• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

singtel kenna sue over copy cat of mio trademark WTF !!

madmansg

this is how an organisation filled with SAF regulars operate. Only know how to copycat and no original idea. NS kill Singtel too.

Dan Now

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR>SingTel sued by Taiwan firm <!--10 min-->
</TR><!-- headline one : end --><!-- Author --><TR><TD class="padlrt8 georgia11 darkgrey bold" colSpan=2>By Selina Lum
</TD></TR><!-- show image if available --></TBODY></TABLE>

<!-- START OF : div id="storytext"-->A TAIWANESE company has taken SingTel to court for trademark infringement over the word 'mio'.
Mitac International Corporation, a leading provider of computer products, Internet appliances and wireless communications products, had registered a 'mio' mark in Singapore in 2003.
The registration covered the category of goods which include computers, printers, modems PDAs, and mobile phones.
SingTel launched telecommunications services in 2007 such as mio TV, mio Plan and mio Mobile.
The telco argues that it is not liable for trademark infringment as its 'mio' mark is used for services which are not similar to the ones under Mitac's registered trademark.
There is no likelihood of confusion among consumers, says SingTel. Mitac is represented by Senior Counsel Tan Tee Kim and Mr Christopher de Souza. SingTel is represented by Mr Dedar Singh Gill and Mr Paul Teo.

Shameless indeed.

The trademark is filed in Singapore somemore !

Dan

Should have used "meow" instead!!...what is new anyway?, You have some 'forget the lyrics Tv show'...you see one on Singapore TV..soon, you will see a "i survived the Singapore game show"... ha ha ha ..wanna bet!:biggrin:

R4g3

the high and mighty will never admit their mistake in their own land, they will continue to push their way through. time for some kangeroo hopping show.

Dan Now

Should have used "meow" instead!!...what is new anyway?, You have some 'forget the lyrics Tv show'...you see one on Singapore TV..soon, you will see a "i survived the Singapore game show"... ha ha ha ..wanna bet!:biggrin:

Wah lau.. I think you could just be right ! hahahaha

Meowwwww ?! hahahahah

So many ways to name DIE DIE must choose MIO... right ? :P

There is MIOO, VIO, SIO, TIO, DIO, LIO, just so many ways LO.

How to promote Singapore as a IP hub when a GLC-Temasick linked company anyhow suka suka violate people's trademark ?

So tomorow I go set up a company to import Pork and called it coca cola, I will sure kena sued also.

Singtel is clearly humbug.

Dan

Neh_Neh_Pok

csk.jpg

"Aiya 讨厌 sue sue lo, we got a big red umbrella covering, no big deal one, kekekekeke.."

Will the taiwan co win or lose?????????

Of course if the verdict was decided by the kangeroo sinkee courts there's no need to even fanthom a guess.

Dan Now

they could use "Chio"

endless marketing possibillities

If Singtel wins hor,then is it wrong if I Open a KTV pub and call it

SingTel You Huat KTV Pte Ltd.

Different industry so there is no Trademark violations.

HUAT AH !

Dan

2lanu

Open a brothel shop at Geylang and call it Singtel, Temasek or GIC. After all "there are no likelihood of confusion among consumers". hehe :biggrin:

Let them taste their own medicine.

Open a brothel shop at Geylang and call it Singtel, Temasek or GIC. After all "there are no likelihood of confusion among consumers". hehe :biggrin:

Let them taste their own medicine.

Would anyone dare do that and risk getting sued in the kangeroo courts???? Whom would they side with????????

DIVISION1

Until Taiwan decides whether it is a country or a state in the international arena, it is difficult to take their claims of copyright seriously. More importantly, their respect of IPR is often called to question.

Neh_Neh_Pok

Until Taiwan decides whether it is a country or a state in the international arena, it is difficult to take their claims of copyright seriously. More importantly, their respect of IPR is often called to question.

csk.jpg

"Aiya 讨厌 la, they want faster make up their mind hor, we have to solve the iPhone slumps leh, you want to buy an iPhone from us mah? We can give you 'special' discounts kekekekeke.."