• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

SDP's Chee Soon Juan stakes early claim on Bukit Batok ahead of 2025 General Election

Goh Chok Tong once claimed the Opposition as a check and balance on the PAP is a lie because the Pappies are the most effective check and balance on themselves. We have seen how little check and balance there has been on the absolute power that the Govt has to ruin our lives!
Goh Chok Tong's son did self-check and balance for years before being caught red handed by 3rd party, It shows the importance of having opposition even more in this day and age.

Chiam is S'pore's longest-serving opposition MP, having represented Potong Pasir in Parliament from 1984 to 2011.

Martino Tan|
clock.png
October 29, 12:29 PM

Chiam-See-Tong-PM-Lee.jpg

Former Opposition MP Chiam See Tong's reputation over the years has been recast to one of an elder statesman, well-respected by the ruling party and the opposition alike.

One observed how Chiam is respectfully treated by the Prime Ministers this year.

Staffers from the Prime Minister's Office (PMO) apologised to Chiam for an error Mr Lee Kuan Yew made in a 1984 GE rally speech.

The PMO also conveyed an apology from Lee himself for the error. Chiam had gotten seven, not six credits in his 'O'-Level results.

https://mothership.sg/2014/10/10-re...at-will-interest-every-well-informed-sporean/

Chiam sued then Foreign Minister S. Dhanabalan and Defence Minister Howe Yoon Chong for defamation.

Chiam_JB

Photo taken from Let The People Have Him, retrieved from the National Archives of Singapore

Then Workers' Party Sec-Gen and MP JB Jeyaretnam represented Chiam in filing a writ in the High Court seeking damages for slander made in the election speeches by Dhanabalan and Howe.

Dhanabalan called Chiam "a two-bit lawyer orchestrating a three-piece band whose members only appear once every four or five years".

Howe called Chiam "a twice unsuccessful lawyer" and "a lawyer who is not even very good at law".

4. Both Foreign Minister S. Dhanabalan and Defence Minister Howe Yoon Chong apologised to Chiam.

Howe:
"I, Howe Yoong Chong, hereby unreservedly withdraw all imputations against the professional capacity and competence of Mr Chiam See Tong made by me on December 21 1980 and published in the issue of this newspaper on December 22 1980." Business Times, 13 Feb, 1981.

Dhanabalan: "I acknowledge that there was no foundation for any of the imputations and I sincerely apologise to Mr Chiam for having made them". Business Times, 28, 1981.

Chiam accepted the apologies and withdrew his lawsuits against them.

Goh Chok Tong's son did self-check and balance for years before being caught red handed by 3rd party, It shows the importance of having opposition even more in this day and age.
having opposition is important but it is useless if the opposition is there just for show. How many opposition party stand up and go against the vaccine. Only PSP? what about the rest. You need opposition, you need opposition with BALLS, not coward.

I want iris and raymond to stand for election and i will vote for them, I want this kind of opposition.

Bukit Batok. What if the PAP decides to cheat and combine the SMC into a nearby GRC?
The PAP will claim that there is absolutely nothing wrong about having the Elections Dept as part of the executive branch under the Prime Minister. Even though critics opine that it enables the incumbent party to decide electoral boundaries, based on poll results in the previous election, the PAP will say it is ok to be their own check and balance. LOL!

Tiagong only applicable to Coolie Genes Demi God and above are not affected de
Gerrymandering prevents the achievement of proportional and illustrative representation since the winner is determined by the incumbent party which draws the electoral boundaries, rather than the preferences of the constituents. However, according to the PAP, it is ok to be their own check and balance. Hahaha!

It anomaly for opposition to score better during GE than BE. 38.77% vs 45.2%, more than 7% swing.

Only plausible explanation was Murali screwed up on local issues and wasn't a well like MP.

On the national front, just can't find any reason for the ground not to be sweeter for opposition compared to 4yr ago.

CSJ got a practical chance of winning provided BB SMC still exist.

It anomaly for opposition to score better during GE than BE. 38.77% vs 45.2%, more than 7% swing.

Only plausible explanation was Murali screwed up on local issues and wasn't a well like MP.

On the national front, just can't find any reason for the ground not to be sweeter for opposition compared to 4yr ago.

Why do u allow the PAP to any how absorb this area and that area to their advantage? Why sinkies never question that and stop such low life tatic.

Gerrymandering is accomplished by spreading voters of a particular persuasion among several constituencies to deny them an influential voting bloc in a particular area. If voters who previously supported the opposition are split among several wards which were pro-ruling party at the last election, the presumption is that the incumbent will triumph in that redrawn political boundary. Politics is a dirty game, and they don't come any dirtier than ravenous wolves dressed in white sheep's clothing.

IF MAD DOG CHEEBYE CHEE HAS MASTERBATORY FANTASIES B.B. RESIDENTS WILL SEND HIM TO PARLEEMENT FOR SOME TAIWAN LIBERAL DEMONCRACY STYLE FIST FIGHTS FORGET IT. many residents hoping WP or even PSP will come. You want CHEEBYE CHEE, ask him cum your cun-stituency lah!!

oh man, you are jerking off to Dr Chee again. pls calm down.

changing the constituency name to puki buttock may attract gay voters. pappies will win when they bare their bottoms.

it iz no anomaly. in 2020 there iz a 10% nationwide swing agst ze pap. how much iz ze swing in 2025? :cool:

jialat .... better not buy resale HDB in Bukit Batok until after erection .... if not live there sure kenna terkan by the zhenghu ... :whistling: