• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Singapore Durian seller publishes apology for anti-Vietnam "Just Pho You" advertisement to offended Vietnamese

UltimaOnline

The original advertisement targeting KTV goers, with anti-Vietnam "Just Pho You" pun.

1626424121500.png

https://mothership.sg/2021/07/durian-kneeling-pads/

After many Vietnamese posted they took offence, the Durian seller published an apology :

1626424212079.png

The use of the word "pho" had provoked the ire of the Vietnamese community, who explained what the dish meant to them.

The pun also carries certain connotations, as hostesses of Vietnamese nationality have been singled out by the Ministry of Health as agents of the cluster.

Screen-Shot-2021-07-16-at-2.48.09-PM.png

Screen-Shot-2021-07-16-at-2.49.03-PM.png

Screen-Shot-2021-07-16-at-3.09.54-PM.png

"To our friends, I have read through all your comments and acknowledged the hurt it has caused you," wrote Kelvin Tan, the director and founder of 99 Old Trees Durian.

Tan went on to say that he was "tone-deaf" and should have "put more thought in [his] choice of words."

He also confirmed that he has removed the previous post out of respect, and urged members of the public to stop circulating the post.

"I sincerely wish everyone well. To those that I've offended, I'm sorry," the post ended.

Reactions to the apology were split. A number of Vietnamese commenters were quick to forgive the brand, but not everyone felt the same.

Screen-Shot-2021-07-16-at-2.46.08-PM.png

Screen-Shot-2021-07-16-at-2.47.16-PM.png

Screen-Shot-2021-07-16-at-2.47.25-PM.png

Screen-Shot-2021-07-16-at-3.18.11-PM.png

Screen-Shot-2021-07-16-at-3.16.42-PM.png

Screen-Shot-2021-07-16-at-2.46.15-PM.png

Screen-Shot-2021-07-16-at-3.16.52-PM.png

https://mothership.sg/2021/07/durian-stall-apologises-kneeling-pads/

'Just Pho You' = anti-Vietnam?

So many triggered snowflakes and outrage merchants in the social media cesspit. In fact, I bet most of the complaining ones aren't even ethnic Viets, but bleeding heart Sinkies who want to virtue signal about how welcoming of foreigners they are. :rolleyes:

KNN my uncle pho 99 liew lian seller first then pho all the viets who commented and think they are very smart or welcummed in sg KNN their mind is all about $ and trading jibyes leegardless of what they are doing in sg KNN liew lian sellers are on par with them so better let them pho each other KNN

Just pho you is fine. Who cares about Vietnamese in Singapore ? They are of no value now because all the Vietnamese women are under suspect and they will be arrested very soon