• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

SDP trying to bully sheng siong

why didn't they do the same with NTUC which bankrupted many small timer businesses and market hawkers in the neighbourhood? is it becos sheng siong looks more vulnerable for SDP to tekan so that they can yayapapaya to the heartlanders about their bully tactic?

another public CRAPS from SDP!:oIo:

SDP requests for a meeting with Sheng Siong management
October 16, 2009 by admin
Filed under Top News Temasek Review

From our Correspondent

The Singapore Democratic Party (SDP) has written to Sheng Siong to arrange for a meeting to discuss the acquisition of wet markets.

SDP claimed that though Sheng Siong has indicated that it will not raise the rental of the stalls, its plans for the markets are still murky which is causing great ire to the stallholders.

Sheng Siong’s plans to convert the wet markets into air-conditioned supermarkets was not well received on the ground by both the stallholders and buyers who prefer to purchase their groceries from wet markets which were once ubiquitous throughout Singapore.

HDB stepped in to intervene last week with an announcement that the wet markets do not qualify for the criteria set for conversion.

SDP had been actively pursuing the case on behalf of Bukit Panjang residents. They just conducted a walkabout in the ward last Sunday.

Its Chairman Gandhi Ambalam wrote two letters to the MP of Bukit Panjang Dr Teo Ho Pin imploring him to state his opposition explicitly to Sheng Siong’s plan.

Dr Teo gave a curt reply to SDP through the state media remarking that they “should do their homework” first before shooting their mouths off.

Dr Teo claimed that the wet market was his “baby” and he had been discussing with the residents, stallholders and grassroots leaders in the last few weeks to resolve the matter.

It is unsure if SDP’s latest gesture will go down well with the residents of Bukit Panjang since HDB has already reassured them that the wet market will stay.

During the 2006 general elections, Dr Teo won the seat with a thumping 77 per cent of the valid votes.

We reproduce Mr Gandhi’s letter to Sheng Siong below:

Ms Tan Ching Fern
Sheng Siong Supermarket Pte Ltd (Head Office)
Corporate Matters
3000 Marsiling Road Singapore 739108

Dear Ms Tan,

As you may know, the Singapore Democratic Party is concerned about the impending takeover by Sheng Siong of several wet markets around Singapore, including the Fajar Market in Bukit Panjang.

We welcome the news that the markets will not be converted into supermarkets and that the rentals of the stalls will not be increased.

However, press reports indicate that Sheng Siong is not ruling out turning the premises into an air-conditioned facility as well as a 24-hour operation after the acquisition. Given this situation, we fear that operational costs will increase and that this increase will be passed on to the shoppers.

Singaporeans, especially workers, are already saddled with a high cost of living that has outstripped wages. This being the case it is understandable that they are concerned that the acquisition of the markets by your company will lead to a greater financial burden for them.

In this regard the SDP would like to meet with Sheng Siong officials to hear from you directly about the matter and to see if the interests of all parties can be addressed.

As this matter is one of public interest, we may post this letter on our website. Thank you and we look forward to meeting with you.

Sincerely,

Gandhi Ambalam
Chairman
Singapore Democratic Party

it seems that sdp never hesitate to claim credits undue to them - just like honglim's speaker corner were also their doing.

CRAPS!:oIo:

sheng siong is doing alot of goodness to the heartlanders by competing with NTUC. some of the things sold there are much cheaper than NTUC.

sheng siong by the way is doing a proper and meaningful business beneficial to peasants. they do not have to oblige SDP in how they should run their biz which are public sdp clowns with loads of craps don't .

so sdp pls don't be too bigheaded. u do not have such big butt to fit in big ck undies. buttless chee should know where their limits lie.

Wet markets? Give me Sheng Siong any time

I AM a Pasir Ris resident and I am disappointed that the Elias Road wet market cannot be converted into an air-conditioned Sheng Siong supermarket ('HDB to Sheng Siong: 6 wet markets must stay', last Saturday).
My family shops regularly for fresh seafood and vegetables at the Sheng Siong outlet in Bedok Reservoir. It is open almost round the clock. The wet market, on the other hand, operates only in the morning. As a busy working mother, I do my marketing only in the afternoon or evening.
We find Sheng Siong's pricing reasonable and its products good value for money. Best of all, it offers live seafood at economical prices. As I am not well versed in selecting seafood, I find buying the product live the best way to ensure quality. The wet market does not offer much variety and quantity of live seafood. Moreover, the quality of seafood there is not consistent, especially in Singapore's warm climate.
The air-conditioning in supermarkets keeps vegetables and other products fresher. It is also more comfortable shopping in an air-conditioned environment.
Moreover, Sheng Siong offers good customer service, with its staff helping those who buy in bulk to carry their purchases to their cars.
With all its pluses, I do not find the items in Sheng Siong more expensive than those at Elias Road wet market. In fact, some items in Sheng Siong are even cheaper than those in the wet market.
Many of the newspaper reports seem to be against the idea of conversion of wet markets, but is this the view of the majority?
Given the lifestyle of most Singaporeans, I feel we need more round-the-clock fresh food supermarkets.
Loo Meng Gee (Madam)

From my point of view, I'd support the abolishing of all wet markets.

For example, I go to a wet market stall and ask for three little chli padi (expecting to pay about $0.50) they say cannot. Must buy minimum $3. Otherwise f*** off. Then f*** off and went to NTUC, saw and bought, a little packet of chili padi at $0.60.

The same thing happened with veges and prawns. Less than $3 don't sell. F*** off. I go NTUC buy a few prawns for less than $1 to go with my instant noodle also can. Like that, how to have my support for wet markets? They burn down also I don't care.

sinren67

For example, I go to a wet market stall and ask for three little chli padi (expecting to pay about $0.50) they say cannot. Must buy minimum $3. Otherwise f*** off. Then f*** off and went to NTUC, saw and bought, a little packet of chili padi at $0.60.

The same thing happened with veges and prawns. Less than $3 don't sell. F*** off. I go NTUC buy a few prawns for less than $1 to go with my instant noodle also can. Like that, how to have my support for wet markets? They burn down also I don't care.

I found myself at Sheng Siong at little india this morning and bought some stuffs, including the mini mandarin at $1.50 for 10. Later went to the Tekka food centre for a cup of chendol. Somehow, I start to wonder: why i didn't go to the tekka wet market instead..

think_lees

I hereby authorize SDP to act on my behalf as consumer rights rep for me to guard my economic interest against monopoly exploitation and price hike and deal fixings. Tak Boleh Tahan! Screw PAP! :mad::oIo:

yellow people

You are right. But to be neutral why didn't the pondan Bob Sim aka leetahbar mention that wet market stall holders are also being bullied? :biggrin:

I hereby authorize SDP to act on my behalf as consumer rights rep for me to guard my economic interest against monopoly exploitation and price hike and deal fixings. Tak Boleh Tahan! Screw PAP! :mad::oIo:

u can always dun patronise sheng siong. there is always NTUC for u or cold storage.

the wet market usually only service half a day while sheng siong or other supermarts have long hours which are more beneficial and practical to heartlanders.

it's about time the wet market is a thing of the past.:(

COW flu

u can always dun patronise sheng siong. there is always NTUC for u or cold storage.

the wet market usually only service half a day while sheng siong or other supermarts have long hours which are more beneficial and practical to heartlanders.

it's about time the wet market is a thing of the past.:(

NTUC or CUNT?:confused:

BryanT - Showdown and smackdown at Bt PJ Mon 19 Oct 2009 11:30 PM I apologise that the entreaties for some "say something quick" balancing views to this article could not be immediately met. One has to give some priority to hearing what our esteemed MPs have to ask in Parliament (on MSM TV), and priggish ministers have to expatiate about costly LUPs, smelly and dank wet-markets and MSK's intransigence about revealing the secrets of how he crawled through the collective legs of the entire police force (plus some Army troops).

Much as we should refrain from one-to-one altercations (based on the stringent website guidelines), we must not disappoint quantum and vipersonic.

So as one switches some attention towards this article, it become clear that the SDP storyline has remained largely unchanged, although the proverbial smog has dissipated even further on the current campaign.

Instead of just confining itself to the altruistic act of "saving" the wet-market, SDP is simply showing it can't resist reverting to it's cherished theme about denial of freedoms.

Perhaps it already foresees that it would not make much headway with Sheng Siong, since SDP does not have any moral, political or legal leverage over a private vendor. Or perhaps the latter has simply ignored its request to meet. SDP can update us on this.

Of course, some of us can already predict the larger outcome -- SDP will not get its permit (as it already acknowledges in the article) and then it will make a hue-and-cry about unconstitutional restrictions.

One cannot underestimate SDP's gumption (and folly) to proceed with the public talk without a permit. If the police takes action against it, SDP preempts that it will attain not only its goal of raising it's profile in a constituency it probably intends to contest in in the next election. It will also have the bonus of attracting some attention among foreign media getting ready for the APEC summit. On the surface, it is not a bad scheme.

However, SDP needs to exercise some discretion in writing such articles since the content of this particular one has already betrayed what it intends to cover at the talk. It is unlikely to be confined to the topic of wet markets, as the title of the event ("Keep our wet markets") seems to suggest.

Of course, it could also become clear that instead of championing the welfare and views of the residents, SDP is merely lending on the case to pursue it's raison d'être.

It leaves SDP to show us, and particularly to the residents of Bt Panjang, how benign this current campaign is. Going by this article, there is much grounds to cover.

Looking further ahead, my personal advice to SDP is to make sure the team it intends to stand for election does not get arrested during the "unpermitted" talk. They might then too legally mired to qualify as candidates. We would then miss a good fight in Bt Panjang, and some people would again be blamed for yet another walk-over.
sdp's latest antic to bully sheng siong over the taking over of wet markets. this matter should leave to the majority of the consumers' wishes whether a traditional wet market serve them better and more efficiently than if it's run comercially by sheng siong.

the hidden motive here by sdp isn't for the heartlanders but to once again point an accusing finger at gov's bureaucracy.

is SDP real and sincere for the peasants? u say lor.:rolleyes: