• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The origin of the colloquial "Wah Lau!"

Debonerman

It is my humble opinion that it originates from the Arabic "W'allah!", a meaning which has the equivalent of "Oh my God!" in English.

Now in the early days of Singapore history, with mainly Hokkien immigrants from China in their interaction with the local Arabs and Malay Muslims could not have helped noticing "W'allah!" as the common expression of indignation and exasperation among the Muslims. This developed into the bastardisation of "W'allah!" into the Hokkien "Wah Lau![My Father!].

The Teochews not to be outdone..{neh neh kor chi!}...came out with their own version....."Wah Peh Oi!" with the same meaning as in Hokkien.

The Cantonese being the smaller minority dialect group chose to stay out of the mainstream retaining their dignifying and perennial" Leh Loh Mo Kor Hai!" as yours truly is a fine example.

The fucking Hakkas were too busy scheming to take political control..........................

http://www.talkingcock.com/html/lexec.php

WAH LAU
The most common polite variation of "Wah Lan".
See also: Wah Lan

WAH LAN/WAH LAN EH/LAN EH
(wah lahn)
Hokkien term which can be loosely translated as "Oh Penis". Probably the most common Singlish expression of all, it is used in much the same way as "oh my goodness", "wow", or "damn!", depending on the tone used, and the context. More polite variants include "Wah Lau" and "Wah Piang".
1. "Wah lan eh! How can you do this sort of thing to me?"
2. "My first thought when I saw her was 'wah lan eh'."
3. "Lan eh, I ask you to do this sort of simple-simple thing, you can also cock up!"

See also: Wah Lau Wah Piang

Agree.

Wah Lan was used first....then it becomes Wah Lao later.

I was around when Wah Lan was used.....and I was the one who started using Wah Lao and the rest as you know it, is history.

Yes, Wah Lan was used first and it was considered a profanity in those days. Used sparingly and not in front of women folk.

Wah lau originate from walaneh..sbf bro walaneh should be able to explain in details.

Yes, Wah Lan was used first and it was considered a profanity in those days. Used sparingly and not in front of women folk.

Juz like the word "Bastxxx". But ppl prefer to use "Basket". Sound more "refine".

The origin is due to the fa club of Andy Lau. They chant lautatwahlautatwahlau ....

somehow mixed up became wahlau !:o

Any concrete proof to all you gentlemen's asserting claim Wah Lan came first before Wah Lau?

thought it was "waaa taaaa!" as in bruce pleading for water.

I watched a jacky Cheung comedy he acted as Bruce Lee. Inside studio he supposed to dub his own fighting scene, then saw cockroaches, he auto scream with fear "ka char" "woo...." "ka char"...then the producer thought he really doing the dubbing, said very good and cut :D

It is my humble opinion that it originates from the Arabic "W'allah!", a meaning which has the equivalent of "Oh my God!" in English.

Now in the early days of Singapore history, with mainly Hokkien immigrants from China in their interaction with the local Arabs and Malay Muslims could not have helped noticing "W'allah!" as the common expression of indignation and exasperation among the Muslims. This developed into the bastardisation of "W'allah!" into the Hokkien "Wah Lau![My Father!].

The Teochews not to be outdone..{neh neh kor chi!}...came out with their own version....."Wah Peh Oi!" with the same meaning as in Hokkien.

The Cantonese being the smaller minority dialect group chose to stay out of the mainstream retaining their dignifying and perennial" Leh Loh Mo Kor Hai!" as yours truly is a fine example.

The fucking Hakkas were too busy scheming to take political control..........................

Hainanese were too busy sucking up to their colonial bosses to get involved! "WA JIA KUT, LU JIA BA" I eat bone, you eat meat!