• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The Emperor brings up the worst analogy post GE

steffychun

Well, I look forward to MM Lee serving Tanjong Pagar GRC for the next 5 years.

But will he still be alive in the next election? :wink:

Putting an almost 90-year old man to be an MP of a GRC at the last minute... that's PAP's 'leadership renewal' for you. :rolleyes:

The Devil takes care of his own

Cruxx

"2011 has seen a generation that does not remember from when we came.

"But that is to be expected, but I do and those among you over 50 will remember."

So how does he expect this generation to behave? Kowtow to the FAP and continue to be yesmen and serfs meekly like their parents? Luckily, they didn't. As they have demonstrated in this election, their passion, patriotism and fervour has re-ignited the hope in Sporeans again! And btw, before he forgot, Spore has reached to where it is today not because it was a one-man show, but from the sweat, blood and sacrificies of a few generations of Sporeans - who are now being marginalized by his foreign pets. Can someone remind him cos he seems to have conveniently forgotten about it?!

There's no sweat, blood and sacrifices in laundering money for the corrupt and abetting tax evasion. Do not kid yourself that the Singapore "success story" is one founded on ability and merit. :rolleyes:

"Do not believe that the Singapore flight can be auto-pilot. You will run into storms, you will run into all kinds of emergencies and you must have good pilots on board and passengers who do not panic".

Limpei cheebye, fucking Old Goat should just shut his mouth and go somewhere and quietly die. IsTin Pei Ling a good pilot? If he truly believes in what he says than he has to do better than to give patronage appointments to cunts like her. As far as I aconcerned, the ship has been on the rocks for a while.

cooleo

In some places, when u are old and useless, your children will take u to the mountains and leave u there to die. Old Man is lucky that Ass Loong has not done so yet.

lianbeng

MM Lee said: "Today, the Singapore Port Authority has mechanised; no longer do people carry sacks of rice -- they use forklift trucks, computers, cranes, so as a result salaries have gone up, productivity has gone up.

lianbeng says, "but forklift trucks, computers, cranes, prime-movers, etc... still need people to drive n operate mah. but no singaporean wana do this type of job mah so bohpian must use foreigners lor.":biggrin:

Papsmearer says, "Lianbeng is a dumb shit. Got many singaporeans want to operate forklift trucks, computers, cranes, etc. but they cannot survive on the $1800 offered by these employers, whereas the foreigners who take these jobs can"

lianbeng

Papsmearer says, "Lianbeng is a dumb shit. Got many singaporeans want to operate forklift trucks, computers, cranes, etc. but they cannot survive on the $1800 offered by these employers, whereas the foreigners who take these jobs can"

lianbeng replies, "so now u know why they keep bringing in FT/FW? u n me also cannot survive $1.8K but they can with just $1K leh. eat back ur own shit lah.":biggrin:

No dumbshit, u said no singaporean want to do this job. There are many that want to do it. But not at that pay level. DOn't be a cunt about it, u are stupid just say so.

Watch the clip on raxorTV.

Old man questions WP's role in parliament. he implied that WP is there to oppose the PAP rather than help singaporeans. so old already still so mean.

<object>
<param name="movie" value="http://image.razor.tv/site/flashplayer/razortv2.swf"></param>
<param name="wmode" value="transparent"></param>
<param name="flashvars" value="file=http%3A//www.razor.tv/site/servlet/stream/playerXml%3Frepeat%3Dfalse%26autostart%3Dfalse%26video%3Dcontentbean%3A64164%26browserUrl%3Dhttp%3A//www.razor.tv/site/servlet/segment/main/specials/General_Election/&adsurl=http%3A//www.razor.tv%3A80/site/servlet/adsVideo/%3Fstream%3Dcontentbean%3A64164%26channel%3Dcontentbean%3A59830&isembed=true&hideall=true&hidebnt=true"></param>
<embed allowfullscreen="true" width="576" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" height="382" src="http://image.razor.tv/site/flashplayer/razortv2.swf" flashvars="file=http%3A//www.razor.tv/site/servlet/stream/playerXml%3Frepeat%3Dfalse%26autostart%3Dfalse%26video%3Dcontentbean%3A64164%26browserUrl%3Dhttp%3A//www.razor.tv/site/servlet/segment/main/specials/General_Election/&adsurl=http%3A//www.razor.tv%3A80/site/servlet/adsVideo/%3Fstream%3Dcontentbean%3A64164%26channel%3Dcontentbean%3A59830&isembed=true&hideall=true&hidebnt=true"></embed>
</object>

It's worse when the flight is on senile-pilot, based on outdated terrain data and 50 year old technology.

1. aiyoh!
2. what auto-pilot?
3. there are already plenty of cluess and useless pilots or looklike pilots in the cockpit mah!
4. it is the co-pilot that slaps the "pilots" in question to steer the plane properly.
5. broken record must be not only old but blind.

jbsmith

S'pore can't go on auto-pilot, says MM Lee
Posted: 08 May 2011 2114 hrs

SINGAPORE: Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew has reminded Singaporeans the country cannot go on auto-pilot and must continue to have capable leaders to run the nation.

Speaking at an event to thank residents at Tanjong Pagar Group Representation Constituency (GRC), MM Lee said the division will continue to have more upgrading programmes and improvement schemes.

MM Lee said: "Today, the Singapore Port Authority has mechanised; no longer do people carry sacks of rice -- they use forklift trucks, computers, cranes, so as a result salaries have gone up, productivity has gone up.

"That is the way Singapore has to go and the only way we can increase standards of living, increase our skills and our capabilities.

"2011 has seen a generation that does not remember from when we came.

"But that is to be expected, but I do and those among you over 50 will remember.

"Do not believe that the Singapore flight can be auto-pilot. You will run into storms, you will run into all kinds of emergencies and you must have good pilots on board and passengers who do not panic".

MM Lee was asked by reporters later for his thoughts on the swing of votes towards the opposition in this General election.

"I am sure the Prime Minister and his team will sit down carefully and analyse the reasons and adapt our policies. I can't say more, I am not the prime minister," he said.

On Minister George Yeo's defeat in the Aljunied polls, Mr Lee said Singapore has lost a valuable minister.

"Not just Foreign Minister, he was also Minister for Trade and Industry but that's the way the cards have fallen and we have to live with it," MM Lee said.

-CNA/wk

In today ST Forum, good read.

May 10, 2011
PAP through the lens of a young S'porean

AS A young Singaporean, I am disturbed by Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew's remarks that my generation has forgotten the struggles of our past ('MM: Past struggles forgotten by young'; yesterday).

Scarcely a day goes by when I do not hear a positive remark about our city from my foreign friends, and I constantly marvel at what we have achieved as a nation when I compare Singapore to the cities I have visited.

Older Singaporeans are quick to tell me how much we owe our Government, and I do not disagree. MM Lee should rest easy; the younger generation remembers. Government media and education campaigns remind us how far we have come. I know we have the People Action Party's (PAP) old guard to thank for it: They slogged through the hardest times and we, and the third-generation PAP leaders, enjoy the fruits of their labour.

But we do not owe the PAP a living. The party has performed and we are thankful. But the PAP must constantly prove itself worthy of the task.

The PAP is not on auto-pilot and cannot keep doing more of the same and expect our support. It must increase its skills and capabilities, and the party has yet to convince us that it is the only pilot who can see us through a storm. The PAP has failed to make itself fully relevant to my generation.

Its communication is high-handed and old-fashioned; its policies pursue economic growth that was vital in the past, but fail to adequately address today's socio-cultural issues.

The party's rhetoric is staid and uncomfortable and does not speak to the hearts of my peers.

Instead of ushering Singapore into a new era with the stability and strength that only the PAP can provide, the party has chosen to foist its brand of old-world 'stability' and 'strength' upon us. 'From whence we came' is not where we want to go.

Daniel Yap

LeMans2011

Well, I look forward to MM Lee serving Tanjong Pagar GRC for the next 5 years.

But will he still be alive in the next election? :wink:

Putting an almost 90-year old man to be an MP of a GRC at the last minute... that's PAP's 'leadership renewal' for you. :rolleyes:

Tanjung Pagar will be next GRC to fall come 2016... get your team ready to attack

steffychun

Old man questions WP's role in parliament. he implied that WP is there to oppose the PAP rather than help singaporeans. so old already still so mean.

<object>
<param name="movie" value="http://image.razor.tv/site/flashplayer/razortv2.swf"></param>
<param name="flashvars" value="file=http%3A//www.razor.tv/site/servlet/stream/playerXml%3Frepeat%3Dfalse%26autostart%3Dfalse%26video%3Dcontentbean%3A64164%26browserUrl%3Dhttp%3A//www.razor.tv/site/servlet/segment/main/specials/General_Election/&adsurl=http%3A//www.razor.tv%3A80/site/servlet/adsVideo/%3Fstream%3Dcontentbean%3A64164%26channel%3Dcontentbean%3A59830&isembed=true&hideall=true&hidebnt=true"></param>
<embed allowfullscreen="true" width="576" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" height="382" src="http://image.razor.tv/site/flashplayer/razortv2.swf" flashvars="file=http%3A//www.razor.tv/site/servlet/stream/playerXml%3Frepeat%3Dfalse%26autostart%3Dfalse%26video%3Dcontentbean%3A64164%26browserUrl%3Dhttp%3A//www.razor.tv/site/servlet/segment/main/specials/General_Election/&adsurl=http%3A//www.razor.tv%3A80/site/servlet/adsVideo/%3Fstream%3Dcontentbean%3A64164%26channel%3Dcontentbean%3A59830&isembed=true&hideall=true&hidebnt=true"></embed>
</object>

Nothing new since 1923

Letter from another youth who voted for the opposition.

It’s not that we don’t remember

by TODAYonline
Published at 9:26 am, May 11, 2011
Letter from Danny G Tan

I REFER to the article “A generation that does not remember: MM” (May 9). In the lead-up to this election, I have had many political discussions with family and friends.

While we may not agree on everything, we are unanimous in our respect for Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew and his comrades for helping lay the foundations for Singapore.

We are uniformly thankful for their vision and hard work. However, our gratitude towards this first generation of leaders cannot simply be translated to an unquestioning, unyielding support for the People’s Action Party (PAP).

The current generation of Singaporeans is a product of the nation they built. As intended, we are well-educated, cosmopolitan and a “thinking” bunch.

Therefore, while my generation lives in a wealthy and modern nation that has indeed seen some hardship, we, too, are now an active force in trying to shape Singapore’s future.

With about 60 per cent of the vote going to the PAP, Singaporeans have shown that while some are firmly grounded in the belief that PAP is the way for the future, 40 per cent of us are keen to explore alternatives.

With more political space opening up, I am confident that my generation will continue to remember the efforts of the PAP pioneers, even as we contemplate new political options.

steffychun

<object>
</object>

Can we question old man's role when his party was in opposition?