• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Singapore a playground for the rich.

Cruxx

Dumb sinkie sheep pile on the books and tuition, just so that they can afford to consume the products and services of non-grads such as Liliane Bettencourt (L’Oreal), Michele Ferrero (Ferrero Rocher, Kinder Bueno, Nutella), Ingvar Kamprad (IKEA), Bill Gates (Windows), Mark Zuckerberg (Facebook) :rolleyes:

king_of_abalone

There's not a single bloody Sinkie among the 200 richest billionaires in the world. For the high-tax welfare state of Sweden, there are four. Sinkies put in much more hours at work than these "lazy" angmohs. What does it show then? It shows that sinkies are useless, of course! The remaining "Asian Tigers" all have billionaires among the 200 richest. 3 of the 4 Malaysians on the list are Chinese. What do all these prove then? That the relative success of Sinkieland is down to East Asian culture rather than some dilettante who knows nothing about economics, finance and pedagogy and yet have the temerity to impose his useless policies on brainless Sinkie sheep. :rolleyes:

The people behind Singapore's economic success are the technocrats like Goh keng swee, Lim Kim San, ong pang boon, Toh chin chye, ong teng cheong and the like.

Lee was the Jose Mourinho figure who held it all together by the force of his personality. A textbook Type A, with a liberal arts bent, he knew nuts about business, finance and economics but he put together all the big players in the team. Sort of like a soccer coach who can't play for nuts but good in man-management and the big picture.

If you look at Lee's personal pet projects like Suzhou, etc they were abject failures. He even castigated Ong Teng Cheong for Changi airport, claiming that it will end up a white elephant. But to Lee's credit, he knew when to stop and temper his ego and listen to his subordinates. True enough, projects that Lee originally despised, such as Changi airport and the MRT system turned out to be huge successes and brought singapore onto another level.

The kampong dwellers have inferiority complexes lah, when faced with true wealth, fame and power.
You are missing the point.
This is not about the politics of envy.
There has always been rich sinkies amongst us (self made or inherited), no one begrudge them....whether they have the glam factor or not is immaterial.

The point of contention is the way our equally rich ministers (neither self made or inherited) is bending over backwards to welcome the international monied set to our shores and the negative effects of their policies to try and turn Sinkieland into Monaco.

i am happy they come to singapore to spend money, welcome to singapore. The jealously of the rich does not help your situation.

So you not bother with who spends on what? as long as they spend money here?
We will soon turn into a sleazy international pitstop instead of glamourous Monaco.

king_of_abalone

You are missing the point.
This is not about the politics of envy.
There has always been rich sinkies amongst us (self made or inherited), no one begrudge them....whether they have the glam factor or not is immaterial.

The point of contention is the way our equally rich ministers (neither self made or inherited) is bending over backwards to welcome the international monied set to our shores and the negative effects of their policies to try and turn Sinkieland into Monaco.

Oh i see. So you think our ministers should bend over backwards in a more dignified manner?

If Singapore becomes like Monaco, a soc-called playground for the rich, you don't think the money brought in will trickle down to the lower classes? I guess the answer is no.

Excellent point.

There's not a single bloody Sinkie among the 200 richest billionaires in the world. For the high-tax welfare state of Sweden, there are four. Sinkies put in much more hours at work than these "lazy" angmohs. What does it show then? It shows that sinkies are useless, of course! The remaining "Asian Tigers" all have billionaires among the 200 richest. 3 of the 4 Malaysians on the list are Chinese. What do all these prove then? That the relative success of Sinkieland is down to East Asian culture rather than some dilettante who knows nothing about economics, finance and pedagogy and yet have the temerity to impose his useless policies on brainless Sinkie sheep. :rolleyes:

So you not bother with who spends on what? as long as they spend money here?
We will soon turn into a sleazy international pitstop instead of glamourous Monaco.

nothing in world is more sleazy than orchard towers and geylang, unless you include third world country thailand.

Oh i see. So you think our ministers should bend over backwards in a more dignified manner?

If Singapore becomes like Monaco, a soc-called playground for the rich, you don't think the money brought in will trickle down to the lower classes? I guess the answer is no.
Yes there is hardly any trickle down benefits for the majority of sinkies and yet we have to suffer the negative effects.

nothing in world is more sleazy than orchard towers and geylang, unless you include third world country thailand.

So you are saying since we have these 2 places now might as well expand on them to attract more foreigners to spend their money here?
While we are at it might as well legalize pornography and narcotics too

monaco has only 38k citizens as of 2012 (the 35.3k cited in wikipedia is from the 2008 census). they grow their population deliberately and extremely slowly via very exclusive criteria. you have to be a celeb, multi-millionaire, world class athlete, artist or performer (and white) to qualify. every 4 years, they take in only 2.5k new citizens, with most of them wealthy investors and visitors from 1st world countries (u.s., uk, switzerland, germany, france, italy). about 50k french and italian from neighboring france and italy commute daily to work in the principality. for a french and italian living nearby, there's no real need to have monacan citizenship. they are treated like monegasques, native locals. "foreign talent" in monaco would be like the french and italian who cross the invisible border daily to earn their wage. at any one time, only 100k are in monaco, if 15k tourists are included. :p

very different from sg. cannot compare.

Thanks for sharing.....
Since this is the emperor's vision then all peasants must unite and work towards this goal.

monaco has only 38k citizens as of 2012 (the 35.3k cited in wikipedia is from the 2008 census). they grow their population deliberately and extremely slowly via very exclusive criteria. you have to be a celeb, multi-millionaire, world class athlete, artist or performer (and white) to qualify. every 4 years, they take in only 2.5k new citizens, with most of them wealthy investors and visitors from 1st world countries (u.s., uk, switzerland, germany, france, italy). about 50k french and italian from neighboring france and italy commute daily to work in the principality. for a french and italian living nearby, there's no real need to have monacan citizenship. they are treated like monegasques, native locals. "foreign talent" in monaco would be like the french and italian who cross the invisible border daily to earn their wage. at any one time, only 100k are in monaco, if 15k tourists are included. :p

very different from sg. cannot compare.

Sinkieland is a place where it attracts low life scumbags. Real human beings dun go thee. From the articles, you can read clearly. That scumbag only enjoy his sensual pleasure where his FORMER partners, spend their time helping the world.

See...I am right again. Only sinkies and sinkie-like behavior losers stay in sinkieland.

me005

the idea is for them to spend and create wealth for us.

but it is turning out that it is creating wealth for a minority and creating inflation for the vast majority.

it is what is wrong with the policies, and why the normal people are so angry. On top of which, our civil services are patting themselves on their back and tell all of us how good they have been and how lucky we are to have them. Also giving themselves increment and bonus.

the idea is for them to spend and create wealth for us.

but it is turning out that it is creating wealth for a minority and creating inflation for the vast majority.

Why can't you create wealth from the influx of these foreigners? They have needs.. .they consume products... they require services.

Every arrival is an opportunity for you to make some money.

Why can't you create wealth from the influx of these foreigners? They have needs.. .they consume products... they require services.

Every arrival is an opportunity for you to make some money.

The young and pretty ones open legs become whores and social escorts.
The old and ugly ones be the maids and cleaners.
Yes lky's vision is coming true....we dun even need to go overseas like Pinoys....the Pappies attract them to our doorstep!

king_of_abalone

The young and pretty ones open legs become whores and social escorts.
The old and ugly ones be the maids and cleaners.
Yes lky's vision is coming true....we dun even need to go overseas like Pinoys....the Pappies attract them to our doorstep!

Why look down on our people. Why is it that in your head, the only way locals can create wealth is to open legs or become servants?

Please read the thread on the ITEs...our young are herded that way.
The elites are getting FTs to replace the PMETs and the casualties are forced to become taxi drivers, security guards, cleaners, dishwashers.
At the same time grooming the young into the servitude industry.
Scholarships for bright local children are usurped by foreign kids.....
Many more examples....

king_of_abalone

Yes there is hardly any trickle down benefits for the majority of sinkies and yet we have to suffer the negative effects.

Then perhaps it is time for us sinkies to stop waiting for money to trickle down from above and actually actively go pursue that money.

Being familiar with two Asian cities, singapore and HK, I find that hongkongers tend to be more assertive, go-getting and make things happen, while Singaporeans love to wait patiently for things to happen (preferably by govt's edict)

Maybe that's why there are more tycoons in HK than there are in SG. HK also has a more vibrant energetic culture in all walks of life, be it in finance, the arts, business.

king_of_abalone

Please read the thread on the ITEs...our young are herded that way.
The elites are getting FTs to replace the PMETs and the casualties are forced to become taxi drivers, security guards, cleaners, dishwashers.
At the same time grooming the young into the servitude industry.
Scholarships for bright local children are usurped by foreign kids.....
Many more examples....

I don't understand your usage of the word "forced". People are forced to become taxi drivers? Cleaners? Ok. Li ka shing was once forced by circumstances to sell plastic flowers too. Ng Teng fong was once forced to sell soy sauce. The young boss of Paradise inn was forced by poverty and lack of education to be a kitchen hand, later a cook.

Being born poor is not your fault, but staying poor is.