• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The Most "Chio" Female Billionaire in the World

<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD width="100%">Posted: Mon Apr 19, 2010 10:22 pm Post subject: The Most "Chio" Female Billionaire in the World</TD><TD vAlign=top noWrap> </TD></TR><TR><TD colSpan=2><HR></TD></TR><TR><TD colSpan=2>Hi All,

It really motivates me when I read success stories of people who become rich due to hardwork and not family background.

This woman was not born into a rich family, but managed to get a scholarship to study in England and then, the rest is history...

http://edition.cnn.com/2009/WORLD/asiapcf/02/27/ta.zhangxin/index.html

Imagine how much she's making now as her company owns about 20% of commercial space and property in Beijing!
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

China people can speak much better English than the existing coward sinkie here.

its only those who have spend at least 3 years overseas/local learning english...but mostly who can speak well are those who did their junior high or high school till college overseas...

the reasons they are able to speak well or pronounce well...is they come with an empty mind and learn with a proper standard or one single standard...

the problem with sporns is having too many standards in the mind,...american/british/canadian/aust....and some even use mandarin ways to pronounce the word...

of coz if u have MR Upturn the downturn as an english teacher..the students probably sound like him or worst

That's the problem with our self-centered personality.

You see a few fat British, all British are fat bastards.
The Sinkie gals in your company have small tits, you think all Sinkie gals are flat.
The China peoples you met speak excellent English, you think they all speak good English. ( There are 1.3 billion Chinese in China )

nothing really matter outside our self-centered world. what I think is the truth.

That's the problem with our self-centered personality.

You see a few fat British, all British are fat bastards.
The Sinkie gals in your company have small tits, you think all Sinkie gals are flat.
The China peoples you met speak excellent English, you think they all speak good English. ( There are 1.3 billion Chinese in China )

nothing really matter outside our self-centered world. what I think is the truth.

What i mean is that even a chinese who was born in a culture of china and cheena, is able to speak excellent english and still dare not boost about their english ability and yet can become a billionaire.

For a sinkie, who is so proud that their forsaken country which embraces english and yet cannot even speak and sound right. Plus complain so much about having no money and blame the govt for that. after blaming the govt and yet still no balls to deal with them offline.

Can you tell me, who am i gonna respect. isn't it obvious that i would voted for that China lady?

For a sinkie, who is so proud that their forsaken country which embraces english and yet cannot even speak and sound right. Plus complain so much about having no money and blame the govt for that. after blaming the govt and yet still no balls to deal with them offline.

Can you tell me, who am i gonna respect. isn't it obvious that i would voted for that China lady?

don't think sinkie speak well in general too, agree with you.

the self-centered personality was about all of us. we believe what we experience to be the only truth but it could be more than meet the eyes.

what is the definition of good English? Who decides? If i speak and pronounce my words like an English man, does that mean I speak good English?

Does that mean Americans don't speak good English? By claiming Singaporeans speak poor English, what standard is considered good? Does that mean Singaporeans must speak like Englishmen before we can be considered to be speaking good English? Then we better call ourselves English and not Singaporean.

Extrapoliating this, even taiwanese speak poor Chinese because they don't have the accent of Mainland Chinese, Hongkies are also worse because their Chinese oso cannot make it. Then how come we never hear the press claiming Taiwan and Hong Kong speak poor Chinese?

Point is, where is the standard? What is the standard? Why can't we have our own identity and our charactheristics in terms of language? So long we can understand one another (fellow Singaporeans) - why must we bend and force ourselves to adopt to other style of speaking? Like that might as well burn our flag and adopt their nationality as well.

The standard it , you feel kind of turn off when a sinkie speaks english. and that is the whole bloody point.

That china lady billionaire speak english in a way that makes people feels good and accepted.

Face it, you sinkie has no substance to speak a language that comes from a long history of culture, both english and chinese.

The standard it , you feel kind of turn off when a sinkie speaks english. and that is the whole bloody point.

That china lady billionaire speak english in a way that makes people feels good and accepted.

Face it, you sinkie has no substance to speak a language that comes from a long history of culture, both english and chinese.

fuck lah, you left your brain here is it? If I am a billionaire, I don't need even to speak to get and do what I want ok...

so you speak Thai or not?

Hi All,

It really motivates me when I read success stories of people who become rich due to hardwork and not family background.

This woman was not born into a rich family, but managed to get a scholarship to study in England and then, the rest is history...

Imagine how much she's making now as her company owns about 20% of commercial space and property in Beijing![/SIZE]</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

To be really fair, Soho China is a partnership with her hubby and that's the beauty of a merger of two very different individuals to create a company this unique. I don't think Soho would have made it without either of them.

what is the definition of good English? Who decides? If i speak and pronounce my words like an English man, does that mean I speak good English?

Does that mean Americans don't speak good English? By claiming Singaporeans speak poor English, what standard is considered good? Does that mean Singaporeans must speak like Englishmen before we can be considered to be speaking good English? Then we better call ourselves English and not Singaporean.

Extrapoliating this, even taiwanese speak poor Chinese because they don't have the accent of Mainland Chinese, Hongkies are also worse because their Chinese oso cannot make it. Then how come we never hear the press claiming Taiwan and Hong Kong speak poor Chinese?

Point is, where is the standard? What is the standard? Why can't we have our own identity and our charactheristics in terms of language? So long we can understand one another (fellow Singaporeans) - why must we bend and force ourselves to adopt to other style of speaking? Like that might as well burn our flag and adopt their nationality as well.

taiwanese speak mandarin with a lighter accent but their pronunciation is correct...and they know their mandarin well....they can converse easily with any china folks..their understanding of the language is much stronger ....hongkong speaks badly becoz they have poor pronunciation for their mandarin but their knowledge of it is far stronger than us.....

americans speaks with a lighter accent and a stronger R in pronunciation... but do the british and everyone understand them coz they pronouce their word...

do sporns pronounce their words correctly? u can see some pronouncing their words in many standards some even using mandarin and dialect pronunciation

which is why alot doesnt understand us

do you wan/like sporns to sound like MR Upturn the Downturn or won CAnt sing??

which goes back to the origin of the issue - what is defined as the correct pronounciation. Just because the English and the Americans pronounce a certain word in a certain way does not neccessary means it is the correct pronounciation. There are other factors - accent, length of the tongue, the shape of the teeth, all these affect the pronounciation.

The Indians speak with thick accent but that does that stop India from being understood or less attractive as a place to business?

of course, if you pronounce apple as orange, that is really off. But just like how color can be colour or realise vs realize...why can't orange be pronounced as olange? If you do it long enough, and with time, we will hve a new language as Singlish.

The main reason behind the drive to speak good English is still the mentality that white is still better - back to my original post - just because English speaks English from day one, the grandfather rule is that their spoken English is the bible and standard.

Honestly, I don't see it anything wrong...it does not mean from day 1 a british understand an American. If you listen to say Alex Ferguson, you can hardly understand him !

which goes back to the origin of the issue - what is defined as the correct pronounciation. Just because the English and the Americans pronounce a certain word in a certain way does not neccessary means it is the correct pronounciation. There are other factors - accent, length of the tongue, the shape of the teeth, all these affect the pronounciation.

The Indians speak with thick accent but that does that stop India from being understood or less attractive as a place to business?

of course, if you pronounce apple as orange, that is really off. But just like how color can be colour or realise vs realize...why can't orange be pronounced as olange? If you do it long enough, and with time, we will hve a new language as Singlish.

The main reason behind the drive to speak good English is still the mentality that white is still better - back to my original post - just because English speaks English from day one, the grandfather rule is that their spoken English is the bible and standard.

Honestly, I don't see it anything wrong...it does not mean from day 1 a british understand an American. If you listen to say Alex Ferguson, you can hardly understand him !

no matter what, sinkie accent turns people off, especially eng and chinese. i think the only accent suitable for sinkies are those hokkien vulgarity.

True enough we need to choose a standard so what standard is spore using??? american? british?? or create a new set of language.....

if you are pronouncing the word according to the standard u will have a least similar to that standard of accent you are adopting...and nothing to do with length of the tongue, the shape of the teeth....

The reason people do not understand alex ferguson is becoz they do not know exactly how british pronounce every word

english is english...english is not singlish or manglish....