• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

ST Forum 14/9: HDB's Conflict of Responsibilites Revealed

Porfirio Rubirosa

what hdb has stated appears to be a paradox of sorts and conflict of responsibilties...because on the one hand it says it wants to help first time buyers i.e. make flats affordable...however at the same time it also wants to ensure the value of the flats are sustained over the long term...now how can the 2 so called "responsibilities" be reconciled when hdb's so called "subsidy" for first time buyers is based on the prevailing market price of hdb flats within the same area???...you either have affordable hdb flats for first time buyers or you maintain value for existing hdb flat owners...how can you have both???...this overpaid hdb dy ceo is talking cock:rolleyes:...

People should be free to decide what a flat is worth: HDB

I THANK Mr Jason Zheng ('The issue here is cash over valuation'), Mr Steven Yeo ('Should the HDB build 19,000 flats a year instead?') and Mr Loo Fook Kay ('What percentage of income will a single Singaporean earning $2,500 a month pay?') for their views on HDB flats (Sept5).

HDB's key responsibilities are to help first-time home buyers and to ensure flat values are sustained over the long term.

Mr Zheng raised the issue of cash over valuation. COV is what a buyer agrees to pay the seller when he feels a particular flat is worth more than its valuation. COV applies in the private residential market as well. Banks will grant a loan of only up to 90 per cent of valuation, and buyers will have to pay at least 5 per cent of the valuation and the excess in cash.

HDB cannot ban COV or provide loans for it, as suggested by Mr Zheng. People should be free to decide what their flat or intended purchase is worth to them, and not be forced to buy and sell at fixed prices. While financing for COVs may appear helpful, it is more likely to fuel the escalation of prices and worsen the situation.

Mr Yeo commented on the number of marriages and new flats. The 24,000 marriages last year included those with or among foreigners, re-marriages, those with high income and those who have other accommodation. Not all 24,000 qualify for subsidised flats. In recent years, total bookings of new and resale flats with grants were between 13,000 and 15,000 a year.

Mr Loo asked about the affordability of a single buying a three-room resale flat at the quoted price of $200,000. With an $11,000 subsidy, an eligible single earning $2,500 a month would need 29 per cent of his income for the loan. He can pay $575 from his monthly CPF contribution, with the remaining $146 in cash.

The Government has enabled about 80 per cent of the population to own their homes - the highest home ownership rate in the world. HDB will continue to ensure that public housing remains affordable to the majority of Singaporeans.

Yap Chin Beng
Deputy Chief Executive Officer
(Estates & Corporate)
Housing & Development Board

potato29

The Government has enabled about 80 per cent of the population to own their homes - the highest home ownership rate in the world. HDB will continue to ensure that public housing remains affordable to the majority of Singaporeans.

this statement is not true. people lease the flats from HDB, they don't own them.

Porfirio Rubirosa

please do not get distracted from the critical issue at hand i.e. the conflicting paradox between affordable hdb flats for first time buyers and sustaining the value of hdb flats for existing owners...

btw they own the lease which can be sold/transferred...so what is the beef?...

this statement is not true. people lease the flats from HDB, they don't own them.

ChaoPappyPoodle

what hdb has stated appears to be a paradox of sorts and conflict of responsibilties...because on the one hand it says it wants to help first time buyers i.e. make flats affordable...however at the same time it also wants to ensure the value of the flats are sustained over the long term...now how can the 2 so called "responsibilities" be reconciled when hdb's so called "subsidy" for first time buyers is based on the prevailing market price of hdb flats within the same area???...you either have affordable hdb flats for first time buyers or you maintain value for existing hdb flat owners...how can you have both???...this overpaid hdb dy ceo is talking cock:rolleyes:...

People should be free to decide what a flat is worth: HDB

I THANK Mr Jason Zheng ('The issue here is cash over valuation'), Mr Steven Yeo ('Should the HDB build 19,000 flats a year instead?') and Mr Loo Fook Kay ('What percentage of income will a single Singaporean earning $2,500 a month pay?') for their views on HDB flats (Sept5).

HDB's key responsibilities are to help first-time home buyers and to ensure flat values are sustained over the long term.

Mr Zheng raised the issue of cash over valuation. COV is what a buyer agrees to pay the seller when he feels a particular flat is worth more than its valuation. COV applies in the private residential market as well. Banks will grant a loan of only up to 90 per cent of valuation, and buyers will have to pay at least 5 per cent of the valuation and the excess in cash.

HDB cannot ban COV or provide loans for it, as suggested by Mr Zheng. People should be free to decide what their flat or intended purchase is worth to them, and not be forced to buy and sell at fixed prices. While financing for COVs may appear helpful, it is more likely to fuel the escalation of prices and worsen the situation.

Mr Yeo commented on the number of marriages and new flats. The 24,000 marriages last year included those with or among foreigners, re-marriages, those with high income and those who have other accommodation. Not all 24,000 qualify for subsidised flats. In recent years, total bookings of new and resale flats with grants were between 13,000 and 15,000 a year.

Mr Loo asked about the affordability of a single buying a three-room resale flat at the quoted price of $200,000. With an $11,000 subsidy, an eligible single earning $2,500 a month would need 29 per cent of his income for the loan. He can pay $575 from his monthly CPF contribution, with the remaining $146 in cash.

Yap Chin Beng
Deputy Chief Executive Officer
(Estates & Corporate)
Housing & Development Board

HAHA! CB Yap! CPF is supposed to be used for retirement NOT for purchasing a pigeon hole! You bloody embecile!

Even then , a single that has purchased a flat will likely, by the time they are 55+ years of age, be out of a job or collecting tin cans and cardboard boxes from FT trash bins to earn a living.

Take note that Yap's reply the has failed to state the length of the loan period. How can anyone talk about a loan without mentining the loan period unless that person is dumb but Yap is Deputy CEO and he cannot be dumb. SO, Yap, are you trying to hoodwink people? Yap, are you telling Singaporaens that CPF is to be used for housing and not retirement?

Yap is a typical pappy dog.

I told ALL of you before. Don't let these dogs run wild. They are nothing and are actually quite dumb because they have no logic to back up their reasoning and they have no moral ground to stand on.

Ask and query and challenge them at all times to make them feel like the lowly worms that they are.

Porfirio Rubirosa

this is the exact problem that the pap govt has created with their HDB and CPF policies...

earlier singgies who enjoyed the 'gravy train' are probably ok...for eg. those who bought a 5 rm flat/ec flat in the early 90s for less than $200K and then managed to sell them later for between $500-600K(maybe even more) and move up the ladder...

however it is the first time buyers bow and future generations who are and shall be paying the high price...

HAHA! CB Yap! CPF is supposed to be used for retirement NOT for purchasing a pigeon hole! You bloody embecile!

Even then , a single that has purchased a flat will likely, by the time they are 55+ years of age, be out of a job or collecting tin cans and cardboard boxes from FT trash bins to earn a living.

Take note that Yap's reply the has failed to state the length of the loan period. How can anyone talk about a loan without mentining the loan period unless that person is dumb but Yap is Deputy CEO and he cannot be dumb. SO, Yap, are you trying to hoodwink people? Yap, are you telling Singaporaens that CPF is to be used for housing and not retirement?

Yap is a typical pappy dog.

I told ALL of you before. Don't let these dogs run wild. They are nothing and are actually quite dumb because they have no logic to back up their reasoning and they have no moral ground to stand on.

Ask and query and challenge them at all times to make them feel like the lowly worms that they are.

ChaoPappyPoodle

This is a poor argument. PLease stop using it because there are bigger issues at hand and better reasons to attack the pappies with.

As far as the majority people are concerned, they are indeed 'owners'. So let them be. It is their flat for the time that they are alive so they do feel ownership.

Let's hit the pappies with their take that people's CPF should be used for purchasing public housing at the cost of their retirement funds. Singaopreans that use their CPF for HDB purchases will have a vrey hard time financing their retirement expenses.

From Yap's statement, it is also fair to say that the HDB is no longer interested in providing affordable public housing. Many years ago, I told you people about Floor Pricing, an economic phenomena and how the HDB acts in creating a floor price for property in Singaporea. And how this floor price is continually exagerated even when economic times are bad.

The HDB is the biggest money sucker from Singaporeans, from the way Lee & Lee were made monopolist for conveyancing fees for HDB purchases to how the HDB has maintained a price that is diabolical in that it doesn't care for citizens' retirement funds and that it has created a mess of the property market in Singapore.

Never ever vote for the PAp again and tell all your friends and loved ones. You all have to vote for yourselves and your loved ones in the next GE. Kick the pappies out and let's see what Singaporeans who care for Singaporeans can do for all Singaporeans. FUCK the FTs. They take the back seat!

Echo_O

HDB has been the best and most efficient way to suck Sinkies CPF monies into govt coffers.
It is not in their best interest to let HDB prices fall.
Sell you a flat you still need to do renovations etc etc. Not to mention other cost of upkeeping the flat
Ah Yap has given an extremely blasé reply to a very serious Singapore problem.

Well said. Both HDB and CPF have gone of the rails. The conflict of interest is a new angle and I do agree with you. Similat to the Telco and Broadcasting industry, they might need an independent body to administer the policie and the impact.

this is the exact problem that the pap govt has created with their HDB and CPF policies...

earlier singgies who enjoyed the 'gravy train' are probably ok...for eg. those who bought a 5 rm flat/ec flat in the early 90s for less than $200K and then managed to sell them later for between $500-600K(maybe even more) and move up the ladder...

however it is the first time buyers bow and future generations who are and shall be paying the high price...

The primary reason that it is treated as tenants and lesses despite the power to sell and transfer is to allow the govt to acquire the whole block intact for town planning purposes well before 99 years lease is up (and not at the market rate)

They did this extensively in Jurong Town where the flats were less than 30 years old. If it had truly "ownership" status, the acquiring would have required buying at market rate.

I don't think they will do that now as it politically explosive.

this "ownership" expires.