• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Singaporeans 2nd richest in Asia

Maximilian Chua-Heng

So why are you guys still complaining?

Oct 8, 2010
S'poreans 2nd richest in Asia
By Gabriel Chen

SINGAPORE ranks fourth globally and second in Asia Pacific in terms of average personal wealth, according to the inaugural global wealth report by Credit Suisse Research.

Average wealth per adult in Singapore has grown strongly in the last decade, rising from US$105,000 (S$137,100) per adult to over US$250,000 in 2010, supported by a period of strong domestic economic growth and asset price increases.

Singapore's two-fold increase in average wealth per adult has also been accompanied by a 7 per cent slide in average debt.

From a macro perspective, the report finds that the global wealth currently held by 4.4 billion adults has increased 72 per cent since 2000 to reach US$195 trillion.

http://www.straitstimes.com/BreakingNews/Singapore/Story/STIStory_588196.html

Now that you mention Pareto. if the Pareto Ratio is indeed a law of nature (which I think it is), I don't see how much equalisation we can achieve through human means. That would be violating natural laws.

Forcefully make it to 30-70? :rolleyes:

Discuss.

20 - 80 pareto ???:(

To whoever own the moniker of "Xing Cai",

Don't sabo me say I pro-PAP leh.

I am just practising self-awareness, seeing both sides of the coin.

Now i know why you got zapped by anti PAP forummers here. For believing the PAP's mouth piece. :D

No the OA didn't zapped you and won't just zap any pro PAP forummers. I zap only assholes, trolls. And i have a whole list of them. :D

To whoever own the moniker of "Xing Cai",

Don't sabo me say I pro-PAP leh.

I am just practising self-awareness, seeing both sides of the coin.
Oh really? But from this topic alone i can see that you are.............. :D

The other thing is i saw your points from 401 previously to................ now at 398.

Gabriel Chan

How can you take our (artificial) inflated HDB flat as Singaporeans' personal wealth? How dare you? How can you?

It's a fine line indeed.

Using Equalisation's observation of Pareto's ratio, as a law of nature, I don't see how we can fight this.

Certainly, the balance may get upset through human intervention but it will be brought back to equilibrium in time, back to 20-80, regardless of who's in charge.

:):):)

That's not self awareness, that's self delusion. :)

There are many rich millionaires here, it doesn't necessary mean Sinkies

To the person/s behind the "Xing Cai" moniker,

Must be you who zap me! :mad:

Oh really? But from this topic alone i can see that you are.............. :D

The other thing is i saw your points from 401 previously to................ now at 398.

So why are you guys still complaining?

Oct 8, 2010
S'poreans 2nd richest in <strong style="background-color: rgb(255, 255, 0);">Asia</strong>
By Gabriel Chen

SINGAPORE ranks fourth globally and second in <strong style="background-color: rgb(255, 255, 0);">Asia Pacific</strong> ...
asia is not asia pacific, hor! ...

icon4.gif
actually, sg is lumpar 1 in asia ... ze other asia pacific cuntry is oz ... order is swiss, norway, oz, sg ...

y did dey purposely try 2 obscure tis fact? ... or was it a genuine boo-boo? ... :confused: ...

ps. juz checked ... ze error still @ their website! ...

To the person/s behind the "Xing Cai" moniker,

Must be you who zap me!
:mad:

No the OA didn't. Best way is to PM Leongsam to get the truth and reveal who. :D I don't like to zap 1, 2, or 3 points. No effect/kick at all. Once i have set on a target, it will be MASS-ZAP and there is an artistic way to do it. Sloooooowleeeee and not all at once like a certain PAP kuku bird here belonging to leetahbar's gang who is a novice. :D

Last edited by a moderator:
To the netizen masquerading as the moniker of "Xing Cai",

Don't bombard me with all these OA and LTB lingo leh. Eh...I'm not really into it.

No the OA didn't. Best way is to PM Leongsam to get the truth and reveal who. :D I don't like to zap 1, 2, or 3 points. No effect/kick at all. Once i have set on a target, it will be MASS-ZAP and there is an artistic way to do it. Sloooooowleeeee and not all at once like a certain PAP kuku bird here belonging to leetahbar's gang who is a novice. :D

To the netizen masquerading as the moniker of "Xing Cai",

Don't bombard me with all these OA and LTB lingo leh. Eh...I'm not really into it.
Thought i would only see people whining about rep. points / getting zapped over at the sex forum until Leongsam introduced it here. :D

Let me give you a warning here. If i find you to be rude to any character of the OA, you will be made to pay the price. And more whining from you will not help because i know Leongsam's character well enough to know that he won't micro manage the system just to please you and entertain your requests.

To the person who thinks he is living in the imaginary Kingdom of Wu,

This is cyberspace! Duh! Get real! ;)

Thought i would only see people whining about rep. points over at the sex forum until Leongsam introduced it here. :D

Let me give you a warning here. If i find you to be rude to any character of the OA, you will be made to pay the price. And more whining from you will not help because i know Leongsam's character well enough to know that he won't micro manage the system just to please you and entertain your requests.

To the person who thinks he is living in the imaginary Kingdom of Wu,
This is cyberspace! Duh! Get real!
;)
For goodness sake, since you are feeling so bitter over some loss of points go pm Leongsam to find out who zapped you. And if it's from a character of the OA then i hereby permit him to post it here for all to see. But it's not then voting is secret and he has a right to keep it from us.

Wealth or Extreme Inequality?

The report above appeared in today's Straits Times. If you didn't bother to read the article in detail, you would get the impression that if you throw a rock at a group of ordinary Singaporeans, you are likely to hit someone with a personal wealth upwards of $300K which is the average wealth of Singaporeans based on the Global Wealth Report published by Credit Suisse.

If you read the article, you pick up this:
The median wealth of Singaporeans is just one-ninth of the average wealth. If you don't know what median means it is lining up Singaporeans ordering them by their personal wealth than picking the person in the middle. That person in the middle has US$30K vs the average US$255K. Its something like this : if Carlos Slim, the world's richest man decides to live life on an Phillipines island of 100 people each with a wealth of $1000, the average wealth of the people on the island will rocket to something like $400M...but the original islanders are not a single cent richer that $1000.

I looked up the median wealth as a % of average wealth for all other developed Asian countries in the report [Report found here]and this is what I found:

Singapore : 11%
Taiwan : 32%
Australia : 38%
Japan : 51%

These numbers correlates closely to what the GINI index tells us. Singapore has a very high income inequality and wealth is very unequally distributed.

Posting Time 3:22 PM

http://singaporemind.blogspot.com/2010/10/wealth-or-extreme-inequality.html