• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

sg to ban new cars in 2018? is this fake news?

https://www.engadget.com/2017/10/23...ional-cars-to-keep-traffic-from-getting-wors/

Singapore bans additional cars to keep traffic from getting worse
The island-city is running out of space.

David Lumb

Starting next February, residents of of Singapore won't be able to drive additional cars in the small city-state. It's introducing the ban as a line in the sand to keep the island from being overrun with vehicles and clogging traffic, especially as it's spending billions of dollars on public transit projects.

The move is the latest by Singapore's Land Transport Authority, which had already limited the rate of new cars and motorcycles at 0.25 percent. Not to mention all the import taxes and registration fees making vehicles, on average, four times more expensive to own in the island nation. Given that Singapore has about a sixth of the area of the US' smallest state, Rhode Island -- and that a stunning 12 percent of its space is taken up by roads -- preserving it is essential.

This isn't an eternal ban, as authorities will review it in 2020. But for the next few years, the about 600,000 total private and rental vehicles will have to serve the 5.6 million people living in Singapore -- though drivers can still file to replace their old vehicles for new ones. This doesn't apply to goods vehicles and buses, which will retain a 0.25 percent growth rate -- and that could be good news for any more autonomous trucking experiments.

After Feb 2018 there will be more UBER & GRAB drivers....

luckily i bought my 2017 macan a few weeks ago.
2016-Porsche-MACAN-TURBO-in-Sapphire-Blue-14-1200x520.jpg

no increase in car population wont solve the congestion problem. because the existing car population will used more intensely by sinkies.

will there be a surge in new car purchase these couple of months?

uber drivers are becoming a nuisance on bay area roads. they have contributed to traffic congestion by cruising around at hotspots waiting to pick up an expensive ride.

Should impose coe on pedestrians to reduce usage, esp thos snakes who like to roam in middle of road

Any nincompoop who causes an accident- revoke his/her fucking license and place a life ban from driving. Extend that to drink driving and usage of mobile while driving.

Problems solved.

Huat ha! COE will go through the roof. No more cars for the wanna be show offs who are in debt up to their ears with 30 year mortages. More 10 years and older jalopies on our roads soon as people cannot afford to buy new cars. Serve sinkies right. Only rich can have cars in Singapore. Ah Loong has decreed. Rest of you peasants can fuck spiders stick to MRT and buses and your pigeon holes.

https://www.engadget.com/2017/10/23...ional-cars-to-keep-traffic-from-getting-wors/

Singapore bans additional cars to keep traffic from getting worse
The island-city is running out of space.

David Lumb

Starting next February, residents of of Singapore won't be able to drive additional cars in the small city-state. It's introducing the ban as a line in the sand to keep the island from being overrun with vehicles and clogging traffic, especially as it's spending billions of dollars on public transit projects.

The move is the latest by Singapore's Land Transport Authority, which had already limited the rate of new cars and motorcycles at 0.25 percent. Not to mention all the import taxes and registration fees making vehicles, on average, four times more expensive to own in the island nation. Given that Singapore has about a sixth of the area of the US' smallest state, Rhode Island -- and that a stunning 12 percent of its space is taken up by roads -- preserving it is essential.

This isn't an eternal ban, as authorities will review it in 2020. But for the next few years, the about 600,000 total private and rental vehicles will have to serve the 5.6 million people living in Singapore -- though drivers can still file to replace their old vehicles for new ones. This doesn't apply to goods vehicles and buses, which will retain a 0.25 percent growth rate -- and that could be good news for any more autonomous trucking experiments.

Huat ha! COE will go through the roof. No more cars for the wanna be show offs who are in debt up to their ears with 30 year mortages. More 10 years and older jalopies on our roads soon as people cannot afford to buy new cars. Serve sinkies right. Only rich can have cars in Singapore. Ah Loong has decreed. Rest of you peasants can fuck spiders stick to MRT and buses and your pigeon holes.

I'm surprised anyone wants to live there despite the fact that PAP is the best!

What Singapore bans additional cars to keep traffic from getting worse...more like less COE will make the COE price sky rocket and make gahmen huat.

Keep traffic clear is good and to up the coffer $ is even better.

It is like squeezing a filled sausage, you squeeze the center the sides bulged, you squeeze right side, left side bulge & vice versa. The number of people owning or using bicycles will go up & soon they will impose COE for bicycles, restart the bicycle licence like we had years ago, only this time, it will be $100 a year.

Luckily I became a siamkia

Luckily I became kiwi kia. The cars here are so damned cheap it's unbelievable. I got an almost new Mark X 3.5 litre for less than SGD16,000

Drives like a Lexus... beautifully smooth and stable.

boss, you could even add a Toyota 86 to the stable for weekend drives and overall it still costs less than a Lexus here.

Luckily I became kiwi kia. The cars here are so damned cheap it's unbelievable. I got an almost new Mark X 3.5 litre for less than SGD16,000

Drives like a Lexus... beautifully smooth and stable.

Burmese r too stupid race just stick too seatless bike is itself a joy

Lucky my wife and I each have a car. We are professionals. It's unthinkable that we have to squeeze with the peasants daily in the mrt or bus. The stench of poverty is awful.