• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The HDB scam: Are we owners or tenants of these 99 year properties ?

pia

we are just like farm animials..staying in these HDB flats.....we are being farmed for our CPF and monies

when the term finished...they will just take it back and put new batch of animials inside..

Human batteries a la The Matrix?? :biggrin:

zuoom

what will happen at the end of the lease?

as some of the younger ones will live to that age when the lease goes to ZERO.
(some of the flats are over 30 years into the lease.)

what's the oldest flat that's still around? (in terms of lease years.)

hemunkeong

There are some very old housing built in Queenstown and Whampoa area. I think it was build by govt. before HDB was set up. Those terrace houses are 50 years old but their prices are very expensive about 500 - 650 K. To pay these prices for the remaining 50 years lease is madness. When you buy from HDB you only lease for 99 years - cannot pass to your descendant, when you buy private 99 years - can pass it on. If you buy freehold - can enbloc, pass it on and tell the govt. to F off

Frankiestine

When you buy from HDB you only lease for 99 years - cannot pass to your descendant, when you buy private 99 years - can pass it on. If you buy freehold - can enbloc, pass it on and tell the govt. to F off

HDB i thought can change lease to children....

kchunjeng

You don't own anything here !

1) HDB is leased, once coming to 20~30 years , when need to en-bloc, you will have to sell heheheh.
2) Car too, is leased, using COE, and short term for 10 years, may be 15~20 years.

3)Your son, when war start, have to fight to defence, and have to say goodbye ? do you have a choice ?

4) Your daughter, when married, belongs to her husband ..

5) You belongs to heaven, the GOD, when you pass away !

so.. you are just a emtpy shell with soul !

at the end of the lease, the HDB repossess the pigeon hole and you'll need to find a new one. any amount you've paid for previously, e.g. 200K+ for a 4room, all of that is gone, used for paying upfront rentals of the 99 years of lease.

snrcitizen

HDB i thought can change lease to children....

If you want to change the names on the lease to your children, you need to sell to them subjected to the T&C's of HDB, including paying all the necessary fees to HDB and gahmen. The lease period does not reset to 99 years from the time your children takes over as the official lessee and the clock continues to tick.

Frankiestine

If you want to change the names on the lease to your children, you need to sell to them subjected to the T&C's of HDB, including paying all the necessary fees to HDB and gahmen. The lease period does not reset to 99 years from the time your children takes over as the official lessee and the clock continues to tick.

yeah i noe that there are some transfer fees to pay but you don't pay the fully value of the house in that sense....and you are right the kid take over the remaining lease left on the flat...

angie II

a0ietg.jpg

"Sorry hor, hdb pigeon holes are for u peasants not me hehe.."