• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The incredible shrinking Yong Tau Foo!

there is another method they use to scam you.

I always choose the standard 6 piece + Noodle = say $3.50. their sign will say extra piece + $0.50. I've had a few time after handing over the bowl, they charge me $4, ie 1 extra piece. There is no point in arguing as everthing is cut up which is exactly what they are hoping for......

Nowadays, after giving them the bowl, I will tell them immediately 6 pieces + Noodle.

1. 50000, bingo!
2. yes, this is definitely the smart move.
3. or else those stall holders will chop you up.
4. me too, calling out loud my number of pieces.
5. some kind of reconfirmation too:D

I eat at Ampang Yong Tau Foo at Upper East Coast. No need to think. They give fixed number of the various pieces, and charge you per person. Sometimes, auntie there in good mood, can change bitter gourd for fishball. In the meantime, the boss sits in front of the ker-ching machine and smiles silently. The biggest problem eating there is car park space.

1. 50000, bingo!
2. yes, this is definitely the smart move.
3. or else those stall holders will chop you up.
4. me too, calling out loud my number of pieces.
5. some kind of reconfirmation too:D

no choice, what to do....things are expensive, 50c is still 50c. worse if kena scam by the tiongs which have moved into quite a lot of YTF stalls

You guys should try the basement Yong Tau Hu at Golden Mile Hawker Centre, I'm quite amazed at them memorizing all the items and the right owner for each bowl.

Its one of the best Yong Tau Hu I've eaten.

lianbeng says: the bowl may be right but the pieces may not be hor! :D sekali ur fishball ended up in someone else's bowl and u got an extra piece of cuttlefish leh? inside that boiling water pot everything is cooked liao!

I eat at Ampang Yong Tau Foo at Upper East Coast. No need to think. They give fixed number of the various pieces, and charge you per person. Sometimes, auntie there in good mood, can change bitter gourd for fishball. In the meantime, the boss sits in front of the ker-ching machine and smiles silently. The biggest problem eating there is car park space.

It is when the boss makes good money, they would not be particular about giving you an extra half piece of cutter fish tentacle. He would be so busy counting the money and smiling to himself.

How come there are so many so called "Ampang YTF" around....and worse they dont even taste the same and the best joke is the real deal Ampang YTF in Malaysia also taste very different. Anyone knows??

lianbeng tried the real ampang ytf in kl! :D they made n cooked it on the spot so u must wait ok? u want fishball? they will use their hands to squeeze out the fish paste from a tub n put into the pot to cook there n then! they even got chee cheong fun inside the ytf leh! question is: did they wash their hands before squeezing the fishballs?

I thought there was only one genuine Ampang YTF and it was in the basement food centre at Concorde Hotel. This stall was set up by Ampang YTF itself. Not sure whether it is still around. The rest are probably in the manner or fashion of Ampang YTF.

SimpLe.Just Beat them at their Own Game!..:cool:
UsuaLLy i wouLd make it a point to do a quick count with them on the number of pieces which i have picked; and
pay them on the spot.Any items Less; or was not into my seLections, i wouLd bring them straight back to the Vendors ..;)

My prediction is that next time, they'll charge you for breathing air.
They will also have a ministar for air.

already happened.the rain come down is free.but they sell you the rain as freshwater

I thought there was only one genuine Ampang YTF and it was in the basement food centre at Concorde Hotel. This stall was set up by Ampang YTF itself. Not sure whether it is still around. The rest are probably in the manner or fashion of Ampang YTF.

lianbeng replies: Ampang is in KL lah! :D go n try there then say lah!

Same same they got many katong laksa and hougang otah etc..
Many claimants to famous name.

lianbeng replies: Ampang is in KL lah! :D go n try there then say lah!

Of course I know Ampang is in KL but the famous Ampang YTF opened a branch in Concorde Hotel (then Le Meridian) many years back. Not sure whether it is still there.

To aLL the Yong Tau Foo fans; go Visit this one & onLy staLL at Haig F/C..;)
Great spreads, reasonabLy priced, pungent chiLLy dips & best of aLL, heavenLy soup's stock; which you can top them up for free..:)
A wonderfuL picnic idea for both the young & oLd..:D

Malaysian version ytf machiam ampang kl is with meat fillings and sauce eaten with rice.
Sinkie version is the fish filling eaten with noodles. Sinkie got no representation....Koo Kee only one that made a name for itself.....but pale shadow of its original.