• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

[Singapore] - 44 year old medical doctor dies of leukaemia, wanted to write letters for her 3 children for every growing-up year she'd miss

It was definitely liver cancer. I will find out from him what he actually took that healed him and update you later.
Cancer is no joke. It is abnormal liver cells that grow uncontrollably. They also jump into the lymphatic and vascular circulatory system ro spread to other parts of the body seed there and grow eg brain lungs bone.

In the end patients die because the cancer grows big enough to replace the organs and the function.

In order to beat cancer you need to remove those abomral cells or kill them in the body while not killing too much of the patient's normal cells.

Usually this could be done with early surgery to remove a very small cancer and then some radiotherapy or chemotherapy to kill remainder cells.

If truly someone is given 6 months to live usually thats like stage 4 meaning spread all over. So what did your friend uncle take to kill or remove the cancer cells?

Honestly unlikely it was a cure for cancer. More likely it wasnt cancer and the story is not the same as reality.

Cancer is no joke. It is abnormal liver cells that grow uncontrollably. They also jump into the lymphatic and vascular circulatory system ro spread to other parts of the body seed there and grow eg brain lungs bone.

In the end patients die because the cancer grows big enough to replace the organs and the function.

In order to beat cancer you need to remove those abomral cells or kill them in the body while not killing too much of the patient's normal cells.

Usually this could be done with early surgery to remove a very small cancer and then some radiotherapy or chemotherapy to kill remainder cells.

If truly someone is given 6 months to live usually thats like stage 4 meaning spread all over. So what did your friend uncle take to kill or remove the cancer cells?

Honestly unlikely it was a cure for cancer. More likely it wasnt cancer and the story is not the same as reality.
Maybe the uncle wanted to get away from the family for a few months.

There are times whereby loctors can tell straight away is cancer simplee by looking at scan leesult of the mass and when patient asked is it confirmed they will say sometimes you don't need to see a cat to know is a cat. There are also times when loctor onlee can confirm upon biopsies. There are also times whereby loctor think is most likelee cancer based on their experience and the onlee way is biopsy but due to patient age they think is unsafe to cut tissues therefore leaving a unknown and my uncle came across this 3rd kind where loctors (not just 1 butna few) was so so 99.9% confident is cancer by experience but after 2 mths leescan the mass just leesappeared and loctor classified it as miracle KNN my uncle think his friend case could be under this category

You are very correct!

Only way to confirm is a biopsy. Take tissue from the suspicious mass. Look under microscope. Look for the signs of cancer cells. Abnormal nuclei. Invasive behavior etc.

If the mass is in an area that is dangerous to biopsy eg brain....sometimes never get diagnosis properly. Could be infection.

So a liver abscess could have been thought to be liver cancer on a scan. No biopsy? Maybe patient asked dr if cancer how long you think I have dr said 6 months. Patient decided dowan to biopsy. But think is cancer. Dr say suspect cancer but not sure.

hence the story becomes oh so and so had cancer given 6 months to live.....when it was a liver abscess or something else.

You are very correct!

Only way to confirm is a biopsy. Take tissue from the suspicious mass. Look under microscope. Look for the signs of cancer cells. Abnormal nuclei. Invasive behavior etc.

If the mass is in an area that is dangerous to biopsy eg brain....sometimes never get diagnosis properly. Could be infection.

So a liver abscess could have been thought to be liver cancer on a scan. No biopsy? Maybe patient asked dr if cancer how long you think I have dr said 6 months. Patient decided dowan to biopsy. But think is cancer. Dr say suspect cancer but not sure.

hence the story becomes oh so and so had cancer given 6 months to live.....when it was a liver abscess or something else.
The case that my uncle encountered was 99.9% sure is lung cancer even though the patient had history of water buildup in lung and loctors said it doesn't look like an infection and loctor said not advisable to do the usual lung biopsy too invasive so they leecomend 2 approach 1 is draw some tissue directlee behind shoulder area test it can't find anything next draw fluid from lung test also can't find anything so kiv 2mths later magic mass gone KNN

Pleural fluid

He probably had pleural effusion. They try to drain the fluid (is therapeutic draining anyway) and then send for cytology to look for abnormal cancer cells. Cannot find.

Many different causes for pleural effusion.

Without biopsy actually cannot call is cancer. I wont even give a how many % is cancer.

Pleural fluid

He probably had pleural effusion. They try to drain the fluid (is therapeutic draining anyway) and then send for cytology to look for abnormal cancer cells. Cannot find.

Many different causes for pleural effusion.

Without biopsy actually cannot call is cancer. I wont even give a how many % is cancer.
Although the loctors did not give % but when being asked could it be some other things the leeply was sorlee sir is unlikelee based on our experience and after 2 mths when it was gone loctor said is a mixture of fluid and infection and don't know what else all messed up to appear like cancer mass

Although the loctors did not give % but when being asked could it be some other things the leeply was sorlee sir is unlikelee

Dr always like to say is the worst. Prepare. Then if better is ok. Easier tell patient. Give hope then turn out is cancer is bad strategy.

Under promise and over deliver.

Lau jiao dr will know how to talk.

Remember also.....can kena SUE also!

So if say is not cancer, treat with antibiotic as infection turn out is cancer......SIAO LIAO. Negligence. Ask another dr what they would do they say I would assume is cancer and manage as per cancer get biopsy confirm is or not cancer then proceed.

Your uncle will garang geh kiang like to say is NOT cancer meh? For what? You want to pian lang also got to pian big. Pian all these cancer patients that is not cancer can earn how much by pianing? $1b? I think $100,000 also difficult.

Forget it lah.

Dr always like to say is the worst. Prepare. Then if better is ok. Easier tell patient. Give hope then turn out is cancer is bad strategy.

Under promise and over deliver.

Lau jiao dr will know how to talk.

Remember also.....can kena SUE also!

So if say is not cancer, treat with antibiotic as infection turn out is cancer......SIAO LIAO. Negligence. Ask another dr what they would do they say I would assume is cancer and manage as per cancer get biopsy confirm is or not cancer then proceed.

Your uncle will garang geh kiang like to say is NOT cancer meh? For what? You want to pian lang also got to pian big. Pian all these cancer patients that is not cancer can earn how much by pianing? $1b? I think $100,000 also difficult.

Forget it lah.
Say no cancer become have then sue lah but where got cheng xin to sue when already shocked KNN say got cancer become no cancer the patient happy and leelief where got cheng xin to sue KNN endup both type no sue lah KNN

You are wrong.

Say no cancer become cancer can 100% sue and people have done it. It is not just about making wrong diagnosis.

Medical negligence vs Medical Malpractice.

https://www.alllaw.com/articles/nolo/medical-malpractice/negligence.html

Medical Negligence Does Not Equal Injury​

It's important to reiterate that medical negligence does not always result in injury to the patient. When a driver runs a red light and no accident occurs, the driver is still negligent, even though no one got hurt. Similarly, a doctor or other health care professional might deviate from the appropriate medical standard of care in treating a patient, but if the patient is not harmed and their health is not impacted, that negligence won't lead to a medical malpractice case. (Learn more about when it's medical malpractice—and when it isn't.)

How Negligence Becomes Medical Malpractice​

In short, medical negligence becomes medical malpractice when the doctor's negligent treatment causes injury to the patient—makes the patient's condition worse, causes unreasonable and unexpected complications, or necessitates additional medical treatment, to name just a few examples of what's considered "injury" in a malpractice case.
In other words, the addition of two additional elements—legal causation and damages—are necessary before medical negligence will give rise to a viable medical malpractice lawsuit. If the doctor's medical negligence was not a foreseeable result of the patient's harm (causation), or if the doctor's medical negligence actually had no detrimental effect on the patient's condition (damages), a medical malpractice claim will fall short. Learn more about why medical malpractice cases are a challenge to win.

As you can see, if the wrong diagnosis resulted in a delay in proper treatment of the cancer - that can constitute harm and injury to the patient, made it worse etc. Injury. yes.

If treated as per cancer, wrong not cancer, switch to antibiotics for infection or appropriate treatment then....patient gets well. No injury. No medical malpractice.

You are wrong.

Say no cancer become cancer can 100% sue and people have done it. It is not just about making wrong diagnosis.

Medical negligence vs Medical Malpractice.

https://www.alllaw.com/articles/nolo/medical-malpractice/negligence.html

Medical Negligence Does Not Equal Injury​

It's important to reiterate that medical negligence does not always result in injury to the patient. When a driver runs a red light and no accident occurs, the driver is still negligent, even though no one got hurt. Similarly, a doctor or other health care professional might deviate from the appropriate medical standard of care in treating a patient, but if the patient is not harmed and their health is not impacted, that negligence won't lead to a medical malpractice case. (Learn more about when it's medical malpractice—and when it isn't.)

How Negligence Becomes Medical Malpractice​

In short, medical negligence becomes medical malpractice when the doctor's negligent treatment causes injury to the patient—makes the patient's condition worse, causes unreasonable and unexpected complications, or necessitates additional medical treatment, to name just a few examples of what's considered "injury" in a malpractice case.
In other words, the addition of two additional elements—legal causation and damages—are necessary before medical negligence will give rise to a viable medical malpractice lawsuit. If the doctor's medical negligence was not a foreseeable result of the patient's harm (causation), or if the doctor's medical negligence actually had no detrimental effect on the patient's condition (damages), a medical malpractice claim will fall short. Learn more about why medical malpractice cases are a challenge to win.

As you can see, if the wrong diagnosis resulted in a delay in proper treatment of the cancer - that can constitute harm and injury to the patient, made it worse etc. Injury. yes.

If treated as per cancer, wrong not cancer, switch to antibiotics for infection or appropriate treatment then....patient gets well. No injury. No medical malpractice.
Yes there was a minah case my uncle leemember she sue and the familee leeceived the compensation but most people will be too depressed to do anything KNN

Usually not the patient themselves. But family.

And you can sue years later. No need sue right away.

Remember Brunei Royal Family and Dr Susan Lim? That one is not negligence case. But complaint overcharging. If patient was still alive. She will be ok.

I disagree with you. the worst is the familee. They dont see things the same as patient. Dr relationship is usually with patient. Drs spend time build on this relationship. But sometimes this goes counter to what familee think is right or wrong.

Case in point very common.. Old person addicted to sleeping pill. Keep go to old GP get sleeping pill. Patient very grateful to old GP for supplying sleeping pill.

Daughter or son not happy father keep taking the pills. Dizzy. Sometimes fall down. Want to complain to SMC. Patient say dont lah Dr X very good. Son complains.

Dr X kena. Patient will still say son hai see lang complain against good Dr.

Usually not the patient themselves. But family.

And you can sue years later. No need sue right away.

Remember Brunei Royal Family and Dr Susan Lim? That one is not negligence case. But complaint overcharging. If patient was still alive. She will be ok.

I disagree with you. the worst is the familee. They dont see things the same as patient. Dr relationship is usually with patient. Drs spend time build on this relationship. But sometimes this goes counter to what familee think is right or wrong.

Case in point very common.. Old person addicted to sleeping pill. Keep go to old GP get sleeping pill. Patient very grateful to old GP for supplying sleeping pill.

Daughter or son not happy father keep taking the pills. Dizzy. Sometimes fall down. Want to complain to SMC. Patient say dont lah Dr X very good. Son complains.

Dr X kena. Patient will still say son hai see lang complain against good Dr.
Indeed loctor prefer to speak directlee with patient more than the familee members even to the stage where by my uncle's parent cannot understand yet they insist to speak to them KNN doesn't make sense KNN

totally makes sense. Because the duty of the dr is to the patient themselves.

Unless the patient sign power of attorney, substitute decision maker.

same with anything. Have to talk to the main decision maker.

Talk to family is very difficult and Drs dislike it because dont find it particularly useful.

Often family members themselves will argue among themselves what they think is best for the relative. They also all cannot come to same conclusion.

totally makes sense. Because the duty of the dr is to the patient themselves.

Unless the patient sign power of attorney, substitute decision maker.

same with anything. Have to talk to the main decision maker.

Talk to family is very difficult and Drs dislike it because dont find it particularly useful.

Often family members themselves will argue among themselves what they think is best for the relative. They also all cannot come to same conclusion.
If they cannot understand or anyhow say how to have a accurate treatment plan? KNN eg in My uncle's parent case his parent is always fearful to see loctor so when loctor asked ah ma do you feel pain here ah ma will leeply no but my uncle know is yes ? KNN how when loctor ignored my uncle KNN eg2 ah ma is this medicine I gave you effective ah ma anyhow leeply yes but at home my uncle know is not yes as ah ma told him alamak take this medicine also still pain ? KNN how

If they cannot understand or anyhow say how to have a accurate treatment plan? KNN eg in My uncle's parent case his parent is always fearful to see loctor so when loctor asked ah ma do you feel pain here ah ma will leeply no but my uncle know is yes ? KNN how when loctor ignored my uncle KNN

sigh. I have encountered that kind of case before also.

Some of the difficulties of being a doctor.

But seriously, how like that? usually I will try to clarify. Ah ma you say no pain but your son say you got pain? How? If you got pain can tell me. Ah ma says no pain is no pain!

So I will document patient insists no pain even though son says there is pain.

I not so bad lah I will tell son I know you mean well, I have documented that you have noticed she has pain and that she has complained to you before she has pain.

Meanwhile try to get more information. Take more history. Examine. Get a whole picture.

It is quite difficult lah. Sometimes the mother will get angry with son in the room then they start shouting at each other also.

And we do all this work.....spend the time, sometimes 30min, 45 min even 1 hour (when lose track of time oh shit!) ....get paid $14.

Honestlee thats why I say people should do medicine as volunteer. Starting to be tahn buay jiak if you really want a career and still do job properly have compassion and all that jazz.

Time. that one cannot create out of thin air one.

Want career? Have reasonable earnings? Then cannot spend so much time with one patient. Got to cut to the chase. be efficient etc. But as you can see, some cases complicated not so easy cut short one. In fact more and more cases nowadays not simple liao. Too many factors. People read internet already have idea what they think it is and want to do. As professional I know is not correct. So have to try to explain and educate.

Aiyah......really thankless lah.

Thanks for sharing KNN my uncle think this is a verlee good lesson to human beings not just loctors KNN BTW my uncle humble leecomendation to loctor wong is if don't want people to think they are verlee rich try not to put on bow tie KNN like doctor siew my uncle can see he is not verlee rich KNN
But what’s wrong if the doctor flaunt his wealth? Well it’s not “flaunting” simply because you wear a bow tie or drive a falali. I’ve seen so many times when a falali or lambo zoom past, the people at the coffeeshop will comment “howlian!” I mean what’s wrong with people revving their lambos??? They are meant to be driven that way.

Jelly. Jealous. Envy.

Morale of the story is you can leevive your engine but before doing that should take care and be concerned of other people KNN