• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

singapore now number 1 richest cuntry

According to Singstats's key household income trends 2012 http://www.singstat.gov.sg/pubn/pape...ple/pp-s19.pdf, Singapore's Gini cofficient is a very high 0.478 (before taxes and govt transfers), higher than China's 0.474. USA's Gini Coefficient in 2011 is 0.475 (before taxes and govt transfers). According to a UN report in 2009, Singapore has the 2nd highest income inequality in the world behind Hong Kong and ahead of USA http://finance.yahoo.com/banking-bud...-rich-and-poor

Singapore's wealth disparity is one of the highest in the world, maybe even worse than US. To understand Singapore's wealth disparity, one should watch this video on the Wealth Inequality In America http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QPKKQ...ature=youtu.be

I won't be surprise that the top 1% in Singapore owns at least 25% of the nation's wealth...

Singapore's wealth disparity is one of the highest in the world, maybe even worse than US. To understand Singapore's wealth disparity, one should watch this video on the Wealth Inequality In America http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QPKKQ...ature=youtu.be

I won't be surprise that the top 1% in Singapore owns at least 25% of the nation's wealth...

That damned Gini coefficient crap again. :rolleyes:

I really don't understand why people keep harping on how little the poor earn rather than how much the rich make.

Does anyone bother about the time returned by the guy who finished LAST in the Olympic 100m sprint final? It doesn't make a damned difference whether Usain Bolt was 1 second faster than the last guy or 3 seconds faster. We celebrate with the winner who set a new world record.

Same goes with incomes. Surely we don't want to hold back the winners just because they make the losers look really bad.

Money is pouring into Singapore. Learn how to get a bite of the pie instead of posting stupid Gini coefficient stats that mean nothing.

I really don't understand why people keep harping on how little the poor earn rather than how much the rich make.

Does anyone bother about the time returned by the guy who finished LAST in the Olympic 100m sprint final? It doesn't make a damned difference whether Usain Bolt was 1 second faster than the last guy or 3 seconds faster. We celebrate with the winner who set a new world record.

Same goes with incomes. Surely we don't want to hold back the winners just because they make the losers look really bad.

Money is pouring into Singapore. Learn how to get a bite of the pie instead of posting stupid Gini coefficient stats that mean nothing.

Boss drink some kiwi fruit juice and cool down la. Be careful burst artery ya talking like that. Let it go boss you're already in Kiwiland let it all go ok.

The richest people in Singapore actually inherit their wealth.

Singstats like other govt agencies around the world uses Gini coefficient to gauge the income gap within the country, why do they use it if it's crap?

You shouldn't mix sports results with living conditions.
Yes in sports, who cares about the losers?
Living conditions are in the hands of the government and they are obliged to help the poor.
Btw would you help your brother if he is handicapped?

It's the same everywhere......the richest inherit thier weath...

The richest one percent of this country owns half our country's wealth.
One third of that comes from hard work, two thirds comes from inheritance, interest on interest accumulating to widows and idiot sons.

- Gordon Gekko

Of course I would. He's my brother. However, I wouldn't expect any government assistance as that is not the role of the government. We help our own clan. To ask for help from other sources is undignified.

Running a country is not Running a 100M race.

Society need Balance, Justice, Fairness, Wisdom and sometime to take a step back to help those left behind.
A truly successful government is one that can motivate and inspire citizens to new heights, not just financially but morally.

You shouldn't mix sports results with living conditions.
Yes in sports, who cares about the losers?
Living conditions are in the hands of the government and they are obliged to help the poor.

Singstats like other govt agencies around the world uses Gini coefficient to gauge the income gap within the country, why do they use it if it's crap?

It's an index conjured up for political purposes. It is of no practical value whatsoever. There will always be poor people in any society. That's how mother nature works.

sg has blown away the competition and is now the wealthiest nation on the planet...

http://www.fool.com/investing/general/2013/05/19/the-5-richest-countries-in-the-world.aspx

I think the people who put up the ratings failed to open their eyes and look around. Fucking statisticians. Why don't they go to the US (or just Florida alone) and look at people's lifestyles. How many private powerboat owners in Sg? How many private jets in Sg? How many people in Sg race NASCAR (or equivalent) on a privateer basis? How many custom motorbikes in Sg? I think most Singaporeans would drool over the backyard BBQ pits in North America, having to do this activity in public concrete pits. Sheez. For God's sake Singapore is a newly-industrialized country and that's her place and standings in the world.

Yes, I feel so rich every time I look at my CPF acct. Look only, cannot touch, cannot use, cannot take out.

I looked at my CPF account and felt really good. I decided I wanted the money a bit earlier so I moved out. In less than 5 years, the money was in my bank account... every single cent of it.

Why move out? You should stay till you are 66yo since you like PAP gov so much! Let your CPF continue to grow and grow and feel more good!

The problem with Singapore is not the government. It's the other Sinkies that I have to live with. They aren't nice people. They're rude and obnoxious and very kiasu.

in sg's case, there's wealth creation thru' asset enhancement, high rates of return on investments, and mucho dinero pouring in from the wealthiest segments of societies from all over the world. this is a result of creating a safe and secure haven for foreign direct investment, with zero capital gains tax, stable government, great infrastructure, concentration of financial and business talents, highly rewarding environment, and excellent communication and transport hub. :D

I think the people who put up the ratings failed to open their eyes and look around. Fucking statisticians. Why don't they go to the US (or just Florida alone) and look at people's lifestyles. How many private powerboat owners in Sg? How many private jets in Sg? How many people in Sg race NASCAR (or equivalent) on a privateer basis? How many custom motorbikes in Sg? I think most Singaporeans would drool over the backyard BBQ pits in North America, having to do this activity in public concrete pits. Sheez. For God's sake Singapore is a newly-industrialized country and that's her place and standings in the world.

the huge mansions with big backyards and giant luxury yachts by the canals in fort lauderdale and the florida keys are bad examples for sinkies to emulate. instead of showing distributed wealth and good use of taxpayers' funds on public infrastructure projects that benefit all, it shows the true disparity of wealth distribution and the use of money in the u.s. the filthy rich hoard their wealth by tax evasion and indulge in grandiose luxury in their walled gardens and comfort corners, a stark contrast to the poverty in the urban ghettos and rural areas. if you think sg has great wealth distribution disparities, south florida is the last place you want to compare with.