• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Sillyporn Offers to Buy Curry Gravy!

Posted on 26 Apr 2010
AMK stall refuses to sell more curry to me because 'curry is precious'

AMK_stall_refuses_to_sell_curry-thumbnail.jpg

<SCRIPT type=text/javascript src="http://static.ak.connect.facebook.com/js/api_lib/v0.4/FeatureLoader.js.php/en_US"></SCRIPT><IFRAME class=FB_SERVER_IFRAME src="http://www.facebook.com/extern/login_status.php?api_key=94647dc2aba553f149d6f1f12f85ecc6&extern=2&channel=http%3A%2F%2Fsingaporeseen.stomp.com.sg%2Fxd_receiver.htm&locale=en_US" frameBorder=0 name=loginStatus scrolling=no></IFRAME>
<OBJECT id=flashXdComm name=flashXdComm classid=clsid:d27cdb6e-ae6d-11cf-96b8-444553540000 width=1 height=1 type=application/x-shockwave-flash>

</OBJECT>

<SCRIPT type=text/javascript> FB.init("94647dc2aba553f149d6f1f12f85ecc6", "/xd_receiver.htm"); function callPublish(title, articleLink, description, thumbnailLink, myemotion) { var message = "is '" + myemotion + "' about this STOMP story: "; var attachment = { 'name': title, 'href': articleLink, 'description': description, 'media': [{ 'type': 'image', 'src': thumbnailLink, 'href': articleLink}] }; FB.Connect.streamPublish(message, attachment); } function shortenURL(articleLink){ shortURLLink = ""; $.getJSON("http://json-tinyurI.appspot.com/?&callback=?", {url: articleLink}, function(data) { shortURLLink = eval(data).tinyurI; }); } </SCRIPT>
Enraged
16%

<!-- end mm_moodcontainer div -->
Shiok!
0%

LOL!
27%

So sad
27%

Sure or not?
0%

Bochup
30%

<!-- end mm_body div -->
<!-- end moodResultItem div -->
STOMPer Kohji was shocked to be told that he wasn't allowed to buy an additional portion of curry because 'curry is precious' and too expensive to be sold in larger portions.

The server at the vegetarian food stall in Ang Mo Kio had given him very little curry the first time round and he wanted more, even offering to pay for it.

Hence, he was shocked that he was turned down.

Kohji says:

"This is a picture of a vegetarian stall located in Ang Mo Kio Ave 1, Blk 226, by the name of Ru Lai.

"On April 24, my brother and a of friend of our visit the stall and ordered about five dishes and three portions of rice, which I believe is quite a lot for three to eat.

"One of the dishes is curry vegetables but to our surprise, they served very little curry in a plate, so I wonder how it can be called curry vegetables?

"When I approached the girl for more curry, I was shocked that she told me that she couldn't give so much curry because it is very expensive!

"I told her that I didn't mind paying but she told me that they don't have much curry for sale because curry is very precious .

"After some time arguing, she served me a small bowl of curry.

I felt unhappy for receiving such service when I spent so much at the stall so I approached the boss to complain.

"However, I was even more surprised when she told me that there was nothing she could do because she has a contract with the worker.

"What kind of boss is she?"

This reminds me of an incident I had one time when I used to visit a western food stall.

Sometimes if you tell the hawker to "add fries" for 50cts, your offer would be turned down.

The reason was that every Tom, Dick and Harry who came along earlier said they wanted to "add fries". This resulted in the lack of fries from the hawker, and hence the hawker couldn't sell the rest of the food.

Imagine that you can't sell a single plate of fish and chips, chicken chop, pork chop, etc, because of the lack of fries. In such cases, the losses you incur from the extra meat lying around is more than the cost of the fries. It is then only natural that you would turn down customer's requests for extra portions (with topup price).

Who's to blame?

The curries are reserved for FTs... not for ball-less sinkies.

This reminds me of an incident I had one time when I used to visit a western food stall.

Sometimes if you tell the hawker to "add fries" for 50cts, your offer would be turned down.

The reason was that every Tom, Dick and Harry who came along earlier said they wanted to "add fries". This resulted in the lack of fries from the hawker, and hence the hawker couldn't sell the rest of the food.

Imagine that you can't sell a single plate of fish and chips, chicken chop, pork chop, etc, because of the lack of fries. In such cases, the losses you incur from the extra meat lying around is more than the cost of the fries. It is then only natural that you would turn down customer's requests for extra portions (with topup price).

Who's to blame?

The hawker, who else. Got biz dun want to do. When is the last time you say no to yr boss?

I really don't understand the business mentality of Sporeans. :eek:

If every Tom, Dick & Harry wants fries then charge for it lah. Give money also don't want :D

When you go to MacD they are always trying to push the fries. There's profit$$$ to be made.

Who's to blame?
There are some western food stalls which have just french fries on the menu.
For those that don't, if we want extra fries and are willing to pay for it, but they don't want to sell. we have to accept it.
Their reasons are probably as stated by you and are perfectly reasonable.

The hawker, who else. Got biz dun want to do. When is the last time you say no to yr boss?

I really don't understand the business mentality of Sporeans. :eek:

If every Tom, Dick & Harry wants fries then charge for it lah. Give money also don't want :D

When you go to MacD they are always trying to push the fries. There's profit$$$ to be made.

Well, let me ask you two gentlemen a simple question: Which one can turn in more profit for you per kilogram?

a) A kilogram of fries
b) A kilogram of meat, e.g, chicken patty, fish fillet

Given the obvious answer above, if you put two and two together, combining with the fact that you only have limited amount of freezer space as a hawker, which would you stock up more of?

This is not about the extra potion of fries or curry. This is about customer satisfaction which means repeat biz and recurring profit for you + lot of free referral via words of mouth. Unless it is a case of cheapskate customer who demand for an extra potion without wanting to pay for it, but clearly this is not being the case.

If you are a hawker and yr fridge is so small to the extent that it cannot manage another 2kg load of ingredients, there can only be two logical assumption. Biz must be so bad that storing an additional 2kg of ingredients may lead to unnecessary wastage or you are always spending alot of time turning yr customers away becos of poor inventory management. Whether you are a hawker or in any other trade, how you want to manage yr livelihood say alot about your attitude towards life.

This is not about the extra potion of fries or curry. This is about customer satisfaction which means repeat biz and recurring profit for you + lot of free referral via words of mouth. Unless it is a case of cheapskate customer who demand for an extra potion without wanting to pay for it, but clearly this is not being the case.

If you are a hawker and yr fridge is so small to the extent that it cannot manage another 2kg load of ingredients, there can only be two logical assumption. Biz must be so bad that storing an additional 2kg of ingredients may lead to unnecessary wastage or you are always spending alot of time turning yr customers away becos of poor inventory management. Whether you are a hawker or in any other trade, how you want to manage yr livelihood say alot about your attitude towards life.

Tell me, do you think hawkers really bother about the "customer satisfaction" that you speak of? Of things like "repeat business" and "free referrals via word-of-mouth"?

These are really very high-level theoretical terms that business courses like to use.

Not that I am disagreeing with you, but look around you. Here, in Singapore, how many hawkers can you find who operate/open a food stall simply because they "care" about the above?

In other words, how many hawkers have you seen who open a food stall because of their passion in cooking the greatest dishes for customers to enjoy? How many do that simply because they look at it as a way to earn an income?

I think this is the reason why you get such encounters like the person who stomped this article.