• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Singlish is a freakin' JOKE!

http://scientific-child-prodigy.blogspot.com/2009/03/mysteries-of-singlish.html

Monday, March 23, 2009

<!-- Begin .post --> The mysteries of Singlish.

Singlish is the version of English current among most Singaporeans. It is the result of the influence of Chinese and other languages in Singapore on English - and the result is not pretty, to an international ear. Yet, there is great resistance, among many Singaporeans, to adopting a more internationalized version of English.

I think Singaporeans are unaware of how unintelligible Singlish actually is, to foreigners. This is where the problem lies: to them it is a perfectly comprehensible language. What they don't realize is that no-one outside of Singapore, Malaysia and Batam is likely to understand them. I will give you some examples to allow you to understand the problem.

There was a poster campaign some while back, when the government (briefly) promoted better English. These examples are taken from those posters, with official translations.

What does: "Got people sit one.", mean? Please have a good think about it.

Have you any idea, yet? No? Well, I will let you know, soon.

"Got people sit one" means: "Sorry this seat is taken" (or that would be what an English person would say in the same circumstances: I don't believe there is a "sorry" in the Singlish version.)

How about: "Like that also can, ah?" Have a think about it.

This is a phrase I have heard quite a few times.

"Like that also can, ah?" means: "How can this be acceptable?"

How about: "Die, die, must finish." Please think about it.

I, too, have heard this one and thought it rather strange.

"Die, die, must finish" means "We must finish this."

Singlish, at its best, is an impenetrable language to outside speakers of English. I have found myself completely unable to understand supposedly intelligent middle-aged Singaporeans, in business, when they spoke Singlish. No information was communicated by them, at all. Words were spoken, which were recognizable individually, but together meant nothing at all.

Singlish is a problem for Singapore, but it is a problem which is not really acknowledged. The campaign to speak better English failed, because there was no resolve among the people to speak better and because I don't think they have any examples of good speech to learn from (many politicians, for instance, speak noticeably badly). The campaign quietly went away - at least, nothing much has been heard from them, for some time.

Singlish is not just a spoken problem, it is a written problem. There are sites on the internet, written by Singaporeans, that are incomprehensible to a native speaker of English. This, of course, limits the reach of communication of Singaporeans to those who grew on up on this small island.

There is even resistance to adopting international standards of English, at the governmental level. I was once employed, for instance, to assist a Singaporean government department on the language use on a website - and there was resistance, from some of the government employees, to accept my corrections of their language. They argued that most of the readers of the site would be Singaporeans so the language should be what Singaporeans expect, irrespective of what correct usage would be. I found their view at odds with that expressed by other government departments on the language issue. It seems there is not even unity at the top, on the issue of the quality of language use in Singapore. There is not, therefore, much hope of change on the ground.

The funny thing about Singlish and its Singaporean speakers, is that I have sometimes found native Singaporeans correcting my language use, from standard English to Singlish...and being most insistent that I am wrong! (One memorable shop assistant said to me: "Why you speak slang, ah?") That this should happen indicates that not only are many Singaporeans not speakers of standard English - but that they do not even recognize it when they hear it. They are, therefore, not conversant in English but what amounts to a localized dialect of it.

Singapore is not, in short, an English speaking country, it is a Singlish speaking country with some English speakers in it (those whose English has, perhaps, benefitted from overseas exposure).

For non-Singaporeans only: were you able to work out the correct meanings of the Singlish samples I gave? What did you think they meant? Comments please - but no comments from Singlish speakers who would have known the answers, please. Thanks.

(If you would like to learn more of Ainan Celeste Cawley, a scientific child prodigy, aged eight years and seven months, or his gifted brothers, Fintan, five years exactly, and Tiarnan, twenty-eight months, please go to: http://scientific-child-prodigy.blogspot.com/2006/10/scientific-child-prodigy-guide.html I also write of gifted education, IQ, intelligence, the Irish, the Malays, Singapore, College, University, Chemistry, Science, genetics, left-handedness, precocity, child prodigy, child genius, baby genius, adult genius, savant, wunderkind, wonderkind, genio, гений ребенок prodigy, genie, μεγαλοφυία θαύμα παιδιών, bambino, kind.

We are the founders of Genghis Can, a copywriting, editing and proofreading agency, that handles all kinds of work, including technical and scientific material. If you need such services, or know someone who does, please go to: http://www.genghiscan.com/ Thanks.

This blog is copyright Valentine Cawley. Unauthorized duplication prohibited. Use Only with Permission. Thank you.)Labels: an overseas view of Singapore, Singlish, speak good english movement

Not exactly sure if these term are used by Singaporeans in the main. I know there is tendency to do it mockingly and people have the impression that its the local patois. Know a Irish guy in his 50s who got a young singapore chick ( not SPG but more Ah Lian) and for him its the way he speaks to singaporeans. He thinks that its normal. When we speak normally to him ( not singlish) he thinks we are going out of our way to please him.

ccchia

We should promote more Singlish among ourselves (the true blue Sinkie peasants), as the FTs and other foreigners do not understand it. Therefore we can use Singlish as a secret code to converse freely among ourselves and keep the "others" in the dark.

Singlish (as in Singapore version of English) is particularly highlighted because of the status of English as the language of government, law and commerce in Singapore. However, there's Singnese too (Singapore Chinese), Singlay (Singapore Malay) and Singmil (Singapore Tamil) too. Don't believe me? Ask your multi-racial friends. All are "rojaked" with vocabularies from multiple languages and grammatical syntaxes.

vamjok

bth that chee bye ang mo, just because his son scold a bloody pathetic C5 in one of the subjects (chemistry) in O level, he wanted everyone to treat his son "special". i know tons of idiots who who got C5 in o level chemistry without understanding a single shit.

One with brain knows that its a matter of drilling to just a pass in O level, which is possible but cruel to a kid.

kaneling

i don't see how that last reply has anything to do with the discussed topic.

having a "ah beng" as a sibling i've actually learnt that there is a difference between singlish and "broken" english, as we call it. the latter is really what your given examples fall under.

singlish, by its speakers' definition is english infused with other languages and dialects of the main races in singapore. it has virtually nothing to do with the proficiency of the speaker's english.

as such, despite being a complete dud at it, i find i rather promote and admire singlish. in some respect, it has served as a common identity to singaporeans which i find is important in this muti-racial society which has little or no culture to define and connect us. singlish, along with precious other factors, has managed to fill this gap sufficiently.

My experience is that Singlish is spoken amongst "khakis" and fellow Singaporeans and there is a sort of age group requirement for Singlish to flow naturally. The older singaporeans speak Singlish with different vocab etc from the yoounger set. Also noticed that Singlish never appears when a foreigner is present unless "needs it" to show assimiliation. So there version of it.

The requirements are that they are S'poreans and they are "Khakis", not necessarily close friends. Its similar to Babas breaking away to have a chat with another baba and the English language becomes distinct and has its own style.

Anyway, I feel the writer has little clue about Singlish or Broken English. I have yet to come across a single Ad or creative work by the Govt over 50 years that had singlish in it or a whiff of it unless it was intentionally done where the exaggeration is apparent. And I doubt the writer was holding our hands for 50 years to come to her observation.

I suspect it got to do with language usage, particualarly phrases in the local context. The are distinct styles in OZ, Canada, US, UK and the rest of the English speaking world. Singapore style tends to be technical, direct and dry. This is a style that evolved more because of trading and commerce history and to avoid ambuiguity when dealing with other english speaking nations. I am told that Canada comes very close in written style as Singapore.

Do agree that some people mix Singlish with broken english.

i don't see how that last reply has anything to do with the discussed topic.

having a "ah beng" as a sibling i've actually learnt that there is a difference between singlish and "broken" english, as we call it. the latter is really what your given examples fall under.

singlish, by its speakers' definition is english infused with other languages and dialects of the main races in singapore. it has virtually nothing to do with the proficiency of the speaker's english.

as such, despite being a complete dud at it, i find i rather promote and admire singlish. in some respect, it has served as a common identity to singaporeans which i find is important in this muti-racial society which has little or no culture to define and connect us. singlish, along with precious other factors, has managed to fill this gap sufficiently.

Perspective

Not exactly sure if these term are used by Singaporeans in the main. I know there is tendency to do it mockingly and people have the impression that its the local patois. Know a Irish guy in his 50s who got a young singapore chick ( not SPG but more Ah Lian) and for him its the way he speaks to singaporeans. He thinks that its normal. When we speak normally to him ( not singlish) he thinks we are going out of our way to please him.

Singlish has never been a communication issue and it's dying as we speak. When did we last hear "Got people sit one"?

Noticed that it was more apparent among kids and the middle-aged who were just picking up the language.

Even in this forum, no one uses Singlish. Not-so-good English, maybe. As if the Burmese and Vietnamese are any better.

I think the person who invented the word "Singlish" should be hanged. It's an unnecessary stigma.

Check out sinkieish accent...

This is Miss Singapore 2009 Ris Lowwwwwwwwwww

<object width="560" height="340"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/5F74FZfdSJY&hl=en&fs=1&"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/5F74FZfdSJY&hl=en&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="560" height="340"></embed></object>

I cannot even finish watching this clip without feeling damn fucking turn off by it. oh my god...

i_am_belle

cawley shd learn chinese ... once he knows chinese, "Got people sit one" and "Like that also can" - will soon make sense ...

Ainan, Fintan, & Tiarnan - hmm, bloody racist celtics ... (not that i like their ancestral enemy, the jew, either) ...

lately, damn irritated with angmo expats/FTs ... and then pinoys, ah nehs, and chinamen - in that order ... :cool:

leetahbah

What does: "Got people sit one.", mean? Please have a good think about it.

Have you any idea, yet? No? Well, I will let you know, soon.

"Got people sit one" means: "Sorry this seat is taken" (or that would be what an English person would say in the same circumstances: I don't believe there is a "sorry" in the Singlish version.)

How about: "Like that also can, ah?" Have a think about it.

This is a phrase I have heard quite a few times.

"Like that also can, ah?" means: "How can this be acceptable?"

How about: "Die, die, must finish." Please think about it.

I, too, have heard this one and thought it rather strange.

"Die, die, must finish" means "We must finish this."

The writer of this blog, shall I call "dumb fuck"?

Got people sit one.", mean? Please have a good think about it.

No need to think.

There is nothing hard about it.

It is direct translation from chinese.

This one is more clear cut - "Like that also can, ah?"

It is direct translation from say cantonese

"Like that also can, ah?" is kam yong too tuck?

"Die, die, must finish." Please think about it." - No need to think!

It is direct translation again, also cantonese.

Seh seh yew yin or seh seh yew cho.

Conclusion

There is nothing to think about. Singlish is direct translation from chinese.

If need to think, you are dumb fuck!

leetahbah

Even in this forum, no one uses Singlish. Not-so-good English, maybe.

Not quite. There is this person by the nick po2 whatever who has the worst singlish in the entire Singapore as no one really understand what is written. Does that qualify for dumb fuck??

Have to say even the Indon, VietCong, PRC speak/write better English :smile:

leetahbah

She must have grown up watching those Zoe Tay, Fann Wong mandarin shows.. that's why she cannot even speak proper English....

Singapore will be very embarrassed when she speaks to the world representing Singapore...

This is Miss Singapore 2009 Ris Lowwwwwwwwwww

<EMBED src=http://www.youtube.com/v/5F74FZfdSJY&hl=en&fs=1& width=560 height=340 type=application/x-shockwave-flash allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true"></EMBED>

Not quite. There is this person by the nick po2 whatever who has the worst singlish in the entire Singapore as no one really understand what is written. Does that qualify for dumb fuck??

Have to say even the Indon, VietCong, PRC speak/write better English :smile:

I would appreciate it if you stay out of this section. You've already done enough damage in the other sections. I don't want you messing up this new joint.

ScarFace

Ah...Singrish...I tell you, I have been speaking like this since young. My parents speak it, my neighbours speak it, my flends and teachers speak it. Even my MP and ministars speak it too! Last time garmen say I cannot speak the dialect. Then for many years, ding dong between Engrish and Mandalin being of important.

If you ask me, I will say sup sup soi la. I ask you, what you want?

I got some flends from Jiu Hu, Pontian, speaks with me lie dat in their own stlange way too. Sometimes anyhow hum tum few words in malayu inside. I also neber say anything what. I try to understand them, and no shy to ask when I donch understand what talking them.

Donch say i neber say ah...I also got flend from ang moh cuntry one. Wah, talk with this kind, lagi more shiok. The look on their face when they liak bo giu what we talking about. Damn funny. But ah, I also try my best la. You know my england so half past six. Ok la, they tell me they try their best to understand us. They also no shy, will ask when they no understand what the hell we talking. The funny thing is this. I got 2 ang moh cuntry flend. 1 speaking like he come from the queen's palace lie dat. The other one like not sure which cuntry side he from. My powderful flend who works in the garmen as a civil serpent tell me that the 2nd ang mo speaking "Cockney" engrish. Stlange leh, last time teacher say the knee is on the leg. I din know got such thing as a knee dat look like a cock. Whatever...It just takes a little getting use to. No probem one.

Then hor, I also got Ah Neh flend. Wah, this one best. Curly twirly speaking until my head spinning. Damn siong to understand what they talking. I also try my best to understand them as likewise too. Damn confusing too. When talking with them, they always like to shake their head a little (not nodding). Dunno whether they aglee or disaglee with what you say.

Ah...finally. My tong bao from tiong cock. Ah Tiong speaking the cheena one. Some say they are like the Flench people, very the how lian about their language, make no attempt to speak england unless bo pian. Ok la, my Ah Tiong flend not lie dat one. He ok. Very ar ga zee with me. But I tell you, his engrand also got probem. He is like me lie dat. The letter R always say like L, and then the L like the R. And then the letter S sometime appear in words out of no where.

I can goes on and on. Many kakis from around the world. Everybody come from diffelent cuntry and backglound. Ai yah...But you know what? It is only after sometime of knowing them, then you will understand what talking them. Sure it takes a little effort, but that is what you do when you are flends right? What more they come Sinkapo leh! Wah lao, when I go oversea, I neber comprain about how come they no speak Singrish. Ok la, got mumble here and there to fellow Sinkie, but also neber comprain until write letter in their local newspaper leh.

The best part of Singrish is when you travel...I tell you, now the Sinkapo money so strong. That is why I got money travel to Jiu Hu and Batam more often. But hor, I travel to relax and get out of Sinkapo, not to go these places and then meet more Sinkapo people. Wah lan, next time must go further like to Kota Tinggi, Kuantan, or maybe Jakarta. Anyway ah, strangely enough, when I do "hear" people speaking in Singrish overseas, my face dunno why suddenly light up like a christmas tree. Sometimes in disgust because of their behaviour, sometimes in happiness because I know I am not by myself on this lonely planet.

So ah, Singrish is not a freakin' Joke. It is only a joke to those who have a supeeliolity comprex. Thank goodness my flends from around the world have not shown themselves to have such comprexes. To those who have such comprexes, I will say to them, "Come down from your high horses when you need to, give the horse a break lest you fall down and break bone here and there from the constant weight of your pomposity."

Hee Hee!

Not quite. There is this person by the nick po2 whatever who has the worst singlish in the entire Singapore as no one really understand what is written. ...
dinno singrish oso gt goodest, baddest, bestest n worstest ... :eek:

wtf! ... gt worstest singrish in ze hole of sg still can dare 2 post in tis esteemed kopitiam? ... quikly put dat burger in ur ignor list! ... :mad:

pallkia

She must have grown up watching those Zoe Tay, Fann Wong mandarin shows.. that's why she cannot even speak proper English....

Singapore will be very embarrassed when she speaks to the world representing Singapore...

Speaking good English is important,but look at German,French,Italian,Korean,Japs,China who are highly advanced industrialised countries are using their own native languages and writings which are sophisticated enough in the modern science like English to prosper.Only poor countries like Philippines,India,Malaysia whose own natives language are not advanced enough in modern science have to use English as their main languages for nation building but still in a poor mess after so many years!

Hence,is English so important?Or the speaking good English conciousness is only made important by Singkees themselves?

Thats the most bizarre thing that I heard. First time that I heard that development has a direct correlation to a language. You might want to read up on the korean language as an example.

Speaking good English is important,but look at German,French,Italian,Korean,Japs,China who are highly advanced industrialised countries are using their own native languages and writings which are sophisticated enough in the modern science like English to prosper.Only poor countries like Philippines,India,Malaysia whose own natives language are not advanced enough in modern science have to use English as their main languages for nation building but still in a poor mess after so many years!

Hence,is English so important?Or the speaking good English conciousness is only made important by Singkees themselves?

pallkia

Thats the most bizarre thing that I heard. First time that I heard that development has a direct correlation to a language. You might want to read up on the korean language as an example.

In case you are unaware,that the govt has alway been emphasizing to promote English (A European language) as a unifying language in S'pore and also to tap to the modern science as English is a very advance and up-to-date lang in the modern Science.As such,there is really a long list of arguments that a lang (including the cultures) is directly affecting a nation's development.