• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

SPH and MediaCorp in trouble and staff to leave ?

Agoraphobic

I've thought about what you mentioned many times and if I were in this profession, I'd stay away from political issues and lean towards news on business, technology, sports, or even cuisine and living. No matter what line one is in, one has to identify which side of the bread is buttered. For working in such an "industry" (excuse me for using this term) one still needs to stay alive and bring home the bacon, and in the long run, I would consider a move from writing/reporting articles and probably be immersed in other aspects in the publishing industry. Lifestyle/technology magazines would be attractive to me as it also encompasses photography and advertising. Anyways, that's all hindsight perpective for me. Got to live in the present world.

Sensible choice in the end. Its not about small market or low readership that shld put you off being a journalist in SPH. The primary question you shld ask is whetehr you can wake up everyday to pen that baldfaced lie and whether you can sleep at night peacefully having told every untruth and half truth commanded of you?

bhoven

Heard that the continued lower ranking of the Singapore State Press in the bottom quartile has finally taken its toll. In 2014, it was ranked 150th amongst 180 countries. Readership has dropped dramatically and people are moving to alternate media in great numbers. The continued lack of credibility coupled with the rise of the internet may actually force the prostitutes of Toa Payoh to reflect on their deeds.

Heard even senior staff are affected. The question is will the PAP Government throw a life line to some of these journalists who have done a sterling service for the PAP as they did for the senior Chua Sister. The lady is back in the civil service in PMO. I guess they have to or place them in GLCs in order to retain their loyalty.

Also heard that the Aljunied hawker centre ceiling cleaning incident did a lot of damage where the state press is concerned where bias reporting was prominent. The Brompton Folding Bike case was another where the a netizens broke the story which led to a prosecution.

When Cheong Yip Seng was Editor in Chief, he introduced the SPH Scholarships in an effort to beef up
the brainpower and also improved reporters remuneration to attract graduates to join. It worked for a while but if I am not mistaken save for WF in the first batch, none of the later batches stayed after their bonds were served. Many in fact broke bonds and paid up to leave earlier because they were unhappy with the editorial nannying. Ditto to a lesser extent for the graduates and mid career hires from banking, the civil service etc. This is one of the reasons for the sloppy reporting that we see in the ST nowadays....inexperienced staff.

borom

............our demand for news is regional, or global......how much readership will a newspaper capture outside Singapore when its been used to reporting how good life has been under the PAP.....here are other news sources like Al Jazeera .....CCTV news is on 24 hours and reaches out to a worldwide audience.... I can access Washington Post, New York Times .....

You have a good point. The bigger singapore businesses need to go regional/global to survive (eg SIA) so why can't the ST be like Al Jazeera, WSJ, Economist ect2.

The reason is credibility-as its ranking shows and LHL's statement that he has given up on its ranking is like a death kneel to its credibility. It will survive with PAP support but once the PAP loses power, The ST will be gone.
The first thing a new govt should do is to offer more newspaper licences to those not in the SPH Group so that there can be a more accurate reporting and who will buy the ST ?

kingrant

Newspapers did not use to be like that. LKY came to power in the face of a hostile ST. Before he could be properly seated, ST top mgmt quit and left for KL, knowing that if they stayed, they would be persecuted.

Singapore Monitor, The Singapore Herald, Nanyang Siang Pau etc used to provide plurality and diversity in debate, reporting, opinion leadership...To consolidate his power, LKY began to change the deck of cards, and then everything became toxic. The Press fell into line, the Lawyers, the Judges, and every bobbing head that smells of rebellion, he silenced them all.

The malaise today has to be laid squarely at the feet of the toxic personality of LKY.

god_zeus

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/1pwwRtTD6b4" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>
old one lah
new one is
"dragon fly pheonix dance" already 55 episodes of 2hr10min without ads.
龙飞凤舞

sense

Heard that the continued lower ranking of the Singapore State Press in the bottom quartile has finally taken its toll. In 2014, it was ranked 150th amongst 180 countries. Readership has dropped dramatically and people are moving to alternate media in great numbers. The continued lack of credibility coupled with the rise of the internet may actually force the prostitutes of Toa Payoh to reflect on their deeds.

Heard even senior staff are affected. The question is will the PAP Government throw a life line to some of these journalists who have done a sterling service for the PAP as they did for the senior Chua Sister. The lady is back in the civil service in PMO. I guess they have to or place them in GLCs in order to retain their loyalty.

Also heard that the Aljunied hawker centre ceiling cleaning incident did a lot of damage where the state press is concerned where bias reporting was prominent. The Brompton Folding Bike case was another where the a netizens broke the story which led to a prosecution.

The irony is that Stomp the rubbish blog masquerading as citizen journalism has the second biggest readership after Zaobao, even beating Strait Times. That is analogous to saying that Proton Saga is a better performing car than Ferrari. How did it come to this. And now there is petition to close it down for driving poor behaviour.

Interesting speculation and the market disagree with you.

jyVMno8.jpg

Cerebral

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
I know Management of Mediacorps had been very concern on the decrease in viewership.

In this line, you just need to toe the line to secure your rice bowl and it doesn't put food on the table to do otherwise. What going to happen to the viability of SPH and MEdiacorp in another 20 years isn't really a concern on everyone's mind. They just hope that they will retire before the organization goes bankrupt.

The only department making money in SPH is their radio department. Kiss 92 gave 95 a run for their money and rightly so

Cerebral

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
A few years ago I read that medicockup was going to relocate from Caldecott to new facilities. Haven't heard any updates. What happended did they decide to build a mall instead:smile:

Aiyah. Garment building a media hub in buona vista. Who do you think will be anchor tenant?

Cerebral

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
I've thought about what you mentioned many times and if I were in this profession, I'd stay away from political issues and lean towards news on business, technology, sports, or even cuisine and living. No matter what line one is in, one has to identify which side of the bread is buttered. For working in such an "industry" (excuse me for using this term) one still needs to stay alive and bring home the bacon, and in the long run, I would consider a move from writing/reporting articles and probably be immersed in other aspects in the publishing industry. Lifestyle/technology magazines would be attractive to me as it also encompasses photography and advertising. Anyways, that's all hindsight perpective for me. Got to live in the present world.

Specialising in journalism does not mean that you have to work in SPH. There are monthlies, or the private sector. There are always openings in PR department.

maxxi

20 years ago their rescue plan was vacate River Valley and build condos . Now the rescue plan is to vacate Andrew rd to build condos.

I know Management of Mediacorps had been very concern on the decrease in viewership.

In this line, you just need to toe the line to secure your rice bowl and it doesn't put food on the table to do otherwise. What going to happen to the viability of SPH and MEdiacorp in another 20 years isn't really a concern on everyone's mind. They just hope that they will retire before the organization goes bankrupt.

That why Mediacorp now have lot of advertisement encourage people use TV as advertisement.

blackmondy

wow they own clementi mall?u have to admit the location is the best,that is one fucking crowded mall that i will never visit again if possible.

Fucking hopelessly cramped mall. 70% of stalls in the food court closed liao.

No cinema and only a half-fucked library.