• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

ST News Editor: keep Bookstore for Elite by imposing admission fee.

R4g3

Read, chill out or take a nap

Loh Keng Fatt thinks bookshops in Singapore should charge an entrance fee.

BOOKSHOPS should really charge people an entrance fee.

I am convinced that this radical proposal will instantly reduce the number of people who now drop into book stores and treat the place like their own playground or personal library.

Take the case of my most-recent visit to Border’s Parkway Parade outlet when the antics of a considerable number of customers - both old and young - were on full, ugly display.

It was very hard for me to stay calm - in a supposed oasis for book lovers - when:

1. Groups of young kids and teens were jampacking the aisles to do their homework, play handheld games or just plain yak.

2. Younger kids were playing hide and seek, and I had to dodge a couple who were chasing one another among among the shelves.

3. All seating space was taken up but some of the folks were not reading but were conducting mobile-phone conversatons and even sleeping.

4. The low tables were stacked with books and magazines, evidence that some folks did not have the decency to return them to the shelves - even after they had read them for free.

5. Obviously, people were getting away with such nonsense because there was no one to curb their excesses.

I did not see Borders’ staff reminding folks to treat the books with care or hush those who were talking animatedly.

Which brings me back to the point of levying an admission fee - to get the right type of people to come.

I have always wondered why bookshops operate on a model that literally allows customers the full run of the place - and with little prospects of many of them actually buying something.

Do you see people turning up, say, at an electronics store and fooling around with DVD players, cameras or high-def TVs?

Do you see folks at furniture stores sprawled on sofas or pulling out drawers with gusto to check out the cupboards?

But bookshops play Santa, and everyone’s welcome to browse, read, socialise and hang loose.

I think they should charge, say, a $2 admission charge.

This would help the bookshops to earn some income and deter some freeloaders from showing up.

But the fee would be refundable if you buy anything.

The $2 charge seems fair to me.

If you choose to go to a bookshop to read for free, chill out with your pals or take a nap in cool comfort, you must agree that a $2 charge must be one of the bargains of all time.

Elite must be separated from the peasants.

dysentry

The marked-up prices of Borders and Kinokuniya are insane; I only buy with 30% discount online coupons, and top up with my Borders Preferred Members card for another 10%.

SamuelStalin

The marked-up prices of Borders and Kinokuniya are insane; I only buy with 30% discount online coupons, and top up with my Borders Preferred Members card for another 10%.

I used to read a lot up till my jc days (jc1), then a bit of the necessary forced reading during uni. And quickly after I graduated I came to realize I was actually tolerating most of them. Bookstores are places of large quiet noise actually. The noises are from the many different books themselves, written by so many people of so many mostly glossed, overly-idealistic and subjective opinions no matter what the content may be (exceptions are the religious ones that I do find quite alright and informative, the classics and Shakespearean plays that are meaningful and are as they implied, strology that is fun and Lonely Planet tourbooks pretty sarcastic and humorous).

You'd find that most other kinds of books are bleh - boring and no substance. I think Japanese game and fashion magazines make for even better, quick read.

Books are mostly for students and girls, and teachers and those who live quietly by themselves with their principles (most of them dreamy and unrealized too haha). A waste of time. The word "book" itself sounds boring too, eew. Movies and games are more interactive and are better. Remember that "a picture says a thousand words"? Now you have the answer.

He should underwrite his proposal - pay Borders for the drop in business or reap the additional profits for a trial period. It reminds me of the idiotic phase when all books were wrapped.

Elite must be separated from the peasants.

The bookshops should only admit those who live in up market condos and landed property. Those with an HDB address should be banned.

rodent2005

My point is that you can find any recipes- even from "celebrity" chefs online. In any case, it's better to compare online the different versions of the same recipe.

i understand, but when browsing books and they happen to come across what they want, it's natural to "grab the opportunity" to copy down what you want instead of searching for it later in the web and risk not finding it.

scoobyhoo

elites have mistaken bookshop to concert hall. for those elites who want to save more on entrance fee, obviously bookshop is the place where they can show off.

i_am_belle

sinkees can't relax at home bcos HDB flats are too noisy ... either have crazy noisy neighbours, or construction sites nearby, or the individual units all undergoing renovation ... no varendah to sit & read a paper & sip a cup of tea ... no greenery to absorb the noise ... so ppl all jam bookstores/libraries treating them like their own living room bcos they badly need a living room ...

commoner

so elite,,, buy from internet loh,,,,

KKN, go everywhere also comprain,,,,

next time impose entrance fee everywhere lor, shopping centre wanna impose fee or not? garden, parks wanna impose fee or not? walk on the road impose fee can or not?

CB think themselves so high-class,,,,, the most quiet place elite should go is 6 feet under, no one disturb you,,,, and should you end up in hell, ask them to impose entrance fee to keep hell quiet OK,,,,

I don't think you have been in a bookshop. The ones who copy recipes are young working adults or overseas students. Its is usually done as they comes across something interesting or desperate to do a dish. They might not find it on the internet.

Aunties who frequent bookstores are either in the Children section with their kids or buy the books outright.

Justs drop by the cookbook area at Border at the next opportunity.

Might as well complete the scenario

books on anatomy and sex - lower secondary school kids in uniform
soccer - from primary school kids to young adults
financials - mid age males
self help books - females in ttheir 20 and 30s, males in their 20s
Books on hobbies - teenages to young adults
history, politics, - all males
coffeeshop next to bookstore - housewives catching up or single male reading a book
Holiday and country guides - young couples
Language guides - females in their 2os and 30s
Book on Subash - security guard who supposed to be at the front entrance

those who copy recipe are usually aunties ... what do aunties know abt internet ? most are like still living in the 70s/80s when copying/writing was the norm ...

Goh Meng Seng

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
LOL! Sigh! Instead of contemplating on why Singaporeans at large are what we are due to a mediocre "EDUCATION SYSTEM", this guy actually just want sweep everything away from his higher mortal elite eyes just impose money on everything! LOL!

Is this why ST has become a place that avoid putting up ugly sides of Singapore and only singing praises on every possible opportunity?

Goh Meng Seng

Blazars

I think Spore is jus too crowded. Too many pple everywhere. Do not impose a entry fee. Impose a nric card entry. Only admit pink nric holders.
!&!!

Addadude

LOL! Sigh! Instead of contemplating on why Singaporeans at large are what we are due to a mediocre "EDUCATION SYSTEM", this guy actually just want sweep everything away from his higher mortal elite eyes just impose money on everything! LOL!

Is this why ST has become a place that avoid putting up ugly sides of Singapore and only singing praises on every possible opportunity?

Goh Meng Seng

To be perfectly honest, the letter writer has made a point. Singaporeans love to take advantage of anything they perceive as 'free'. Fast food joints and cafes become study corners. Libraries become playgrounds (or hunting grounds for paedophiles...). Bookshops turn into libraries - without having to worry about keeping noise levels down.

Those assholes sprawled across the aisles of bookshops typify precisely the ugly Singaporean. A note to any of those assholes who happen to be reading this: If I happen to come across you squatting down in the middle of a bookstore like the uneducated savage that you are, I will take great pleasure in stepping on you - and I'll add a good kick in as well. :oIo:

I have seen these morons dogleafing (folding back the page) pages in books so that they could come back to them later. Brats playing hide and seek or chase in and around the bookshelves... (I was thrilled to see one little bastard nearly castrate himself when he hit the shelf crotch-first.) Books and magazines scattered everywhere. No wonder Page One has taken to wrapping up all its books in plastic.

KuanTi01

if the day ever comes when all establishments including bookstores impose an entrance fee, we have ourselves to blame. Human nature is such that: give one inch, we take a yard. For Sinkaporeans, we don't only take a yard, we try to go all the way. That explains why they treat Borders like a public library. Siasuay!