• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Stop Shouting 'Huat Ah!' in RWS Casino OK?

I've definitely heard it in the Casino in Sydney. Lesser now come to think about it. But then there seem to be lesser blackjack table nowadays as well.
Baccaret seems to be the rage nowadays.

Shouting for "picture" (K, Q or J) is jeering against the croupier to go bust upon the next draw of the card when the hand is 12 or above. Actually, a "non-picture" but "numeral" 10 would do nicely too. Yes, it seems to a Genting tradition. I've never heard this in casinos elsewhere.

There was once when I was in Genting, I asked an half-acquainted player, what good does it do to jeer when the card is already fixed there, just waiting to be drawn and shown; nothing could be changed. He replied yes, they know, but it adds pressure, lower the morale and concentration of the croupier in decision-making in the next deal. Don't know how true is that.

can u imagine wat ze same sexy prc mei-mei wud say if wat dat came out was not picture? ... :confused:

肏你妈的臭屄?Would be what I imagine them to say. :D

I was in Vegas last year and Mainland Chinese there behaved extremely well. They were obviously the cultured, educated elite from Northern China... the sort that Singapore tries to attract but never succeeds.

The Chinamen in the sinkie Casinos are of Southern peasant stock. That's where the sinkie Chinese came from too. They're from the lower caste of Chinese society which accounts for their borish, uncouth and disgusting behaviour.

Southern Chinese are peasants? That's news to me. Chinese Hero Lin Zexu, Qing Dynasty Beiyang Viceroy Li Hongzhang, Father of nation for ROC and PRC Sun Yatsen, PRC leaders Mao Zedong, Zhou Enlai, Jiang Zemin, Hu Jintao and Deng Xiaoping were all born in the South

Aiyah, please forgive our resident Kopitiam money collector lah, he don't like chinks because he kena bully by them all the time in Shinkapura lah. Since Singapore are mostly chinks from southern china origin. He tinks ze that Southern chinks are of inferior quality lah. Must forgive and understanding ok ? He also has hinted many times that he has Arabic/Eurasian blah blah blood so also may not know ze chinky history lah.

Northern Chinese means Hua-Bei, or the Mongolians/HeiLungJiang? I was taught that they were the barbarians from young, who lived normadic lives before migrating or invading the cultured southern part.

The super bigmouth Li Ao (now in ROC) did mention that those who migrated to South Eastern Asia were of lower/peasant stocks, who were mainly coolies or labourers cowered to leave their homeland due to poverty.
That had some truth in it, but hey, I thought ALL civilization started with ancestors who were hard labourer/farmers, no?

Look at SEA now, where enthic Chinese hold most of the economical power. If they are of lower stock, what about the natives then. Strange arguement from Li.

Leongsam is just stirring shit again. Northern Chinese are well known to be uncouth, unsophisticated barbarians.

For example, their staple diet can be raw onions and mantou for lunch and they won't hesitate fighting with anyone to settle any disagreements. Ask any Shanghainese/Cantonese to verify what I wrote.

If you think the Southern Chinese tourists who behave badly are a shame, then Northerners will make your eyes roll into the back of your head.

Just thank god there aren't many Northern Chinese rich enough (yet) to travel outside China.

i am moving to china permanently. i have to upgrade myself and leave this soulless sinkiepore

northern, southern, anywhere prc much better than shallow sinkieporean

No fight against our chow ah beng KKNBCCB

Its actually the same meaning, but in mandarin. Dammed wish I would have known how to write this out in mandarin back in my secondary school and used them in my essays. Wahahahahahah

i am moving to china permanently. i have to upgrade myself and leave this soulless sinkiepore

First, are you migrating to China for good?

If so,
Why is China a better place than Singapore?

Many chinese are leaving China to migrate to Singapore.

Many singaporeans are going to China to stay but retaining their singapore passport.​

Same meaning but lack the power of cursing in mandarin, you can try shouting both and you'll see the difference.

Its actually the same meaning, but in mandarin. Dammed wish I would have known how to write this out in mandarin back in my secondary school and used them in my essays. Wahahahahahah

Feb 24, 2010

Incongruent behaviour at casino

<!-- by line --><!-- end by line -->
<!-- end left side bar --><!-- story content : start -->
I READ with amusement about the behaviour of patrons at the casino in Resorts World Sentosa (RWS). While idiosyncrasies like reserving seats with packets of tissue paper and shouts of "huat, ah!" ("prosperity") might be amusing to an observer in a place like a hawker centre, they seem ill suited to a venue like the integrated resort.
Given all the talk about organising chartered flights for high rollers, RWS is obviously out to target the very high-end of the casino market. Patrons of the casino should be educated on the dos and don'ts while visiting an establishment like that. RWS should employ officers to politely enforce the right etiquette among patrons found to be behaving inappropriately.
While I am fully supportive of a dress code, the behaviour of the people visiting the casino is much more important. Having a proper dress code but tolerating poor behaviour would be akin to how many people view Singapore: that of a country with First World amenities and Third World citizens.
Keith Gerard Tan
<!-- story content : end -->

This keith Stupid Tan obviously has not been to genting or Macau casino. Shouts of "Banker Pow Zhar or Banker Pok Kai" is common . "Huat ah" is already such a nice word.

Feb 24, 2010

Incongruent behaviour at casino

<!-- by line --><!-- end by line -->
<!-- end left side bar --><!-- story content : start -->
I READ with amusement about the behaviour of patrons at the casino in Resorts World Sentosa (RWS). While idiosyncrasies like reserving seats with packets of tissue paper and shouts of "huat, ah!" ("prosperity") might be amusing to an observer in a place like a hawker centre, they seem ill suited to a venue like the integrated resort.
Given all the talk about organising chartered flights for high rollers, RWS is obviously out to target the very high-end of the casino market. Patrons of the casino should be educated on the dos and don'ts while visiting an establishment like that. RWS should employ officers to politely enforce the right etiquette among patrons found to be behaving inappropriately.
While I am fully supportive of a dress code, the behaviour of the people visiting the casino is much more important. Having a proper dress code but tolerating poor behaviour would be akin to how many people view Singapore: that of a country with First World amenities and Third World citizens.
Keith Gerard Tan
<!-- story content : end -->

Sorry you Western Oriental Gentleman nerd,

I'm afraid to say that at the end of the day, money and profits are all that truly matter, especially in the gaming industries, to keep people employed and the economy going. Also that people can be what they want as long as they dress decently and pay the entrance fees and abide by the general establishment procedures. Cheering for the win isn't at all crude or crass either as it is your local culture all along that is also pretty harmless for the most part.

This blatantly retarded nerd is probably one of those stupid losers that place laughable and pathetic two-dollar bets on soccer and the national lottery once in a long while.

Stupid idealistic and academic arguments should stop really. Nerds like you should just shut up, stay at your books and go into research and come up with something really great for the people of the country, instead of thinking up clumsy and dumb suggestions like this.

In China itself, the common demarcation for north and south is the Yangtze River. Almost all SEA Chinese are of southern Chinese stock.

Lee Kuan Yew always give me the impression that he thinks that he's of northern Chinese stock as he's of the Hakka dialect group which originally migrated from north to south. Truth is Hakka was a nomadic group wandering around and couldn't survive long enough in the north to have their own region to name their dialect. The word Hakka is not a geographical dialect as in Cantonese means from Canton (Guangdong), Hokkien means from Hokkien (Fujian) etc. Hakka means being guest everywhere but home nowhere.

Northern Chinese means Hua-Bei, or the Mongolians/HeiLungJiang? I was taught that they were the barbarians from young, who lived normadic lives before migrating or invading the cultured southern part.

The super bigmouth Li Ao (now in ROC) did mention that those who migrated to South Eastern Asia were of lower/peasant stocks, who were mainly coolies or labourers cowered to leave their homeland due to poverty.
That had some truth in it, but hey, I thought ALL civilization started with ancestors who were hard labourer/farmers, no?

Look at SEA now, where enthic Chinese hold most of the economical power. If they are of lower stock, what about the natives then. Strange arguement from Li.

GOODNESS GRACIOUS...

faster go and dun come back...

u wun be missed..

Explain to me are Shanghainese considered northerner or southerner since Shanghai is right on the mouth of the Yangtze river. :D

In China itself, the common demarcation for north and south is the Yangtze River. Almost all SEA Chinese are of southern Chinese stock.

Lee Kuan Yew always give me the impression that he thinks that he's of northern Chinese stock as he's of the Hakka dialect group which originally migrated from north to south. Truth is Hakka was a nomadic group wandering around and couldn't survive long enough in the north to have their own region to name their dialect. The word Hakka is not a geographical dialect as in Cantonese means from Canton (Guangdong), Hokkien means from Hokkien (Fujian) etc. Hakka means being guest everywhere but home nowhere.

This keith Stupid Tan obviously has not been to genting or Macau casino. Shouts of "Banker Pow Zhar or Banker Pok Kai" is common . "Huat ah" is already such a nice word.

This naive kampong retard with his fake sophistication probably hasn't seen the kind of commotion angmo gamblers can make in Vegas, they get quite animated either winning or losing, full of cursing and endless comments. I'd say it's quite tame here in comparison.

Gaming at casinos should be a form of entertainment.
Win or lose, it is most important to have a good time there, shouting "Huat ah", "picture" etc all contribute to the entertainment and excitement factor.

Explain to me are Shanghainese considered northerner or southerner since Shanghai is right on the mouth of the Yangtze river. :D

Like Hong Kong, Shanghai is not a historically evolved Chinese city. It was artificially crafted out and developed as a trading port and semi-colonial leased land to foreign traders. That it sits at the mouth of the Yangtze is preciously because of it's select location suitable for a port. Though it straddles the Yangtze, I understand that it's more common to refer to Shanghai as part of the north or rather the southern end of the north with Suzhou being the northern end of the south.