• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Spamming/Trolling/ - Tony Chat - Your Views Read - End of Sticky

The week is coming to an end and I thought I will do a quick summary on member views on the thread below
http://www.singsupplies.com/showpost.php?p=374504&postcount=1

Firstly thanks to forummers for taking time to express their views. Here is the summary

1) Vast majority feel that its irritating, no value, repetativeare, rains on their parade etc
2) Post must add value / constructive (Ah Guan)
3) Use the ignore button (Da ji/Chuckyworld)
4) Avoid censorship (Sam / Kid278)
5) There are others that are worse (elephanto)
6) There is difference between a wall and forum, the latter needs moderation (perpective)
7) Must differentiate between those that are explicitly are out to destroy the forum such as Leetarbar and those that are like Tonychat(Hawkeye)
8) use the infraction mechanism (Da Ji)
I thought forummer "Glaring" had the best post and I reproduce it in full below.

My Take.

Freedom of Speech
This is very much a romantic idea and it should work both ways. As much as the west is championing freedom of speech, they also as a mechanism in place to curb excessive behavior.

Spamming
What is the different between commercial spamming and spamming by members? If the former is remove, why allow the latter to exist?

Alternative Unmoderated Coffeeshop
Why not rename the Rubbish folder to Unmoderated Coffeeshop to respect those that won't mind and stand 100% behind it. They can have the choice.

Forum Health
Today, the mean viewership of main coffeeshop folder average between 200 to 300 viewers. We could give it sometime to gauge whether moderation is good or bad.

Lastly, we all come here for whatsoever reason, and I believe we all want it to become a better place to let go our steam, catch some gossip or some even make it as the only place to get your local news ( like myself ).

So, I am for giving it some time to try applying some moderation.

See next post for proposal.

Way Forward

1) Avoid censorship as much as possible but some level of moderation is still desirable.
2) Use (Glaring's) idea of changing the name of Rubbish Bin Folder to Unmoderated Coffeeshop Folder or something similar and do the occasional move of such threads where the like minded can carry on with their discussions or what they do best.
3) Avoid responding to troll at all costs. Both the person who trolls and the party that repeatedly responds are just as guilty of thrashing threads. Use the infraction mechanism instead
4) Review the infraction and reputation points system to have more bite and help bring quality.

The above suggestions hopefully will add some quality, continue to be the least moderated site and help build content and membership. More importantly, it will deliver some level of behavourial change.

Not sure if this just my view, but I think new life has come back to the Political Folder, some order has returned to the main folder after moderation began etc.

Hey, still paying tribute to me har.. Tell you what, just banned me forever from this place, do the master ban and i will not be back. Dun worry about it.

Tonychat u really need to buy a dictionary to look up the word TRIBUTE. If no money to buy, ask your ladyboy wfe to turn some tricks ok?

Why ban you? You are our plaything here. We can't stop paying tribute to you. Speaking of 'paying' , why don't you return money to your sinkie friend first? O$P$. Chinese year new coming hor.

Re: great example of HYPOCRICY by scroobal

what did i just tell u guys? free speeches are only those who's now mistakenly put in control.

Very simple, rubbish goes into the rubbish heap
trashfull.png
;)

Good work Bro Scroobal for clearing such trash daily :p

Hey just now i saw LTB post, now it is gone... Rubbish area?

CB kia tonychat,

now that you have sold your fake tag heuer, i hope your $10 watch from thailand pasar malam is working well...:D

Way Forward

2) Use (Glaring's) idea of changing the name of Rubbish Bin Folder to Unmoderated Coffeeshop Folder or something similar and do the occasional move of such threads where the like minded can carry on with their discussions or what they do best.

4) Review the infraction and reputation points system to have more bite and help bring quality.

I think renaming the rubbish heap to unmoderated coffeeshop will result in some good posts being diverted there. Subsequently they will be buried in the nonsense which could be a shame 'cos you end up losing some excellent contributions. Still feel it is better to just have a rubbish heap to contain the pure nonsense, and leave the rest in the (moderated) coffeeshop.

The infraction system is always liable to be abused. I have also never been a great fan of reputation system as I've seen great posts from nicks of all reputations. I don't think rep points is a motivator for most contributors here.

In fact I think sticky threads are a great idea. Every week the moderators should try to out pick some threads that are good discussion base and make them sticky.

I think renaming the rubbish heap to unmoderated coffeeshop will result in some good posts being diverted there. Subsequently they will be buried in the nonsense which could be a shame 'cos you end up losing some excellent contributions. Still feel it is better to just have a rubbish heap to contain the pure nonsense, and leave the rest in the (moderated) coffeeshop.

The infraction system is always liable to be abused. I have also never been a great fan of reputation system as I've seen great posts from nicks of all reputations. I don't think rep points is a motivator for most contributors here.

I kinda agree with you too. This is a public forum and there'll always be some good poster who dislike being moderated choosing to post there.

I also dont fancy the infraction system as well as the points and reputation system too. Besides being a liability for abuse, they doesnt really serve any purpose at all.

Scroobal, I think you should not get excited and start putting too many changes to the present system

Implement changes only when it's needed. Sammyboyforum has its appeal because it's an ecology of minds

Keep this forum a wildlife park ... not a factory floor or server room

Again, thanks for the good job clearning it up

Good idea, the JB thread made a sticky has seen the viewership go up.

In fact I think sticky threads are a great idea. Every week the moderators should try to out pick some threads that are good discussion base and make them sticky.

Actually except for the reputation points and name change of rubbish bin to unmoderated coffeeshop its business as usual as the majority prefer that and I think its has been this forum's hall mark that you aptly described as wildpark. I don't see moderation go any higher than what currently exist.

My intention is not to see a repeat where folders are destroyed as was the case for the Political Folder and the Emigration Folder. I only started the thread on seeking some solution when Bob left the Political Folders and crossed over to the main coffeeshop folder and the thrashing of threads began. As you know, this occurred very recently.

The name change for the "Rubbish Bin" as suggested by Glaring I thought was good as the current name seem too harsh. People tend to modify their behaviour according to the folder's theme and we can continue with the trademark non-censorship approach. People tend to accept threads being moved but not to the Rubbish Bin. A cosmetic name change is better. I don't see anyone else except for Bob and the occasional one-offs currently fitting the moving criteria.

I don't think I have the time or the inclination to carry on with the moderation stuff much longer, let alone getting excited about it.

Scroobal, I think you should not get excited and start putting too many changes to the present system

Implement changes only when it's needed. Sammyboyforum has its appeal because it's an ecology of minds

Keep this forum a wildlife park ... not a factory floor or server room

Again, thanks for the good job clearning it up

Actually except for the reputation points and name change of rubbish bin to unmoderated coffeeshop its business as usual as the majority prefer that and I think its has been this forum's hall mark that you aptly described as wildpark. I don't see moderation go any higher than what currently exist.

My intention is not to see a repeat where folders are destroyed as was the case for the Political Folder and the Emigration Folder. I only started the thread on seeking some solution when Bob left the Political Folders and crossed over to the main coffeeshop folder and the thrashing of threads began. As you know, this occurred very recently.

The name change for the "Rubbish Bin" as suggested by Glaring I thought was good as the current name seem too harsh. People tend to modify their behaviour according to the folder's theme and we can continue with the trademark non-censorship approach. People tend to accept threads being moved but not to the Rubbish Bin. A cosmetic name change is better. I don't see anyone else except for Bob and the occasional one-offs currently fitting the moving criteria.

I don't think I have the time or the inclination to carry on with the moderation stuff much longer, let alone getting excited about it.

Ironically, after the eradication of anything "F4", the real essence of Sammyboy forum surfaced. Some people didn't noticed that, it seems. This is one case where freedom of speech actually surfaced with "censorship".

Hi Asians,

Why is Sammyboy ALWAYS linked to Singsupplies? Is the former a government-controlled provision like power, electricity, oil and rice in the old days?

Obviously this forum has become your home Chink hahaha.

Hi Asians,

Why is Sammyboy ALWAYS linked to Singsupplies? Is the former a government-controlled provision like power, electricity, oil and rice in the old days?

Is there a dog in hotdog?

Is there a French in French Fries?

Use ur BLAIN!

Tonychat u really need to buy a dictionary to look up the word TRIBUTE. If no money to buy, ask your ladyboy wfe to turn some tricks ok?

No my dear Sporn fuck,

I know there is no duck in Bombay Duck also, but, that name still sounds too nationalized. Which housing project idiot would come up with a name like that called singsupplies? It's so spartan for fuck's sake.

You stupid heartlanders and your provision shops are driving me nuts!!!!!!