• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Singapore – How long will the party last?

[h=2]Singapore – How long will the party last?[/h]

PostDateIcon.png
May 2nd, 2013 |
PostAuthorIcon.png
Author: Online Press

raffles.jpg

(1 May) – There is a statue of Sir Stamford Raffles on the
banks of the Singapore River that stares roughly in the direction of the
city-state’s Parliament. A plaque there, purportedly where Raffles landed in
1819, credits him for having “changed the destiny of Singapore from an obscure
fishing village to a great seaport and modern metropolis”.

But after some three decades of spectacular economic growth, has the
beginning of the end for this island-nation arrived? Many of those who arrive
from elsewhere to make a living in Singapore must come to Upper Circular Road, a
short walk east of Raffles’ effigy. The ministry of manpower hands out those
sought-after employment passes here, in a slick, air-conditioned office.
Appointments are given online; the offline turnaround time is almost
ridiculously short
This is, in many ways, the epitome of the country’s
efficiency, but increasingly for Singaporeans, also the most significant signal
of fault lines that threaten their society.

=> Issuing work passes and PRs like tissue paper? So as to ensure foreigners will out-vote SGs?

So significant, in fact, that it triggered one of the largest protest rallies
in the city-state’s recent history. Some 4,000-5,000 Singaporeans braved the
rains this February to demonstrate against a government white paper that
projects immigrants constituting about half of the country’s population by

Such turnouts are unheard of in modern Singapore, but the larger implication
is that of a silent citizenry finally speaking out against the political class.

The People’s Action Party (PAP), in power since Singapore’s independence in
1965, has rarely had to deal with any significant political opposition. Until
now. It began changing, perceptibly, during 2011. First, the PAP won (only) 81
out of 87 seats in the general elections, its worst performance since coming
into power. The city-state’s founding Prime Minister Lee Kuan Yew and his
successor Goh Chok Tong moved out of the Cabinet after calling it “a watershed
general election” after the PAP’s vote share fell from 75 per cent in 2001 to 60
per cent in 2011. That was in May.

In August, former Deputy Prime Minister Tony Tan, seen as the PAP’s man, won
the presidential elections, held for the first time in 18 years, by only 7,269
votes. Some 2.1 million Singaporeans had cast their ballot. Two months later,
lawyer-turned-politician Michael Palmer took over as the speaker of Parliament.
Last December, he resigned after admitting to an extramarital affair. His
constituency, Punggol East, then went to the hustings, and the PAP lost yet
another seat.

Popular former Foreign Minister George Yeo, in a Facebook post, simply asked:
“Whither Singapore?” A pertinent question, given that modern Singapore has never
witnessed such politics. Few would have thought the PAP’s grip over the
city-state would weaken this quickly.

At stake is not just a model Asian city-state, but one of the world’s richest
metropolises. The Boston Consulting Group estimates that Singapore has the
highest concentration of millionaire households anywhere in the world, with some
15.5 per cent of all households in the island-nation having at least $1 million
in assets under management.

Yet, Singapore’s monthly median income (excluding central provident fund) is
about $2,400, which really isn’t worth much, considering it is the sixth most
expensive city in the world, according to a recent Economist Intelligence Unit
survey.

As more money pours into Singapore, that divide – between locals sipping
coffee at a street side Kopitiam and expats stepping out of glitzy sports cars
for drink at some of Asia’s most expensive bars – is only getting starker. The
city-state’s Gini coefficient – the most commonly used measure of inequality,
with a higher number reflecting more disparity – was 0.478 in 2012, higher than
that of China and India.

For the government, in turn, it is becoming an increasingly difficult
balancing act. That tiny Singapore, which registers a mere 7.72 births per
thousand, needs immigration is clear. Its population is ageing, and the local
workforce cannot support the needs of a global financial centre. But bringing in
more foreign talent to keep the economic engine going, as the February protests
showed, has political ramifications.

While the noise on the street against immigration is diverse and loud, the
core issue is opportunity. Is it fair, for instance, for a Singaporean to
compete with an immigrant for access to education, especially if nearly half of
the island’s population could be composed of emigres by 2030?

The obvious path would be to tame growth, and instead seek a more equitable
economic model. Yet that would also mean risking the city-state’s position as a
financial powerhouse. It is also Singapore’s economic prowess that gives the
small island off the coast of Malaysia unusual geopolitical traction,
particularly in Southeast Asia. Much of today’s Singapore has to do with Lee
Kuan Yew and his vision for Singapore. His emphasis on meritocracy in the
government, after the territory separated from Malaysia that ensured the
creation of a bureaucracy and political class with unusual talent. That quality
once defined the PAP, and Singapore.

Singapore now stands at the crossroads. The government will need to take
difficult decisions that could, on one hand, limit immigration and hurt the
economy, or continue on the same path and risk losing political traction.
Whatever it is, it won’t be easy. It might not seem so in the shadow of Raffles’
statue by the river, but behind the surface, Singapore is slowly unravelling.
How long will the party last?

=> Party for the FAP Traitors?

[Source]: http://www.business-standard.com/article/opinion/whither-singapore-113050100818_1.html

it's the Golden Period! :p:p:p

=> Issuing work passes and PRs like tissue paper? So as to ensure foreigners will out-vote SGs?

Work pass holders and PR's can't vote. Please elaborate on your point.

And come on, 4000-5000 people braving the rain?! You sound like a salesman reading of his sales pitch template. Sorry, I don't buy it, you try to hard.

A whiter singapore? Yes please!

WhitHer...

The level of ignorance is astounding.

Only Singapore citizens can vote lah.

Yet, Singapore’s monthly median income (excluding central provident fund) is
about $2,400, which really isn’t worth much, considering it is the sixth most
expensive city in the world, according to a recent Economist Intelligence Unit
survey.

The office figure of $2400 includes CPF ...the median take-home income is $1700 - that's is the amount a sinkee worker has to live on, not much in the sixth most expensive city.

Work pass holders and PR's can't vote. Please elaborate on your point.

After a year of working in sinkapore, the government will invite you to apply for PR. If you don't take that offer up, you are unlikely to get another pass. Then after taking up the PR, another year or two, you get an invite to take up citizenship. Why do I have to spell out the obvious to you?

And come on, 4000-5000 people braving the rain?! You sound like a salesman reading of his sales pitch template. Sorry, I don't buy it, you try to hard.

You were supposed to have quit? So why are you back?????

What party this thread referring to? People's Action Party? Of course it will last forever.

1. aiyoh!
2. nothing lasts forever.
3. does not past 3 generations hoh:D
4. one thing for sure: it is the era of dafter sheep:rolleyes:

Thailand should put Singapore out of its misery by constructing the Kra Canal as quickly as possible.

Jurong Island's oil refineries will be rendered worthless overnight.

Thailand should put Singapore out of its misery by constructing the Kra Canal as quickly as possible.

Jurong Island's oil refineries will be rendered worthless overnight.

Hi laksaboy. The Kra Canal was mentioned countless times before but until today nothing had been done. However one must ask what is the purpose of this canal. The main purpose is to cut shipping time through the straits of Malacca then around Singapore and into the S.China sea to discharge goods into Thailand, Cambodia, Vietnam, many parts of China and Japan and Korea etc.

Especially for ports in Thailand, Cambodia, Vietnam and southern China its like when the ship arrives in the Andaman seas these places is so close but yet so far. Building a canal this big is a big task though not impossible but the return of investments may not be worth the cost.

The other alternative is to build landbridge crossings and this is currently being done. What happens is Dawei (formerly Tavoy) in Myanmar had been selected for a deep-sea port. Together with this are mega projects for industrial parks and power stations, landbridges (highways) into Kanchanaburi en-route into Cambodia, Vietnam (Danang port), Laos, the other landbridge is into China's Kunming etc. This has a few advantages (1) cut down the time getting through Singapore , (2) tap into Myanmar's huge cheap labour for production against Eastern China's rising cost of production, (3) tap into China's cheaper cost production at the border with Myanmar where goods from China can be discharged at this port for the world. So because of this Thailand and China is investing into the Dawei projects like no tomorrow.

Me here also sniffing for these projects and opportunities.

Do you believe in ghosts?

The great one has threatened Sporeans that he will come back & haunt Spore.
I will reserve judgement until he ups the lorry then we will see .....:)

1. bro, broken record has always been using the same old thing.
2. threatening this threatening that.
3. don't worry about some ghost thing.
4. its spirit cannot escape other ghosts that will definitely go after it.

After a year of working in sinkapore, the government will invite you to apply for PR. If you don't take that offer up, you are unlikely to get another pass. Then after taking up the PR, another year or two, you get an invite to take up citizenship. Why do I have to spell out the obvious to you?

Never heard of anybody getting an invitation for a PR after working here for a year. In fact, i have never heard of such practice or rule, especially with a timeline as stated by you. I believe there were such cases but they are certainly not the norm.

The only thing that's obvious to me is that you like to make up stories.

Never heard of anybody getting an invitation for a PR after working here for a year. In fact, i have never heard of such practice or rule, especially with a timeline as stated by you. I believe there were such cases but they are certainly not the norm.

If you are a Sporean you are unlikely be invitated. It's reserved for foreigners.

I had a Malaysian colleague & she told me that when she graduated from studying in a school in Spore, the authorities went to the school to provide PRs to all the foreigners who were graduating.

Do you really believe that there can be so many foreigners coming to Spore without some kind of recruiting going on the the gov't:confused:

I had a Malaysian colleague & she told me that when she graduated from studying in a school in Spore, the authorities went to the school to provide PRs to all the foreigners who were graduating.

Sorry, i don't buy it.

Well she was a Malaysian & she was working in Spore. There was no reason for her to lie.

It's no secret that there are millions of foreigners working in Spore. Even if you won't except it, it's a reality. Only have to take a train ride & you will see & hear the foreigners in Spore.

Sorry, i don't buy it.

You are either acting dumb or you are so out of touch with reality in sinkapore.

PRs are dished out like toilet paper to foreigners who have degrees. Then, the PAP government will invite you to take up citizenship. Have you not got your invite? You, of course, turned it down. Why would you want to become a sinkee when the Third Reich gives you a better future in your retirement years?

Do you even bother to mix around with the Malaysians who are PR here? You are just dumb.