• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious SPH - 1.4MIL$$$ HDB is Not sexpensive!

Pinkieslut

Record-breaking $1.4 million HDB costs too much? The alternatives may not be any better​

image_904.jpg

Stackedhomes
If you haven’t heard by now, a 5-room HDB flat at Henderson just broke the record for the most expensive HDB ever transacted – at a stunning price of $1.4 million.

The unit is located in City Vue @ Henderson, an HDB development known for its striking view of the city, and convenient location. Plus, it doesn’t hurt that you have sheltered walkways all the way to the MRT station! It’s 1,216 square feet (113 sqm) in size, and situated on the 41st floor of the 48-storey block (it’s not even the highest floor). Given the lease only started in 2019, it is only 3 years old at this point.

More from AsiaOneRead the condensed version of this story, and other top stories with NewsLite.
City-Vue-@Henderson-Block.jpg
PHOTO: Stackedhomes
For those wondering how they managed to sell before the usual 5-year MOP, this was actually a replacement home for the 878 homes at Redhill Close that underwent the Selective En-Bloc Redevelopment Scheme (SERS) back in 2011.

So unlike BTO units, the MOP criteria here is different. This would either be 7 years from the date of selection of the replacement flat, or 5 years from the date of occupation – whichever is earlier. Hence in the case of this particular purchase, if construction took 4 years, and they’ve stayed for 3, that would already fulfil the minimum criteria.

Now, while many people are struggling to comprehend why anyone would pay $1.4 million for an HDB flat at Henderson, the reality is that what people value in a home can be a very subjective thing. From scenic views to proximity to your parent’s home, to even just the typical convenience factor – it’s something that can’t always be justified by numbers.

Still, we thought it would be an interesting exercise to see what other options you have in Singapore at a $1.4 million price point.

Let’s start with the most obvious one – what can you get for $1.4 million in the same Bukit Merah planning area?

What 3-bedroom condo units can $1.4 Million get you in Bukit Merah

To keep things as fair as possible, we isolated it down to as many equivalent factors as possible. It has to be a development that was as new (or close to) as City Vue @ Henderson, and a 3-bedroom unit as well. We decided to forgo having to be on a high floor too, as we knew you wouldn’t be getting any equivalent results at that point. (If there was, we doubt anyone would be choosing the HDB unit instead).

Project NamePriceSize (Sqft)$PSFSale DateAddressTenure
Alex Residences$1,550,0009261,67428-Jan-2228 ALEXANDRA VIEW #0399 yrs from 18/03/2013
Alex Residences$1,595,8808831,80822-Oct-2128 ALEXANDRA VIEW #0299 yrs from 18/03/2013
Echelon$1,628,0008611,89127-Aug-219 ALEXANDRA VIEW #0299 yrs from 06/03/2012
Echelon$1,675,0008611,94526-Jan-227 ALEXANDRA VIEW #1099 yrs from 06/03/2012
Alex Residences$1,680,0009261,81528-Feb-2228 ALEXANDRA VIEW #0499 yrs from 18/03/2013
Echelon$1,690,0008611,9634-Aug-219 ALEXANDRA VIEW #0799 yrs from 06/03/2012
Alex Residences$1,700,0009261,83611-May-2128 ALEXANDRA VIEW #1399 yrs from 18/03/2013
Spottiswoode Suites$1,708,00010871,57127-Jul-2116 SPOTTISWOODE PARK ROAD #05Freehold
Alex Residences$1,728,0009261,8679-Jul-2128 ALEXANDRA VIEW #1899 yrs from 18/03/2013
Alex Residences$1,735,0009261,87415-Apr-2128 ALEXANDRA VIEW #1699 yrs from 18/03/2013
Echelon$1,750,00010011,74815-Oct-219 ALEXANDRA VIEW #1899 yrs from 06/03/2012
Echelon$1,750,00010011,74825-Oct-219 ALEXANDRA VIEW #0799 yrs from 06/03/2012
Alex Residences$1,770,0009261,91224-Aug-2128 ALEXANDRA VIEW #1999 yrs from 18/03/2013
Alex Residences$1,795,0009261,93922-Dec-2128 ALEXANDRA VIEW #2899 yrs from 18/03/2013
Source: URA. Transactions since April 2021.
Probably to no one’s surprise, if you are looking to live within the same area, there is nothing that you can find at that same price point.

alex-residences-3-bedroom-floorplan.png
The closest would be a compact 3-bedroom 926 square feet unit at Alex Residences (you know, that one with the magnificent 40th-floor rooftop infinity pool). But even then, it’s hardly the same comparison given this unit that was sold is located on the 3rd floor.

alex-residences-sky-pool-1.jpg
Still, at a price of $1.55 million, it’s a good 10per cent higher than the price of the Henderson flat. And it’s also worth noting here, that just a month later, a similar size unit just one floor up sold for $1.68 million – so that seemingly low resale price may just be a one-off.

What $1.4 Million can get you in Bukit Merah without any restrictions

What if we made it a little less strict? If you had that same budget but are set on staying in the same area (without the other restrictions), what options do you have?

Project NamePriceArea (Sqft)$PSFDateAddressTenure
Principal Garden$1,399,999764$1,83210-Jun-2199 PRINCE CHARLES CRESCENT #0599 yrs from 21/07/2014
The Foresta @ Mount Faber$1,400,000872$1,6065-Oct-21106 WISHART ROAD #05Freehold
Principal Garden$1,410,000764$1,84510-Sep-2199 PRINCE CHARLES CRESCENT #0899 yrs from 21/07/2014
The Foresta @ Mount Faber$1,450,000786$1,84518-May-21102 WISHART ROAD #03Freehold
Principal Garden$1,450,000807$1,79611-Jun-2193 PRINCE CHARLES CRESCENT #0799 yrs from 21/07/2014
Principal Garden$1,478,000764$1,93419-Nov-2197 PRINCE CHARLES CRESCENT #1399 yrs from 21/07/2014
The Foresta @ Mount Faber$1,490,000829$1,7982-Jul-21102 WISHART ROAD #02Freehold
Principal Garden$1,490,000764$1,95011-Jan-2297 PRINCE CHARLES CRESCENT #0999 yrs from 21/07/2014
Source: URA. Transactions since April 2021.
Again, it’s quite slim pickings here.

principal-garden-2-bedroom-floorplan.png
The closest would be a 2 bedroom 764 square foot unit at Principal Garden that comes in at a hair under $1.4 million. Although we must point out that this was transacted in June 2021, and prices have moved a fair bit since then (a similar-sized unit sold for $1.49 million in January 2022).

As much as we love Principal Garden for its wonderful landscaping and many different swimming pools to choose from, it’s really not the same comparison here. This unit also unfortunately will be facing the future Alexandra BTO blocks, so it’s not going to enjoy the same current open views.

Next, what if we were to look at the same location, with the requirement of a similar-sized 3 bedroom, but no restrictions on age?

What $1.4 million can get you with no restrictions on age

Project NamePriceArea (Sqft)$PSFSale DateAddressTenure
Spottiswoode Park$950,0001,270$74823-Dec-21105 SPOTTISWOODE PARK ROAD #1399 yrs from 01/08/1976
Spottiswoode Park$1,000,0001,270$78720-Sep-21107 SPOTTISWOODE PARK ROAD #1599 yrs from 01/08/1976
Spottiswoode Park$1,093,0001,313$83225-Mar-22107 SPOTTISWOODE PARK ROAD #1585 yrs from 01/08/1990
The Pearl @ Mount Faber$1,430,0001,292$1,10718-Nov-211 MOUNT FABER ROAD #0199 yrs from 03/12/2002
Emerald Park$1,450,0001,130$1,28330-Jul-216 INDUS ROAD #0399 yrs from 01/09/1991
Tanglin View$1,470,0001,152$1,27627-Apr-21150 PRINCE CHARLES CRESCENT #0299 yrs from 17/05/1997
Reflections At Keppel Bay$1,480,0001,012$1,4634-Jun-2123 KEPPEL BAY VIEW #0399 yrs from 15/03/2006
Source: URA. Transactions from April 2021.
This time, you do have some choices to compare with, namely Spottiswoode Park, Emerald Park and Tanglin View (although they will be slightly above budget).

The first is a 5-room private apartment at Spottiswoode Park. It’s quite an interesting property as Blocks 101, 102 , 105, 107 here are considered private, while Blocks 103, 104 , 106 ,109, 110 are classified under HDB instead.

If you look at the transaction data, you’d see that the HDB units are actually going for $200,000 – $300,000 cheaper when on the outside and inside they are basically the same!

So yes, you can get an equivalent sized unit at a cheaper price, just that it’s much, much older.

emerald-park-3-bedroom-floorplan.jpeg
Emerald Park is a 99-year leasehold development that was completed in 1993, so yes, it is significantly older. With just 280 units though, it isn’t quite as dense as City Vue @ Henderson, and enjoys a slightly less busy location. You are also quite close to Tiong Bahru (you can cut through the HDB blocks at Havelock, and the upcoming Havelock MRT station will be a short walk away.

Tanglin View is probably in a better spot if you are after convenience. You can quite easily walk to Redhill MRT station, and the Alexandra Park Connector is just behind. This means you can walk/cycle to CBD quite easily if that’s your thing. It was built by Far East Organization as well but is newer too as it was built in 2002.

Ultimately, the trade-off of these in terms of lease years remaining is significant enough that it’s not such a clear-cut decision if you have to choose between either. Unless the pull of being able to enjoy the facilities in a condo is so strong, it’s hard to declare a clear winner here.

Next, let’s open it up more. Let’s see what options there are with the same budget, 3 bedroom equivalent size, and age, but this time to the rest of Singapore.

What $1.4 million can get you in the rest of Singapore

ProjectPriceArea (Sqft)$PSFDateAddressTenure
Belysa$1,400,0001,421$98510-Feb-2257 PASIR RIS DRIVE 1 #0999 yrs from 24/01/2011
Hedges Park Condominium$1,400,0001,346$1,04129-Oct-2181 FLORA DRIVE #0899 yrs from 28/07/2010
The Tampines Trilliant$1,400,0001,378$1,0167-October-2127 TAMPINES CENTRAL 7 #0199 yrs from 13/07/2011
Heron Bay$1,400,0001,389$1,00829-Sep-2161 UPPER SERANGOON VIEW #1499 yrs from 04/06/2012
Twin Waterfalls$1,400,0001,507$92928-June-21114 PUNGGOL WALK #0199 yrs from 05/10/2011
Seastrand$1,400,0001,302$1,07528-Oct-211 PASIR RIS LINK #0999 yrs from 03/01/2011
A Treasure Trove$1,400,0001,206$1,1614-Jun-2168 PUNGGOL WALK #0999 yrs from 09/03/2011
River Isles$1,400,0001,227$1,14110-Aug-2158 EDGEDALE PLAINS #1399 yrs from 06/02/2012
Waterfront Isle$1,400,0001,259$1,11214-Apr-21736 BEDOK RESERVOIR ROAD #0199 yrs from 26/11/2009
Riversound Residence$1,400,0001,367$1,0247-Jul-211 SENGKANG EAST AVENUE #0699 yrs from 26/08/2011
Sea Esta$1,400,0001,378$1,01627-Jul-2130 PASIR RIS LINK #0199 yrs from 09/01/2012
Riversails$1,400,0001,367$1,02416-Sep-216 UPPER SERANGOON CRESCENT #0399 yrs from 07/12/2011
Stratum$1,400,0001,399$1,0007-Sep-2186 ELIAS ROAD #0199 yrs from 11/07/2012
Stratum$1,400,0001,399$1,00020-Jan-2280 ELIAS ROAD #0199 yrs from 11/07/2012
Citylife@Tampines$1,400,0001,195$1,17229-Oct-2153 TAMPINES CENTRAL 7 #1199 yrs from 13/08/2012
Ecopolitan$1,400,0001,216$1,15114-Mar-22136 PUNGGOL WALK #0599 yrs from 04/12/2012
Lush Acres$1,400,0001,238$1,13130-Aug-213 FERNVALE CLOSE #1599 yrs from 13/02/2013
Lush Acres$1,400,0001,238$1,13116-Sep-213 FERNVALE CLOSE #0699 yrs from 13/02/2013
The Topiary$1,400,0001,238$1,1315-Jan-2223 FERNVALE LANE #1499 yrs from 03/07/2012
Skies Miltonia$1,400,0001,313$1,06624-November-2131 MILTONIA CLOSE #0699 yrs from 20/02/2012
Sea Horizon$1,400,0001,335$1,04923-Mar-2215 PASIR RIS RISE #0499 yrs from 25/02/2013
Waterbay$1,400,0001,346$1,0413-June-2147B EDGEFIELD PLAINS #1399 yrs from 02/07/2012
Ecopolitan$1,400,0001,367$1,0242-Sep-21128 PUNGGOL WALK #1499 yrs from 04/12/2012
Ecopolitan$1,400,0001,367$1,0247-Sep-21136 PUNGGOL WALK #1299 yrs from 04/12/2012
Ecopolitan$1,400,0001,367$1,02410-Sep-21128 PUNGGOL WALK #1199 yrs from 04/12/2012
The Topiary$1,400,0001,389$1,0088-Sep-2115 FERNVALE LANE #0299 yrs from 03/07/2012
Forestville$1,400,0001,399$1,00029-Oct-2140 WOODLANDS DRIVE 16 #0999 yrs from 06/08/2012
Forestville$1,400,0001,399$1,0007-Feb-2240 WOODLANDS DRIVE 16 #0499 yrs from 06/08/2012
Lush Acres$1,400,0001,485$94219-Aug-213 FERNVALE CLOSE #2599 yrs from 13/02/2013
Sea Horizon$1,400,0001,485$94222-October-2119 PASIR RIS RISE #0299 yrs from 25/02/2013
Forestville$1,400,0001,496$93614-Apr-2148 WOODLANDS DRIVE 16 #0299 yrs from 06/08/2012
The Wisteria$1,400,0001,173$1,19326-July-21596 YISHUN RING ROAD #1299 yrs from 27/04/2015
The Visionaire$1,400,0001,313$1,0661-Mar-22170 CANBERRA DRIVE #0699 yrs from 09/01/2015
As expected, at this price point and with the freedom of any location, you do have quite a big range to pick from. That said, it’s not so much a big range of locations as it is the range of condos, as you are restricted to mostly areas like Punggol, Tampines, and Pasir Ris. Some of these even have bigger unit sizes, so you do get more bang for your buck, in that sense.

At the end of the day though, that’s always going to be the tradeoff here. Should you stay in a central location, where you have to pay more for a smaller space? Or stay further away, where travel times are going to be longer but you can enjoy a bigger home?

Lastly, just as the last point to satisfy our curiosity, let’s look at what equivalent units you can get at a $1.4 million budget if staying on a high floor was your main concern. In this scenario, we picked units that were from at least 35 floors and up.

What $1.4 million can get you for equivalent high-floor units

ProjectPriceArea (Sqft)$PSFDateAddressTenure
International Plaza$1,180,0001,033$1,142.0023-Aug-2110 ANSON ROAD #4099 yrs from 02/06/1970
International Plaza$1,200,0001,033$1,161.0012-May-2110 ANSON ROAD #3999 yrs from 02/06/1970
The Rochester Residences$1,260,0001,023$1,232.0010-Dec-2133 ROCHESTER DRIVE #3599 yrs from 02/02/2005
Trevista$1,300,000861$1,510.005-May-2121 LORONG 3 TOA PAYOH #3599 yrs from 15/07/2008
Queens$1,300,000915$1,421.0024-Sep-2110 STIRLING ROAD #3899 yrs from 16/02/1998
International Plaza$1,300,0001,033$1,258.0024-Mar-2210 ANSON ROAD #4599 yrs from 02/06/1970
Stirling Residences$1,364,000818$1,667.0024-Apr-2121 STIRLING ROAD #4099 yrs from 18/08/2017
Trevista$1,380,000926$1,491.0022-Jun-2121 LORONG 3 TOA PAYOH #3699 yrs from 15/07/2008
Unfortunately, if staying high up and having picturesque views are what you’d pay a premium for, there’s really no comparison at this price point if you are looking for a 3 bedroom unit.

international-plaza-2-bedroom-floorplan.png
The closest is a 2 bedroom 1,033 square feet at International Plaza. You do enjoy a fantastic location here, as you are right by Guoco Tower (and obviously, overshadowed by it). There are a ton of food options in the area, from the shophouses at Duxton to the ones at 100AM mall. The unit that was sold was on the 40th floor as well, so you should definitely be getting some decent views all around.

There’s really no right or wrong here

To be clear, this wasn’t to descend into a debate about whether a $1.4 million HDB or condo would be a better choice.

As the saying goes, one man’s meat is another man’s poison.

While it seems that everyone is supporting Johnny Depp at this point, there are also equal fanatic fans of Amber Heard that you may just be surprised about – it all depends on which side of the fence you are on.

Boliao

Comparing a HDB to a condo?? :eek: The buyer is an idiot. Period. There is no need to justify why he did what he did. For all you know, he could be a Chinese PR who recently sold his property to run road to Singapore under the older scheme. $1.4m would just about qualify them for PR immediately and cheap to them.

millim6868

This is one way to jack up hdb price,lol,but 61% song with it,these show tgat ccs say sinkies are idiot ,it's truth,lol

HDB resale flats in prime locations will fetch resale prices of around S1.8 million in two years time. Wait and see!

hbk75

Sinkies will still be able to afford condos and resale HDB flats that are over S$1.5 million. There's huge demand.

All these buyers are down graders from private housing. When interest rates are low. Everything is blooming. Can sell high and downgrade to million dollar hdb. Else u think ppl will borrow from banks to buy?

Singapore's property market has been on a general uptrend since 1955, with a few dips here and there during recessions. People will borrow from the banks to buy local condos and landed property. It's better than losing your money in ostrich farms, crypto or high risk stocks.

hbk75

Singapore's property market has been on a general uptrend since 1955, with a few dips here and there during recessions. People will borrow from the banks to buy local condos and landed property. It's better than losing your money in ostrich farms, crypto or high risk stocks.

john tan born recently? never seen how many superman during 1998?

Loofydralb

What comes up, must come down.

There is a bubble building up + new rules that require owner to live until 94 years old within the lease period.

Many will be caught with their pants down when no one can buy it over from them and their $700K goes down the drain .

KNN my uncle say lansai lah KNN compare so details for fuck KNN got money just buy no money don't buy so simple make so difficult leelee tam chia ter nao behaviour KNN

hbk75

You born more recently? Never seen tens of thousands of sinkies making a killing in the HDB resale property market?

that is fed non stop printing. now stagflation liao. really laughing at sinkies. thinking that dump any money into properties means can make money?