• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

[Sg video] - Ah Loong: If ever the Workers Party become the government of Singapore. I say LIAO! FINISHED!

LHL hasn't admitted that S'pore has been the most expensive city in the world for 9 out of the past 11 years because of his Govt's self-serving policies. His govt has instead lied about doing their best to control inflation i.e. trying to manage a problem of their own making.

With big influx of millionaires and billionaires, we are basically competing for same good and services in a small and free market economy , so those who can pay more can get the good / services…..very fair for all de woh

Good ATAS smart 70% always listen to good stuff and focus on tomorrow , only saw hei Oppie will disagreed
没办法

70% dumb sinkies will never let it happen. Even if it happens by some miracle, the pappies will play their last card- declare martial law.

With big influx of millionaires and billionaires, we are basically competing for same good and services in a small and free market economy , so those who can pay more can get the good / services…..very fair for all de woh Good ATAS smart 70% always listen to good stuff and focus on tomorrow , only saw hei Oppie will disagreed
没办法
It is unfair for S'poreans to be labelled "materialistic" when we just want to give our loved ones a good quality of life i.e. a home of our own that is not too claustrophobic, a car for their comfort and convenience as well as nutritious food. It seems that these (except perhaps the high quality food) have now been priced out of the reach of the middle classes.

The Swiss Standard of Living on the right.
The Swiss Cost of Living on the left.

Slump.jpg

No matter how loud Singaporeans wanted the oppositions to be the government, the PAP will still win the majority in the end. It has proven in all previous elections

It is unfair for S'poreans to be labelled "materialistic" when we just want to give our loved ones a good quality of life i.e. a home of our own that is not too claustrophobic, a car for their comfort and convenience as well as nutritious food. It seems that these (except perhaps the high quality food) have now been priced out of the reach of the middle classes.
Need to condition the 70% to the Good Ultra High Swiss Standard of Living ahead

No matter how loud Singaporeans wanted the oppositions to be the government, the PAP will still win the majority in the end. It has proven in all previous elections
Oppie is a problem that needs to be fixed de
It is for your own Good, right Boss John or kopisoh??

knn you guys still dont get it.....peesai erections is just a wayang since the 1980s
its just for us to masturbate

New Good Family Model for many sinki to learn from…

No tuition or travel, but S’pore family with four children say ‘we have all we need’​

smfam22 - Mr James Ong and Ms Quek See Leng with their four children Althea, 5; Anastasia, 3; Nathanael, 10; and Alethea, 8, at Ms Quek's parents' home on Chinese New Year 2024.Credit: Courtesy of  James Ong

Mr James Ong, 42, and Ms Quek See Leng, 41, with their four children –(from left) Althea, five; Anastasia, three; Nathanael, 10; and Alethea, eight.PHOTO: COURTESY OF JAMES ONG
Shermaine Ang

UPDATED FEB 22, 2025, 09:38 PM

SINGAPORE – The four Ong children, aged three, five, eight and 10, do not go for tuition, travel or shop for clothes or toys – hand-me-downs from neighbours serve them just fine.

They share bedrooms and have their meals in their five-room flat. Weekends are spent at the parks, having picnics and playing Frisbee.

This simple lifestyle makes the family’s single income go a longer way.

Large families like hers are in the minority, with just 18 per cent of women here having three or more children in 2024, close to half of the 33.5 per cent in 2004.

The latest Department of Statistics data shows that women who at the end of their child-bearing years have two children made up the largest group at 41.8 per cent in 2024.

The new Large Families Scheme, which was announced by Prime Minister Lawrence Wong in his Budget speech on Feb 18, provides more financial support for families with three or more children.

This includes $1,000 per year in Large Family LifeSG Credits up till the child turns six. These credits can be used to defray household expenses such as grocery, utility and transport bills.

Ms Quek said: “Any money is helpful, because it takes a load off your mind. It gives you the freedom to attend to something else, like my kids’ emotional needs.”

She recounted how, when Mr Ong was seeking treatment for a brain tumour for six months in 2024, the couple had to dip into their savings. Thankfully, they had insurance coverage, and family and friends also came together to tide them over.

Ten-year-old Nathanael has been taking piano lessons for several years, but does not sit exams.

Eight-year-old Alethea has recently explored new interests in gymnastics, art and violin. Her parents check in on what she wants to continue – gym lessons will wind up soon as she is happy with what she has learnt.

On top of that, the older children have taken swimming lessons to learn about water safety.

Ms Quek emphasised that if she was worried about money, she would be working; however, she has chosen to invest in “learning how to grow as a parent”.

“Where we can, the adults will save up. I think our kids don’t lack (anything). We have all we need.”

The couple’s approach has worked well so far. The older two, Nathanael and Alethea, were both given Edusave Merit Bursary and Edusave Character awards earlier in February.

If only he spent half the same effort to unite his family rather than condemning the opposition

Attention Attention

Singapore prepared to move forward with confidence amid global uncertainties: SM Lee​

However, the government cannot do this alone and needs Singaporeans to stay united and rally behind it, said Senior Minister Lee Hsien Loong.

Singapore prepared to move forward with confidence amid global uncertainties: SM Lee

Senior Minister Lee Hsien Loong speaks at the Teck Ghee Education Merit Awards in Singapore on Feb 22, 2025.

Listen
4 min
New: You can now listen to articles.
close.svg

Firdaus Hamzah
22 Feb 2025 05:54PM
BookmarkShare

Read a summary of this article on FAST.

FAST
SINGAPORE: Singapore is prepared to move forward amid global uncertainties, Senior Minister Lee Hsien Loong said on Saturday (Feb 22), adding that the nation does not have to worry or fear as the government has been preparing for such situations "for a very long time".

"We have good plans which will enable us to move forward with confidence − plans for this year to come ahead, and plans for many years beyond this year, and stretching beyond," he said during a speech at the Teck Ghee Education Merit Awards at Townsville Primary School.

ADVERTISEMENT

However, the government cannot do this alone and needs Singaporeans to stay united and rally behind it, he noted.
Plans to move forward means continue to squeeze Coolie Gene Sinkies Lor… They have no ideas how to deal with strongman like Trump…

Plan to squeeze more people in and local Singkie will extinct. That's their plan.

New Good Family Model for many sinki to learn from…
No tuition or travel, but S’pore family with four children say ‘we have all we need
There are many S'poreans who claim to be able to afford a condo and car, but prefer a HDB flat and public transport because both are of acceptable standard. Not many Sinkies admit that private homes and transport are beyond their budget.