• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The reason why there are so many FTs in Sinkie

MarrickG

Companies are given money by the agent to employ foreigners. No wonder they rather employ FTs, got money to take mah. After more than 1 year then prosecute 1st case. A little bit slow leh.

Four prosecuted in kickback employment scam

Three employers and one agent have been prosecuted for kickback offences.

This is the first prosecution since new regulations were introduced by the Ministry of Manpower in July 2008.

The employers - Ong Gim Chua, manager of Meeting Point Pub & Lounge, Ke Koon Seng, director of Seng System Engineering Pte Ltd, and Wong Seng Kiong of Guo Tai Mei Trading - were charged for recovering employment-related costs from their foreign workers.

Meanwhile, the agent, Sun Bao Hua of Starseas Consulting Services Pte Ltd, was charged for abetting representatives of four bus companies to receive benefits by paying them to hire foreign workers through her agency.. The for cases involved 22 workers.

Under the new regulations, Work Permit and S Pass conditions prohibit employers from receiving payment as consideration for employing foreign workers, and recovering employment-related costs from foreign workers.

Similarly, the Employment Agency Licence Condition also prohibits employment agencies from offering payment (whether monetary or in kind) to employers, in exchange for hiring foreign workers through them.

Aw Kum Cheong, Divisional Director, Foreign Manpower Management Division, MOM, said, "Kickbacks undermine the integrity of the employment agency industry, and distorts the market for foreign labour. Our foreign worker policies are intended to help companies to meet their legitimate need for foreign workers. Foreign workers should not be brought into Singapore in order to collect fees from them. Such exploitative behaviour will not be tolerated."

Under the Employment of Foreign Manpower Act, employers who breach Work Permit conditions can be fined up to $5,000 and/or imprisoned for up to six months. They will also be barred from employing foreign workers in the future. Employment agencies that breach the Employment Agency licence conditions will have their licenses revoked and security deposit of $20,000 forfeited.

h-nzheraldlogo-sans.gif

National RSS Email Print
<hr class="displayNone"> <!-- First Image Width= 299 --> Ethnic chefs on the chopping block

4:00AM Friday Jul 17, 2009
By Lincoln Tan <!-- Ixt1-->
chef_300x200.jpg

Chefs (from left) Matsumoto Shinichi, Morita Masaru, Nakajima Kenji and Wakamori Jiro at Ariake Restaurant and Sushi Bar. Photo / Dean Purcell

Specialist ethnic restaurants say they face an uphill battle to retain chefs after changes to job laws that favour a "Kiwi first" policy.

Ariake Restaurant and Sushi Bar, which has been open in downtown Auckland for almost 30 years, says it is now "almost impossible" to recruit from Japan - which it has been doing since 1980 - because Immigration New Zealand says there are New Zealanders available for jobs.

Manager Miyuki Sakairi says her efforts to retain chefs with years of training are hampered by labour law changes.
Immigration New Zealand said that since the Essential Skills policy came into effect last July, it had been made mandatory for officers processing work permit applications to request a labour market test to ensure there were no New Zealanders available for the vacancies.

But an increasing number of migrant workers and their employers are feeling the impact only now as permits start to expire.

Ms Sakairi says she now had to re-advertise the job and register with Work and Income New Zealand even if she wanted to continue employing the same employee in the same position.

"It is so ridiculous, because Winz will tell Immigration there are suitable New Zealanders for the job, but then send us people who are totally unsuitable."

Three Europeans and one Vietnamese were sent by Work and Income to fill waiting positions and a sous chef job. However, none could tell the difference between sushi and sashimi, she said. She declined to employ any of the applicants, and is short of staff.

Ms Sakairi said Immigration had told her there were suitable people registered locally available to fill the job "and/or there are suitable people who are able to be trained for the job".

She added: "I think there is a major problem when we have an immigration department which cannot understand there is a difference between a sushi bar and a fish and chip shop.

"Running a restaurant like ours, we need to have a good balance between staff who have good and intimate knowledge of Japanese food and those who can communicate with our customers. "We do not have the resources to provide training for unemployed Kiwis who have absolutely no knowledge about Japanese food."

Ms Sakairi said the restaurant employed five locals and 19 Japanese staff, and was in the process of appealing against a decision to decline one application.

Immigration New Zealand said it could not comment on individual cases, but jobs in areas with skill shortages could be filled by migrants if they met all the requirements.

Chefs remain on Immigration's long-term skill shortage list, but many restaurants and cafes continued to face an uphill battle to retain or recruit overseas chefs, said Restaurant Association of New Zealand national president Mike Egan.
"The industry is not a one-size-fits-all, but Immigration just doesn't seem to get it. It's really frustrating for business owners - it'd be great if there are Kiwis who can do the job, but the fact is, there's not."

He said there were no cooking schools in New Zealand teaching specialised Asian cooking, and local graduate chefs were taught only standard cooking styles. Mr Egan, who runs five restaurants including Monsoon Poon in Auckland and Wellington, says the association is "in dialogue" with Immigration and was appealing for it to approach the matter with "greater understanding and common sense".

"We employ four overseas chefs and 30 Kiwis. If Immigration stops us from employing our four imports and we have to shut our doors, the result would be 30 out-of-work Kiwis."

Association chief executive Alistair Rowe said an Auckland Indian restaurant seeking to renew its chef's work permit had also received a letter from Immigration "confirming that there is no shortage of people of these skills in New Zealand" - but Winz said it did not have the people.

"The apparent collusion between Winz and Immigration in manufacturing a myth that there is a plentiful supply of New Zealanders willing and able to step into the hospitality roles vacated by those whose visas are not renewed, if continued, will ensure that more people are out of work as businesses become unable to operate without the imported staff who continue to be vital to those businesses," Mr Rowe said in an e-newsletter to the association's 1700 members.
He said the two departments had a "fundamental lack of understanding of the industry".

"All chefs are not the same - Indian, Thai, Chinese, Turkish, Italian cuisines are all different, and the subtleties that make for excellent indigenous cuisine cannot be gleaned from reading a recipe," Mr Rowe said.

An Immigration New Zealand spokesman said chefs applying to work in New Zealand required a national certificate in hospitality level 4 or a level 5 diploma and a minimum of five years' combined experience in relevant establishments, with a minimum two years at Chef de Partie level.

"When an applicant meets all the policy requirements, there should not be any problem obtaining work visas or permits," he said.

"If an applicant meets all requirements, we will accept that no New Zealanders are available for the position. Where the requirements are not met, we will consult Winz on the availability of New Zealanders."

Copyright ©2009, APN Holdings NZ Limited

MarrickG

Yes. In many countries, FTs are employed only for areas where their citizens do not have the expertise to do the job. But here, they are employed for anything as long as cheap.

eeoror88

The reason is crystal clear.

They help to solve the country's low birth rate.

This national problem of citizens not giving birth, has to be put in proper context and cannot be taken lightly !!

That is why you do not need rocket science to deduce the reason as to why so many qualified and educated foreigners are "encouraged" to study, work and settle here as citizens and PRs.

The paramount reason is the extremely low birth rate and the increase in the number of aged Singaporeans.

The problems are exerbated by the increase in the rising number of old lonely Singaporean singles and wretched bitter divorcees.

If this problem is not addressed, this TINY red dot will become a depressive GIANT old aged home !!

khunking

Low birth rate is just an excuse for a mass exodus.

This national problem of citizens not giving birth, has to be put in proper context and cannot be taken lightly !!

jim007jimmyboy

please conveniently explain why the people dont want to procreate.....

its the very high cost of living!!

PAP created this problem..then solve it by flooding Sg with cheap FTrash....which will kill of locals......

it is like a vicious cycle.

To break the chain we have to KILL off PAP and their lousy policies!

cooleo

Singapore in Year 2009: Life is still peaceful....
sengkang.jpg

Singapore in Year 2029: Invasion of Ah Tiongs...
a84bbc7a-cb87-43bc-a743-823a323529c9.jpg

Agoraphobic

If this problem is not addressed, this TINY red dot will become a depressive GIANT old aged home !!

The "problem" is being addressed. Fill the gap by taking in foreign workers AND talents; as you already mentioned. Just that, locals seem to resent this solution.

coolguy

MM: The old and useless must make way for the young and able to come. This is the only way my dynasty will be strong forever. Look, I am purging out my contaminated and diesase ridden old blood out of my body, at the same time injecting young and fresh blood into me. Look how radiant and healthy looking I am.:biggrin:

allanlee

Companies are given money by the agent to employ foreigners. No wonder they rather employ FTs, got money to take mah. After more than 1 year then prosecute 1st case. A little bit slow leh.

Fyi these scams have been around since the 90s......... btw it is the FT that pays the employer hor, not the agent :smile:

Nobody complained then coz it's a win-win-win situation for all those involved (FTs get their PRs... agents get their commission... employers get cheap labour... gahmen get their levy $$$).

Then some smart aleck tried to cheat the gahmen's share tats why kenna crackdown :p

cunnosieur

PROFILE OF PRC DA JI BOR FT

PERSONAL INFO
Nationality: P R China; Singapore PR
Date & Place of Birth: 15/10/1964; Lanzhou, China
Gender Female

EXPERIENCE
Jan. 2002 – Dec. 2005 Bank of China, Singapore Branch

Account Relationship Manager – Corporate Banking Department
Liaise with arrangers on syndication loans deals;
Information gathering, assessing and analysing of macro economy, industry, multinational corporates etc.
Prepare and present of credit proposals;
Prepare annual review reports for existing portfolios;
Draft various reports to Head Office;
Draft, edit and finalise credit manual of the department in Chinese (over 120 pages)
 Translate credit manual of the department into English.

Sep. 1998 - Dec. 2001 The Kwangtung Provincial Bank
Singapore Branch (KPB merged with Bank of China since
1 Jan.2002)

Senior Officer – China Business Department
to build and expand customer base;
to minimise problem loan facilities, increased interest income by 30% within year of 1999;
to go on business trips whenever necessary;
handling perplexing projects which involved in legal procedures;
to draft reports to Head Office;
to communicate well with senior managers and junior staffs.

May 1994- Jul 1998 Robert W H Wang & Woo/ Raymond Tan & Co

China Project Supervisor cum Administrator

to oversee the legal procedures related to China Property Projects and to provide useful and helpful information to the customers;
to translante documents whenever necessary;
to manage 5 supporting staffs;
implemented on-the-job training for new staff.

Jan 1989–1992 Gansu Arts & Crafts Import & Export Corp. Lanzhou

International Trade Representative

Attending international trading fair, travelling overseas and within territary of China to negoticate with clients and suppliers on sales and purchse terms;
Expanded business to Hong Kong, Japan, Taiwan, European and Middle East market;
Worked closely with suppliers to ensure the prompt shipment.

Sep. 1986–Dec. 1988 Gansu Agricultural University, Lanzhou

Assistant Lecturer

Conducted essential English courses to 1-2nd year students and students from ethnic areas;
Conducted training courses to secondary school teachers from rural areass.

EDUCATION
1982–1986 Northwest Normal University, Lanzhou, China
B.A., English Language & Literature.

1990–1991 Gansu International Trade Institute, Lanzhou, China

attended training courses on International Trade, International Finance and Commercial Law, etc.
awarded the Certificate of Merit for the Post of International Trade Representative

2001 ACCA

Attended initial stage courses of ACCA such as Financial Informaiton for Mangement and Preparing Financial Statement, etc.

INTERESTS
Reading, photography, dancing

cunnosieur

PRC Bank Exec

--------------------------------------------------------------------------
Happen to be at waterloo street doing some bank transaction yesterday lunch time, was told by the counter staff to wait for 15min to half an hour. Went out for a quick puff and saw this gal leaning on my car talking on her phone. The moment she lift up her head, I was WOW..... Not bad leh. She smile back and say sorrie, I told her to carry on leaning in a joking way. We chatted awhile and got to know that she just arrived 3 weeks ago working at the Bank which I just went. So I try to date her out for a drink and she say OK (My Lucky Day).

Pick her up after her work at 5.30pm and we went downtown for dinner. I was trying my best to test water (NO LUCK). We headed to Boat Quay for a drink after dinner and I told myself this time DIE DIE also must ask. All of a sudden, she burst into tear (ALCOHOL EFFECT), saying she misses her parent. I try to console her and told her not to think so much. Time passes and we are now more open up, I pop up the question to her:

Me: Why dun you try to earn more money while you are in SG?
She: How to?
Me: Do part time lor.
She: What is part time?
Me: Must I go into detail, then you can understand.
(Slient for a while) and (Burst into laughter)
She: How much am I worth in your eye.
Me: Hard to say, depends on how good are you.
She: How much do you want to give me, if I say OK to you.
Me: 150 lor (Man Ego).
She: If I am good to you, you give me more is it?
Me: Let see how good are you.
Me: How???
She: Can try. Is it now?
Me: Now lor. If not when?
She: Where?
Me: I bring you there.

10.45pm we check into a hotel at chinatown and the rest is story.....

Name: Txxx Xxxx
Look: 7.5 (Young office exec look)
Stats: 34B / 24 / 34 (I think so)
BBBJ: Yes for me
FJ: 9 (good moaning)
Painting: Yes for me
CIM: No
AR: No
AJ: No
Attitude: Very anticipating
Damage: 150 / 1shot
Overall: Good
RTF: Yes for sure (Bonking a Bank Exec)

Interested bro, PM me your contact and I will pass the number to her. She will call you directly.

http://www.sammyboyforum.com/welcome...bank-exec.html

ahleebabasingaporethief

PROFILE OF PRC DA JI BOR FT

PERSONAL INFO
Nationality: P R China; Singapore PR
Date & Place of Birth: 15/10/1964; Lanzhou, China
Gender Female

EXPERIENCE
Jan. 2002 – Dec. 2005 Bank of China, Singapore Branch

Account Relationship Manager – Corporate Banking Department
Liaise with arrangers on syndication loans deals;
Information gathering, assessing and analysing of macro economy, industry, multinational corporates etc.
Prepare and present of credit proposals;
Prepare annual review reports for existing portfolios;
Draft various reports to Head Office;
Draft, edit and finalise credit manual of the department in Chinese (over 120 pages)
 Translate credit manual of the department into English.

Sep. 1998 - Dec. 2001 The Kwangtung Provincial Bank
Singapore Branch (KPB merged with Bank of China since
1 Jan.2002)

Senior Officer – China Business Department
to build and expand customer base;
to minimise problem loan facilities, increased interest income by 30% within year of 1999;
to go on business trips whenever necessary;
handling perplexing projects which involved in legal procedures;
to draft reports to Head Office;
to communicate well with senior managers and junior staffs.

May 1994- Jul 1998 Robert W H Wang & Woo/ Raymond Tan & Co

China Project Supervisor cum Administrator

to oversee the legal procedures related to China Property Projects and to provide useful and helpful information to the customers;
to translante documents whenever necessary;
to manage 5 supporting staffs;
implemented on-the-job training for new staff.

Jan 1989–1992 Gansu Arts & Crafts Import & Export Corp. Lanzhou

International Trade Representative

Attending international trading fair, travelling overseas and within territary of China to negoticate with clients and suppliers on sales and purchse terms;
Expanded business to Hong Kong, Japan, Taiwan, European and Middle East market;
Worked closely with suppliers to ensure the prompt shipment.

Sep. 1986–Dec. 1988 Gansu Agricultural University, Lanzhou

Assistant Lecturer

Conducted essential English courses to 1-2nd year students and students from ethnic areas;
Conducted training courses to secondary school teachers from rural areass.

EDUCATION
1982–1986 Northwest Normal University, Lanzhou, China
B.A., English Language & Literature.

1990–1991 Gansu International Trade Institute, Lanzhou, China

attended training courses on International Trade, International Finance and Commercial Law, etc.
awarded the Certificate of Merit for the Post of International Trade Representative

2001 ACCA

Attended initial stage courses of ACCA such as Financial Informaiton for Mangement and Preparing Financial Statement, etc.

INTERESTS
Reading, photography, dancing

Bro according to her CV she is now 45 years old...lau koi bu...good ah? Got photo? Can PM me ?

Buckethead

"They" heard it's easier to strike lottery over here than any countries in the world cos every week there's a "winner" !...

Adios...

There is only 1 main reason for excessive foreigners in SG: Government policy.

eeoror88

There is only 1 main reason for excessive foreigners in SG: Government policy.

Yes. You are right. The Government has to come up with this policy.

That is why you do not need rocket science to deduce the reason as to why so many young, qualified and educated foreigners are "encouraged" to study, work and settle here as citizens and PRs.

The paramount reason is the extremely low birth rate and the increase in the number of aged Singaporeans.

The problems are exerbated by the increase in the rising number of old lonely Singaporean singles and wretched bitter divorcees.

annexa

And people want less kids because it is too expensive to have kids.
So you bring in FT to lower our salaries while increasing costs.

What a way to be counter-productive.