• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Squash, Badminton or Tennis; for those above 40's ?..

Used to play with a Yonex Carbonex 15 racket. I think cost me 100 plus in the 90s.

I was part of the team that was runners-up to Telok Kurau in the Combined Schools (primary) Championship, in the late 1960's.
The school provided the raquets sold under the name Dunlop (wooden with a metal part before the handle) and Carlton (under 4.3, 4.1, 3.9).
Then I switched to tennis at Grange Road, after Bras Basah Road, and continue to play tennis at Raffles Hall, Nassim Road.

Never Liked non-competitive workouts.They can bore you to death.Sorry if i am too direct..

Young fellow those who end up in the gym like me have already gone through your three "competitive" sports and we all have reasons for it.
Remember, you are 40 going to 50 and not 40 going to 30.

65204274201211032214403860402989997_004.gif

I used to play a lot of competitive badminton. I switched to Tennis about 5 years ago. I am 60 years old.

I play tennis about 4-5 times a week and often competitively against people who are >20 years younger than me. I can still beat them on a single game. No way I can do it with badminton.

Some of my tennis pals are above 70 years old and they are playing very well - although not in singles anymore. Tennis is a game you can play for doubles even you are above 80 years old.

Having said that, I make sure I do resistance training at least once a week and periodic stretching and abs exercise to prevent injury. I follow P90X regime from beachbody.com. At 60, I can do >20 chin ups while I could do only 6 when I was in NS. The program certainly helps.

I was part of the team that was runners-up to Telok Kurau in the Combined Schools (primary) Championship, in the late 1960's.
The school provided the raquets sold under the name Dunlop (wooden with a metal part before the handle) and Carlton (under 4.3, 4.1, 3.9).
Then I switched to tennis at Grange Road, after Bras Basah Road, and continue to play tennis at Raffles Hall, Nassim Road.

I started playing badminton regularly in my 20s. Yes, those days in the 60s and 70s, Dunlop and Carlton were THE rackets that good players were spotted with.
My hunch is Yonex came onto the scene in the late 70s.

Never played for my school. They had great players. While in the SPF, played for my 'unit'. I consider myself a decent player, in doubles only.

Tried aLL 3 racquet games for the Last week.Have to make a decision soon,as i wouLd be then spLurging some $ into my preferred choice of game from footwears to racket types etcc..:cool:
Insofar, i think badminton shouLd be the most accomodating one; any feedbacks from bros here ?..

Try ping pong bro. Can partner LBW for mixed doubles.

Go & swim, only equiptment needed is swim trunks & goggles, entry fee is $1, can get competative if you got swim buddy & do lengths. Overall full body work out & good cardio-vascular.. additional bonus got nice "fishes" to look at. Those racket games i played before until my knees all nearly kena damaged, same as pounding the pavement jogging, the older you get the more teruk it'll be. SG so many pools, not like there's no pools or very EX like in other countries. My 2cts. :)
Bro, do you know how hard most of our pubLic pooLs are chLorinated ?..bet you can't even tahan to be immersed
for more than an hour in many of them around the isLand.The pooLs' water dry your eyes, skin & hairs too.:cool:
Having said, the onLy pubLic pooL i find that is stiLL 'pLeasant' to be doing your swims' is at the Mountbatten pooL..perhaps chLorination is the Last thing on their mind.
Too bad that they are sLated for cLosure comes this December..:(

Sorry mama drama....

Rolled ankles from directional change, tennis elbows from improper stroke production, back problems and hammy from serves, wrapped up knees from all the jumping and body impacts..

PLus only hard courts in Singapore.. Not good for the aging bodies..

:D

Alright, I must have been misinformed then. Apologies to the TS.

Bro, do you know how hard most of our pubLic pooLs are chLorinated ?..bet you can't even tahan to be immersed
for more than an hour in many of them around the isLand.The pooLs' water dry your eyes, skin & hairs too.:cool:
Having said, the onLy pubLic pooL i find that is stiLL 'pLeasant' to be doing your swims' is at the Mountbatten pooL..perhaps chLorination is the Last thing on their mind.
Too bad that they are sLated for cLosure comes this December..:(

you are right bro...not even chorinated...but also urea plenty...i have stopped swimming in public pools - a really dirty place to immerse your body for two hours!...really bad. i prefer brisk walking....taichi...qiqong....yoga.....
..but quite boring right, when you are working out aganist yourseLf onLy ?..just imagine you pcc day in & out without having a REAL 'opponent' in the Long run ! :eek::D

Bro...just try some brisk walking.You're not alone Bro. You are with Nature.You are with your heart, with your soul, with your own mind, with your shadow....and you are communicating with YOURSELF which you have long ignored by working hard to build yourself physically....Try lah. I've never stopped brisk walking...it is so refreshing, so invigorating and sometimes it gives me ideas on how to post here in this forum!!! Wonderful:)

Guessed i know where you are coming from..to that i agree in totaLity..;)

Bro, do you know how hard most of our pubLic pooLs are chLorinated ?(

You can ask around, some pools are not that chlorinated as others, maybe some pools they just heck care & pour the chlorine while others they take time to check the levels & do it right. But compared to 20 - 30yrs ago, the standard of the pools are much better now. I think some public pools near schools will have more chlorine:eek: :D i do remember the lifeguard told me that they clean the pools in the mornings so come in the afternoon when the chlorine levels have come back down to normal.

The bestest pooL i have found is stiLL at the beach, esp when the tides' are coming in; aLL cLean & cLear..;)

Singapore's beaches are not clean at all, but are still cleaner than most of the swimming pools.

yes i love the beach....that's when you are also nearest to nature....love it!