• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The evils committed by PAP govt on ageing workers

Leepotism

Retiring plans getting topsy turvy

Not only that Singaporeans cannot retire gracefully, I mean the average working class Singaporeans, they now have to start life all over again like a 20 something. They have to start to find a job, to start to save, to worry if they will still be getting the same share of CPF contributions, not because they are going to start another family, but to pay for housing which should have been paid long ago, and the ridiculous medical bills akan datang.

How did we arrive at this pathetic and desperate position when we were one of the biggest savers in the world? We saved 50% of our income, then slowly reduced to slightly below 40% today. This is still an awesome sum of money to save for a life time, but only to realize, not enough leh. Now Ah Kong and Ah Mah must start saving, and to work, to fight with employers for more CPF. This is like the saying, ‘boh geh’ still want to eat peanuts.

This is the ultimate, and par excellence, in retirement planning of a first world nation. Suddenly everything is just a fleeting dream. The govt is now working hard to make employers pay CPF to the oldies as if they were short changing them. Even their income got to be the same as the young twenty something.

Bull. Let’s face it, not everyone is a LKY or an Emeritus Minister that can keep on thinking of getting bigger and bigger pay as they age. Not everyone is a super talent minister that can be appointed as Chairman here and there, and directors everywhere, to collect more and more pay.

The oldies should be retiring and live on their savings, and taking life easier. Go for a different kind of pursuit, at their own time and own pleasure. There are just so many jobs that the oldies can do, at the same pace and quality as the young. No kidding, our body and system age with time.

We thought our great savings and retirement plans were first class. But we did not bargain for some jokers to throw in the spanner half way, to empty our nest egg with ever increasing housing and medical fees. Now the nest egg is nearly empty. And the oldies panic. And everyone panic.

Who in the first place emptied the nest eggs of the oldies? Now all the policies on ageing and retiring is turning topsy turvy, expecting the oldies to do the contrary, to demand for jobs, for more pay, for more CPF, to save some more. And they are expecting the employers to hire all the oldies when the latter could pay for less with so many foreign talents waiting and knocking at their doors. What a joke!

Ok, Ah Kong and Ah Mah, please line up and open a savings account with POSB, and put in $1 every day and see it grows. Then when the time comes for retirement, the money would have grown, and no more worries. Sure, dead people sure got no worries.

Posted by Chua Chin Leng aka redbean at <A class=timestamp-link title="permanent link" href="http://mysingaporenews.blogspot.com/2011/10/retiring-plans-getting-topsy-turvy.html" rel=bookmark><ABBR class=published title=2011-10-03T08:40:00+08:00>8:40 AM</ABBR>
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Just give back whatever CPF money the seniors have in their CPF accounts and stop the bluff.

1. aiyoh!
2. older sheep just have to work till death.
3. the only resting place or comfort is the deathbed.
4. the other tap to sheep's cpf contributions keeps running concurrently.
5. tau neh tan, so how huh?

With influx of foreigners, Singaporeans have to move backward to catch up with foreigners and here I am talking about miserable wages and bear with the unconducive Singapore space now. Disgusting!

1sickpuppy II

U reap what u plant. These old generation all the time supported this govt they can go ahead and get what they deserve.

melzp

After all these years(since independence)...........more than 2 Generations,
its so so sad to see Senior Citizens working with low pay, low cpf contribution
and competition from foreigners............and there is no solution.

THANKS TO THE 60%

konstandy

U reap what u plant. These old generation all the time supported this govt they can go ahead and get what they deserve.

yap those retards that voted for their destiny serve them right ... like my old mum who vote pap but complain not enough $$$$: then y vote pap??? RETARDED!!! only way to explain the old generation lah :biggrin:

Retiring plans getting topsy turvy ...
dun waste time making retirement plans la ... u plan, dey sabo ur plans ... u plan 4 wat? ...

u oni nid 2 plan dat there's no retirement ... it makes retirement planning ezier, isnt it? ... :rolleyes: