• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Semi famous sinkie raised photographer complain about racism in Paris Bodyshop

Singapore-raised photographer Stefen Chow claims racial abuse at The Body Shop in Paris
Nurul Azliah,Yahoo Lifestyle Singapore 8 hours ago
0ee6986e7943aa6a779b7465d5c04437

The Body Shop at Rue de Rivoli, Paris, France. (Photo: Google Street screen grab)
A post by Singapore-raised photographer Stefen Chow has gone viral on Facebook after he claimed to have been racially abused by the staff at an outlet of The Body Shop in Paris, France.

In a post that was published on Tuesday (14 Nov), Chow, who was in the country on a personal trip, had gone to an outlet on Sunday (12 Nov) at 68 Rue de Rivoli to purchase two items. Later, Chow noticed that the staff had overcharged him by €5 (S$8).

Since he had paid via credit card, the staff were unable to give him a refund without the presence of a manager, who was absent. The staff, who Chow described as “courteous” then asked him to return the following day.

“I was about to forget the 5 euros. It wouldn’t affect my day if I lost 5 euros. However, this was in principle the shop’s responsibility, so I went back the next day,” said the 37-year-old.

However, Chow found himself in a bizarre situation when he returned to the store the next day. The same staff member from the previous day – who Chow identified as Dembele – had seemingly forgotten about overcharging him, and the assistant manager – known as Dorothy – refused to give him the refund. She instead highlighted the fact that the item he bought were already discounted.

“I was taken aback because I wasn’t expecting an argument. I explained that yes, there was a discount over the items, but I am still overcharged 5 euros – this was clear to me and the staff the day before, that’s why I was asked to come back,” he said.

Dembele had then threatened to contact the police, claiming that he was “abusing” them, and Chow seemed taken aback by Dorothy’s next gesture.

“The assistant manager then wanted to know my details, to know who I am. When I told her I live in Beijing, China (even though I am from Malaysia), she rolled her eyes and gave an audible sigh,” said Chow, who was born in Malaysia and raised in Singapore.

“I walked away, feeling embarrassed, angry and confused. As I was feeling calmer, I realised at no point the manager offered any form of compromise,” Chow concluded in his post, which has now gotten over 2,000 shares and nearly 1,000 comments, mostly bashing the beauty brand.

The post has gotten the attention of The Body Shop’s communications team in France, who reached out to Chow via the comments section of the post before corresponding with him via email.

“We’re distressed to hear that a customer has felt uncomfortable in a The Body Shop store. Stefen Chow, we are looking forward receiving your message to speak further about this situation,” they said.

Via email, the brand offered Chow a full refund at any of their outlets in France. However, Chow had already returned to Beijing by the time he had received the email.

Referring to The Body Shop’s comment on Facebook, it seemed that the brand had misunderstood his actual feelings about the incident. Instead of being made to feel “uncomfortable”, Chow clarified to them that he was “racially profiled“.

In Chow’s email reply, he said, “Being racially profiled, and threatened with police after I was asked to return for a refund of 5 euros due to a miscalculation on the shop’s part isn’t mere discomfort. It was downright humiliating and a fundamental breakdown between customer and consumer relationship.”

“I have lost my confidence in the brand Body Shop and I will no longer patronise your shops,” he continued.

Chow had also suggested that the company make a full investigation on the incident and review their employee guidelines.

Chow is an established photographer whose works have garnered awards from the World Press Photo, National Geographic and the International Photo Awards. He is also the co-founder of “The Poverty Line”, a global visual project that contextualises poverty.

Who the fark would get a girly name like this, change to Vivian lah.

Making a mountain out of a molehill.
If he was man enough he should just fuck the manager there and then when he so called felt embarrassed. Chow sinkie trait again.....can only take photo and stomp

Who the fark would get a girly name like this, change to Vivian lah.

Vivien would be better..who the f$%#% is this shit? Make so much noise over five Euro...Oh! we forget in RM that is RM24..a lot of money, you know. The time & money, used to go back to the shop to get a fiver Euro refund for his credit card, is like shooting ants with a shotgun. No wonder...ze frenchie!..look down on him, for ze Chinois from our comrade country, won't bother.

What a disgrace...this Stephanie..oops! Stephen...we should be ashamed that Singapore raised such an idiot...well!, what to do...many Sinkingporeans would have done that..that's the upbringing.

>>“The assistant manager then wanted to know my details, to know who I am. When I told her I live in Beijing, China (even though I am from Malaysia), she rolled her eyes and gave an audible sigh,” said Chow, who was born in Malaysia and raised in Singapore.<<

Semi famous? I have never heard of this clown before! He's not even a damn sinkie. Just some Malaysian who is now residing in China.

I will be shocked if the shop staff did not roll their eyes upon hearing he is living in China. haha

These things are commonplace when you go overseas. Its starts with the cabin crew, the hotel reception, the retail stores etc. The lower educational level and lack of exposure is an issue. The assumption is the Asian cannot speak or understand English and therefore are country bumpkins. Chinese tourists with expensive Gucci belts and clothes with their atrocious conduct have made it even worse. So they cannot tell who are the idiots from the rest. Made worse that these stores in the West are increasing manned by African first generation who already have a bad notion of PRC stripping their countries' assets.

I am glad though that Bodyshop responded. Their founder was well known for treating everyone with respect.

He should be asking himself why he is so hardup for 5 euros. Come on, stop the crap about it's a matter of principles.

If your principles and actions (taking the time to go back to the store the next day) are dictated by 5 bucks, u should be doing alot of self reflection!

He should be asking himself why he is so hardup for 5 euros. Come on, stop the crap about it's a matter of principles.

If your principles and actions (taking the time to go back to the store the next day) are dictated by 5 bucks, u should be doing alot of self reflection!
5 euros can bang a cheap anglo prostitute in london.

Sometimes it is not the money nor the principles but something prods you to see if what has been told does occur. Its more to see the conduct of the person - waiter, salesperson, service person etc. Many of these type of people are confident and think they have the better of you and never do or deliver the things they promised.

Can you think of one good reason why salesperson cannot even remember telling a customer to return the next day for the supervisor to process the refund. It should not be a common occurrence ie the refund issue and a missing supervisor. And what sort of international chain has a missing supervisor that is not present to handle such a service issue.

Sometimes it is not the money nor the principles but something prods you to see if what has been told does occur. Its more to see the conduct of the person - waiter, salesperson, service person etc. Many of these type of people are confident and think they have the better of you and never do or deliver the things they promised.

Can you think of one good reason why salesperson cannot even remember telling a customer to return the next day for the supervisor to process the refund. It should not be a common occurrence ie the refund issue and a missing supervisor. And what sort of international chain has a missing supervisor that is not present to handle such a service issue.

The customer is always right principle...but this is one damn lousy crappy customer, forget about the principle. For 5 Euros, he went back to the shop, transportation costs, time cost, opportunity cost all adds me...or he got the itch for the french woman??

Cheapskate customer indeed, pay by credit cards ( he could afford the fees, which is more than 5 euros), the item already discounted...ok! the stupid girl, computed wrongly or rightly? but by his tone...rightly overcharged him.

What a cheap arsehole...."customer is alway right".

I always laugh when people tell me "its a matter of principles". Really says more about your upbringing and loser life if u waste time on such petty money. If a job does not pay me at least $200 an hour, it can fuck off! Taking the time to go to and fro the shop would have wasted so much of my time!

These things are commonplace when you go overseas. Its starts with the cabin crew, the hotel reception, the retail stores etc. The lower educational level and lack of exposure is an issue. The assumption is the Asian cannot speak or understand English and therefore are country bumpkins. Chinese tourists with expensive Gucci belts and clothes with their atrocious conduct have made it even worse. So they cannot tell who are the idiots from the rest. Made worse that these stores in the West are increasing manned by African first generation who already have a bad notion of PRC stripping their countries' assets.

I am glad though that Bodyshop responded. Their founder was well known for treating everyone with respect.

The assumption here is that French salesperson is fluent in English. Retail staff in Paris are notorious for being unwilling to converse in English regardless of your nationality/ethnicity.

I am sure you are aware of how our own sales staff will treat locals differently in comparison to PRCs or Indians or Ang Mohs depending on which mall you go regardless of big-name brand or otherwise. If you have any Tamil friends, ask them to dress up in T-shirt and shorts and wear a casio, walk into any Hour Glass or Cortina for eg and ask to see Pateks or APs in heavily accented Inglish. Ask them to describe how the sales staff treat them from the moment they enter (eye contact demeanour interest shown in customer. Could that conduct border or biasness or prejudiced purely because of the customer's ethnicity?

There are thousands of such incidents all over Europe so what's the big deal here? They fob him off for 5euros and were prejudiced against him. Has he asked any of the French nationals from the ex-colonies whether they are treated with respect and dignity all over France wherever they go?

This is really a damn boh liao story and no need to waste space over - in the world outside singkieland not everyone is nice and welcoming and similarly not everyone is racist, biased and aggressive.

0ee6986e7943aa6a779b7465d5c04437

“I was about to forget the 5 euros. It wouldn’t affect my day if I lost 5 euros. However, this was in principle the shop’s responsibility, so I went back the next day,” said the 37-year-old.

Since it boils down to principles, as the customer would have us believe, he would still have returned to the shop the next day if the staff had overcharged him 5 euro cents ?

With the high standard of living in Paris, what is 5 euro dollar to a Parisian ? No wonder she rolled her eyes and gave an audible sigh.

What a misleading header.

SEMI-FAMOUS. haha wtf is that? Might as well say VIRTUAL UNKNOWN. ALMOST KNOWN. VAGUELY RECOGNIZABLE.

Another foreigner who went to NUS and deprived a local (who served NS) of a place.
So what does Malaysian Stefen did for Singapore to deserve such an airing ?

SG50 celebration fund was used to support this foreigner to take photos (so called aerial survey) of 100 playgrounds in Singapore, under his The Play Project -not one local can take photos of playgrounds so much so we must engage a Malaysian to do it?

See what Malaysian (or x ) Saw PH and Khaw BW did for our MRT?
If principle is so important , why not volunteer (like Desmond Kwek ) to serve NS to repay his upbringing in Singapore?

Just wonder if the return trip next day to collect the 5 euros costs more in term of transportation cost and actual time spent doing it....but of course, it is the PRINCIPLE.

How to spot a loser....when they say things like this:

"it's not about the money, it's a matter of principles...."

"customer is always right"

"I pay for the items, so I have my rights"

"I got pay hor!"

Compare the headlines written by Nurul Azliah and Jessica Lin - such clickbait headline and unnecessary spin for being "Singapore-raised": You would think the staff were going to blanket party him the way its been described..

Screen Shot 2017-11-16 at 6.02.48 PM.png

Screen Shot 2017-11-16 at 6.02.30 PM.png

Screen Shot 2017-11-16 at 6.02.39 PM.png