• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

S'pore least corrupt nation

Maximilian Chua-Heng

Oct 27, 2010

S'pore least corrupt nation
Republic rises 2 spots in watchdog ranking
By Cai Haoxiang

Singapore was tied with Denmark and New Zealand for top spot, with a score of 9.3 points. -- ST PHOTO: MALCOLM KOH

SINGAPORE shared top spot with Denmark and New Zealand as the least corrupt nations in the world, in the latest annual ranking by non-governmental corruption watchdog Transparency International (TI).

The ranking yesterday by the Berlin-based outfit saw Singapore move up from third place last year when Denmark was top and New Zealand second. In 2007 and 2008, Singapore was ranked as the world's fourth least-corrupt nation.

The latest ranking rates 178 countries and territories on a scale of 0 (highly corrupt) to 10 (least corrupt) and draws on the results of 13 business and expert surveys conducted between January last year and September this year.

That Singapore remains one of the least corrupt nations is due in part to effective laws, said TI's head of private sector programmes Francois Valerian, who tracks corporate corruption. 'Singapore is perceived as a state which has made legislative efforts and enforcement of laws and regulations to fight and curb corruption in the public sector, administration and governmental spheres,' he said.

But he added that an estimated US$1 trillion (S$1.3 trillion) obtained through illegal means flowed through major financial centres, including New York, Hong Kong and Singapore, annually. While he was not aware of specific instances of illicit financial flows through Singapore, he said Singapore and other territories have a responsibility to exchange information and investigate these flows.

Ms Juanita Riano, who oversees the ranking known as the Corruption Perceptions Index, said there was no change in the methodology when compiling this year's list. She added that the index measured perceptions of corruption and this 'doesn't mean that a country is corruption-free'

http://www.straitstimes.com/BreakingNews/Singapore/Story/STIStory_595768.html

I suspect someone working within this so call independent survey is taking kick back.

Any country, We got the highest paid government in the World governing one of the smallest county with a few million.

We have a father, Son, daughter in law, wife team that intertwine with our national reserved

No one is suppose to question them

Opposition is Bankrupted by count with judges appointed by the family

Election is won by "Walkovers"

And Yes, Estate Duties removed at the same time wife go Hospital

All this is we are still one of the top few "Non Corrupted" country, Unless someone take Kopi money, a monkey can also tell you something fishy here/

One has to question why the death taxes was eliminated :confused:

To reduce illegal corruption. Singapore leegalized corruption by easily up all the ministers pay by millions. No leaer in the world are paid more than SG$1million.
Top 10 world ranking ministers pay all of them are from Singapore.

corruption is rife in the private sector.
Go ask apple, dockyards, bunker suppliers etc.
Also the construction sector.
There is always kickbacks.

Bunkering is corruption last frontier. Bunker clerk basic pay less than 2k but yearly income in the millions, can fight with ministers :D

How do they define corruption?

To me is very simple, when you bribe someone,you passed the money secretly under the table to another person.

But down here, the money is not passed under the table, it is put on top the table, and you just take it openly. And that action to them is not corrupted. It's leegalized money.

That's why they gave millions and millions of dollars to them and said that if they dont do it, they talents will run away.

But to me, they are not talented and most of them are sometimes a wasted of taxpayers money.

As you know there's a saying, just to changed a light bulb, they need to have a meeting on who is the best to change it? what is the best time to change it? what angle or direction to change it? and you need to chant 'ma ra na tha' when you change it? and if you cock up big time when changing the light bulb, dont worry as LHL will defend you all the way by shouting, "So do you want him to RESIGN?"

You see a good higher paid job and will never kanna sacked even cock up big time.

Iron rice bowl job!

That's very true! There are so many ways to grease each other palms n it has bcome a Norm! Just follow the saying "u can do anything but dun get yourself caught red-handed"!

How do they define corruption?

To me is very simple, when you bribe someone,you passed the money secretly under the table to another person.

But down here, the money is not passed under the table, it is put on top the table, and you just take it openly. And that action to them is not corrupted. It's leegalized money.

That's why they gave millions and millions of dollars to them and said that if they dont do it, they talents will run away.

But to me, they are not talented and most of them are sometimes a wasted of taxpayers money.

As you know there's a saying, just to changed a light bulb, they need to have a meeting on who is the best to change it? what is the best time to change it? what angle or direction to change it? and you need to chant 'ma ra na tha' when you change it? and if you cock up big time when changing the light bulb, dont worry as LHL will defend you all the way by shouting, "So do you want him to RESIGN?"

You see a good higher paid job and will never kanna sacked even cock up big time.

Iron rice bowl job!

nickers9: Spot on. That's the difference between S'pore and our neighbours up north and down south. We are more sophisticated coz we are 1st world unlike our 2 neighbours who solicit more crudely. We needn't. It's is our system already.

Figures aren't always the truth. It can be manipulated for political justification and gain. Our civil service still ok, compared to others. Our private sector, like all countries, has to progress with corruption. Not much separates corruption and entertainment.

To expect zero tolerance is indeed a madman's notion. Cheers.

I can attest to the fact that Sinkiepore is the least corrupt country in the world. Just look at the number of times our gahmen and PM sued foreign publications in our Sinkie courts and won in every case. If the lawsuits were filed in foreign courts, our gahmen sure lose. Because foreign courts are largely composed of kangaroos who would ignore the blatant truth and rule against our incorruptible gahmen.

Opositions ever challenge PAP MPs ( family ) to declare their wealth .
All jump , The one that jump the highest and angriest is LKY..

No corruption why jump?

I can attest to the fact that Sinkiepore is the least corrupt country in the world. Just look at the number of times our gahmen and PM sued foreign publications in our Sinkie courts and won in every case. If the lawsuits were filed in foreign courts, our gahmen sure lose. Because foreign courts are largely composed of kangaroos who would ignore the blatant truth and rule against our incorruptible gahmen.

I think lky's family and gang are lucky, that would be reason why they always win.

Opositions ever challenge PAP MPs ( family ) to declare their wealth .
All jump , The one that jump the highest and angriest is LKY..

No corruption why jump?

There's no way for knowing how much wealth LKY and his families are having now.

As they had removed the only thing that will exposed their wealth - ESTATE DUTY!!!

There's no way for knowing how much wealth LKY and his families are having now.

As they had removed the only thing that will exposed their wealth - ESTATE DUTY!!!

U little fucker :oIo:

The founding fathers of USA are also billionaires

What's wrong with that?

Singapore seems like the least corrupt nation only because they make their make their laws with such subtle deceitful desires that many Singaporeans don't see the woods from the trees.

Just a simple example: What do you think the GST Offset package is for? Is it really meant to help you? Why do HDB residents get more than private houses? Because a single HDB block holds more than 100 times the residents than private houses, so more money means more election support. The means test is definitely wrong because a family living in a landed property doesn't necesarrily earn that much more. So this is basically legalized bribery and the list doesn't stop here.