• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

S'poor healthcare is breaking apart, and yet old statesman is telling stories!

Tiu-leh-see-fart

Local healthcare is a big joke now, and the cow knows it.

what has happened to our healthcare.

Can you imagine what they have voted ??

So , best of both worlds, the writer is truly insane.

Singaporeans say more medical choices in Johor Bahru
By Cheryl Fox, Channel NewsAsia | Posted: 10 April 2009 1813 hrs

SINGAPORE: The cost of medical care is always an important issue, and with more private hospitals and nursing homes springing up across the causeway, some Singaporeans feel that they are in for more choices.

Half-an-hour from Singapore's Woodlands Checkpoint is a newly-opened 218-bed private hospital in Bandar Seri Alam.

With two hotels nearby, and its marketing efforts aimed at Singapore residents, Regency Specialist Hospital hopes treating Singaporeans will not be a foreign idea.

CEO of Regency Specialist Hospital, Lee So Chow, said: "We've seen about 30 patients from Singapore. Our sister hospital, Makhota Malacca, sees about 250 Singaporean patients a year. What's really popular (with Singaporeans at our hospital) is health screening. Our open heart surgery costs 33,000 ringgit on average, whereas (in Singapore) it will cost the same amount in Singapore dollars.

A four-bedded room costs about S$42 a day, while its most premium room is about S$148.

And at the six VIP suites within the hospital, there is a special waiting area, where for a fee, fold-out beds can be set up for family or friends of the patient.

Singapore's Health Ministry is looking into how MediSave can be utilised in approved hospitals overseas.

But patients may have other concerns.

A consultant general and vascular surgeon at Regency Specialist Hospital, Sujit Singh Gill, said: "I guess the travelling time will be one concern. Another thing is they may be worried that if something happens late at night, they will have to go all the way to the hospital here.

“But I guess to some extent, we can mitigate that because as I've said, four of us (doctors) do practise in Singapore and we're actually not too far away."

A half-an-hour drive from Singapore's Tuas Second Link checkpoint will bring you to a site in Johor Bahru, where a Singapore company, China Healthcare, is setting up its new nursing home called ECON Medicare Centre.

The site is about 3,000 square metres, which makes it the largest land area out of all its nursing homes. The five-storey facility will be built with a capacity of close to 200 beds for its residents.

The centre will be modelled after its seven other nursing homes in Singapore, with similar accommodation and facilities.

The home is slated to be ready in two years and will have similar rates to its Singapore nursing homes - but in ringgit.

Son of a resident at ECON Medicare Centre, Alvin Khoo, said: "If we pay in ringgit, I believe it will be much cheaper. One disadvantage is traffic jams. Whenever it comes to weekends or public holidays, there are bound to be some traffic jams at the causeway, so that is one of the factors I'm concern about."

CEO of China Healthcare, Chua Song Khim, said: "We recognise that not all residents will want to go to JB, but there may be some Singaporeans who may prefer to have that option. Maybe for a couple of months… for a different environment, a different setting.”

And that is what Singaporeans can look forward to -- the best of both worlds.

mscitw

Heartless Khaw calls himself a buddhist.

what will those million buddhas think of him?

during the elections, he claims he will relook the Vile Means Testing.

after the election, he says means testing is here to stay and make his master happy because means testing deny peasants of affordable health care using language and mathematics games.

now an old peasant says he had to burden his family for high clinical bills, vermin khaw laughed and curtly told the old peasant that he has good insurance coverage, his family.

lately vermin khaw says he peasants ought to send their parents to JB because health care in peasantpore will be higher than usual.

only in peasantpore.

ahleebabasingaporethief

Ask anyone that has lived overseas, worked overseas or have used healthcare overseas; they will tell you health care available here is a joke. A very expensive joke.

Even Bangkok have better healthcare facilities than Singapore.

The medical tourists are no longer coming here because they know. Even the UAE garment refuses to pay for healthcare facilites here citing over-charging.

Most medical tourists do not mind paying more. But they are not getting their monies worth here.

Only Singaporeans are conned by believing everything in S'pore is WORLD CLASS and FIRST CLASS....always #LUMBER 1

Tiu-leh-see-fart

Glad all of you are aware of this vermin cow or malaysian cow.

Let me give you a good example how some hospitals charge inpatients or outpatients their medicines----

let say you want FAMOTININ( a medicine for gastric or stomach ulcers), if you have some knowledge about this simple drug you can purchase over the counter at 0.17 cents per tablet for max of 20.

But if you are patients of any hospitals, you need to pay $1.50 per tablet.
can you imagine the number of times?
And this applies to family doctor or GP at the HDB heartlands. The price is cut throat !

You get cheaper rate for the same medicine at higher mg at cheaper price in ringgits in matland

You see how the price of medicine is killing the locals.

Healthcare in singapore is sucking blood. And yet we have an old joke telling jokes to entertaining the foreigners

Please spread the words about the prohibitive price of medicine, the writer should have done some research before she spouts best of both worlds

Man in the streets

If you study the situation, i think most people who go north for treatment are naturalised singaporeans. They were Malaysians before and are familar with JB.

Think about it, local singaporeans rather die in singapore and ARE quite timid to travel to malaysia alone or with relatives to JB hospitals. They are brainwashed by fear and inconvenience.

besides, local news always condemn JB as robbers' haven. What else would give courage to these locals to up north, they rather resign to fate paying expensive bills in singapore.

It is the malaysian-singaporeans that enjoying both of the worlds.

You see why ah khaw is daring enough to recommend JB's nursing homes, he can speak malay well, and of course, he is quite intimate with JB too.

More singaporeans means more malaysians are heading north for treatment.

Local singaporeans better start learning how to speak Malay. iT WILL BENEFIT THEM WHEN THE TIME COMES.

funglung

Ask anyone that has lived overseas, worked overseas or have used healthcare overseas; they will tell you health care available here is a joke. A very expensive joke.

Even Bangkok have better healthcare facilities than Singapore.

The medical tourists are no longer coming here because they know. Even the UAE garment refuses to pay for healthcare facilites here citing over-charging.

Most medical tourists do not mind paying more. But they are not getting their monies worth here.

Only Singaporeans are conned by believing everything in S'pore is WORLD CLASS and FIRST CLASS....always #LUMBER 1

DO NOT WAIT UNTIL ELECTION TIME
THE TIME TO ACT IS NOW!

TALK TO YOUR FRIENDS AND YOUR RELATIVES.

SUPPORT OPPOSITION PARTIES WITH YOUR TIME AND MONEY AND STAND BY THEM AND WITH THEM.
THEY SPEAK FOR YOU AND TRY TO SPEAK FOR YOU.

LKY AND PAP HAVE BEEN USING THEIR KANGAROO COURTS TO TRY TO BANKRUPT THEM TO SILENCE THEM.

IF YOU DO NOT STAND WITH THEM AND STAND BY THEM, CAN YOU STAND ALONE AGAINST LKY?

SINGAPOREANS MUST UNITE AND SUPPORT ALL THE OPPOSITION PARTIES.

DO NOT JUST WAIT UNTIL ELECTION TO VOTE

VOTE OUT LKY AND HIS BASTARDS IN WHITE WHO ONLY WANT YOUR MONEY AND TO FUCK YOU.

IF NOT FOR YOURSELF, THEN FOR THE FUTURE OF YOUR CHILDREN

THERE WILL NOT BE AN OBAMA AS PRESIDENT OF USA IF THE CIVIL RIGHTS MOVEMENT THERE WAS INTIMIDATED BY BEATINGS AND LYNCHINGS IN THE PAST.

THE TOBBLING OF LKY WILL NOT BE EASY, AND CAN BE BLOODY AS WELL.
THEY WILL NOT GIVE UP THE BILLIONS THAT THEY SUCKED FROM YOU AND CAN CONTINUE TO SCREW FROM YOU NOW AND IN FUTURE.

ONLY YOU HAVE THE POWER TO SAY 'NO MORE OF THAT' AND THROW EVERYONE OF THOSE BASTARDS OUT

Already 400-500++ billions got sucked and bled by LKY into his Temasick and GIC.
HOW MANY OTHER BILLIONS GOT SUCKED AND USED BY THEM IN GLC WHERE THEIR FAMILY MEMBERS AND MINISTERS AND BASTARDS IN WHITE ARE CHAIRMAN AND CEOS?

EVEN IF NO ELECTIONS, SINKIES MUST SPEAK WITH ALL THEIR FRIENDS AND ALL THEY KNOW

STAND UP TO THAT BASTARD LKY AND PAP BLOODSUCKERS

STAND WITH ALL THOSE THAT FIGHT BASTARD LKY

OR STAND UP YOURSELF IN YOUR CONSTITUENCY

DONT BE BULLIED BY THAT FUCKING COWARD LKY USING HIS CORRUPT KANGAROO COURTS AND ALL THAT HE CAN, AND WILL THROW AT YOU

You will fear them only if you allow yourself to fear them.

Just because THEY want you to fear them, must you fear those fucking bastards?

THEY ONLY CAN RULE YOU , AND BLED YOU , THROUGH FEAR AND INTIMIDATION.

SINKIES,

FIND YOUR BALLS AND STAND UP TO THEM.
THEY WILL THEN FEAR YOU.

AND YOU REGAIN YOUR MONEY AND YOUR FUTURE AND YOUR CHILDREN FUTURE.

DO NOT LET OUR MONEY GO TO FUND PAP DOGS FRENCH COOKING LESSONS

DO NOT DIE IN OLD FOLK HOMES IN JB.

FIND YOUR BALLS AND STAND UP TO THEM

LEE KUAN YEW LOST AND LOST DUNNO HOW MANY BILLIONS IN TEMASICK AND GIC

EVEN MORE BILLIONS HE THREW AWAY TO HIS DOGS AND COCKROACHES SO THEY CAN TAKE FRENCH COOKING LESSONS

LKY NEED MORE BILLIONS FROM SINKIES WHO VOTED FOR HIM AND FROM THOSE WHO VOIDED THEIR VOTES

EVEN IF YOU VOTE AGAINST HIM, NO DIFFERENCE.

COLLECTIVE PUNISHMENT AS SINKIES DID NOT TRY HARD ENOUGH TO KICK OUT THAT VAMPIRE BASTARD LKY

SO EXPECT EVERYTHING IN SINGAPORE TO GO UP AND UP

BASTARD LKY NEED YOUR $$$$$

HE SCREW YOU AND DEMAND THAT YOU THANK HIM FOR HIS FUCKING 'SUBISIDIESD BULLSHIT' AND 'AFFORDABLE' CON-TALK.

GO ALL OUT TO KICK ALL THOSE BASTARDS OUT

ALL OF THEM

Yes I can confirm that in Canada medical insurance is very affordable. Each province has its own medical insurance plan. Very affordable & free for the poor

In the case of Alberta, the hospitals only have single & double bed rooms, none of the community wards with 6 or more beds. They also have rehab hospitals for long stay patients.

You only need to pay the hospital admission fee under $50 & every thing else is covered by the insurance. Insurance also covers things treatments like occupational therapy,...

With all the taxes Sporeans are paying they should be getting better health care :mad: You can't even use your own medisave to offset the total costs of health bills, unless you are LKY or one of those PAP elites

bekindtonaimals

yes, you can buy famotidine at KK pharmacy. u can also but generic chlorpheniramine (for colds) or paracetamol(for fever) or loratadine (for colds) at abt 5 cts per tablet. even generic Diosmin (for piles) is much cheaper