• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Shoebox units "almost inhuman": CapitaLand CEO

By Romesh Navaratnarajah: Singapore should put restrictions on the rising number of shoebox units as they are "almost inhuman", according to CapitaLand CEO Liew Mun Leong (pictured).

"I am dead against shoebox developments," he said in an article by Bloomberg. "The government should intervene. Singapore's land is very precious and you are wasting your scarce resources" by developing shoebox homes.

Last week, the government said that it was monitoring the situation, after private home sales rose to a near three-year high with record purchases of shoebox units, which measure less than 50 sq m.

The country's population growth, skyrocketing property prices and scarce land supply have prompted many developers to shrink new apartments. Meanwhile, National Development Minister Khaw Boon Wan said in Parliament last week that the government may impose measures to restrict the sale of shoebox units.

Latest data shows that 1,764 shoebox apartments were sold in Q1, accounting for 27 percent of all home sales during the period. Units priced at less than S$750,000 made up 42 percent of total home sales in the quarter, up from 25 percent in the previous quarter.

Liew, who grew up in a one-room unit with nine people, said shoebox apartments are "almost inhuman".

"It's not good for the welfare of the family to feel that constrained," he noted, adding that Singapore should implement a minimum size for homes.

Pratik Burman Ray, an analyst from HSBC Holdings Plc in Singapore, said the trend of shoebox living is not unique to Singapore. Developers in Indonesia and Thailand have built homes smaller than 35 sq m while apartments in Hong Kong measure less than 50 sq m and usually house two to three people.

"I wonder if this phenomenon is Singapore specific or a shift in buyer preference, and then the question is should it be regulated at all," he said. "What's needed is greater transparency to protect home buyers, which is perhaps more critical."

Meanwhile, CapitaLand is lobbying against the development of shoebox units.

"I used to joke that when I sat on the sofa, I don't need the remote control to switch on the TV, I use my toes," said Liew.
"If you build 200 sq ft, 300 sq ft (around 20 – 30 sq m) for a family of two or three, you might as well stay in a box. There needs to be some degree of comfort level." Related Stories: More redevelopment sites up for sale

Haus @ Serangoon Garden clinches BCA Green Mark Platinum award

Tampines Ave 10 site awarded for S$252.78m

Yeah, if Sinkees continue to vote Pappies. It won't be shoebox, it will be matchbox.

Is he complaining becos the latest Capitaland development at Bishan not selling well ?

Squeezing 5 million sweaty, smelly bodies onto an Island the size of a red dot is definitely inhuman.

sinkies shud b happy dey stil can get a shoebox ... it cud b worserer ...

akan datang ... dey wil get oni matchbox ...

Nothing wrong with shoebox. Why big issue? No one force anyone to buy smaller unit.
Now many are single. Shoe box unit is affordable to them and easy to maintain. Those with family of four can choose to buy 1000sqf and above. There is 400, 500, 600, 700 and more for buyer to choose.
Now there more option for buyer but many keep complaining.
Really dont understand what buyer want?

What is wrong with 50 sqm unit ? Most 1 room 1 hall units in Bangkok ranges from 36 sqm to 45 sqm. A 50 sqm unit is considered decent. There being just 1 room, it's more for singles or couples.

"The government should intervene. Singapore's land is very precious and you are wasting your scarce resources" by developing shoebox homes.

Silly guy. That's precisely the government's idea!

Artificially inflating the country's population to 5.1 million, blasting new HDB/private units with the shrinking ray.

Nothing personal, it's just business as usual to maximize profits in Singapore Inc.

Nothing wrong with shoebox. Why big issue? No one force anyone to buy smaller unit.
Now many are single. Shoe box unit is affordable to them and easy to maintain. Those with family of four can choose to buy 1000sqf and above. There is 400, 500, 600, 700 and more for buyer to choose.
Now there more option for buyer but many keep complaining.
Really dont understand what buyer want?

Cos no money what. If have money, why stay at shoebox lol...

Let market decide the supply and demand. No need law/regulation. Before HDB phase out 2 room HDB and now u turn back.

Yeah, if Sinkees continue to vote Pappies. It won't be shoebox, it will be matchbox.

1. bro, good one!
2. well, if daft sheep continue to be even dafter.
3. from some matchbox, such sheep shall find "no box" to sleep in!

Squeezing 5 million sweaty, smelly bodies onto an Island the size of a red dot is definitely inhuman.

1. sammy, it is not 5 million.
2. it should be 5.3 million.
3. and if daft sheep has its way.
4. it is going to be some 6.5million.

does anyone remember the past 20 years,
when govt. over-built hdb flats in Jurong west ? <-nobody then wanted to buy,..many commented of bad air there ?
someone warned govt. but govt no listen,...

then the bumper coe's released, until coe became about S$16,000/-,...
someone also warned govt., but govt no listen,..

does Singapore gove relly listen to feedback ?
or is the govt. always making policy mistakes,..
and covering up mistakes,
by selling the idea that the govt "is helping" citizens ?

am i right or wrong ?

Please report Singapore to the RSPCA for cruelty to humans. :D

2851ba9b5fa4cd2888d96245a8073ec3_240.jpg

does Singapore gove relly listen to feedback ?

No.

or is the govt. always making policy mistakes,..
and covering up mistakes,
by selling the idea that the govt "is helping" citizens ?

GST helps the poor, CPF helps you with your retirement, ERP relieves traffic congestion and is not for profiteering, HDB flats are affordable, casinos help reduce problem gambling, NS is well-loved by male Sinkies, FTs create jobs, inflation is still not as bad as back in 2008, Tiong bus drivers enhance road safety, and the seaview in Bishan is fantastic.

Go ahead and believe whatever you want to believe.

Khun Ying Pojaman said:
What is wrong with 50 sqm unit ? Most 1 room 1 hall units in Bangkok ranges from 36 sqm to 45 sqm. A 50 sqm unit is considered decent. There being just 1 room, it's more for singles or couples.

In fact, most of these are left empty. So if it is just 10 sq m, it is still OK. The biggest use for these size apartments would be to enjoy the Govt's Growth And Share Package Scheme. Only hope that the Govt could build some of these under HDB.

I dont understand what the hoo ha is all about. If there's a demand for it, so be it. Look at it this way, increasingly there are more singles and then there are widows/widowers who rather live on their own. Whats wrong with wanting a small place just for sleeping and very little maintenance? If there's no demand, the supply will naturally die off in due course. There are so many areas which the government ought to intervene in but this is certainly not 1 of them.