• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

So what if you have a degree?

Les grossman

By Benjamin Chiang

Once upon a dark age, people believed in a piece of paper called “a degree”.

They worshipped this degree and believed it brought riches, financial freedom, power and respect. Everybody coveted this piece of paper and they paid high prices for it. No matter how unreasonably expensive, they forked out the money.

And soon – a new type of business formed: the business of schools. They made it faster and cheaper to get this degree. And employers lustfully coveted it.

People started turning up with cheap, fast degrees and demanded higher salaries. It became a bleak winter in the world of academia. It became apparent that students were no longer interested to learn a skill, they were in there for a quick fix.

Over time, society started to ask questions: what is the point of this piece of paper? So what if a person has a certificate but is unable to cope with the realities of working life? What if this person is not able unlearn and relearn new skills?

As the world gets increasingly flatter and borders become increasingly broken down, we find ourselves in competition with people from far away countries. People who have better skills, better attitudes and can actually solve corporate problems. They may or may not have the paper qualifications to go with it, but give them a block of ice and they will make the perfect sales pitch to the eskimo.

Are our students equipped with the tenacity to deal and thrive under corporate pressure?

There is also the problem of under employment. Anecdotal evidence from interviews with graduates and human resource experts shows that even though large numbers of graduates are able to land jobs, some are underemployed – they are given work and salaries that are far below the worth of what they’re trained for.

There are a lot of jobs in Singapore yes, but are these high paying jobs? Many jobs don’t require a lot of brainwork and some really just need an extra pair of hands to do laborious work… and you can expect these not to pay very well.

We may have a very low unemployment rate, but I can’t seem to find data that shows our under employment rate. Are there enough high calibre jobs out there for the scores of graduates that we have?

In times like this, we need to question this: What is a degree for?

More at https://www.domainofexperts.com/2015/05/so-what-if-you-have-degree.html

Sinkiesuk

I saw news sinkie get degree go be bus drivers and how lian high pay. Come one la so obvious most of dream jobs all taken by foreigners liao.

millim6868

Lol even jiuhu kia with cb cheap degrees from sg hv sane pay as local U, many youngsters local kid now very tulan ,they pay more for local while cheap degrees get same pay as them lol,n worse standard NG,I believe cos I work with thee joker all CMi

oliverlee

more uptron grads are cumming to steal your pratas and papadums. better keep your little pundeks at home

Education is a business like any other. In the old days, you look for jobs at 15 and by 25, already saved sufficient to start a business plus learn skill by apprenticeship and experience. But today, skill and experience comes to nothing unless you have worked for a reputable company.
And to work for a reputable company, you need a degree.

Even grab delivery men have degrees. Abang Adik in for bad time. Maybe it’s time to return back to Malaysia.

LaoTze

CECA says we alrwady have your jobs.

With the fucking MIWs in control, and they open floodgates to cockroaches.

Even if you got PhD from Singapore Uni and you are Sinkaporean, you will lose out to a cheebye paper holder from CECA skools

1725762270521.jpeg

x_lon_indiacheating_150320.jpg

That will be the way here until Singaporeans wake up and throw out everyone of those MJIWs

WhatsApp Image 2022-02-05 at 00.56.17 (10).jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2022-02-05 at 00.56.18 (2).jpeg
WhatsApp Image 2022-02-05 at 00.56.17 (3).jpeg
WhatsApp Image 2022-02-05 at 00.56.17 (5).jpeg

Les grossman

With the fucking MIWs in control, and they open floodgates to cockroaches.

Even if you got PhD from Singapore Uni and you are Sinkaporean, you will lose out to a cheebye paper holder from CECA skools

View attachment 205884

x_lon_indiacheating_150320.jpg

That will be the way here until Singaporeans wake up and throw out everyone of those MJIWs

View attachment 205885

View attachment 205886View attachment 205887View attachment 205888
wah amy cock last time like not bad looking when younger sia