• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The Best Loved And Least Loved Presidents Of Singapore

clinton666

There is no doubt that the most-loved President of Singapore is President Nathan. President Nathan loved Singaporeans and treat them like his own sons and daughters and that feeling s mutual.

The least loved President is without the shadow of a doubt former President Ong Teng Cheong. Former President Ong was completely out of touch with common Singaporeans. He was obsessed with money and his Presidency was all about money money money. Among the four former presidents who had passed away, Ong Teng Cheong was the only one who did not receive a state funeral and rightfully so.
ndp2.jpg

jim007jimmyboy

u mother fucker chao cheebye!!!

the prataman is the worse of the lot!!

Mr.Ong Teng Cheong is the ONLY truly elected President by the people! And he has 100% singaporeans respect and admiration.

Jabba

Ahem...Singapore have five former presidents that have passed away...my guess is that you have forgotten abt president nair nair fire...by the way...r u a keling?

peterlth

There is no doubt that the most-loved President of Singapore is President Nathan. President Nathan loved Singaporeans and treat them like his own sons and daughters and that feeling s mutual.

Yeah right .... maybe you should suggest increasing his 4 million dollar yearly salary .... $4,000,000.00 ....

data

angie II

28im5b7.jpg

Son : Dad, their president elected by the people one meh?

Sima Yi : No lah, even their own netizens called him a jiak liao bee.

angie II

noxzsl.jpg

Doggy : Sir, clinton666 from PAPee IB said u are the best president.

Prata man : Issit? Then u draft for me a letter for his promotion & i will sign it.

clinton666

u mother fucker chao cheebye!!!

the prataman is the worse of the lot!!

Mr.Ong Teng Cheong is the ONLY truly elected President by the people! And he has 100% singaporeans respect and admiration.

You spastic gay dog :oIo:

President is the most loved by Singaporeans. You can ask everyone around you. Former President alienated Singaporeans by being obsessed with money. He did not even deserved a state funeral :mad:

angie II

As a PAPee dog i have to be a shameless liar :p

OngTengCheong-1993.jpg

Political career

Ong Teng Cheong's political career spanned 21 years. He was Member of Parliament, Cabinet Minister and Deputy Prime Minister, before he resigned to become Elected President in 1993. Ong was talent spotted by the People's Action Party which fielded him in Kim Keat in the 1972 General Election. His first political appointment came just 3 years later when he was made Senior Minister of State for Communications. And it was as Communications Minister that Ong pushed for the development of the MRT system, the largest construction project in Singapore's history. His next challenge came on the labour front, when he became NTUC Secretary-General in 1983. Ong was diagnosed with lymphoma-cancer of the lymphatic system in 1992. But this did not dampen his desire to continue serving. He became Singapore's first Elected President a year later, and it was a presidency marked by many charitable projects, which touched the lives of many Singaporeans. Ong stepped down as President at the age of 63. <sup id="cite_ref-cna_0-1" class="reference">[1]</sup>
As chairman of the People's Action Party (PAP) and secretary-general of the National Trades Union Congress, Ong was considered a firm Lee Kuan Yew loyalist. In January 1986, he sanctioned a strike in the shipping industry, the first for about a decade in Singapore, without telling the cabinet. He said that he did not inform the cabinet or the government because they would probably stop him from going ahead with the strike. There was a major corporate and Cabinet backlash against his decision; however, the strike lasted only two days, and a deal was struck.<sup id="cite_ref-asiaweek_1-0" class="reference">[2] </sup> During his tenure as the Minister of National Development, Ong was a proponent of the Mass Rapid Transit system. He later became the 2nd Deputy Prime Minister in 1985.

Presidency

Ong ran for the presidency in 1993 under PAP's endorsement. He ran against a reluctant Chua Kim Yeow, a former accountant general, for the post. A total of 1,756,517 votes were polled. Ong received 952,513 votes while Chua had 670,358 votes, despite the former having a higher public exposure and a much more active campaign than Chua. There was a swing of support over to Chua's side, especially in the educated class. The reason was because of the issue of whether they wanted a PAP man as president to check on a PAP government or whether it would be better to have a neutral independent like Chua.

However, soon after his election to the presidency in 1993, he became embroiled in a dispute with the government over the access of information regarding Singapore's financial reserves. The government said it would take 56 man years to produce a dollar-and-cents value of the immovable assets. Ong discussed this with the accountant general and the auditor general and came to a compromise that the government needed to give him only a listing of all the properties that the government owns. It took the government a few months to produce the list. But even then the list was not complete. In all, it took the government three years to come up with the information about the reserves that Ong requested.<sup id="cite_ref-asiaweek_1-1" class="reference">[2]</sup> The government also tried to submit a bill to parliament for the sale of the Post Office Savings Bank (POSB), a statutory board whose reserves are to be protected by the president, to the Development Bank of Singapore (DBS), without first informing Ong during the last year of his presidency. Ong's office had to inform the government that the procedure was wrong.<sup id="cite_ref-asiaweek_1-2" class="reference">[2]</sup>
Due to health reasons, he decided not to run for a second term as president in 1999.

angie II

C_V_Devan_Nair.jpg

Devan Nair a/l Chengara Veetil
, also known as C. V. Devan Nair (August 5, 1923–December 6, 2005), was the third President of Singapore and was elected by Parliament on October 23, 1981. He served as President until his resignation on March 28, 1985.

Career

Initially, a member of the Communist Anti-British League, he joined Lee Kuan Yew's People's Action Party in 1954. He was the only PAP member to win in the Malaysian general election, 1964, winning the Bangsar constituency, near Kuala Lumpur. He stayed in Malaysia after the Separation, forming the Democratic Action Party, but returned to Singapore to lead the labor union movement and founded the National Trades Union Congress. He won the Anson seat in the Singapore Parliamentary Elections, (1979|1979 elections) and accepted the largely ceremonial office of President in 1981, resulting in a by-election of the Anson seat which was then won by opposition leader J.B. Jeyaretnam (this was seen as one of the major upsets of Singapore politics).

Resignation

On March 28, 1985, Nair resigned in unclear circumstances. Prime Minister Lee Kuan Yew stated in Parliament that Nair resigned to get treatment for alcoholism, a charge Nair hotly denied. According to Nair's counterclaim, he resigned under pressure when their political views came into conflict and Lee threatened to seek a motion in parliament to oust him as president. Nair also alleged that he was fed drugs to make him appear disoriented, and rumours were spread about his personal life in an attempt to discredit him. In 1999, an article about the case in the Canadian newspaper Globe and Mail resulted in a libel suit by Lee. [1] The suit was thrown out of court after Nair's counterclaim. [2]

angie II

2n19yqs.jpg

"All those who become too kay poh & oppose me will be blacklisted, Prata man is very obedient"

angie

WeeKimWee-1985.jpg

Wee Kim Wee

Presidency

A highly popular president, he was noted by people from all walks of life for his approachability and humility during his term in office. Modest, friendly, and sincere, he is remembered as the People's President. Up until Wee's second term as President, the selection of the presidential candidate was determined solely by the Parliament of Singapore. During Wee's second term, the Singapore Parliament amended the constitution in January 1991 to allow for the direct election of the President, who would have the right of veto over civil service appointments and the use of government reserves. The creation of an elected presidency was a major constitutional and political change in Singapore's history as under the revision, the President is empowered to veto government budgets and appointments to public office. This allows him to examine the Government's exercise of its powers under the Internal Security Act and religious harmony laws, and in investigations into cases of corruption. For the ensuing initial Presidential election - the first in Singapore to be decided by popular poll - Wee decided not to enter his candidacy, and went into retirement upon the completion of his second and final term as President. In 2004 he published his autobiography, Glimpses and Reflections. From the royalties and other donations, half a million Singapore dollars were donated to eight charities.

Death

Wee died due to prostate cancer in his home on 2 May 2005 at 5:10am SST. He was 89. A humble man up to his death, he had asked to be cremated and for the ashes to be placed at Mandai Columbarium with those of ordinary citizens instead of Kranji War Cemetery, where late dignitaries are usually buried. His state funeral saw a large crowd who attended to pay their last respects at the Istana. Wee was survived by his wife of 69 years, Koh Sok Hiong, son Bill Wee Hock Kee, six daughters, thirteen grandchildren, and fourteen great-grandchildren.

angie

Singapore's presidents

By Azizah Sidek written on 1999-04-17
National Library Board Singapore

Comments on article: InfopediaTalk

The first four Presidents of independent Singapore were appointed to a term of four years. But in 1993 the presidency changed from being an appointed post to an elected one. The next two Presidents were elected to the office unopposed.

Prior to 30 November 1991, the President of the Republic of Singapore was elected by Parliament for a term of 4 years. Yusof bin Ishak, Singapore's Yang di-Pertuan Negara after Sir William Goode stepped down, was the Republic's first President. He was born on 12 August 1910 and assumed office as Yang di-Pertuan Negara on 3 December 1959. He became the President of Singapore on 9 August 1965 and served until his death on 23 November 1970 of heart failure.

The following January, Parliament named eminent gynaecologist and obstetrician Dr Benjamin Henry Sheares as Yusof's successor. He was sworn in as President on 2 January 1971 and died during his third term of office on 12 May 1981.

Five months later, Chengara Veetil Devan Nair, a former trade union leader, was announced as the third President of Singapore. In March 1985, just months before his term was to expire, Nair resigned after a shock announcement by the government that he had been diagnosed as an alcoholic.

Wee Kim Wee was installed as Singapore's fourth President in August 1985. His term expired in September 1993, when the presidency changed from being an appointed post to an elected one.

Ong Teng Cheong, a civil servant and a trained architect was sworn in on 1 September 1993 and made Singapore's first elected President, serving until 31 August 1999.

On 1 September 1999, S. R. Nathan, civil servant and diplomat was appointed the second elected President of Singapore.

Yusof bin Ishak (22 December 1965 - 23 November 1970)
Prof Benjamin Henry Sheares (2 January 1971 - 12 May 1981)
Chengara Veetil Devan Nair (24 October 1981 - 28 March 1985)
Wee Kim Wee (2 September 1985 - 1 September 1993)
Ong Teng Cheong (1 September 1993 - 31 August 1999)
Sellapan Ramanathan (1 September 1999 -)

wikiphile

Yes i love SR Nathan so much that i have the following to say to him:

Nathan you keleng lao chee bye!

As i am perverse, i insult the ones i love but that does not mean i love them any less.

Just for the record, i love you two Clinton666

Kan ni na bu pua cheebye! See i luv u many many too :smile:

Frankiestine

That chao ah neh who walks round in a perpetual state of drunkenness and speaks in a drunken stupor is the most loved president?

:oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo:

1. get real man!
2. wake up and smell the coffee.
3. do you need an aged person full of "sickness" and paid a remuneration package even mr "o" cannot match to play mr nice guy cum santa claus?
4. i respected the late mr ong.

SotongMee

No.1 Most respectable president.
Ong Teng Chong. Elected by the people but no state funeral.

No.1 Most smiley and friendly president.
Wee Kim Wee. Most liked but no state funeral.

No.1 Most memorable president.
Benjamin Sheares. Sinkies got 1 day public holiday to watch state funeral. Other than that don't know what he done.

No.1 Most notable first president.
Yusoff Ishak-his image on all Singapore notes plus 1 public holiday during his state funeral.

No.1 Most publicly joked about president.
Devan N.A.I.R. PAP-smeared-N.A.I.R.=No Alcohol I Resign

No.1 Most coveted president.
SR Nathan, ex-Kempetai,ISD, erected secret service agent.

ah_phah

we have a president, we have a prime minister... but how come don't have vice president? or is the vice president too engrossed in vice that he got no time to show his face?

As if the President has got a lot of things to do that he needs a Deputy?

:biggrin::biggrin: