• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat Shan endorses Khaw , all is well.

'Confident Minister Khaw will sort things out': Shanmugam after Joo Koon train collision
upload_2017-11-16_5-49-53.gif

People look after a mass transit train collision at a platform at Joo Koon station in Singapore November 15, 2017. TKY/Social media via REUTERS
16 Nov 2017 07:52AM (Updated: 16 Nov 2017 08:48AM)
Share this content
Bookmark

SINGAPORE: Minister for Home Affairs K Shanmugam said he was "confident" that Transport Minister Khaw Boon Wan will be able to "sort things out" following Wednesday's (Nov 15) train collision at Joo Koon MRT station.

Twenty-nine people were injured in the incident and taken to Ng Teng Fong Hospital and the National University Hospital.

Mr Khaw apologised to commuters for what he described as an "awful day".

In his Facebook post just after midnight on Thursday, Mr Shanmugam said yesterday's collision added to the recent MRT-related issues that have "sorely tested the public mood".

"People naturally ask why these problems are recurring. They are fed up, despite the overall improvement in transport. When trains get delayed, people feel it acutely, and the overall measurements of disruption free periods mean less to them.

"I am confident Minister Khaw will sort things out. He went into MOT in October 2015. Since then there have been significant improvements, building on the good work of his predecessor, Minister Lui Tuck Yew. Of special note, Minister Khaw has moved to strengthen the engineering teams," he said.

Mr Shanmugam, who is also the Minister for Law, added that from a public perspective, all the "hard work, good work has been affected by the recent serious incident".

"Meanwhile all our prayers and thoughts are with the 29 people who had been injured in today’s collision of trains," he said.

Following yesterday’s incident, Mr Khaw said he advised SMRT and LTA to suspend train service from Joo Koon and Tuas Link stations for system provider Thales to conduct a thorough check.

In its tweet at 4.43am on Thursday, SMRT confirmed that there will be no train service between Joo Koon and Tuas Link on the East-West Line.

Read more at http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news...ollision-khaw-boon-wan-shanmugam-smrt-9411056

my uncle say after endorsement khaw sian liao have to owe shan one favour.
my uncle also say there is no point to have endorsement as people only want to see apology and result. so khaw just wasted 1 favour blindly. stupid.

ownself praise ownself....or Shan is crooning to Cow$8..." put your sweet lips a little closer to tracks, I pretend I didn't see the train coming...for it is time for you to GO"...( sung to the tune of a Jim Reeves song).

The last MOT sailed away in a leaking sampan...an Admiral paddling furiously away in a sampan, full of holes...maybe this MOT will ascend to Nirvana...

Shan is the resident cheerleader, hatchetman, bag man, fixer, toastmaster and overall spokesperson for the cabinet. He also handles the leadership family matters.

This guy would have done well with Najib and Rosmah.

I give Lui credit for sailing away. He realised that battling Aunty Ho was a lost cause. He must have spotted her footwear and realised who literally wears the pants.

ownself praise ownself....or Shan is crooning to Cow$8..." put your sweet lips a little closer to tracks, I pretend I didn't see the train coming...for it is time for you to GO"...( sung to the tune of a Jim Reeves song).

The last MOT sailed away in a leaking sampan...an Admiral paddling furiously away in a sampan, full of holes...maybe this MOT will ascend to Nirvana...

Note also unlike Desmond who volunteered, Shan makes it explicit that Khaw did not volunteer for the role.

Quite interesting this issue of volunteering or not is now a discussion point with no progress on this debate.

Why did Khaw even raise this? Unless he worked free, or that the entire selection was waived, why is it even raised.

99.99% of the workforce would have applied for their job and nobody forced them with the exception of army conscripts and slaves. I would classify this as volunteered.

Talk is cheap, this is not a matter of confidence.
Let a few more serious train fault fuck this fucking PAP and their 6.9mil population.

I give Lui credit for sailing away. He realised that battling Aunty Ho was a lost cause. He must have spotted her footwear and realised who literally wears the pants.

He was from the navy, they gave him a 'sampan' to paddle up a creek, infested with 'crocodiles', & a fat 'female' one of the group too, which has a bigger 'alpha', 'beast' of unknown sex as a backup. Worst, his "sampan" was infested with 'termites"....must give him credit for paddling away in a leaking & sinking 'sampan'. A 'survivor' SMRT medal, must be awarded to him...admiral, definitely din not,"volunteered" or "parachuted" into the position...he was ASK TO DO IT!

If you have followed the entire proceeding, which I did & found it echoing what we have in government in Singapore at that time when this was broadcast. Sadly, many Singaporeans...still don't get it??!!!.

Look, till now, no one in senior management of SMRT was fired..they are going to point & say... it is the board's decision...no one resigned even the so called "volunteer" & the MOT had not committed harakiri, had this position be a opposition member who run the ministry, for he has pointedly in the past told the oppositions to do so...& to come clean.

Are we waiting for the next "bang" of the carriages & say...only 4 screws came off? or waiting for news that says, 23 passengers died & the 4 screws surprisingly didn't fall off & praise the engineering for it.

Are we waiting for the next FATAL BANG?

Note also unlike Desmond who volunteered, Shan makes it explicit that Khaw did not volunteer for the role.

Quite interesting this issue of volunteering or not is now a discussion point with no progress on this debate.

Why did Khaw even raise this? Unless he worked free, or that the entire selection was waived, why is it even raised.

99.99% of the workforce would have applied for their job and nobody forced them with the exception of army conscripts and slaves. I would classify this as volunteered.

Interesting to also note why did Khaw used the words “wasnt parachuted into the job”? Who was insinuating that the CEO was parachuted in? Or was it guilty conscience that he spilled this out?

Help me understand the meaning of 'volunteer'.
Volunteers don't get paid right?
it was just to gain sympathy and acceptance of this clown's snafu's (with quack's sorrowful looks to boot) but did not talk about the remuneration aspect when using the term "volunteer" as what it means to lay people.

rather than explaining that he volunteered to take up this post instead of other (better?) offers, it would then expose the begging question as to whether he was the right man to do the job in view of all these fuckups, resulting in opening a can of worms up his sorry arse. it was also to cement his maka-hai "hou yum kong" statement in aging 5 years in a 2-year assignment, hoping that sinkies will accept this as part and parcel of transport improvements.

Takes a special type of idiot to not know the meaning of volunteer. Everyone knows u don't get paid when u are a volunteer.

And why are we even talking about volunteering? Is SMRT a not-for-profit organization? In fact these bastards are there just to maximize profits at the expense of passengers.

A snake endorse the cow.Wait the cow got eaten by the snake.

To put in the words of Cow....the train voluntarily lang gah the other train.

Help me understand the meaning of 'volunteer'.

Volunteers don't get paid right?

But in PAP 101, Volunteer means , get paid high salary & expect to sign papers, sit around for meetings, have makan & drinks & f$#$^ off....year in year out....the good life.

WTF?! Where's JohnTan!? I want to volunteer at PAP also!