• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The banana and your HDB flat

SNAblog

http://www.yoursdp.org/index.php/news/singapore/2920-the-banana-and-your-hdb-flat

The banana and your HDB flat
Thursday, 10 December 2009
Singapore Democrats

hdbflats.jpg

One stall sells bananas for 50 cents each. Another prices them at $1 but posts a sign: "Buy One Get One Free!" Who do you buy from? Unfortunately many shoppers are attracted to the latter.

It is this psychology that the PAP preys on when it says that HDB flats are subsidized: Jack up the price of the flats and then sell them at a "discount". This way, the Government calculates, Singaporeans will be eternally grateful for the make-believe assistance.

Here's how things work in reality. The Government owns most of the island. From time to time it puts out parcels of land for sale and invites private developers to bid for them. (“Private” is used very loosely here as some of these real estate companies are GLCs).

The Government then sells land earmarked for HDB flats to the HDB at a lower price (say, 60 percent) of whatever amount the successful private bid comes to. In other words, the PAP claims, HDB land is subsidized (by up to 40 percent).

Deliciously diabolical, isn't it? The Government, in the form of the HDB, "purchases" the land from itself, factors the amount into the price of flats, makes a tidy profit from Singaporeans and then claims that it subsidizes the flats!

But so what if the Government makes a bit of money on the side? Does it not provide nice, clean housing at an affordable rate, you ask?

"Affordable" is a rather malleable word. While the Minister for National Development never fails to assure Singaporeans that they can afford the flats, he doesn't let them in on a secret: They really can't.

Most Singaporeans use the main bulk of their CPF savings to pay for the HDB loans that they take for their flats. They usually take up to three decades to finish paying up the mortgage – just in time for their retirement.

Lest anyone forgets, the CPF is a retirement savings scheme. It started off as one, anyway. It has since morphed into a housing, investment, medical and insurance fund all rolled into one. But that's another story.

If you have to use your retirement funds to buy a flat so that you end up with nothing to retire on, it means that you cannot afford the property. All you are doing is to party now but pay for it later, a practice which many retirees are unfortunately finding out the hard way.

The really scary thing is that most Singaporeans don't know that they don't have enough to retire on. Those who do just worry.

And work. The Government now tells everyone to retire later. Better still, don't retire at all.

What about those who cannot work? You hope that you have children rich enough to look after you.

And if you don't? There's always the sidewalk.

In the meantime, Mr Lee Kuan Yew boasts how our reserves have expanded from $3 billion to $300 billion and the ministers get invited to places to teach others the wonders of the HDB system.

Affordability means that the amount of money you earn every month is enough for your basic expenses which must include paying for your housing loan and putting aside an amount for retirement. If the housing portion is so large that it leaves nothing for you to save for your retirement, it means that you can't afford the flat. That's the unpalatable truth.

In a perfect world the opposition and the media would have alerted the people to this abuse. But alas, we're not even living in a democratic one. As a result the PAP continues to get away with the humbug.

(Did someone say that civil liberties have nothing to do with our economic well-being?)

So the next time the Government tells you that your flats are subsidized and that because of this the HDB continues to run a deficit, think of the guy who sells you a banana and offers the other one free.

they only want the house price to keep going up, never down.
this is capitialism and consumerism.

they only want the house price to keep going up, never down.
this is capitialism and consumerism.

A 26 yrs old 3 room resale HDB costing about $270,000 now.

Yet the seller is asking me for $20,000 cash over-valuation :mad:

Missing 2 pieces of crucial info. Firstly, the govt. owns the land by nationalising. Thereby getting it for almost free. This is where the biggest profit is. Secondly, nobody owns their flat. Everyone is a tenant. By "buying" your flat, you have actually prepaid your rent to HDB for 25 years.

same principle in increasing GST to help poor and needies.

or a more classic one:

decreasing GST means increasing business costs

paps are paid highly for lip services so that peasants get more confused and conned and still feeling beholden to the million dollars minitoots.

same principle in increasing GST to help poor and needies.

or a more classic one:

decreasing GST means increasing business costs

paps are paid highly for lip services so that peasants get more confused and conned and still feeling beholden to the million dollars minitoots.

Let your lips serve me well by puttin 'em over my dick Bob! And suck it hard!:mad:

Missing 2 pieces of crucial info. Firstly, the govt. owns the land by nationalising. Thereby getting it for almost free. This is where the biggest profit is. Secondly, nobody owns their flat. Everyone is a tenant. By "buying" your flat, you have actually prepaid your rent to HDB for 25 years.

it's a 99 yr leasehold. so what happen when the pigeonhole reaches the end of its 99 yrs lease? gotta fork out more money? we might be gone but then looking at the way cost raises faster than a hot air balloon, will our descendents be stifled into paying more to live in tiny pigeonholes in the sky?

You got time to put your mouth to good use now, mate? Suck my dick!:mad:

It was reported some time ago that HDB are losing something like 4 billions.

Your HDB will never reach 99 years. They will recycle the old for redevelopments
to jack up higher price. The saying " If you're not good enough, life will kick you in the balls" That is from Wee Shu min
In other word, you never own it in the first place.

A 26 yrs old 3 room resale HDB costing about $270,000 now.

Yet the seller is asking me for $20,000 cash over-valuation :mad:

i know, these shits are speculators. they only want to buy and sell flats to earn money.

soon sinkies will not be able to afford to live in their own land, they have to move out to survive. A grim future for sinkies, and yet they give pap the mandate.

i know, these shits are speculators. they only want to buy and sell flats to earn money.

soon sinkies will not be able to afford to live in their own land, they have to move out to survive. A grim future for sinkies, and yet they give pap the mandate.

if every hdb owners is doing the same thing, it's no longer a sin. just like bribing everyone with angpows when it was close to the last GE was no longer a corruption.

the trouble is many sgporeans buy their flats, change, upgrade or downgrade it so often, the prices are all artificially simulated. whether u buy, sell, up or downgrade the pigeonholes, HDB and LEE & LEE profited immensely.

when u decide to own a hdb flat. buy it. stay in it ...and that's it! don't change and be drawn into the vicious greed cycle.

the trouble is

cheebye kia bapok Bob Sim Kheng Hwee was a kelefe in some temples

he claimed to be helping the temples in some gardening work etc

the truth is the cheebye kia was sucking some monks' lanjiaos and masturbating some monks

the temples finally kicked the cheebye kia out when he was caught STEALING TEMPLE DONATIONS!

Unfortunately, you, like most sinkies DON"T EFFING GET IT. The PAP plan for it never to reach 99 years. The 99 years is a smoke screen to lull the "buyer" into paying for the flat and thinking its a long way to go. In fact, no HDB flat has exceeded 30 years. The flats themselves are not designed to last 99 years. Look at the construction and engineering aspects of that.

The PAP plan to make you fork out the money somewhere around the 25-30 year mark. They will come and tear down your whole estate at that time, and offer to relocate you to a new estate. But of course, you must pay more for your new place, and it will re-start the 99 year lease clock again. The HDB has no interest in seeing you reach the 99 years. Why? They can sell you 2 flats within that time frame. Just look at some of the original estates like Queenstown and you will see what I mean.

It was reported some time ago that HDB are losing something like 4 billions.

I know what you are talking about. U know why? If you remember, at that time which was only a few years ago, due to the economy and the ramping up of production in anticipation of FT buyers, HDB ended up with a glut of 20,000 units or so. Well, they already paid the contractors to build these units, but because they cannot sell it, the cost exceeded the revenues. Hence the $4 billion loss.

But in actual fact, they are not really losing, its all paper loss. Because they get the land for next to free, if they build 20,000 units, and sell only 5,000, they have already made a profit. But they bought the land from URA and LTA for an inflated price, so on their books, it a loss.

Unfortunately, you, like most sinkies DON"T EFFING GET IT. The PAP plan for it never to reach 99 years. The 99 years is a smoke screen to lull the "buyer" into paying for the flat and thinking its a long way to go. In fact, no HDB flat has exceeded 30 years. The flats themselves are not designed to last 99 years. Look at the construction and engineering aspects of that.

The PAP plan to make you fork out the money somewhere around the 25-30 year mark. They will come and tear down your whole estate at that time, and offer to relocate you to a new estate. But of course, you must pay more for your new place, and it will re-start the 99 year lease clock again. The HDB has no interest in seeing you reach the 99 years. Why? They can sell you 2 flats within that time frame. Just look at some of the original estates like Queenstown and you will see what I mean.

those 3 room flats in beach road already 30 years old leh. still around leh.