• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Singapore PR: "Malaysia will always be home"

SNAblog

http://www.malaysiakini.com/news/129312

GS aka Pratamad

We don't really belong to the 'Malaysians who come home' category. Not yet at least. But nonetheless, I thought I would share our story too.

My wife and I have been working and residing in Singapore for more than 15 years. We both hail from Segamat, Johor, which is about 100 miles away.

So we do keep in touch with families occasionally. My wife works as a consulting accountant for a Japanese firm here and I as associate director of innovation development for National University of Singapore.

Recently, our fourth baby was just born. All of our children hold a Singapore birth certificate but we all remain as Malaysian citizens.

They are all raised in a relatively safe and comfortable environment of Singapore. The dilemma came last year when our eldest son was about to reach his formal schooling age of seven.

Should we let him be a Singapore public school, it is just a matter of time that he would be 'turned' into a Singaporean. We may as well just change his status to Singapore citizenship.

Furthermore, the Singapore government's policies with regards to foreigners and permanent residents have changed significantly in the last few years in their drive to increase their young citizens.

It effectively applies both 'carrot' and 'stick' in its policies, withdrawing many subsidies while increasing the costs of maintaining children for non-Singaporeans and at the same time introducing incentive schemes to woo non-Singaporeans into making their children Singapore citizens.

After much struggle in our heart, we made the unusual move, defying the trend where Malaysian parents send their children to Singapore schools here.

We moved our eldest son to be with my mom and sister in Segamat. We signed him up in a Chinese vernacular school. In short, we chose to let him sing 'Negaraku' rather than 'Majulah Singapura' every morning.

Even now, after a few months, it is still a struggle. Imagine sending your children into a less safe environment, where crime and health concerns are real. And sending them to a schooling system that has suffered many years of neglect and politicking by the government.

More importantly, the suffering of being parted with the loved ones. But we try our best to cope, having more frequent travels back to our home town whenever we can.

For now, we are planning to make transition so that at least one of us can spend more time in Segamat, perhaps also moving some of our kids there to grow up in a bigger space of Malaysia.

The ultimate, if it is eventually feasible, is to have all of us together in Segamat. But we shall see.

For me personally, being able to grow my family back home is one tremendous feeling, despite all its lesser aspects for a family.

I guess life is never perfect and it is for us to be in it to improve it further. That's probably my sentiment.

malaysian-passport.jpg

urig5.jpg

>>In short, we chose to let him sing 'Negaraku' rather than 'Majulah Singapura' every morning.<<

KNN that is what a traitor dog will say! I bet he will act as translator for Japanese if he was born decades earlier! CCB :oIo:

PRs can take out all their cpf and chabut back home.

We have minimum sum requirements to fulfill and can only take out at age 67 on monthly interval ......:(

to each his own... he has the luxury of choosing but he chose the wrong option in MY opinion. Anyways, his children will forever be 2nd rate citizens in Malaysia.

We moved our eldest son to be with my mom and sister in Segamat. We signed him up in a Chinese vernacular school.

What he is saying is...we leave our daugthers here & move our sons to Malaysia to avoid National Service...and let him back in later to work in SINgkingpore and repeat the process started by the PR's..

These people are making a mockery of our NATIONAL SERVICE....wtf you serve NS & reservist for??? wake up !!!!!

We moved our eldest son to be with my mom and sister in Segamat. We signed him up in a Chinese vernacular school.

What he is saying is...we leave our daugthers here & move our sons to Malaysia to avoid National Service...and let him back in later to work in SINgkingpore and repeat the process started by the PR's..

These people are making a mockery of our NATIONAL SERVICE....wtf you serve NS & reservist for??? wake up !!!!!

That is why he move his son out when he reaches 7 years old. If he enrol his son in a public school here then he will have to become a PR and as 2nd generation PR, he will have to serve NS. Back in Malaysia when Ong Guan Sin's son grows up, he can repeat the process started by his father. So perpetually this Malaysian family will be Singapore PRs, taking advantage of all the perks without having to do any national service.

Well it's about weighing the good and the bad. Would it be better to have his son serve the country that benefited them especially career-wise in return also for a better education here and maybe a chance too in a local university or a sub-par education together with very scant chances of entering their university across the Causeway?

Probably he wants his children to be vagabonds or farmers in Segamat.

to each his own... he has the luxury of choosing but he chose the wrong option in MY opinion. Anyways, his children will forever be 2nd rate citizens in Malaysia.

Well it's about weighing the good and the bad, as in all decision making. Would it be better to have his son serve the country that benefited them in return also for a better education here and maybe a chance too in a local university or sub-par education across the Causeway?

Probably he wants his children to be vagabonds or farmers in Segamat. Just for dodging the draft. Stupid man.

>>In short, we chose to let him sing 'Negaraku' rather than 'Majulah Singapura' every morning.<<

And as if Malaysia actually gave him and his wife a job and a career if not Singapore. He really plays both countries out to his own objectives if you look closely.

What a disgusting and despicable person. Worse than a dog.

1. this is an excellent example of sheepishland foreign talents at its best.
2. benefitting the most from sheepishland.

Confirmation of why people called us Silly-porean and if we do not vote out MBT (for his 3 room HDB at palatial prices), WKS for the Mas Selamat Case,
LSS for his upturn the downturn, LEH for hiding statistics (PR/Singaporean same?) and the rest of the inhuman crew that prefer to invest billions in failed companies overseas,we truly deserved to be STUPID-poreans.

<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=1 cellPadding=2><TBODY><TR><TD colSpan=4></TD></TR><TR><TD colSpan=4><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=1 cellPadding=2><TBODY><TR><TD colSpan=4><TR><TD colSpan=4><TABLE align=right><TBODY><TR><TD>UNIVERSITY ADMINISTRATION </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD><TR><TD colSpan=4><HR color=#000000 SIZE=1 noShade><TABLE align=center><TBODY><TR><TD>COMPUTER CENTRE
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><HR color=#000000 SIZE=1 noShade></TD></TR><TR><TD class=v11px>Address:</TD><TD class=v11px colSpan=3>2 Engineering Drive 4 Singapore 117584 </TD></TR><TR height=20><TD colSpan=4></TD><TR><TD class=v11px>Telephone: </TD><TD class=v11px colSpan=3>6777 1094 (General Office Enquiries)</TD></TR><TR><TD class=v11px>Fax: </TD><TD class=v11px colSpan=3>6778 0198 (Admin Fax)</TD></TR><TR><TD class=v11px> </TD><TD class=v11px colSpan=3>6776 6557 (Director's Fax)</TD></TR><TR><TD class=tdcell> </TD><TD class=tdcell> </TD><TD class=tdcell>Phone No </TD><TD class=tdcell>User ID </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=1 cellPadding=2><TBODY><TR><TD class=tdcell colSpan=4>INNOVATION DEVELOPMENT </TD><TR bgColor=#f0f0f0><TR bgColor=#f0f0f0><TD class=tdcell width="25%">ASSOCIATE DIRECTOR </TD><TD class=tdcell width="25%">Mr ONG Guan Sin </TD><TD class=tdcell width="15%">65167697 </TD><TD class=tdcell width="10%">cceonggs </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

botak-free-rpk.jpg

botak-nat.jpg

n686670533_2835.jpg

http://www.facebook.com/guansin

Well it's about weighing the good and the bad, as in all decision making. Would it be better to have his son serve the country that benefited them in return also for a better education here and maybe a chance too in a local university or sub-par education across the Causeway?

Probably he wants his children to be vagabonds or farmers in Segamat. Just for dodging the draft. Stupid man.

You have no idea about the chinese school across the causeway do you? A lot of them are given scholarship into Poly,NUS,NTU after they graduated. So, in the end, escaping the NS would be the reason why he is doing this for the son. He could also send the son overseas immediately after schooling and bypass the whole process. Looks like this guy and the wife is earning enough to do that when the son comes of age. Plus the bigger space factor probably helps as well given how crowded Singapore is these days.

And as if Malaysia actually gave him and his wife a job and a career if not Singapore. He really plays both countries out to his own objectives if you look closely.

What a disgusting and despicable person. Worse than a dog.

We must report to AVA that, we have a stray dog, running loose at the university...they shoot dogs, don't they?;)

You have no idea about the chinese school across the causeway do you? A lot of them are given scholarship into Poly,NUS,NTU after they graduated. So, in the end, escaping the NS would be the reason why he is doing this for the son. He could also send the son overseas immediately after schooling and bypass the whole process. Looks like this guy and the wife is earning enough to do that when the son comes of age. Plus the bigger space factor probably helps as well given how crowded Singapore is these days.

Nope I have no idea, because I don't study nor do I really have cousins in Malaysia. Okay as you say. Let's see if his son is bright enough to be awarded a scholarship even by them. Why they fear NS so much escapes me.

Even the Burmese students who are grateful for the life here are willing to do NS if they could be granted citizenship. And the many local males are brave enough to take NS like a man and continue their lives.

All in all perhaps life in Malaysia is too good and too fantastic so the people there aren't as thankful.

Nope I have no idea, because I don't study nor do I really have cousins in Malaysia. Okay as you say. Let's see if his son is bright enough to be awarded a scholarship even by them. Why they fear NS so much escapes me.

All in all perhaps life in Malaysia is too good and too fantastic so the people there aren't as thankful.

Bright enough? From what I heard they are given out to anyone that applies as long as you are not a Singaporean. :)

We must report to AVA that, we have a stray dog, running loose at the university...they shoot dogs, don't they?;)

Hee hee they do I guess. Especially in a critical situation like that. I have full confidence in their marksmanship. :p;)

Putting outraged feelings aside, as self-centredness goes, this guy is tops - a natural self-preservation instinct - putting own interests first...人不为己,天诛地灭。

But you scratched deeper, why? why he put up with more inconvenience ? There must be a reason other than siam NS, a reflection of how low he value ultimate singapore citizenship, want to retain option to charbut back to M'sia despite crime & racial politicking ....

this malaysiakini article should be widely publicised in all our Mainstream Media for the million-dollar ministers to reflect & ponder the implications of why the much vaunted FT talents regard Singaporean Citizenship vis-avis the arrangements they made for their kids....