• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Security Guards Left Out Of Pay Rise Exercise - The Real Culprits Responsible.

some condos pay $3000 for one guard every month. guess how much the boss of security firm pockets? and the shameless bastards have the cheek to complain!

This is what I have heard too. Very sad state of affairs in this "first-world" island-state.

It is a modern-day slavery except without the ancient shackles attached physically.

I just wonder why can't the Management Committee of Condos and other Residential units and companies employ these people directly and offer them a decent 8 hours assignment. Anything beyond that to be regarded as overtime. As in-house guards they will also be entitled to annual leave, medical leave and other fringe benefits.

I also understand that a security licence and investigation licence that is paid annually to the Licencing Department is also expensive.

Could monetary gain be the reason why the authorities insists that the security companies take over such security matters.

I also further understand that the Police Licensing Regulatory Authority charges lowly-paid security guards close to $50 for their Identification Cards. First loss and second loss costs even more (for replacements). Since the PLRD makes money from these people and are said to be responsible for the way security companies and guards function, it is only fair that they insists on minimum pay for guards and oversee their training, etc...

I am also told that one day salary is always held from guards as "surety" for uniform.

Isn't the PLRD aware of these.?

Heard this from a security guard Uncle at my workplace.. They work for 12 hours a day, 6 days a week..

The salary ? Just a paltry 1.2 to 1.3k a month after CPF deduction.. No medical coverage, no pay when these guards are on sick leave or urgent leave..

And on top of that those Govt fucktards made it very hard now for people applying these security licenses.. Too many complicated channels for them to go through just to obtain the licenses.. They demand that you apply online and pay the license fees at AXS machine..

You also need to scan all your certs and personal particulars and fax it to SPF licensing branch for them to screen your background.. KNN, how about those old folks who are mountain tortoises when it comes to the Internet and they have no PCs and scan machines at home? With all these stupid new rulings, It makes it more harder for them to apply for security jobs..

What you wrote is an undeniable fact. These old folks are made to go up and down to the PLRD just to get tested and pay for their licences. AXS machines are no go areas for most of these old folks.

Those sitting in these newly-created dept (PLRD) with a retinue of staff are supposed to help these people. Looks like I should use the term "arm-chair investigators"

What has happened to the Civil Servants that they ought to be - "servants of the people."

Ought to call them themselves Government Executives Officers.

[/COLOR][/U][/I][/B]

What you wrote is an undeniable fact. These old folks are made to go up and down to the PLRD just to get tested and pay for their licences. AXS machines are no go areas for most of these old folks.

Those sitting in these newly-created dept (PLRD) with a retinue of staff are supposed to help these people. Looks like I should use the term "arm-chair investigators"

What has happened to the Civil Servants that they ought to be - "servants of the people."

Ought to call them themselves Government Executives Officers.

All these barriers to entry created by pap for such a mundane job is just wayang to make the industry look professional.
Training academy, licensing shit just so they can milk more money and then turn around help their cronies....the owners of the security firms to charge more but the marked up costs charged dun trickle down to the security guards.
Many examples of such pap tactics....they announce taxi fare increase but taxi drivers always never benefit from fare hikes.

Someone with one eye and half a brain can be a security guard. Why anyone would think they deserve pay rise is beyond me. :rolleyes:

Leong, you mean the "one-eyed" monster depicted in the old film, Sinbad. Was it a cyclop? I truly cannot remember leh..

One-eyed are also brainy tacticians. Look at the late General Moshe Dayan, Defence Minister of Israel under Gold Meir. The Hero of the Yom Kuippur War. He was an ace.

Half a brain just like a single kidney is still ok lah.

Have mercy bro for security guards are also humans just like you.

How they wish they could have been born in NZ.

Who are the real culprits responsible for such a sad state of affairs in Singapore?

Please discuss and offer your valuable views.

the problem is caused by the middle men security companies. they may charge $3000 to provide 1 guard 24 hours, but they'll only pay for 2 shifts at $1000 each, creaming off the extra $1000. numbers used for illustration purposes only.

but then again, these middle companies only exist because of the whole drive to sub-con out everything by our government organizations/companies.

Now its confirm/....u are really heartless

I'm not heartless. I'm a realist. Wages are determined by demand and supply. As far as security guards go, there is plenty of supply as it requires ZERO skills. In fact, a dog probably does a better job if it is trained right.

there is plenty of NON-Singaporean supply. cut that and local wages will go up.