• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

SG Students: We are not affected by recession

Cthulhu

LOL. I think our education system is broken.A student's $ supply materialize from thin air I suppose?

S’poreans still travelling for now despite negative 2009 prognosis

Channel NewsAsia - Monday, December 29SINGAPORE:

The prognosis for travel next year does not look good. But for now, travel agents say, Singaporeans have still been travelling this festive year—end period.

Despite the financial slowdown, travel agents said numbers have, more or less, held steady.

SA Tours, for example, saw only a drop of about 5 per cent for this peak travel season compared with the same period last year.

"My job is secure, so I thought I would give myself a holiday," said a Singaporean.

"We are students, so we are not affected much (by the economic downturn)," said a group of students.

"Budget—wise, maybe. Instead of $3k, you spend $2k. But I think it’s still okay...you still need to travel," said another person.

Alicia Seah, Commonwealth Travel Service (CTC Travel)’s senior vice—president for marketing and public relations, said: "I think Singaporeans are still travelling. It’s an essential now, not a luxury. But I think they will travel with a budget in mind. I think we see that people are travelling to more regional destinations (like) Malaysia, Indonesia, Philippines, Vietnam, Hong Kong."

But such shorter and cheaper destinations have had an impact on travel agents’ bottom lines.

CTC Travel, for example, has seen revenues decline by 10—15 per cent as a result of more travellers opting for shorter and cheaper places.

Even though the outlook is expected to get worse next year, there is a silver lining for passengers.

Ruth Lim, SA Tours’ marcomms manager, said: "I think it will be a pretty slow year but we are still speaking to airlines and partners to see what else more we can do — not just about price but also value add packages."

CTC Travel’s Alicia said: "We are hopeful that hotels and airlines would drop prices by about 10—20 per cent. That way, we can pass back the savings to consumers."

There is another reason that could stimulate travel demand next year.

One of the things travel agents are looking forward to are the high number of long weekends.

In fact, a simple flip of next year’s calendar will show that these holidays are interspersed throughout the year, with a whopping nine long weekends in all!

Going forward, other than leisure travel, corporate and incentive travel is expected to continue to do badly next year — at least for the first half.

School trips, agents say, have however remained fairly recession—proof this season.

Many schools are still sending their students for educational and cultural tours.

— CNA/ir
http://sg.news.yahoo.com/cna/20081228/tap-916-sporeans-travelling-despite-nega-231650b.html

VIBGYOR

papa mama rich mah...

even during recession, they still rich lah...maybe not as rich as before...lol...

Frankly speaking, what do students know about recession and politics until they are detached from their parents and wake up to the cruelty of this society,

traitor.jpg

Can dun spoil the festive mood or not? *hee*hee*

Frankly speaking, what do students know about recession and politics until they are detached from their parents and wake up to the cruelty of this society,
Wait until their parents lose their jobs.
The girls will be doing fls and the boys will be pimping for their gfs.
Spoilt brats.

nextinfidel

Wait until their parents lose their jobs.
The girls will be doing fls and the boys will be pimping for their gfs.
Spoilt brats.

wyh am i not surprised.
my cousin's daughter. 17yo. The older generation bring her for holidays.
she only wants to go ang mo countries. Canada, NZ, Aust, Europe, USA.
they offer to bring her to Msia, the reply is no.

wyh am i not surprised.
my cousin's daughter. 17yo. The older generation bring her for holidays.
she only wants to go ang mo countries. Canada, NZ, Aust, Europe, USA.
they offer to bring her to Msia, the reply is no.
Actually, I can't blame her for this.
I wouldn't want to go to Malaysia either. Have been many times in the past, but no interest now.
I still have some interest to go to Europe or USA though, for different and in some cases, specific reasons.

nextinfidel

I wouldn't want to go to Malaysia either. Have been many times in the past, but no interest now.
I still have some interest to go to Europe or USA though, for different and in some cases, specific reasons.

you want to know the differences between you and her???

You have been to Msia many times in the past. and you are probably working and drawing a stable income.

For her, I've never heard her going to Malaysia at all. and those trips are paid for from the parents.

tell me: when you were 17yo, how much money do you have in your wallet? me? sad to say most of the times, not even 5 bucks.

Porfirio Rubirosa

Where have you been in Malaysia?

Personally I still love to go to Malaysia on short breaks: Cameron Highlands; Fraser's Hills; Tioman; Langkawi; Pangkor Island; Kelantan; Penang; Genting; Malacca; KL...there is something for anyone really.

The_Latest_H

My holiday is here. After CNY 2009, I'd be back in Perth. I don't know if I would have a summer vacation in some other place during the mid-year though.

But in April, during the Easter week, I would be going to Melbourne with a few close friends..so its a domestic holiday of sorts.

VIBGYOR

Ah Sweet OZ Land the LUCKY country...

<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/PheKLisDnp8&hl=en&fs=1"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/PheKLisDnp8&hl=en&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>

you want to know the differences between you and her???

You have been to Msia many times in the past. and you are probably working and drawing a stable income.

For her, I've never heard her going to Malaysia at all. and those trips are paid for from the parents.

tell me: when you were 17yo, how much money do you have in your wallet? me? sad to say most of the times, not even 5 bucks.
Ok, fair enough.
Must say that I went to Malaysia most often when I was in NS and first started working.
Used to go with friends to KL and Genting for fun times. :smile: