• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious Shopee 996 Chink Bosses Need Chink-Speaking Local Staff! Guess Which Race Is Historically Least Performing In Shopee?

On Nov. 25, reports of toxic workplace culture and workplace discrimination at Shopee made the rounds on social media.

Instagram account @wakeupsingapore compiled a list of "scathing reviews" from what appeared to be past interviewees and current employees at the Singaporean multinational e-commerce company.

The allegations came from Glassdoor reviews, online comments, and text screenshots criticising Shopee as a workplace that is "toxic, racist, unprofessional, [and with] no work life balance."

At the time of writing, Shopee is given an overall rating of 3.7/5 on Glassdoor.

Allegations

Unprofessional and racist

One interview candidate who had applied for the role of Business Development Executive shared that his interview with the hiring manager was "the most unprofessional" he had ever experienced, after a pleasant first and second round.

According to the interviewee, the hiring manager had regularly interrupted him during the interview process, and even explicitly disregarded some of his answers.

During the interview, the hiring manager had also allegedly dropped several insensitive questions pertaining to race and gender.

1638020260533.png

Toxic workplace culture
Others pointed to a "sweatshop" like culture in the office that is almost akin to the 996 culture in Chinese tech companies.

Some employees also added that there was a distinct preference for Chinese-speaking individuals in the company and during meetings, making it difficult for those who were not proficient in the language.

According to one employee, this made it feel like a "Chinese first" culture, with meetings generally carried out with Chinese bosses.

1638020286238.png

1638020306788.png

1638020318430.png

No work life balance
As a result of the "pressure cooker" environment, employees also shared that working overtime was the norm, and that there was reportedly little to no work life balance at Shopee.

This allegedly made attrition levels high in the company.

"Zero tolerance for discrimination"
In response to the allegations, Shopee Singapore issued a Facebook statement on Nov. 26.

It said:

"We are aware of the recent allegations that have surfaced. Shopee Singapore takes these allegations very seriously. We have zero tolerance for discrimination or any form of workplace harassment and are conducting a thorough investigation of the situation. We are committed to providing a safe workplace for all our employees."

You can read the full Facebook post here, which has since garnered over 390 reacts and 160 shares:

https://mothership.sg/2021/11/shopee-workplace-discrimination/

All workplaces have received poor reviews on Glassdoor, that's quite a normal phenomenon and you can't POFMA this.

Shopee is expanding very rapidly and govt mouthpieces like Mothershit have instantly turned into the PR department of Shopee.

Did Shopee receive patronage from Temasek or some well-heeled Tiongs? :wink:

Based on the above scenario. I have a strong feeling that Shopee is threatened by Tao Bao, Alibaba, Lazada and Ezbuy with huge China market. At least, they need to come clean on their advertisement instead of wasting applicants precious times and worse getting humiliated.

Frankly speaking, the Malay Guys' experience with the Hiring Manager is nothing new in the job market. 10 years ago, I tried to apply for a managerial position with Knight Frank and the interviewer was a lady supervisor, with a straight face. She humiliated me for not giving her the right answers to every question being asked, and ended up offering me a receptionist job instead. The HR Manager was beside her during the whole bashing process and he said nothing about it. The trend has started since our doors opened for foreigners, it is not a recent situation faced by the Malay Guy.

61% song with it,I eve encountered jiuhu n jiuhukia ,ask me to resign when one of their kampong colleague need a jib,the supervisor n mgr told me job not suitable for me ask me resign,I stay 2 years before moving off n all the while I am doing cleaning job although I am a technical staff,that happen 20 yrs ago,I still blur blur ,now I Don vote the clowns after realising the problem but 61 % still blur blur

Based on the above scenario. I have a strong feeling that Shopee is threatened by Tao Bao, Alibaba, Lazada and Ezbuy with huge China market. At least, they need to come clean on their advertisement instead of wasting applicants precious times and worse getting humiliated.

Frankly speaking, the Malay Guys' experience with the Hiring Manager is nothing new in the job market. 10 years ago, I tried to apply for a managerial position with Knight Frank and the interviewer was a lady supervisor, with a straight face. She humiliated me for not giving her the right answers to every question being asked, and ended up offering me a receptionist job instead. The HR Manager was beside her during the whole bashing process and he said nothing about it. The trend has started since our doors opened for foreigners, it is not a recent situation faced by the Malay Guy.
That's why we need to retake the island and control the situation from the top

Liddat say then the workplace of the office of the President of Singapore got no toxic culture or racism ?

No because the seat should be reserved to the natives to remind immigrants where the island lies.

Based on the above scenario. I have a strong feeling that Shopee is threatened by Tao Bao, Alibaba, Lazada and Ezbuy with huge China market.

It's actually the other way around. Shopee has avoided China and focused on emerging markets like ASEAN and Taiwan. They're expanding into Latin America. From recent reports, Shopee has grown a lot faster than Lazada and Ezbuy. Alibaba isn't doing that well as they expected in their overseas expansion.

1638065700629.png

The rise of Tencent-backed e-commerce firm, Shopee in the Southeast Asia (SEA) region over the past five years has been remarkable, to say the least. On the flip side, Alibaba’s Lazada is losing its primacy in this sprawling regional market, recognized as the fastest-growing online shopping territory. Experts reckon the tense rivalry between China’s largest tech juggernauts Alibaba and Tencent will also shape the trajectory of e-commerce across SEA.

Owned by Singapore-based tech behemoth Sea Group, Shopee had the most-downloaded shopping app last year in the region’s six biggest markets – Indonesia, Malaysia, Thailand, Vietnam, the Philippines, and Singapore – according to app tracker App Annie. It recorded an average of 90 million monthly website visits last year in Indonesia alone, SEA’s largest economy.

Lazada who was brought into Alibaba’s hands in 2016, seemingly a logical choice for the e-tailer that dominates China’s B2B and B2C shopping market, to expand to SEA as a part of its globalization plan. Fast forward three and a half years later in a twist of events, Lazada’s control over the territory was taken by Shopee’s business model.

Now, Shopee’s gross merchandise volume in 2020 alone hit US$35.4 billion, piggybacking on the exponential adoption of online shopping when Covid-19 had forced everyone indoors, and online. Founded merely five years ago, the e-commerce operator claims in its latest financial report that about over half (57%) of Asean’s goods sold online and related transactions last year were through its platform and courier networks.

Over the last three years especially Shopee recorded stellar growth, chipping away Alibaba’s base in the pair’s largest overseas market of SEA, with a 600 million combined population. What allowed Shopee to catch up and eventually pull ahead is the upheaval and boardroom tussles at Lazada, plus the drawn-out takeover by the bloated management team from Alibaba.

Lazada’s operation appeared to stagnate during the transition from Rocket Internet to Alibaba, but the brand’s inability to localize products is the main reason for their defeat to Shopee. Lazada’s growth and expansion came to a grinding halt when former group CEO Lucy Peng and her team took about six months in 2018 to fill vacancies and take charge properly – during which time Shopee went on the offensive to lure vendors and buyers to its side.

An exodus of talent and executives familiar with SEA, who had nurtured Lazada’s rise in the early days, soon followed to the greener Shopee pastures. What made the situation even tougher for Lazada is when Peng’s main strategy for Lazada – which used to be known for its bargain goods – was to upgrade offerings and introduce more high-street brands, replicating Alibaba’s push back home to transform its Taobao online marketplace into a posh, visual e-mall.

Reports even indicated that Lazada, like Shopee, should have benefited when the Covid-19 crisis hit Singapore in April. But as the country went into its Circuit Breaker lockdown, Lazada was unable to meet demand, cutting the number of goods available on its grocery platform, and limiting customers to just 35 grocery items at a time when consumers could not buy their essentials elsewhere.

Even after injecting a minimum of US$4 billion into the company to date, making it one of the company’s costliest overseas ventures, Alibaba is yet to find a winning formula. While it does not break out Lazada’s performance, Alibaba warned in its annual report last year that Lazada was one of the companies that it expected “to have a negative effect on our financial results at least in the short term”.

https://techwireasia.com/2021/04/did-lazada-lose-out-to-shopee-in-seas-e-commerce-race/

No because the seat should be reserved to the natives to remind immigrants where the island lies.

The natives of Singapore appear to be chink peranakan. Property markers were recently unearthed in Dover forest, literally concrete proof that the land once belonged to the Babas.

1638065950657.png

PAP placed that marker and made up a story.
The British accounts also mentioned that Singapore was mostly uninhabited, with only a few orang laut villages here and there. Most of the m&ds in Singapore are just as immigrant as the chinks. and kelings.

Phua jibye do away with all these middlemen KNN seller leefunded my uncle still need shopee approval and they want to act blur never leefund my uncle KNN same as grab can makan you they will makan unless you fuck them upside down and threaten to expose their tricks then they no choice then take action to leefund you if you never call they act blur Chao jibye KNN my uncle will not use these middlemen after knowing it KNN

The British accounts also mentioned that Singapore was mostly uninhabited, with only a few orang laut villages here and there. Most of the m&ds in Singapore are just as immigrant as the chinks. and kelings.
The British gave tanah melayu its name. Malaya. And singapura was just a part of it. They had to deal with a malay sultan, not a chinese one, to get concession.

By looking at their web space alone, I can tell it's a cina racist run place. And that is why I have ZERO purchases from them.

Most of the tech startups are like that. There is this very strange phenomenon which they self-hypnotize into believing that they are above the rest of the other companies because of their so called flexibility and innovation culture. This is just euphemism for disorganization and penchant for doing grey area stuff.

The funny thing is most of these jokers aren't even profitable and rely on generating stories to attract new funding to keep their loss making businesses going. Technically speaking these people are currently feeding on money without delivering value and still want to act yaya papaya like they are a cut above the rest.

Yes I noticed a lot of companies in SG like to talk in ching chong everyday. Fucking boring if your mandarin not good.

Phua jibye do away with all these middlemen KNN seller leefunded my uncle still need shopee approval and they want to act blur never leefund my uncle KNN same as grab can makan you they will makan unless you fuck them upside down and threaten to expose their tricks then they no choice then take action to leefund you if you never call they act blur Chao jibye KNN my uncle will not use these middlemen after knowing it KNN

WTFF

Swee Swee Pie
Knn you said what?
Catch no ball.

Leefund?
You mean your Ah Ku bought something.
Wrong item.
They No Leefund?

Aiyah, I and kaki kena too.
Stopped using them liao.
Dishonest biz practices.
Lan Lan, Lugi some money.
Lesson learnt.

WTFF

Swee Swee Pie
Knn you said what?
Catch no ball.

Leefund?
You mean your Ah Ku bought something.
Wrong item.
They No Leefund?

Aiyah, I and kaki kena too.
Stopped using them liao.
Dishonest biz practices.
Lan Lan, Lugi some money.
Lesson learnt.
When you made purchase and leecided to cancel order have to cancel within 1 hour then the money will be leeturned immediatelee. In my uncle case he cancelled orlar a few hours later and it's fine if the seller is holding the money but this is not what it was happening KNN the seller verlee swee approved the leefund immediatelee upon leeceving the cancellation. It was this bloodlee jibye shopee that proceeded to leeduct the money from my uncle's bank whereby they actuallee don't own the products KNN when my uncle bang table with them they said need wait 7 to 14 days then can get leefund and its fine too but it is not acceptable when after 14 days they just act blur and forgotten everything KNN from here can see their jibye scheme so My uncle told them to esnd KNN