• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Speaker’s Corner: Let’s see whether the authorities truly use a "light touch"

NgEjay

http://www.sgpolitics.net/?p=522

On Monday, at a press conference, the Police and National Parks Board released a set of new rules governing the activities that can and cannot be held at Speaker’s Corner. These rules take effect immediately.

Now, demonstrations can held at Speaker’s Corner, and these can involve holding up placards, waving banners, and using hand-held loudhailers.

Demonstrations can also be conducted round the clock. Loudhailers, however, can be used only from 9am to 10.30pm.

Of course, the authorities were equally quick at specifying certain restrictions. These include no lewd or violent visuals, and no race and religious issues. (ST, “Open for demos next week”, 25 Aug).

Permanent residents can also participate, but still have to apply for a permit if they want to speak.

The management of Speakers’ Corner will be taken off the police and handed over to NParks, which will now deal with the registration of speakers or organisers of demonstrations, who can register online via NPark’s website. This is a departure from past practices where speakers had to register at the Kreta Ayer Police Post next to the Park.

There is also no limit on how many groups can demonstrate on any day, as long as everyone can be contained within Speakers’ Corner.

The police indicated that they will patrol the Park, and that they will investigate if it receives public complaints.

This of course sets off alarm bells in my head.

The police have frequently claimed that they were tipped off by public complaints everytime it arrests Singapore Democratic Party (SDP) members, supporters and other activists for holding peaceful demonstrations.

I wonder whether they will use the same excuse to intimidate peaceful demonstrators at Speaker’s Corner as well. It remains to be seen.

My view remains that the “concession” for protests at Speaker’s Corner is pathetic, and that the government should realize that Singaporeans are granted freedom of assembly and expression under Article 14 of Part 4 of the constitution. These are rights that apply to all citizens, at all times and places.

Nonetheless, the apparent liberalization of Speaker’s Corner is a very small step forward in helping to alleviate the oppressive climate of fear surrounding political activity.

Let’s see whether the authorities will really walk their talk in taking a “light touch” approach with regards to events held at Speaker’s Corner.
Let’s also see whether the authorities will be truly unbiased and transparent about the whole process of applications, approvals or rejections, and their conduct towards peaceful demonstrators at Speaker’s Corner.

when gabramen probihited public protests, u guys proceed and cared less but comprained.
now the gabramen allows, u guys also comprain. u guys really beri difficult to serve hor?
can go protest for the disapproval of stay permit for the 6 burmese protestors now? if u guys could not really help the whole of BURMA, at least help the 6 burmese.

no media attention given, so no interests is it?:(

This is an article from TODAY newspaper.

BURN an effigy of a Singapore political leader? Organise a gay pride event outdoors? From next week, protests like these will have a place in Singapore.

These were some of the scenarios put to the Police, the Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA) and the National Parks Board (NParks) yesterday when they announced the details on liberalising the use of Speakers’ Corner in Hong Lim Park to allow public protests. None of the agencies objected.

“We want to be as open as possible,” said MHA senior director (policy and operations) Tai Wei Shyong at the press conference yesterday.

He did concede that because of the many possible scenarios that could arise, the liberalisation of Speakers’ Corner will be a “work in evolution”.

Come Sept 1, Singaporeans can organise and participate in any demonstration at Speakers’ Corner — except those that involve race and religion — without having to obtain a police permit.

Permanent residents (PRs) can also participate in these demonstrations, in recognition of the stake they have in Singapore. But they have to apply for a permit if they wish to give a speech or organise a protest themselves.

Foreigners will have to apply for a permit to conduct or participate in any activity — to make the distinction that the political rights of citizens are different from those of non-citizens. Which raises this possible scenario: What happens if a foreigner joins the protest without the organiser’s knowledge?

“The rules will be interpreted reasonably ... If there’s no way to stop him, we’ll look at that,” said Mr Tai. The rules will be administered by the NParks. Its chief operating officer, Dr Leong Chee Chiew, said he was not anticipating “worst-case scenarios”.

Since Speakers’ Corner was set up on Sept 1, 2000, there has not been any breach of the rules, according to Singapore Police Force director (operations) Wong Hong Kuan. During this time, there was a total of 2,144 registrations involving 508 speakers.

With the liberalisation, the 7am-to-7pm restriction will be abolished, thereby allowing all-night vigils. Any form of banners, placards, posters and other visual aids can be used for speeches or demonstrations, as long as they do not contain violent or obscene messages or any that pertain to race or religion.

And on top of making a scene, NParks will allow the use of loud hailers and other amplification equipment between 9am and 10.30pm in Hong Lim Park, which can hold 3,000 to 4,000 people.

A point to note: A group of protesters may have to share the park with other protesters. NParks’ new online registration allows you to head down to Hong Lim Park immediately after you register — there is no booking system.

“We work very much on the basis of trust. We are not going to do screening and make sure you speak on what you said you will speak on. But if you give information, you must know you’re accountable for it,” said Dr Leong.

The mandatory registration information includes your personal details, the date and nature of the event and the topic.

Would the police have any knowledge of the registrations with NParks? They would not rule it out yesterday.

“What if someone puts on the website that he’s going to do bad things?” Mr Wong offered as a scenario.

But he wanted to “dispel the perception that there’s a preponderance of police presence” at Speakers’ Corner, which is located next to Kreta Ayer Police Station.

He said that police presence would be kept “minimal”. But the police will intervene to enforce law and order or if there are complaints from the public.

“There are no limits (to the protests) subject to public safety ... for example, the crowd is so big that it obstructs the public,” said Mr Wong.

An agitated crowd is fine – demonstrations are designed as such, noted Mr Wong – but he suggested that organisers choose “some calming words” or call the protests off if they cannot control the crowd.

Lawyer and activist Chia Ti Lik believes this step to open up is “an attempt to return control over something (the government) won’t be able to control”.

“Their stand against demonstrations won’t hold up in real democracies,” he said.

So, will there be any takers for public protests come September?

Gay rights activist Alex Au does not plan to “dignify tokenism”, but the Animal Concerns Research and Education Society is in discussions to organise a demonstration, its executive director Louis Ng told Channel NewsAsia.

NParks is ready to take on this new role.

“Our primary motivation is to keep Speakers’ Corner for use in as well-maintained conditions as possible ... If there’s a need to make good on anything, we can follow up,” said Dr Leong.

“So, don’t damage our shrubs.”

Which means effigies can be burnt – but with care.

when gabramen probihited public protests, u guys proceed and cared less but comprained.now the gabramen allows, u guys also comprain. u guys really beri difficult to serve hor?

Wahh BIG deal! who are you trying to bluff your evil PAP scums have a change of heart.

old rules go new rules come! .... WTF! LUMPAR PAR LAN!

of course must be your PAP MP Baey asked you to come in and praise the new rules for protest. how many free NTUC discount vouchers this time?

http://www.sgpolitics.net/?p=522

On Monday, at a press conference, the Police and National Parks Board released a set of new rules governing the activities that can and cannot be held at Speaker’s Corner. These rules take effect immediately.

Now, demonstrations can held at Speaker’s Corner, and these can involve holding up placards, waving banners, and using hand-held loudhailers.

Demonstrations can also be conducted round the clock. Loudhailers, however, can be used only from 9am to 10.30pm.

Of course, the authorities were equally quick at specifying certain restrictions. These include no lewd or violent visuals, and no race and religious issues. (ST, “Open for demos next week”, 25 Aug).

Permanent residents can also participate, but still have to apply for a permit if they want to speak.

The management of Speakers’ Corner will be taken off the police and handed over to NParks, which will now deal with the registration of speakers or organisers of demonstrations, who can register online via NPark’s website. This is a departure from past practices where speakers had to register at the Kreta Ayer Police Post next to the Park.

There is also no limit on how many groups can demonstrate on any day, as long as everyone can be contained within Speakers’ Corner.

The police indicated that they will patrol the Park, and that they will investigate if it receives public complaints.

This of course sets off alarm bells in my head.

The police have frequently claimed that they were tipped off by public complaints everytime it arrests Singapore Democratic Party (SDP) members, supporters and other activists for holding peaceful demonstrations.

I wonder whether they will use the same excuse to intimidate peaceful demonstrators at Speaker’s Corner as well. It remains to be seen.

My view remains that the “concession” for protests at Speaker’s Corner is pathetic, and that the government should realize that Singaporeans are granted freedom of assembly and expression under Article 14 of Part 4 of the constitution. These are rights that apply to all citizens, at all times and places.

Nonetheless, the apparent liberalization of Speaker’s Corner is a very small step forward in helping to alleviate the oppressive climate of fear surrounding political activity.

Let’s see whether the authorities will really walk their talk in taking a “light touch” approach with regards to events held at Speaker’s Corner.
Let’s also see whether the authorities will be truly unbiased and transparent about the whole process of applications, approvals or rejections, and their conduct towards peaceful demonstrators at Speaker’s Corner.

They will touch you very lightly with a 10,000 Volt lightining bolt.

Wahh BIG deal! who are you trying to bluff your evil PAP scums have a change of heart.

old rules go new rules come! .... WTF! LUMPAR PAR LAN!

of course must be your PAP MP Baey asked you to come in and praise the new rules for protest. how many free NTUC discount vouchers this time?

sianz also to give u INFARCTION points. clones will always be clones. nonsense is their game, hypocrisy is their real name.:eek:

when gov relented to them and allow them to protest openly, they also can find some doubts. don't let them do it, they will still insist of doing it unlawfully.

only they have the 'rights'. are they above the law?

[Lawyer and activist Chia Ti Lik believes this step to open up is “an attempt to return control over something (the government) won’t be able to control”.

“Their stand against demonstrations won’t hold up in real democracies,” he said.

So, will there be any takers for public protests come September? ]

thank you for letting everyone knows chiatilik is in the news once more. he must be very happy and proud that u advertised for him :)

To me the most hilarious part of the interview was when the NParks chief, Dr Leong was asked whether demonstrators could burn effigies of political leaders, he replied "We are not pre-judging anything. Just please, in burning the effigies, don't burn down out trees and shrubs." Bwahahahaha:)

Dear Porfirio

Ohh he does have a point as a civil servant in charge of the trees. I mean protesting is one thing, responsibility and keeping public property intact is another. That aside this liberalization is a small victory for civil disobedience but an even greater challenge for them. The question as always is whats next and herein lies the dilemma.

1. Next Illegal Protest gets the book thrown at them, because they now have legal albeit limited avenues of protest. How many would face the book if they now have legal but limited avenues ? How much international or domestic sympathy can they garner if they chose to go for an all or nothing approach ? That is absolute freedom to demonstrate versus a limited freedom ?

2. Would protesting lose its novelty hence its attraction, and hence its utility as a cause ? How many protests can be sustained and will the numbers grow by people who chose to protest there or will they die a silent but sure death ? The challenge now is not in "protesting" but the "logistics" and "numbers" involved in a protest. 30 people protesting illegally is news. 30 people protesting illegally when there are limited legal means to protest is less of a news. 30 people protesting legally is NO NEWS domestically and internationally. On the other hand 30 people protesting is limited news but growing that 30 to 300 to 3000 is news and sustaining that for a week is even greater news.

Locke

Locke,

Personally I tend to agree with Alex Au on this one. This is sanitised crap, when the citizens already have the rights in the first place. But with the average Singgie, we all know where they apparently stand on demonstrations per se. No interest, for the immediate future at least. However talk about Natas fairs, Comex fairs, HDB new design and build projects, Sales etc and you shall draw them in droves, what to do Uniquely Singapore, well until all fat has been burned up;)

To me the most hilarious part of the interview was when the NParks chief, Dr Leong was asked whether demonstrators could burn effigies of political leaders, he replied "We are not pre-judging anything. Just please, in burning the effigies, don't burn down out trees and shrubs." Bwahahahaha:)

The controls still exist in historically known hotspots - workers unions, students union, hostels, army, civil service, press - its all around. The various acts from the most lethal - Societies Act all have excellent controls. Its like the valves along the pipeline have been systemically closed, so do expect only a trickle now and then.

Ironical isn't it that Animal rights group and the National Parks in charge. Its like the Nuns called out to do a floorshow with the Bishop standing guard.

Dear Porifio

It is sanitized crap but does one have the political mileage to make hay when the shit shines. True Singaporean's might be apathetic but as the PAP would say, "Its not my problem mate." and in that they are right.

Locke

Well, I guess Cherian George was right when he said that this 'change' will not stop Dr Chee from more NVCD illegal demonstrations. How this pans out in the court of public opinion and the media remains to be seen.

Dear Porifio

It is sanitized crap but does one have the political mileage to make hay when the shit shines. True Singaporean's might be apathetic but as the PAP would say, "Its not my problem mate." and in that they are right.

Locke

Ironical isn't it that Animal rights group and the National Parks in charge. Its like the Nuns called out to do a floorshow with the Bishop standing guard.

Very well put.