and a classic example of political correctness gone mad.

US swimming star Mallory Weggemann says she has "lost faith" in the Paralympics system after having her classification changed on the eve of the Games.

The 23-year-old, going for nine golds in London, will now compete for seven after being moved into a category for less severely disabled athletes.

"It was a huge shock," Weggemann told BBC World Service.

"As an athlete it was not only a shock but it left me very frustrated with the system. I lost faith in it a bit."

"Why can't we in the Paralympic world have athletes like Michael Phelps, who go and win eight gold medals? I feel that the minute you get to that point, your classification gets questioned, and the minute we get to the point of being able to be that dominant in our sport, they come in and say 'maybe you're in the wrong classification', versus just accepting that athletes with disabilities can be that good at what they do."

Mallory Weggemann

Click here for Paralympic classification guide

Weggemann lost the use of her legs after receiving a series of epidurals to treat shingles shortly before her 19th birthday.

She was inspired to become a Paralympic athlete after watching the US swimming trials ahead of Beijing in 2008 and went on to win a stunning eight golds and a silver, setting nine world records, at the 2010 World Championships.

That was in the S7 category, but she was reclassified on Monday after evidence was presented to the International Paralympic Committee showing she was not in the correct class. A US Paralympic Committee appeal was rejected on Wednesday.

"I was always borderline of the S6 and the S7 category, so for me to be moved up to an S8 was very hard," she said. "It's not something I expected.

"It changes my events, it changes a lot of things, and just like every other athlete here I've spent the last four years training for this moment.

"To come in and three days before competition have to go through a classification, and less than 24 hours before I was originally supposed to compete find out that my appeal was denied, is very disheartening."

She added: "I'm a T10 complete paraplegic, I have no feeling or movement from my belly button down and I'm competing against people who are bi-lateral double amputees below the knee, who have, from below the knee up, full function.

"It's like competing against seven athletes who are doping, in a sense, when you're at that big of a disadvantage.

"It's hard to see that the system is fair when you take an athlete that's borderline of the 6/7 category and turn them into an S8."

Weggemann was not alone in being reclassified, with compatriot Justin Zook moved from S9 to S10 and Victoria Arlen initially ruled ineligible before her appeal was upheld.

"I think one of the biggest things that is frustrating to us is that there is a lot of time to do these protests, there's the past six, seven, eight months they could have done a protest," said Weggemann

there are able bodies athlete in paralympic, they are allowed under the rules to assist the disable athlete. But they get a medal too.

There are too many categories and rules too complex to understand.

There are so many variables in this that its difficult to say its fair to all. Sometimes I think its like a circus (short of calling it a freak show). I hate to watch it and felt pitiful for these participants. I apologize for being so mean with my words just expressing exactly how I feel.

Bosss so ferocious. Maybe some truth there.But I do admire some of the disabled strugglinmg to run, to swim and to play ping pong. I think we should not judge them too harshly.

There are so many variables in this that its difficult to say its fair to all. Sometimes I think its like a circus (short of calling it a freak show). I hate to watch it and felt pitiful for these participants. I apologize for being so mean with my words just expressing exactly how I feel.

i do feel the same. i htink we should not show care these disabled people to the world. they live thier own lives and we should respect their privacy.

agree w you...farking bunch of freaks who shd just sit home n die...or apply active euthanasia

pls dont say so unkind things. when you are faced with such stark realities, then you will not say such things. when you are well and healthy, you look at things differently. but when you suffer some setbacks and handicaps or see your loved ones suffering, you would not have passed such harsh judgements.sori uncle very lor soh. it's good for you young ahcheks to say things with some kindness.

radon39

pls dont say so unkind things. when you are faced with such stark realities, then you will not say such things. when you are well and healthy, you look at things differently. but when you suffer some setbacks and handicaps or see your loved ones suffering, you would not have passed such harsh judgements.sori uncle very lor soh. it's good for you young ahcheks to say things with some kindness.

sad, and I also deal with them in my course of work. I rather die. Which is why active euthanasia should be legalised

Ppl like Spencer west are different, they make a difference. those others, well, they are not....sorry, cruel but true.

Fark it uncle, for all you know I may also be a disabled, so just STFU and get a farking coffin and sleep in it will ya....nbcb

This is too harsh a comment, they didn't ask to be born, & to be born that way.

Not all of them are born with a disability. Some lost limbs through accidents or infections. It could happen to any of us.

radon39

This is too harsh a comment, they didn't ask to be born, & to be born that way.

EXACTLY....and thus they should be able to make a proactive decision with their otherwise hopeless lives. I would not want to live if i had any disabilities like that....WTF! My life, my choices. Dun come here lecturing on gahmen gave me life and all. I still shd have the decency to end it if I wish!

and to all again, i say, Euthanasia should be legalised.

I lost the lower part of my leg from an accident and I still enjoy life to the fullest. I certainly wouldn't want to be euthanized just because I am no longer complete as the other 80% of me is still functioning perfectly.

However, I definitely wouldn't sign up to compete in that freak show either.

radon39

I lost the lower part of my leg from an accident and I still enjoy life to the fullest. I certainly wouldn't want to be euthanized just because I am no longer complete as the other 80% of me is still functioning perfectly.

u not freak lah..as long as u functioning, and no spinal cord outside of u body and you still function, so be it....as long as you know you can contribute cf these who sit there and are just awaiting to die....WTF...and the waste of farking resources to kip them alive.....

You not disabled either, save for your stupidity.....but then again, that is debatable.:biggrin:

radon39

btw, if you referring to 3rd leg and is circumcision by how you lost it, then it is normal la:biggrin:

wendychan

But you or i should be the ones to say whether or not we choose euthanasia