• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Sinkie best carrot cake stalls

MarrickG

Lagoon Carrot Cake
East Coast Lagoon Food Village, #40
Opens: 11.30am-11pm (opens at 8.30am on weekends and public holidays)
This stall serves up one of the best fried carrot cakes. The egg and flour pieces are pressed together into one large, thin and extremely fragrant pancake that is fried until golden brown.
The result? Lightly crispy egg and savoury flour cakes.
Price: From $3

Soon Yan Carrot Cake
Block 111, Toa Payoh Lorong 1
Opens: 6am-5pm (closed Tuesdays)
You get a stack of neatly-pressed flat cakes of egg and flour pieces here, fried evenly until a nice, light golden colour.
There are also a couple of prawns scattered around. The cheery aunty will gladly add for you bits of chai poh if you want a stronger flavour.
Price: From $2.50

Geylang Lorong 29 Carrot Cake
396 East Coast Road
Opens: 11.30am-9pm. Closed on Mondays
The thinly fried eggs are crispy at the edges, and the flour cakes are moist and chewy, though some might find them too soft.
Some prawns are added for a bit more flavour. Thesambal chilli is lightly spicy without being overpowering.
Note: The carrot cake here is fried in lard, which makes it unsuitable for those requiring halal choices.

107 Carrot Cake
Soon Seng Restaurant
Block 107, Ang Mo Kio Avenue 4, #01-164
Opens: 4pm-midnight
The fried carrot cake served here has less egg than usual, which results in it looking slightly pale and undercooked.
Taste-wise, it had lots more chai poh pieces in it, which might make it too salty for some people. The flour cakes were also slightly softer and chewier.
Price: From $2

He Zhong Carrot Cake
Bukit Timah Food Centre, #02-185
Opens: 6.30 am-10.30pm
They call themselves the originator of the fried carrot cake.
$2 gets you a plate of neat, dark brown squares that you can almost pick up with your hands and munch on like a biscuit.
The carrot cake is slightly too much on the chewy side but still firm.
Price: From $2

Marina South Delicious Food
Maxwell Food Centre, #01-35
Opens: 7am-11pm (Closed on Mondays)
Fresh banana leaves are placed on the plate and add a bit of colour to this otherwise pale dish.
The eggs are fried until crispy, but the pieces of flour cake remain soft and springy.
Flavour-wise, it might be bit bland if you like a stronger, saltier taste. There are only a few bits of chai poh (Chinese preserved radish) scattered around.

Tang Leng Choy Tar Kia Mee
Block 79A, Circuit Road Food Centre, #01-98
Opens: 9am-2am
This vegetarian stall serves up large, chewy chunks of flour cake, lightly fried until brown at the edges.
It is not too strong tasting and will make a light afternoon snack. An eggless version is also available.

Changi Village Carrot Cake
Changi Village Food Centre, #01-31
Opens: 7am-7pm (half-days occasionally)
A never-ending queue greets you at this nondescript stall. Here, it is the black version of the fried carrot cake that is more popular.
The taste is slightly sweet but does not get cloying. The large, generous chunks of flour cake are moist and chewy.
Timings are erratic – when we were there, the uncle spoke vaguely of taking a half-day off, so it’s best to go in the morning.

I know the original is the dark version but i prefer the crispy 'luxury' version with prawns that evolved later......
Marina Square hawker used to have one......
Now the one in Bukit Timah HC is tops in my books....

lianbeng still remembers that old teochew ahchek always pushing his tricycle cart frying sweet black sauce chye tau kuay at the street corner.:D his timing very chun one: 3:30PM sharp he would be there. the moment he started clanging his frying pan...many many people would come down with their own plates n bowls.:D awesome!

I know the original is the dark version but i prefer the crispy 'luxury' version with prawns that evolved later......
Marina Square hawker used to have one......
Now the one in Bukit Timah HC is tops in my books....

Marina Square got hawker back then meh? *recalling hard* Oh yeah, some open air food court in the early 90s issit? Memory hazy :D

Yes it was open air food court......on the 2nd storey open space....
Carrot cake still manage to hold its prices in most stalls......some hawkers still offering $2.50 per plate (rarity in sinkieland)

Lagoon Carrot Cake

Soon Yan Carrot Cake
Block 111, Toa Payoh Lorong 1
Opens: 6am-5pm (closed Tuesdays)
You get a stack of neatly-pressed flat cakes of egg and flour pieces here, fried evenly until a nice, light golden colour.
There are also a couple of prawns scattered around. The cheery aunty will gladly add for you bits of chai poh if you want a stronger flavour.

Thanks . On the way to Blk 111 now...

Yes it was open air food court......on the 2nd storey open space....
Carrot cake still manage to hold its prices in most stalls......some hawkers still offering $2.50 per plate (rarity in sinkieland)

My hazy memories put its location somewhere opposite Milennia walk at the open space area. It can't be at the other side where the entrance to Tokyo department store/opposite esplanade was.

anyway my input
Lim Hai Sheng Cooked Food
Blk 724 Ang Mo Kio Ave 6
#01-09
Singapore 560724

The chye poh is quite awesome for this stall

Street stall at Vaughan road ( Hougang 4.5 milestone ).

Slightly dark carrot cake, the cake is soft and you can see the stripe of carrots dangling out.

However please do not make your way there, you are 30 years late.

lianbeng says, "last time capitol cinema behind there got hawker centre the chye tau kuay also not bad -black or white- sedap nia!":D

roadside stalls? there got one famous hainan porkchop with sweet and sour sauce inside got green peas and onion.....ze best!

If you want Real Good Carrot Cake, just follow the PRC mei mei..somehow, they have the ability to smell them out. :D
These days...thai girls have acquired that skills as well.

If you want Real Good Carrot Cake, just follow the PRC mei mei..somehow, they have the ability to smell them out. :D

Ok, thanks.

Let me pick one to follow on the street.

Fried carrot cake is not that hard a dish to cook....
i asked my favourite hawker in Bukit timah, he gets his carrot cake from a supplier in Potong Pasir (not sure handmade or machine made)....then the eggs which he beats into a big cauldron.....then you meshed the cake with that metal appartus as you fried.....i stood there many times seeing how he did it can memorized liao

many are actually the carrot cake for the carrot cake stall owners

The best fried carrot cake I have tried is at Whampoa, not the hawker centre ones. The stall is tucked away at a kopitiam.

Chunky, soft, not mashy. Best with dark sauce.

Starts from $2, definitely not carrot.

Feng Shan hawker centre carrot cake near to the Bedok Police station also not bad... Used to go there for supper with my wife during courtship time...

Fried carrot cake is not that hard a dish to cook....
i asked my favourite hawker in Bukit timah, he gets his carrot cake from a supplier in Potong Pasir (not sure handmade or machine made)....then the eggs which he beats into a big cauldron.....then you meshed the cake with that metal appartus as you fried.....i stood there many times seeing how he did it can memorized liao
Any recipes for the carrot cake (radish) itself? Tried unsuccessfully many times. :(