• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Supervisor at Hans Cafe resigned due to marginalisation by foreign staff

I realised that writer stated a lot of "I" in his letter...it seems to be all about him...

I’m not the typical lazy and good-life graduate that many of our leaders and ministers think we are (That is for others to gauge not you)

However, upon joining Hans, I realised that I was being marginalised in the company (Being a supervisor considered marginalised?)
Up to 90% of the staff in the kitchen are from other nationalities, be it China, Malaysia,Myanmar or Philippines and even if there are workers from Singapore, they are all aunties who have worked in the company for many years. (What do you expect? Its Hans leh)

Every single day of my job, I was being marginalised and bullied by the workers in the café - they were rude and treated me like an outsider and many inside the cafe were also not happy that I was made a supervisor even though they have worked in the company longer than I am.
I did not make any noise until my last day yesterday when I resigned as I felt I had enough. (This is normal in every company, when someone new is offered a higher position. No one needs to like you, its work. If you're bullied despite being a superviors, then you dun deserve the position)

My manager told me that it was my fault as I did not try to blend in with them!
What a joke – we local workers have to try and blend in with foreign staff?! (This is a company, you blend into the company's culture as you're new. You should learn to be humble)

I was adamant that it was not my fault. I tried my best to be friendly while at work and didn’t offend or said anything rude to anyone during my time there but the people inside did not bother to warm up to me and were trying all ways to make things difficult for me. (No one owe you a living and no one needs to suck up to you)

I was wondering if you Gilbert could help me to write in to the relevant authorities to inform them about my situation and also to make a report against Han’s cafe for making me work overtime without pay as I understand that Singaporeans are protected by a 8-hour workday law. (Being an NUS grad, you dunno how to work to MOM to complain? Like this still not considered lazy?)

lianbeng used to work at han's too - kana tekan to wash dishes n clear rubbish while those filipinos got chance to serve at counter.:( some more kana kicked from 1 branch to another - thomson plaza > novena square > raffles place > parkway parade > finally home!:(

welcome to the limkopi club.:smile:...now we can singsongtalkcoke!!!

Fook Seng

BuiKia said:
I realised that writer stated a lot of "I" in his letter...it seems to be all about him...

You also started with an I in your comment although it was all about him.

Let's hope to have more whistle blowers like this. Collectively Singaporeans can made Singapore a better home without discrimination and foreginers interference in our life.

chupacabra

The restaurants in NY and SG are organized differently. In his book, he alluded to a "kitchen caste" filled with Latinos and Russian immigrants, and a "waiter caste" filled with WASPs like himself. Waiters derive a majority of their income on the tips they receive from customers (normally not less than 20% of bill).

Hans cafe as I recall from my last visit there, does not have waiters bringing the food to customers. For establishments that do, the customer often pays a flat service charge. I often wonder how that pool is being divided (i.e. does the proprietor, the supervisors, etc. take a bite at it?)

Anybody in the know care to shed some light?

The staff in sinkeeland don't get a cent from service charge. Individual tips are also not practice here. Which is a bad thing to me.

chupacabra

I've worked in bars and diners in Canada a few years back and waitress there only needs to work 3 to 4 days a week in order to make money. Some even owns two houses and a few cars. Tips are theirs to keep. Its up to the service staff to tip the bar and kitchen staff from their own tips. They dont have to actually.

Service are top notch and 1 service staff can handle jobs that takes 2 staff here. But dont mess with them, they ain't pushovers. Especially the ones that works in bars. The movie coyote ugly sums it up right.

I've worked in bars and diners in Canada a few years back and waitress there only needs to work 3 to 4 days a week in order to make money. Some even owns two houses and a few cars. Tips are theirs to keep. Its up to the service staff to tip the bar and kitchen staff from their own tips. They dont have to actually.

Service are top notch and 1 service staff can handle jobs that takes 2 staff here. But dont mess with them, they ain't pushovers. Especially the ones that works in bars. The movie coyote ugly sums it up right.

Those waitresses in those places are pretty tough and they are nice too. They don't have that sickening sour shit look unlike the locals.

I think you would too if you are a lowly paid peon working your ass off to pay for your nicotine addiction, while tolerating ugly overweight patrons and their spawns hollering you for a refill of plain water.

Personally I feel the expectation of a probable benefit (tips, to be sure) made all the difference.

they do not deserve any tips at all unlike those old Han's workers who serve you personally with a smile at your tables. now, it's run like any fast food junkie .the quality has gone down.The food has gone down.You are served by young kids and FTs who don't bother even to smile at you or wish you. The good old days of good and courteous service are gone..gone...gone.....what a crying shame! even Jack's has gone down too...those hylam ahkors all gone....replaced by nameless and listless and can't-be-bothered FTs!!!..come to my kopitiam and lim kopi and we still have a few old faithfuls serving you with a smile and say hello uncle....those days gone liao...gone to the dogs!!!

vamjok

How about your legal daddy? Does he have the money?

he also run road, i pay my uni sch fee and daily allowance using my own hands

i was from poly route, work for few years thus had gain some valuable specialised skills that was needed in my field. every holiday immediately after exam went back to the lab to be a slave. the prof was more than willing to take someone with a skill of a phd student (bloody have to guide the new one at times) but received a part time pay.

Doubblur

Admire you. I worked as carpenter apprentice after Sec. 4 O Level. Then go NS. No money and no chance to study to study further. After NS have to continue work to support parents. Then after married with kid, that's it. Just work and live on hoping my kid got a better life in future.

kingrant

Valuable comments, tks. On the waitressless part, the Han's at The Arcade do have people bringing the food to you, besides laying the table, even tho it is a fast joint. But no tips. can't remember if any service charges.

The restaurants in NY and SG are organized differently. In his book, he alluded to a "kitchen caste" filled with Latinos and Russian immigrants, and a "waiter caste" filled with WASPs like himself. Waiters derive a majority of their income on the tips they receive from customers (normally not less than 20% of bill).

Hans cafe as I recall from my last visit there, does not have waiters bringing the food to customers. For establishments that do, the customer often pays a flat service charge. I often wonder how that pool is being divided (i.e. does the proprietor, the supervisors, etc. take a bite at it?)

Anybody in the know care to shed some light?

Not that I didn't want to pay for you. The circumstances then were extenuatingly and excruciatingly forbidding. I had to leave Singapore without even knowing you being born yet.

vamjok

Admire you. I worked as carpenter apprentice after Sec. 4 O Level. Then go NS. No money and no chance to study to study further. After NS have to continue work to support parents. Then after married with kid, that's it. Just work and live on hoping my kid got a better life in future.

nothing to admire, forced by situation. what makes me du lan is this, my poly results actually qualified me for a scholarship then (near perfect gpa), end up din win it. Fine, if there are people really better and more qualified so be it.

then when school starts after a few sems, i realised tons of idiots that struggle with the course are actually on scholarships and my results are way better than them. and guess what's the most du lan thing? most of them are foreigners and they are not even near average. that is also about the time i started doubting govt policy, instead of taking care of the local real talents, they rather risk importing Trash.

From then on i had this motto, if dog stands against PAP, i vote for dog.