• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Table-hoggers are plain rude

metalslug

http://newpaper.asia1.com.sg/news/story/0,4136,189994,00.html?

Let Fly
January 17, 2009

NP_NEWS_1_CURRENT_ATTABLE.jpg

TNP ILLUSTRATIONS: LEE HUP KHENG

YOU enter a packed foodcourt and there are no empty tables or seats.

Then, you spot a group of customers who have finished their meal and decide to wait near their table, hoping they would leave soon so you can have the table.

But they remain seemingly oblivious to your presence and continue to chitchat among themselves.

A familiar scenario?

Like those who reserve tables at foodcourts with packets of tissue paper, table-hogging is yet another example of ugly Singaporean behaviour at eating places.

Housewife Norfizah Kassim, 33, wants people to stop doing it.

She feels that it is an issue that has to be brought up.

Madam Norfizah recalled a recent encounter with table-hoggers that turned a little ugly.

She, her husband and brother were at the Ikea store in Tampines on New Year's Day at about 6pm.

Before shopping, they headed to Ikea's restaurant for dinner.

It was packed and it looked like there were no empty tables.

Waited near table

The family spotted a table that was occupied by five people - two women, a man and two young girls who appeared to be less than six years of age.

Madam Norfizah said they looked like a family.

As they looked like they were finishing their meal soon, Madam Norfizah waited near the table.

In the meantime, her brother, Mr Ezani Kassim, 30, an assistant engineer, went around the restaurant to look for empty tables but he did not find any.

After waiting for 20 minutes, Mr Ezani decided to go and queue for food as he thought that the group sitting at the table where his sister was waiting would leave soon.

When he returned with the food 10 minutes later, Madam Norfizah asked one of the women at the table if they had finished their meal.

She claimed: 'The cleaner had already cleared their table. There were only drinks left on the table.'

To Madam Norfizah's surprise, the other woman at the table allegedly raised her voice at her.

'She shouted, 'Can't you see that I've not finished?',' Madam Norfizah said.

'I replied that I had been standing there for almost 20 minutes. I said, 'Can you please be considerate? We would also like to eat.

'Then she said, 'We waited 30 minutes for this table. You waited only for five minutes, yet you want to make noise!'

The argument attracted the attention of other restaurant patrons, and Madam Norizah said another family gave their table up to her and her family.

After they sat at the table for 10 minutes, the family whom Madam Norizah had argued with stopped by Madam Norizah's table.

'One of the women asked sarcastically, 'You very hungry, is it?',' Madam Norizah said.

'The man who was with her then joined in, saying 'Eat more la, since you so hungry'.'

Madam Norfizah said she and her family just kept quiet.

Even though a check with 40 customers showed that table-hogging has yet to become a big problem, compared to the prevalence of reserving tables with tissue packs, the experience irked Madam Norfizah enough to write to The New Paper about the issue.

'If I see someone waiting near my table and I've already finished eating, I would give up the table. It's basic courtesy,' she said.

Audrey Tan, newsroom intern

http://newpaper.asia1.com.sg/news/story/0,4136,189985,00.html?

Let Fly
Table-hogging confined to certain groups: survey
January 17, 2009

NP_NEWS_1_CURRENT_ATTABLE-I7X.jpg

UNLIKE using tissue packets to reserve seats at eating places, table-hogging appears to be less common.

According to 40 customers whom The New Paper spoke to at five foodcourts and hawker centres, 15 said table-hogging is not a common habit among Singaporeans.

Analyst Max Peng, 47, said: 'Most patrons are quite 'automatic' and will usually leave when they see others waiting for tables.'

Student Nigel, 27, agreed.

'In general, I find most people quite considerate.'

But the other 25 people who said that table-hogging is a common sight think that it is more characteristic of particular groups.

A lunch-time patron at Suntec City's Food Republic, who wanted to be known only as Ms Tan, said hoggers usually come in big groups who like to chat over meals.

She said: 'It's mostly a big group of colleagues talking during lunch. They probably talk about work.'

For Mr Robin Su, 26, a service engineer, he observed that table-hoggers tend to be young people.

'It's more common with secondary school kids.'

Mr Aloysius Seah, 20, who has just completed his National Service, said these people are just plain rude.

'People don't have the right to hog tables. They pay to eat, not to sit around when others need the space. It's very inconsiderate.'

While the majority agreed that such behaviour was 'inconsiderate' and 'not courteous', they also felt that it was not worth getting worked up about.

Ms Magdalene Pang, a human resources executive, said she once spent 25 mins waiting near a table where two men were at.

'I felt unlucky. But I shouldn't have stood there and waited so long,' she said.

All the people The New Paper spoke to said they would not confront table-hoggers.

NTU undergraduate Teo Kiat Ghee, 23, said: 'I'll just move on.'

Bernice Huang and Joanna Hor, newsroom interns

http://newpaper.asia1.com.sg/news/story/0,4136,189994,00.html?

Let Fly
January 17, 2009

NP_NEWS_1_CURRENT_ATTABLE.jpg

TNP ILLUSTRATIONS: LEE HUP KHENG

YOU enter a packed foodcourt and there are no empty tables or seats.

Then, you spot a group of customers who have finished their meal and decide to wait near their table, hoping they would leave soon so you can have the table.

But they remain seemingly oblivious to your presence and continue to chitchat among themselves.

A familiar scenario?

Like those who reserve tables at foodcourts with packets of tissue paper, table-hogging is yet another example of ugly Singaporean behaviour at eating places.

Housewife Norfizah Kassim, 33, wants people to stop doing it.

She feels that it is an issue that has to be brought up.

Madam Norfizah recalled a recent encounter with table-hoggers that turned a little ugly.

She, her husband and brother were at the Ikea store in Tampines on New Year's Day at about 6pm.

Before shopping, they headed to Ikea's restaurant for dinner.

It was packed and it looked like there were no empty tables.

Waited near table

The family spotted a table that was occupied by five people - two women, a man and two young girls who appeared to be less than six years of age.

Madam Norfizah said they looked like a family.

As they looked like they were finishing their meal soon, Madam Norfizah waited near the table.

In the meantime, her brother, Mr Ezani Kassim, 30, an assistant engineer, went around the restaurant to look for empty tables but he did not find any.

After waiting for 20 minutes, Mr Ezani decided to go and queue for food as he thought that the group sitting at the table where his sister was waiting would leave soon.

When he returned with the food 10 minutes later, Madam Norfizah asked one of the women at the table if they had finished their meal.

She claimed: 'The cleaner had already cleared their table. There were only drinks left on the table.'

To Madam Norfizah's surprise, the other woman at the table allegedly raised her voice at her.

'She shouted, 'Can't you see that I've not finished?',' Madam Norfizah said.

'I replied that I had been standing there for almost 20 minutes. I said, 'Can you please be considerate? We would also like to eat.

'Then she said, 'We waited 30 minutes for this table. You waited only for five minutes, yet you want to make noise!'

The argument attracted the attention of other restaurant patrons, and Madam Norizah said another family gave their table up to her and her family.

After they sat at the table for 10 minutes, the family whom Madam Norizah had argued with stopped by Madam Norizah's table.

'One of the women asked sarcastically, 'You very hungry, is it?',' Madam Norizah said.

'The man who was with her then joined in, saying 'Eat more la, since you so hungry'.'

Madam Norfizah said she and her family just kept quiet.

Even though a check with 40 customers showed that table-hogging has yet to become a big problem, compared to the prevalence of reserving tables with tissue packs, the experience irked Madam Norfizah enough to write to The New Paper about the issue.

'If I see someone waiting near my table and I've already finished eating, I would give up the table. It's basic courtesy,' she said.

Audrey Tan, newsroom intern

It the case where some singaporean are STUPID STUBBORN

They know that u want something, but they purposely dont want to give u

Where are the waiters?

Some Sinkies might think that waiters are for the pompous restaurant, but they are wrong. Waiters are facilitator whether its for the 5 star restaurants or simple eating house. They help the customers. They help customers to get seats too.

But food courts don't wanna provide waiters and waitresses service. Food courts wanna cut cost. Nobody on the floor to help the customers, only cleaner to clean up the table after the customers left. Thats all.

So who should the customers blame? The food courts. If the customers are frustrated over the seating arrangement there, blame the food courts, and boycott it. Simple as that. Blaming other customers for hogging tables thats just myopic, and stupid.

this is the epitome of singapore situation.

people just blame each other, blame this blame that, or scratch the surface. having some serious blind spot, or mental block, not willing to probe deeper, to see broader. blame this blame that, just leave out the crux of the problem, which is the PAP mindset.

the food court is just behaving like the PAP. PAP shortchange the people, the food court shortchange the customers. what are we gonna do about it? just boycott them. but no. singaporeans prefer to blame, "that one lah. that table, those people at that table no automatic one, blah blah blah..." and then keep on patronizing the food court, keep on voting for PAP, praising the PAP govt...

people just blame each other, blame this blame that, or scratch the surface. having some serious blind spot, or mental block, not willing to probe deeper, to see broader. blame this blame that, just leave out the crux of the problem, which is the PAP mindset.

the food court is just behaving like the PAP. PAP shortchange the people, the food court shortchange the customers. what are we gonna do about it? just boycott them. but no. singaporeans prefer to blame, "that one lah. that table, those people at that table no automatic one, blah blah blah..." and then keep on patronizing the food court, keep on voting for PAP, praising the PAP govt...

I have to agree I guess. I think Singaporeanese are mostly a bunch a of pretty useless people who don't speak up when they should, and turn on each other in response.

Most foreigners I talk to, the Japanese, Americans and Europeans, are less polite and more elaborate about your Singaporeanese.

They don't stand high in the world charts for dignity in the very least I'm afraid to say.

Oh yes, this is a very annoying Chink attitude. Last week I asked my Hongkie girlfriend (she stayed here for a few years for her studies and things) about this and in a resigned but sweet tone she informed me that this was their way of life where it just takes some getting used to. Eureka.

So I held her close to me and I whispered into her ear: "My beautiful morning rose I would never want us both to suffer needlessly like that. We should be going to more dignified places from now on."

She said: "Really...? But, where do you have in mind?"

I said brusquely: "How about McDonald's?"

She giggled like a schoolgirl and then hit me. Ouch, love is painful.

Well basically I think Singaporeanese food is quite okay (definitely better than English food), but the places are crowded and its like, seemingly full of fat and ugly Chinks hogging around, even more so in the more well-known eating places. It's not like in America where you can go alone to a corner table in a quiet and near-empty diner, and sit there for as long as God-knows-when (you must get something of course which is only right).

its Chinese. not chink. its Hong Konger. Not Hongkie.

just like its Afro-American. not Nigger.

What is wrong with your country's leadership? Why not list everything here so we can judge for ourselves?

its Chinese. not chink. its Hong Konger. Not Hongkie.

just like its Afro-American. not Nigger.

Now, now.

What do you really know? And who are you to tell me this? What are you really.

Just take your boring lesson elsewhere please, I'm not interested.

And also, yellow boy, I don't call my black friends niggers.

Now, now.

What do you really know? And who are you to tell me this? What are you really.

Just take your boring lesson elsewhere please, I'm not interested.

And also, yellow boy, I don't call my black friends niggers.

no chinese would like to hear the label chink.

i am just another forum member who is a chinese.

so what is your ethnicity then?

Take some action instead of waiting for the food court to take action.
Sit down at the occupied table.
If they say they haven't finished, ask them how much they paid to rent or buy the table.

Take some action instead of waiting for the food court to take action.
Sit down at the occupied table.
If they say they haven't finished, ask them how much they paid to rent or buy the table.

You don't get it? Its the food court turf. Food court should be the one taking care of the customers. The best action to take for the customers, is to boycott the food courts. Because the food court don't fuck care the customers. The food court doesn't bother to help the customers with seating arrangement.

Haha whatever. I'm not a black man though, but if my black friend knows, he'll sure find you in person and cave your yellow face in ;)

say whatever u want nigger, or keling,

hmm...i think it must be either one. Since you so shameful to admit your race.

:rolleyes:

for ur info. Black is the color of shit. you should be proud

:D

This is downright stupid.
If we eat at food courts, then be prepared to be stared at before one finishes the meal.
We should also be prepared to wait endlessly for a seat.

Thats why I don't eat at foodcourts, not to mention the food quality is very lousy.