• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Singapore's taxis ranked best in the world by Singaporeans

Singapore's taxis have been ranked the best in the world by Singaporeans, according to Hotels.com's annual global taxi survey.

Citizens have ranked Singapore's taxis above other Asian, American and European cities, following a range of criteria.

Cleanliness was the top scoring factor for Singapore's taxis, with 51 per cent of respondents ranking Singapore's taxis top for cleanliness, followed by 49 per cent ranking them highly for safety, then friendliness (24%), knowledge of the area (21%), quality of driving (21%) and availability (21%).

This ranking comes despite complains by passengers, which include failing to get a taxi via the booking hotline or app, taxi drivers unfamiliar with routes, and taxi drivers turning down passengers for various reasons.

According to the annual global taxi survey by Hotels.com, Singapore's taxis are ranked eighth in the world, alongside Bangkok and Bogota.

Coming in first place are London's taxis, with 22 per cent of the votes from 2,683 respondents across 30 countries. London's taxis were also voted the best in terms of cleanliness (23%), knowledge (27%), quality (30%), friendliness (23%), and safety (27%).

The global results of the taxi survey also shows that 61 per cent of Singaporeans selected the taxi as their preferred mode of transport and that they spend an average of S$50 to S$100 per month on taxi fares.

The most popular backseat activity amongst Singaporeans was found to be texting, with 91 per cent of respondents citing that as the activity they spend the most time on in the taxi.

This is followed by touching up their make-up or hair (58%), as well as catching up on sleep (88%). Some even admitted to getting intimate with their partners in the backseat (17%).

The survey was not only restricted to Singaporean passengers, as Singapore taxi drivers were also quizzed on their driving experiences. More than half of the taxi drivers preferred making trips to the airport, followed by shopping districts and the city centre.

They also revealed that American tourists are known to be the best tippers, even though the Japanese are their favourite nationality to transport.

When I need a taxi, they are never to be found. You book one, it doesn't show up. When it rains, they all disappear. And we think they are the best in the world. We are definitely frogs in the well.

lianbeng replies: ofcoz must say our own things best lah! :D Singapore is the best country!

Sinking land lampar 1 in everything, from ministar salaries to taxis, we are lampar 1. Majullah sinkapoo lah.

Singapore taxis ranked best in the world by sinkies? I bet if the following are to be rank by sinkies in their respective category will be bestest in the world too - PAP ; SPF ; CAAS ; PSA ; SQ ; PA ; NTUC etc etc

LanChiao !!! :(
Our DriVers aRe the worst among the DeVeLoped Nations..:mad:
Always pLaying hide-and-seek; Keng siao Keng pee; asKing you 1st where you wanna Go, beFore teLLing you if they
can aLLow you to Board; ask them the shortest Route, they wouLd Fire you Back with the ALL FamiLiar:
'What YOu Think' .....kanina ! ! :mad::mad:

The only reason to consider taking a taxi is because of the crowded buses & trains & NOT because it is cheap.
On my last trip to the airport I was surprised at how crowded it was on the trains & buses. It was only 6 something in the morning & already so crowded:eek:

The only reason to consider taking a taxi is because of the crowded buses & trains & NOT because it is cheap.
On my last trip to the airport I was surprised at how crowded it was on the trains & buses. It was only 6 something in the morning & already so crowded:eek:

In our system where car ownership is made so onerous and unaffordable to the majority of the population, taxis are important ...it is not a luxury but a necessity. The government doesn't get it with its constantly changing policy on taxis.

Alot of ppl take taxis cos they are going drinking etc.. Tat y going out in perth cost a bomb. Going to airport or returning from airport etc. Cars dont drive themselves.
Why would you want to take taxis in Perth? Cars are affordable.

rank best in the world by singaporean?
what kind of bullshit ranking is this?
they give themselves the oscar? they give themselves the nobel prize?
such polls can throw inside singapore river.

Ah Loonie can make himself Grand Field Marshallissimo and award himself Victoria Cross with oak leaves swords and diamonds.
Up his father one who merely make himself Grand Mentor Senior Minister.

Ah Loon can start with poll done by straits times and he will find Singaporeans all very happy with that idea.

Which country has better taxi service than Singapore? And why are they better?

I would be worried if it is not rank first in the world. Where else in this world can taxi driver earn $7k pm.

Honestly, I don't think SG taxis are the best in the world coz it is really hard to get one on rainy days or public holidays n even when you call, the line is always engaged...

In terms of HK, waiting time is much lesser n from my own experience, i've never waited for a cab for more than 10 mins in HK.... Is just like those TVB dramas, you walk out on the street n raise yr hand, there's a cab available but the only thing is more expensive than SG...