• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Statement by PM Lee on By-Election for Hougang Constituency May 26 BE

<iframe width="853" height="480" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/Dw69xe2Yp4M" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>.............

pic_201202_01.jpg

Just spoke to a PMO aide. He said Desmond Choo will be fielded. Anything above 35% will be considered good result. If he really can win, straightaway Minister of State in ministry of his choice. Asked him why LHL calls BE if he knows sure lose? He said LHL kena fucked badly by LKY who said, want to call, just call, don't want to call, just say don't call, WTF is that sending the whole constitutional questionnaire around CJ and AGC and finanlly ended back in PMO cluelessly? PM is Head of Government or courier boy? LHL kena fucked by LKY too many times until he's pissed too, and said fuck lah, call lah, lose also nevermind. LKY said good, that's my boy, never be afraid to fight, never be afraid to win and never be afraid to lose. LHL asked, what's next? LKY said, now go ask Tony to sign the writ, you twit!

LHL really deserve to be fx#@ by his old man. Just a BE and his parliamentary majority not even the slighest affected by whatever the result and he made it like a big deal. The flexibility allowed for the PM to delay calling for a BE is for extraordinary situations like civil war or chaos. KNN come and say he can do this, he can don't need to do that is just so silly. And worst is his porlumpars came out and added to the sillyness of the whole BE thing when they also opened their mouths. You see now.. just call for BE, go through the motions and get it over with.. whatever the result.. no brainer. That's the way it should be. There are much more important national issues for the PM and his cabinet to crack their heads over.
Tracy is right in expressing some worries for our future. The biggest problem we have is the porlumpars who will always behave like the goons in the Emperor's New Cloth story.

I would LOVE to see PAP use the Yaw factor as one of their stratgies. It just means that PAP has nothing to brought up. If they wish to show what a good job they had done so far, there is again nothing to boast about. With the recent debate on pay increase for lower wage workers that the PAP ministers had been shooting down, its like PAP had almost no topic to brough up.

So why is PAP fighting for again??

.The Workers' Party (WP) chief Low Thia Khiang on Thursday named businessman Png Eng Huat as the opposition party's candidate for the Hougang by-election.

Png said that he will defend the single-seat ward and "continue the legacy left by Mr Low".

"We have been there since 1991 and we will continue that, but, most importantly, I wish to continue and represent them in parliament, to be their voice, to voice their concerns as we have the past years," pledged Png.

Png will go against the People's Action Party's Desmond Choo come 26 May.

His party colleagues sang praises of Png during the press conference. Member of Parliament (MP) Pritam Singh called Png a "people person" and said he's upfront and frank.

"If he can do something, he will say he can do it. If he can't he will say let me check and get back to you, and he will get back to you," he added.

And even though Png is a mature candidate, Low believes that Hougang needs a candidate like Png.

During the press conference, Low also addressed Yaw's expulsion from the party and said, "We've always had strict guidelines. We always took a period of time to understand a candidate before sending him forth to elections but no method is foolproof."

Png, who has chaired the Hougang Constituency Committee since Yaw’s dismissal, had been widely expected to be named WP’s candidate as he has been active in grassroots activities in the area.

In recent months, Low has been seen introducing Png to residents, and Png himself has been distributing fliers carrying a picture of himself, a brief bio and his contact information.

Png Eng Huat’s profile

50-year old Png Eng Huat, who joined the Workers’ Party in 2006, was first fielded by WP at last year’s general election (GE). His team garnered 45.17 per cent of votes in the East Coast group representation constituency, getting the third-highest result for his party.

Png graduated with a Bachelor of Science in Radio-TV-Film from the University of Texas at Austin. He has work experience in public service TV production, multimedia designing and programming, data broadcasting and business development.

He has worked in various firms, from small joint venture companies to big companies like Philips Singapore, and NTUC Income. Currently, he is semi-retired and managing some own and partnership businesses.

Png is married and the father of two children.

Additional reporting by Jeanette Tan and Deborah Choo

Related articles:

PAP chooses Desmond Choo as Hougang by-election candidate

Low Thia Khiang ‘surprised’ by timing of Hougang by-election

Hougang by-election to take place on 26 May

Hougang residents adopt wait-and-see stance to by-election

Hougang a safe seat for Workers’ Party: analysts

PAP’s Desmond Choo on Hougang by-election: I’ll be ready to answer any call

Hougang residents appear inclined to vote WP again

This article is published by Yahoo! Asia Pacific Pte. Ltd., 60 Anson Road #13-01 Mapletree Anson, Singapore 079914.

http://sg.news.yahoo.com/workers--party-fields-png-eng-huat-as-hougang-by-election-candidate.html

x 5 videos

http://www.todayonline.com/Hotnews/EDC120511-0000041/No-surprises,-but-sparks-fly

No surprises, but sparks fly

Unveiling their candidates, PAP, WP lock horns over Yaw saga and how contest would be fought

by Tan Weizhen and Lin Yanqin Updated 08:02 AM May 11, 2012

SINGAPORE - The gloves were off yesterday as the People's Action Party (PAP) and the Workers' Party - which are set to go head-to-head in the coming Hougang by-election - traded barbs at the official unveiling of their respective candidates.

While there were no surprises in the candidates' identities, the two parties took contrasting tacks on whether the by-election would be fought over national issues or municipal ones, and how much the Yaw Shin Leong saga should matter when Hougang residents cast their vote on May 26.

Deputy Prime Minister Tharman Shanmugaratnam fired the first salvo when he described WP chief Low Thia Khiang as "ultra confident" about the Opposition party's chances in Hougang - despite the shadow cast by Mr Yaw's indiscretions and the subsequent fallout that saw him leaving the country and his responsibilities as an MP behind, without a word.

Asked to respond to Mr Low's remarks on Wednesday that the WP has not "shortchanged" the Hougang residents, despite the sacking of Mr Yaw, Mr Tharman noted: "Mr Low is clearly confident, I would say ultra confident, having held Hougang for 20 years but we shouldn't trivialise the election process."

Mr Tharman, who is also the PAP's second assistant secretary-general, added: "I don't think you can say that it doesn't matter if a candidate turns out to be irresponsible, it doesn't matter what he is like, if something turns up, something goes wrong and if after a few weeks, we can't get an answer (from him), 'we sack him and hope for an early by-election, and don't worry, we will produce a new candidate'. I think that trivialises what has happened."

At a press conference a few hours later, Mr Low said Mr Tharman was "wrong" to think that. He said: "We take elections very seriously. The reason why we had to take this drastic step to expel Yaw Shin Leong, I think I explained earlier, it has actually a broader perspective to that, because Yaw was an MP, not just a member of the party, and we believe that it's important for Parliament to have responsible MPs."

Mr Low added: "In any case, the by-election also shows how a democratic system should work, and (Yaw's sacking) shows that the WP has a political will to put things right. On the contrary, we take it seriously and we are working the system well."

Taking a jibe at the PAP's by-election slogan "Always here for you" - which, in turn, evokes the Yaw saga - Mr Low said: "Always here for you? I've been here for 20 years."

LOCAL VS NATIONAL

Dismissing as "speculation" earlier talk that by-elections could be called for other Group Representation Constituencies (GRCs), Mr Tharman also stressed - in response to journalists' questions - that the timing of the by-election was not affected by the ongoing court application filed by an Hougang resident.

Mr Tharman said: "The timing of the by-election was always the Prime Minister's prerogative; he made his intention very clear, laid out the considerations, including our national priorities and the work we were embarking on."

The by-election will involve 23,368 eligible voters in Hougang, according to the Elections Department. The rally sites will be announced after Nomination Day next Wednesday and Cooling-off Day will fall on May 25, the eve of Polling Day.

The PAP will send into battle National Trades Union Congress industrial relations unit deputy director Desmond Choo, 34, while the WP will be banking its hopes of retaining the Opposition bastion on semi-retired businessman Png Eng Huat, 50.

The backing of their respective party machinery was clear: Apart from Mr Tharman, Education Minister Heng Swee Keat was also at the press conference to unveil Mr Choo while Mr Png was flanked by Mr Low and WP chairman Sylvia Lim at his unveiling.

While Mr Tharman spoke about what the PAP Government has done since the GE last year, he was keen to reiterate that the Hougang by-election is a "local contest". "It's about who Hougang residents want as their representative in Parliament, and about who can best serve their interests and help them solve their problems," said Mr Tharman.

"If we were having by-elections in several constituencies, or GRCs, national issues would clearly be a factor. This is a by-election in one Single Member Constituency."

Political watchers, however, expect the WP to campaign heavily on national issues. On how the by-election would be fought, Mr Low said: "I believe it can never be so clear-cut whether it's local or national. While we've noted (Mr Tharman's) comments on what the PAP wants to do, we have to see what comes out before we respond."

Mr Png pointed out that municipal and national issues are inter-linked - for instance, the Government's lift upgrading policy, he noted.

Pledging to look at "local issues and local needs", Mr Png said: "Simple things like putting in more bins, more seats (in the void decks). We have to listen to the residents' problems, and see whether or how we can resolve them."

For Mr Choo, he is adamant about keeping his campaign focused on municipal issues. Citing the various projects that he has initiated, Mr Choo reiterated the need for the Hougang residents to elect an MP who will take care of their "long-term interests".

He also made it clear that the Yaw episode, to him, was "a closed chapter". "For all of us, I think it is important to focus on the future, close our ranks, and focus on the more important needs," he said.

Please do not abuse the image parameters set or I'll be forced to limit the number per post.

Good Late Morning Mr Leongsam, to my understandings, the limit is 100. Including the one in my signature on this particular post, it totals up to 64. Since you are so polite as a host giving me such a gentle warning, i will as a good guest of yours, give you a discount of 50%. Enough? Everything is negotiable. You can give me an counter offer if it's still too many for you. Max next time is 32, swee boh?:D