• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Sigh...Undergrads no money buy clothes

yansen84

You did the right thing.

Its real hellhole and pure waste of time from what I hear. Thats the reason why PSC requires scholars to stay in hostels in the first year to waste their time.

well, for starters i can't tell if you're being ironic or if you really intended it. if you enjoyed your time rotting away in the halls instead of truly embracing life outside, then please accept my congratulations. if i've misinterpreted you please accept my apologies.

I don't agree with the behaviour of the guys. As for the NUS handling of it, well, it is, obvious, up to the NUS authorities to decide, and if they want to keep it internal, and not turn it over to the cops(after all, it happened in the campus, and not in H-V), then its up to them to decide.

Of course, while we can respect their decision, it doesn't mean we don't disagree. Still, until the full facts are known, we should pre-judge them and proclaim them guilty as charged. That should be left up to NUS and the guys' families to decide on which is the best course.

NUS is just an extension of Pre-U. NUS students are still living with their parents, same onerous rules that you find in primary school, secondary ... How to expect them to grow up :confused:

For those who've studied overseas, they have probably witnessed alot of these juvenile stunts. I remember when some students hired a stripper to play Lady Godiva to ride a horse through campus :p

We may think it is silly & some think demeaning to women, etc, etc. Its all part & parcel of adopting a more tolerant & less uptight society. Why talk about disciplinary board, police, report them to parent,..? Was anyone hurt? Was any student offeneded?

annexa

NUS is just an extension of Pre-U. NUS students are still living with their parents, same onerous rules that you find in primary school, secondary ... How to expect them to grow up :confused:

For those who've studied overseas, they have probably witnessed alot of these juvenile stunts. I remember when some students hired a stripper to play Lady Godiva to ride a horse through campus :p

We may think it is silly & some think demeaning to women, etc, etc. Its all part & parcel of adopting a more tolerant & less uptight society. Why talk about disciplinary board, police, report them to parent,..? Was anyone hurt? Was any student offeneded?

Overseas Uni also same. They will also ask you go "inquiry" for show one. SMU is the juvenile place. None of them even dare to wear bikini.

commoner

no lah,,,

they were offended that none of them run into the rooms la,,, you think these gals so innocent meh,,,,, act only

frightened because they carry weapon of mass destruction,,,,, causing bodily harm? haha,,,

how many of these gals never see naked man before huh?

Yes! It was the 3 female residents of Temasek Hall that reported them because they were offended and frightened by the sight of naked men running into their hall :eek:

Were they really "offended" :confused:

Some Sporeans don't know how to have fun. When they see others having fun, they must saboo others. Just look at all he self righteous grannies from STOMP complaing about others. :rolleyes:

metalslug

http://newpaper.asia1.com.sg/news/story/0,4136,195669,00.html?

UNDERGRADS KICKED OUT OF HOSTEL FOR STREAKING
Hostel residents: Others have run naked before
March 14, 2009

IT'S called the naked mile.

The participants strip naked and run around the university hostel and sometimes around the National University of Singapore (NUS) grounds, in the wee hours of the morning.

Until last month, these streakers were able to get away with it.

But on 19 Feb, nine male students, eight from Eusoff Hall and one non-resident, were reported to the authorities for streaking.

Now they have been expelled from their hostel and barred from seeking places at the other hostels, though they are still attending classes.

They are being put through a disciplinary inquiry, the outcome of which is due at month's end.

At about 4am on 19 Feb, the group, mostly sportsmen in their first year, ran naked from Eusoff Hall to Temasek Hall, which is the next building.

Eusoff Hall had just won the Inter-Hall Games (IHG) Overall Championship Title as well as the IHG men's championship title, which ended on 18 Feb, during the school term.

To celebrate their victory, some of the male students started drinking. After having a drink too many, they ran naked.

Some female residents of Temasek Hall saw them and reported it to the university authorities.

While an NUS spokesman said it was the 'first time that an incident of this nature has taken place', some residents of Eusoff Hall told The New Paper that streaking was not a new thing.

A male resident, who has stayed in Eusoff Hall for the past three years, claimed he had seen his seniors do it before.

A female resident, who has lived there for three years, also claimed that streaking is common at Eusoff Hall.

'My blockmates do it, but for some reason, I'm always asleep.'

Runners' route

A male resident at Eusoff Hall described the route that the streakers usually take.

'They normally run around within the hall, or from the sports & recreation centre (SRC) to the hall, or from the hall to the swimming pool,' he said.

The SRC is about a 15-minute walk from Eusoff Hall, and the swimming pool is inside the SRC.

The resident added: 'It's usually done at night, and they were never caught. People have not been bothered by it.'

Another Eusoff Hall resident said: 'It was just a bad coincidence that some girls saw them this time and reported them.'

Perhaps one reason that the streakers were not caught until now is because their actions were known only to a small group of students - either residents of Eusoff Hall or students who know the streakers.

Most of the other students we spoke to said this was the first time they have heard of such a practice.

First-year hall resident, Mr Tai Lee Yu, 21, said: 'I haven't heard of this happening before. Even though it's quite common for some to get drunk, they don't usually do outrageous things like that.'

Many of the Eusoff Hall residents we spoke to said it was all in the name of fun, and felt that the authorities have been too harsh in expelling the streakers.

A female resident said: 'That night we won the IHG title. I think they were just celebrating.'

Another male resident agreed.

'It's all part of the fun. Each hall has their own culture, and it was just part of our celebrations,' he said.

But in a random poll of 100 male and female NUS students from different faculties, most agreed with the punishment meted out to the streakers.

Bernice Huang and Joanna Hor, newsroom interns

metalslug

http://newpaper.asia1.com.sg/news/story/0,4136,195665,00.html?

TNP POLL OF 100 STUDENTS
Most say punishment not harsh
March 14, 2009

WERE the streakers just having fun or were they being a public nuisance?

Did they have cause to celebrate, or did they go too far in expressing their joy?

Did they deserve to be expelled from their hostel, or was the punishment too harsh?

The New Paper asked 50 male and 50 female students at NUS for their views.

The majority - 77 per cent out of the 100students polled - felt that the streakers deserved the punishment.

Many respondants felt that as students of a university, the offenders should have conducted themselves better.

Science undergraduate Zheng Hong Wei, 23, said : 'I believe certain regulations in the hall must be adhered to.'

Arts student Jacintha Gopal, 20, compared the incident to that of the naked couple who strolled down Holland Village in January.

She said: 'Surely (the streakers) were being cocky. After all, they were still on campus and should have behaved appropriately. If it happened outside campus, they might have been jailed instead.'

The Holland Village couple were arrested and then released on bail.

Anyone convicted of appearing naked in public can be fined up to $2,000 and jailed for up to three months.

The female students seemed more offended by the streakers - 42 out of 50 said the latter deserved what they got.

Fewer male students - 35 out of 50 - thought the same way.

Rude and offensive

Miss Serene Ong, 21, who studies applied mathematics, said: 'It's rude and offensive, especially when there are girls around. Even if you are in your own home, you should also respect your family members... what more in a school compound?'

But there were some who thought that the punishment was too harsh.

Science undergraduate Harlom, 18, said the hall could have been more understanding. The streakers were probably over-excited by their win, he pointed out.

'They must be given a chance to explain themselves and why it happened,' he said.

Others, like arts undergraduate Adalia Tan, 23, felt that the punishment came at the 'wrong time'.

She said: 'We are all in the middle of the semester now, and projects are piling up. This is going to be even harder for those who have just been expelled (from their hall).'

But while most students thought the streakers deserved their punishment, they did not think that their action warranted a heavier punishment, such as being expelled from the university.

Post-graduate architecture student Mandy Teo, 23, said: 'As long as they get to continue studying in NUS, being expelled from the hostel is not too much.'

Audrey Tan Ruiping and Geraldine Yeo, newsroom interns

metalslug

http://newpaper.asia1.com.sg/news/story/0,4136,195670,00.html?

Nude runs a 'tradition' in some overseas unis
March 14, 2009

STREAKING - the act of taking off one clothes and running naked through a public space - may be obscene for Singapore universities.

But many overseas universities openly endorse these naked marathons. They are held annually, usually to celebrate an occasion, such as the last day of class or even to celebrate the first rainfall of the season.

Streaking has also been featured in TV shows, movies, songs and even computer games, like TheSims2: University expansion pack.

Here are some universities where streaking has become a tradition:

University of Michigan

Streaking has existed here as early as 1986.

In an event called the Naked Mile, students streak across campus for a distance of one mile. At the height of its popularity in the 1990s, as many as 800 students took part.

Fox News even covered the event in 1999.

But since 2000, the number of participants has declined due to enforcement of public indecency laws.

Harvard University

Streaking is done here on the night before the students' final examinations.

Known as The Primal Scream, it involves students running two laps around the renowned Harvard Yard.

Besides spectators, the school's marching band would line the pathways to cheer the students and excite the crowd.

University of the Philippines

Members of the Alpha Phi Omega fraternity are known to streak in an annual event called the UPOblation Run - to commemorate the school's anniversary.

The event began as early as in 1977.

Geraldine Yeo, newsroom intern

downgrader

NUS students no original ideas, everything try to copy from the West, not knowing that the model is waning already.

Copy from west like Europe and American University.
There is a movie title America Pie ( Naked Run)
Boob bouncing up and down when running. Really fun to watch that movie.

DerekDear

no lah,,,

they were offended that none of them run into the rooms la,,, you think these gals so innocent meh,,,,, act only

frightened because they carry weapon of mass destruction,,,,, causing bodily harm? haha,,,

how many of these gals never see naked man before huh?

Aiya the girls hope that the boys expelled already can move to Temasick hall... who knows, plan kena backfire.... :biggrin:

UseYourBrain

Future NUS/NTU Undergrads

aboriginals_1906.jpg

neddy

March 11, 2009
Streakers expelled from hostel
By Jane Ng & Goh Yi Han

A GROUP of National University of Singapore (NUS) undergraduates who ran naked from one hostel to another on the campus have been expelled from the hall at which they were staying.

The nine, all male sportsmen mostly in their first year, are being put through a disciplinary inquiry, the outcome of which is due at month's end.

Meanwhile, they are still attending classes, though they have been barred from seeking places at the other hostels.

Copied from the traditions at Ivy League universities.