• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Tan Chuan Jin to look into foreign students having difficulties finding jobs

Another great article by Dr Joseph Ong? The articles in temasektimes really sounds like his articles in Wayangparty.

tanchuanjin.jpg

While Singaporean graduates have to struggle to find jobs after graduation, foreign students studying in Singapore on scholarship appear to have an easier time as they need to serve a three year bond in Singapore, and yet they too are complaining about the tight labor market.

During a forum held at the Singapore Management University on Tuesday night, Acting Manpower Minister was peppered with complaints from foreign students about difficulties in finding jobs after graduation - they need to serve three-year bonds here and cannot work part-time, yet some companies are only hiring Singaporeans and Permanent Residents.

In response, Mr Tan said he sympathized with the problems faced by foreign students and promised to look further into the matter.

However, when Singaporean students in the same forum brought up the issue of competition with foreigners, Mr Tan asked them to decide on the way they should behave towards foreigners:

“All of you here have choices to make. Do you want to be consumed by hate, anger, unhappiness? Or do you want to say, let’s do something positive,” he said.

At least he is better than this clown.

O4u70.gif

Mr TanCJ hv to be accomodative n diplomatic as well. What if you were in his shoes?
You cant be if u cant talk like him.

I don't see anything wrong with this article.

I've been actively helping ATB students at the KTV i visit. :D

Minister Tan Chuan Jin said

While Singaporean graduates have to struggle to find jobs after graduation, foreign students studying in Singapore on scholarship appear to have an easier time as they need to serve a three year bond in Singapore, and yet they too are complaining about the tight labor market.
During a forum held at the Singapore Management University on Tuesday night, Acting Manpower Minister was peppered with complaints from foreign students about difficulties in finding jobs after graduation - they need to serve three-year bonds here and cannot work part-time, yet some companies are only hiring Singaporeans and Permanent Residents.
In response, Mr Tan said he sympathized with the problems faced by foreign students and promised to look further into the matter.
However, when Singaporean students in the same forum brought up the issue of competition with foreigners, Mr Tan asked them to decide on the way they should behave towards foreigners:
“All of you here have choices to make. Do you want to be consumed by hate, anger, unhappiness? Or do you want to say, let’s do something positive,” he said.

Mr Tan,you should tell the foreign students that you are paid by Spore citizens so your job is to look for jobs only for citizens,which is already difficult enough,you like to help,but it is beyond you to look for jobs for foreigners,remind them that Spore has been kind to them by offering Scholarships,they should be grateful to Singapore and its citizens.
However if they apply for citizenships,then you have no choice but to do your best to look for jobs for them and that is your job.

PAP and its leadees have choices to make. Do they want to be consumed by hate, anger, unhappiness? Or do they want to say, let’s do something positive for people who pay us.

At least he is better than this clown.

O4u70.gif

1. aiyoh!
2. sheep from the same herd.
3. kosong impact, kosong conscience, kosong performance.
4. just following instructions from its grand masters!

Between TCJ and CCS, i will take CCS.

poor PR skills. PR tip lesson #101: he should empathize, not sympathize.

hamburger, samburger, humbugger.................................

Clown or no clown, both are SAF scholar trash who should have no business running a government.

Same as Teo Chee Hean, Lui Tuck Yew etc.

The PAP needs a constant supply of these SAF scholar trash to maintain its status quo.

we should thank these guys. If not for these jokers, sinkies will forever think that the gahmen is correct and keep having fists shoved up their arses.

Beside criticizing the PAP, what have you done?

1. hahaha!
2. i can also criticize you if it pleases you or what.
3. well, i know i did the right thing in the aljunied grc thing.
4. at least, i am no dafter sheep!

This shows that Singapore employers are not readily hiring foreigners, regardless of the fact that scholarship students are often the best of the best in their country. Since there is an obvious lack of talent in Singapore, It will be of great benefit that we don't waste the talent.

Did you volunteer to pay tax? Get off your high horse. If you wish to talk about tax, under PAP, our tax rate is significantly lower than the UK and U.S.
wat hi horse u toking about? ... go n look @ ur own question again! ...