• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Shocking $147k C-Class Ward Bill!

i find your words very crude to someone like him. i know of sporeans who have no insurance at all cos' they can't afford. so think about it,whose fault it is?

Originally Posted by Meltdown View Post
Mr. Tan Guan Seng only has has himself to blame for not having medical insurance.
If he were in America, the total bill would have been between US$500K to US$1M depending on which city and state the hospital is located.

You no difference from him except you beating around the bush .

Why is work-related accident not subsidised? I thought they're encouraging people to work? So if you work and get injured, not subsidised. But if you don't work, fool around and get injured, it's subsidised. Where's the logic? :confused:

wahlaneh...
i dunno how to answer ur question but that's the situation now.
so while ur at work, make sure work safely lor but then accidents also hard to avoid sometimes. sigh!:(

Better still, something I learnt from police. Fight with someone (whether for rage or for fun etc.) and beat each other up so badly that you get hospitalised under arrest. Free. Police pays. It could lead up to free chalet and buffet post hospitalisation too. Just be smart enough to stop short of the cane and the noose.

Hello! But I only paid S$8/= only for my own heart bypass surgery OK?

VIP some more OK?

:D

That's a sad thing to happen in a wealthy nation. Money in medisave IS money paid by yourself. The chap got injured during work and have to fork out about 30k medisave + further 50k = 80k.

Although the patient/family does have to bear some responsibility for the upgrade ward thingy.. the whole thing is still absurd.

The hospital bill for a similar incident would cost less 500 bucks in Malaysia. I know some would tell me if this happens in Malaysia the guy would have died. But no, my dad survived well.

I know a friend in Perak, despatch rider. Crashed and broke his leg and ribs. Hospitalised for two weeks until he's able to walk with a crutch and discharged. Less than RM500. And don't think he's Malay enjoying some kind of bumputra benefits. He's Chinese.

Jan 29, 2011

THE CASE
Worker served with $147,000 C-class bill

<!-- by line --><!-- end by line -->
<!-- end left side bar --><!-- story content : start -->
I HAD an accident at work last June. Initially, the interim hospital bill from the National University Hospital indicated a subsidy.
But when the final bill was given to me, I was shocked. The bill for my stay at a C-class ward amounted to an unsubsidised total of $147,000.
I was discharged on Aug 13 last year and the reason for the difference between what was stated in the interim bill and the final one was not explained at all.
Only after I asked was I told that the Ministry of Health had withdrawn the subsidy as the accident was work- related.
About a month after my discharge, I applied for a waiver of the outstanding amount of about $122,000 through my MP. This was after my company had paid $25,000.
As far as I am aware, the hospital did not reply to the appeal.
Three months later, after more deductions from my MediShield ($41,000) and Medisave accounts ($31,000), I was informed that the hospital was in the process of scheduling an instalment payment plan for the remaining $50,000.........................Tan Guan Seng

Noticed how easy it is for any hospital to open your Medisave and Medishield accountand take whatever due to them without even need to get yuor permission to release the funds!!!!!!!

Therefore, CPF with its many accounts, is an open cheque book for all the authorities, hospitals, whatever except you yourself which the $ really belongs, to just take what they deem it.

Who still in a illusion that CPF $ is still yours to claim ?

Better still, something I learnt from police. Fight with someone (whether for rage or for fun etc.) and beat each other up so badly that you get hospitalised under arrest. Free. Police pays. It could lead up to free chalet and buffet post hospitalisation too. Just be smart enough to stop short of the cane and the noose.

wahlaneh...
the worst scenario is to end up in mortuary straightaway liao.:(

I know a friend in Perak, despatch rider. Crashed and broke his leg and ribs. Hospitalised for two weeks until he's able to walk with a crutch and discharged. Less than RM500. And don't think he's Malay enjoying some kind of bumputra benefits. He's Chinese.

So i'm not the only one with similar experience.

I believe when someone is admitted into a hospital in Singapore, there are some administrative procedures requiring you to sign several authorisation forms, one of which authorizes deduction from your medisave. Imagine you spend your lifetime accumulating reserves in there, but when it is activated it can be drained like a tap, i believe you have very little recourse if there is any dispute on the bill.

Time to take a careful look at my medical insurance policies.

I believe when someone is admitted into a hospital in Singapore, there are some administrative procedures requiring you to sign several authorisation forms, one of which authorizes deduction from your medisave. Imagine you spend your lifetime accumulating reserves in there, but when it is activated it can be drained like a tap, i believe you have very little recourse if there is any dispute on the bill.

Time to take a careful look at my medical insurance policies.

At admission, I was still semi-conscious. I was asked which class ward I wanted and to sign a Medisave authorisation form. My sister was with me and conveniently, they asked her to sign a guarantor form, just in case I couldn't foot the bill even after Medisave, though I think they'd stil have admitted me even if nobody was around me to sign as guarantor.

I always opted Class C and have no problem with subsidies, clearly shown to be automatically deducted from the bill when it came. Even at Class C, The bill can horrendous without the subsidies, something like more than $5k for a week, even without ICU or major surgery.

If you opted above C class before, you're not allowed to downgrade as was experienced by my brother-in-law, unless you appeal through some means testing. Your class also affects applicable outpatient subsidies too, even at other public hospitals and polyclinics. Class C and B2 are subsidised. Class B1 and A are not subsidised. ICU and operation theatre have no class differentiation, all get the same facility and treatment except for Class A patients; they get to choose their personal attending doctors.

:D:mad:

You should not scold or blame Mr Khaw ... she is responsible for the last 5 years causing the huge increase in hosipital bill due to the huge empire she has built up in Ministry of Hell.

• YongYI[1].jpg
    YongYI[1].jpg
    16.8 KB · Views: 104
:mad::D:eek::cool:
She is responsible ... not cow.

• YongYI[1].jpg
    YongYI[1].jpg
    16.8 KB · Views: 105
Our hospitals are first class

• ThumbnailImage.jpg
    ThumbnailImage.jpg
    34.3 KB · Views: 80
Ya, I wonder how Khaw Boon wan only paid $8 for his heart operations.

I remember there is a post by bro scroobal, if I'm not wrong, this khaw is under the civil servant scheme. If he is adaquently insured with his private insurance (platinum plan etc), his medical fees is covered under the CSC and his medishied/medisave.

He even can entitled to "get well benefit" of $500 to $1k cash depending on his insurer.

At admission, I was still semi-conscious. I was asked which class ward I wanted and to sign a Medisave authorisation form. My sister was with me and conveniently, they asked her to sign a guarantor form, just in case I couldn't foot the bill even after Medisave, though I think they'd stil have admitted me even if nobody was around me to sign as guarantor.

Wow... not just medisave authorisation... guarantor somemore... i have always if they will treat a person who has no money to pay but requiring emergency treatment

I remember there is a post by bro scroobal, if I'm not wrong, this khaw is under the civil servant scheme. If he is adaquently insured with his private insurance (platinum plan etc), his medical fees is covered under the CSC and his medishied/medisave.

He even can entitled to "get well benefit" of $500 to $1k cash depending on his insurer.

That KBW is covered under CSC and can afford the best medical insurance is nothing surprising. What's bewildering now in light of this recent case is that, his bill was about S$25,000 at Class A with S$8 cash bill after the benefits and claims. That poor worker's bill is S$147,000 at Class C with cash bill of S$50,000 after maxing out all his insurance and Medisave.

Wow... not just medisave authorisation... guarantor somemore... i have always if they will treat a person who has no money to pay but requiring emergency treatment

I think there's a medical code. In cases where time is deemed to be of the essence to life and death, the doctors will have save you first, at least to out of life threatening danger, before asking if you can afford it. In cases when you can wait and won't die, they'll settle the financial procedures and assurances first.

wahlaneh...
the worst scenario is to end up in mortuary straightaway liao.:(

It depends. If admitted to hospital, surgery after numerous scans and consultations and die after struggling for weeks or months, then the trip to mortuary straightaway would appear a cheaper option.

No. My advice is, spend all your Medisave on PRC nurses first before your trip to the crematorium and finally resting at the columbarium. For death in hospital not due to crime or accident or unnatural cause, the doctor will spare your body an unpleasant and ugly trip to the mortuary. :eek:

While still alive in the ward, remember to pretend that that you can't speak English. Otherwise, they'd assign you all the Pinoys and Myanmars. ;)

No. My advice is, spend all your Medisave on PRC nurses first before your trip to the crematorium and finally resting at the columbarium. For death in hospital not due to crime or accident or unnatural cause, the doctor will spare your body an unpleasant and ugly trip to the mortuary. :eek:

While still alive in the ward, remember to pretend that that you can't speak English. Otherwise, they'd assign you all the Pinoys and Myanmars. ;)

my advice is to vote the cow out. this cow eat human without spitting out the bone! vote it out! :oIo: